如果您的信用卡信息被盗,真的会发生什么?

stolen credit card information

我们都听说过被盗信用卡信息。虽然这是一个严重的问题,但有些人可能不会认真对待。然而,网络犯罪处于历史最高水平。一些研究表明,在过去五年中,高达46%的美国人成为信用卡欺诈的受害者。在一年内,由于信用卡被盗造成的损失可能高达数十亿,这显然是可怕的。

在大多数情况下,您的银行会通过电子邮件,短信或电话发出通知,通过您的信用卡告知您欺诈活动。警告通常建议执行密码重置并仔细检查所有资产。不幸的是,相当多的用户都没有发现网络罪犯在使用信用卡数据之前就已经掌握了他们的信用卡数据。之所以如此,是因为所有信用卡详细信息都可以默默窃取。幸运的是,您可以采取一些预防措施来保护您的财务数据。

在本报告中,我们将详细介绍网络犯罪分子如何窃取您的信用卡详细信息,他们使用的信息以及您可以采取哪些措施来提高安全性。

小偷偷窃信用卡信息的方法

如今,网络骗子只需要几分钟就可以获得您的信用卡信息。虽然信用卡的垃圾箱潜水不再是获取此类信息的最佳方式,但窃贼可以通过多种方式窃取所有信用卡详细信息而不会有太多麻烦。

  • 数据泄露

使用复杂的黑客技术,窃贼可以闯入公司的数据系统并抓取信息。通常,他们可以访问您的社会安全号码,地址,电子邮件,是的 - 您的信用卡详细信息。最近数据泄露的增加表明这是一种网络骗子将继续使用的技术。最近的Equifax漏洞是网络罪犯如何收集超过1.4亿用户记录的另一个可怕例子。建议此违规行为的受害者立即执行密码重置。

  • 略读

虽然这种技术不那么受欢迎,但仍然使用它。信用卡收款机是一种小型设备,可在合法交易过程中收集您的信用卡信息。一旦您通过分离器刷信用卡,它就会收集存储在卡片磁条中的所有数据;它包含您的全名,卡号和到期日期。大多数情况下,撇油器固定在ATM和刷卡机构的顶部。因此,最好先检查您即将使用的卡设备。

  • 使用恶意软件

有相当多的恶意应用程序可以收集受感染计算机的数据。但是,在大多数情况下,黑客更喜欢使用键盘记录程序。设计用于跟踪每一次击键,键盘记录器工作得非常好。通过使用它,网络骗子可以获得他们需要的所有信息;您的电子邮件凭据,密码,信用卡数据和其他敏感信息。如果任何此类信息被盗,请务必毫不犹豫地重置密码。为了保护操作系统免受狡猾的应用程序的影响,请使用可靠的反恶意软件工具此外,我们鼓励用户使用密码管理器保护其帐户。

如何使用被盗信用卡信息?

有很多方法可以使用被盗的信用卡信息. 它从小型购买到彻底的身份盗窃都有所不同。虽然列出所有可能的方法是不可能的,但我们将涵盖最受欢迎的方式。

  • 出售被盗信用卡信息

在很多情况下,黑客不会试图在您的信用卡上使用资金;相反,他们试图将它在黑市上卖给第三方。无论信用卡上的资金如何,这种策略都可以使网络犯罪分子获利。如果犯罪分子获取并出售登录信息,则用户应执行密码重置,因为这可能是防止身份盗用的最快方法。

  • 制作假信用卡

一些网络骗子有适当的工具来打印虚假信用卡。在大多数情况下,窃贼使用这些假卡在实体店,加油站等处购物。

  • 买东西

虽然这看起来很明显,但众所周知,黑客可以购买,这可以迅速转化为现金;换句话说,他们买的东西很容易卖得很快。一些报道指出,现在网络骗子也可能使用被盗的信用卡信息购买加密货币。

您可以做些什么来保护您的信用卡信息不被盗?

可悲的是,并非所有人都是虚拟安全方面的专家。但是,您可以采取简单但非常有效的步骤来保护您的信用卡信息和其他在线帐户。

  • 尽管显而易见,但请务必不要将信用卡公开。在您的社交媒体资料中张贴信用卡照片也是如此。
  • 密切关注撇油器。每当您决定使用您的卡时,请务必查看刷卡机构或ATM上是否没有额外的设备。
  • 定期查看您的银行帐户。通过这样做,您将能够发现任何欺诈活动。此外,考虑注册信用监控服务。
  • 考虑使用单独的卡进行所有在线购物。
  • 密码保密。另外,让它们尽可能复杂。所有这一切都可以在Cyclonis密码管理器的帮助下轻松完成。此外,我们建议您定期重置每个在线帐户的密码。虽然这可能是一个恼人的过程,但密码管理器可以帮助您避免所有麻烦。
  • 使用专业的反恶意软件工具保护您的计算机。这应该是不言而喻的;不幸的是,相当多的用户忽视了拥有安全操作系统的好处。
  • 警惕网络钓鱼攻击。始终检查电子邮件地址及其内容的合法性;否则,您最终可能会将所有信用卡信息移交给网络骗子,而不会意识到这一点。
  • 如果您的在线银行帐户遭到违反,请重置密码并立即致电您的银行。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 4是什么?

What Really Happens If your Credit Card Information Is Stolen?

stolen credit card information

We've all heard about stolen credit card information. While that's a serious concern, some people might not take it that seriously. However, cyber crime is at an all-time high. Some studies suggest that up to 46% of Americans have fallen victim to credit card fraud in the past five years. In a single year loses due to credit card theft could amount up to billions, which is frightening to put it lightly.

In most situations, your bank issues a notification via email, text, or a phone call to let you know about fraudulent activity with your credit card. The warning, usually, advises to perform a password reset and check all of your assets carefully. Unfortunately, quite a few users don't find out that cyber criminals got a hold of their credit card data until after it has already been used. That's so because all credit card details can be stolen silently. Fortunately, there're a few precautionary steps that you can take to secure your financial data.

In this report, we'll go into detail of how cyber criminals can steal your credit card details, what they use it for, and what steps you can take for extra security.

Ways thieves steal credit card information

These days cyber crooks need only a few moments to get a hold of your credit card information. While dumpster diving for credit cards is no longer a favorite way to get a hold of such information, there're a number of ways that thieves can steal all credit card details without a lot of trouble.

  • Data Breaches

Using sophisticated hacking techniques, thieves can break into a company's data system and scrape it for information. Usually, they can gain access to your social security number, address, email, and yes - your credit card details. The recent rise in data breaches signifies that it is a technique that cyber crooks will continue to use. The recent Equifax breach is yet another horrendous example of how cyber criminals have gathered records of over 140 million users. The victims of this breach were advised to execute a password reset immediately.

  • Skimming

Though this technique is not as popular, it is still used. A credit card skimmer is a tiny device that gathers your credit card information during a legitimate transaction. Once you swipe your credit card through a skimmer, it collects all the data that's stored in your card's magnetic stripe; it holds your full name, card number, and the expiration date. Mostly, skimmers are fixed on top of ATMs and card swipe mechanisms. Thus, it's a good idea to check the card device that you're about to use beforehand.

  • Using malware

There are quite a few malicious applications that can gather data of an infected computer. However, in most instances, hackers prefer to use keyloggers. Designed to track every single keystroke, keyloggers work amazingly well. By using it, cyber crooks can get all the information that they need; your email credentials, passwords, credit card data, and other sensitive info. If any of such information is stolen, be sure to reset passwords without any hesitation. To keep your operating system secure from devious applications use a reliable antimalware tool. Also, we encourage users to secure their accounts using a password manager.

How is stolen credit card information used?

There're tons of ways to use stolen credit card information. It varies from small purchases to an outright identity theft. Though it would be impossible to list all the possible ways, we'll cover the most popular ones.

  • Selling stolen credit card information

In quite a few cases hackers are not trying to use funds on your credit card; instead, they're trying to sell it on black markets to third-parties. This strategy allows cyber criminals to profit regardless of the funds on the credit card. If criminals obtain and sell login information, users should perform a password reset since that might be the fastest way to prevent identity theft.

  • Making fake credit cards

Some cyber crooks have the appropriate tools to print phony credit cards on the go. In most instances, thieves use those bogus cards for purchases at physical stores, gas stations, etc.

  • Buying stuff

While this seems obvious, hackers are known to make purchases, which can be turned into cash quickly; in other words, they buy stuff that's easy to sell quickly. Some reports state that nowadays cyber crooks are also likely to purchase cryptocurrencies using stolen credit card information.

What can you do to protect your credit card information from being stolen?

Sadly, not everybody is an expert on virtual security. However, there are simple, yet incredibly effective, steps that you can take to secure your credit card information and other online accounts.

  • Even though it should be obvious, be sure not to leave your credit card out in the open. The same goes for putting up pictures of your credit card on your social media profiles.
  • Keep an eye open for skimmers. Whenever you decide to use your card, be sure to see if there are no extra devices attached to the swipe mechanism or an ATM.
  • Review your bank accounts on a regular basis. By doing so, you will be able to spot any fraudulent activity. Also, consider signing up for credit-monitoring services.
  • Consider using a separate card for all your online purchases.
  • Keep your passwords secret. Also, make them as complex as possible. All of this can be done easily with the help of a Cyclonis Password Manager. Furthermore, we advise you to reset passwords for every online account regularly. Though that could be an annoying procedure, this is where a password manager will help you avoid all the hassle.
  • Protect your computer with a professional antimalware tool. That should be self-evident; unfortunately, quite a few users overlook the benefits of having a secure operating system.
  • Be wary of phishing attacks. Always check the email address and its content for its legitimacy; otherwise, you could end up handing over all your credit card information to cyber crooks without realizing it.
  • If your online bank accounts were breached, reset passwords and call your bank immediately.

By Foley
June 25, 2018
June 25, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 4 ?