您能相信新的Google Chrome扩展程序可以帮助您选择一个好的密码吗?

Google Password Checkup CHrome Extension

一个简陋的浏览器扩展程序可以告诉您密码是否足够强大吗?在我们回答这个问题之前,我们显然需要解释一下强密码是什么。

经典定义指出,强密码必须是随机选择的大写和小写字母,数字和特殊字符。近年来,专家建议使用长密码可以很好地保护您的数据。关于密码是否应该经常更改存在一些争论,但几乎每个人都同意,无论其年龄,长度和复杂性如何,密码都不应该在多个网站或平台上重复使用。然而,还有一个因素可以使一个相对较新的,极难猜测的密码在保护您的帐户时完全无用。很多人似乎都在忽视它。

您可能知道,当网络犯罪分子窃取数据时,他们并不总是自己保留数据。骗子每天都会以TB级别的受害用户名和密码分享太字节。尽管有些人会让你相信,但获取所有这些信息并不一定需要进入所谓的黑暗网络 。通常,下载这些海量数据转储就像访问公共可用的互联网论坛或下载torrent文件一样简单。换句话说,很多人可能会访问您的受损密码,最近的一系列凭据填充攻击表明他们并不害怕使用它。

Google Chrome扩展程序可以查看您的密码是否已被盗用

Google希望帮助您保护自己。多年来,搜索引擎巨头的安全团队已经收集了大约40亿用户名和密码组合泄露在数据泄露事件中。一个名为Password Checkup的新Chrome扩展程序可以使用该信息来帮助您选择密码。

每次输入用户名和密码时,加载项都会检查Google数据库的凭据,如果发现它们过去已泄露,则会显示警告,让您知道最好选择一个不同的密码。这个想法是它可以在所有网站上运行,只有当它认为用户名和密码都被破坏时才会触发警报。

那些更密切关注数据安全新闻的人都知道这不是第一种此类服务。澳大利亚安全专家Troy Hunt在几年前创建了他的Have I Been Pwned平台,并且在2017年,他还推出了Pwned Passwords服务,该服务允许您根据大约5亿个受损密码的集合检查您的密码。

显然,Google的收藏量要大得多,这意味着如果您的凭据遭到入侵,他们更有可能出现在搜索引擎巨头的数据库中,而不是他们在Troy Hunt的数据库中。. 但这是否意味着您应立即下载Google的密码检查扩展程序?

你能相信谷歌的新扩展吗?

Troy Hunt和Google都推出了这些服务,因为美国国家标准与技术研究院(NIST)认为用户可以从中受益。几年前, NIST重新审视了密码指南,并告诉软件供应商和服务提供商,检查用户密码是否存在违规数据集合,并在匹配时发出警告是很好的做法。然而,在它可以告诉您密码是否已被泄露之前,Google的新扩展程序需要对其进行分析,这显然会让一些人感到不舒服。

在向任何人提供密码之前要三思而后行总是一个好主意。与大多数商业模式围绕数据的硅谷公司一样,谷歌因其对用户隐私的态度而受到批评。然而,公平地说,搜索引擎庞然大物不太可能冒着人们密码出现问题的风险。

与Troy Hunt一样,Google使用散列和加密来确保它永远不会以纯文本形式看到密码。根据介绍扩展程序的博客文章 ,检查是在本地执行的,并且您的密码不会以任何形式或形式发送给Google。

最终,每个人都自己决定是否要使用密码检查,这可能是谷歌决定将其作为插件提供而不是直接嵌入浏览器的原因。不过,你可能会比想一想更糟糕。

February 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 2是什么?

Can You Trust A New Google Chrome Extension to Help You Choose a Good Password?

Google Password Checkup CHrome Extension

Can a humble browser extension tell you whether or not your password is strong enough? Before we answer this question, we obviously need to explain what a strong password is.

The classical definition states that a strong password must be a random selection of uppercase and lowercase letter, numbers, and special characters. In more recent years, experts have suggested that a long passphrase could be just as good at protecting your data. There's a bit of a debate around whether or not passwords should be changed frequently, but just about everyone agrees that regardless of its age, length, and complexity, a password should never be reused on more than one website or platform. There is, however, one more factor that can make even a relatively new, extremely hard-to-guess password completely useless at protecting your account. And quite a few people seem to be overlooking it.

As you probably know, when cybercriminals steal data, they don't always keep it to themselves. Crooks share terabytes upon terabytes of compromised usernames and passwords every day. And despite what some people would have you believe, getting all this information doesn't necessarily require going to the so-called dark web. Often, downloading those massive data dumps is as easy as visiting a publicly available internet forum or downloading a torrent file. In other words, plenty of people might have access to your compromised password, and a recent series of credential stuffing attacks shows that they're not afraid to use it.

A Google Chrome extension can see if your password has been compromised

Google wants to help you protect yourself. Over the years, the search engine giant's security team has collected around four billion username and password combinations leaked in data breach incidents. A new Chrome extension called Password Checkup can use that information to assist you with your password choices.

Every time you enter your usernames and passwords, the add-on will check the credentials against Google's database, and if it finds that they have been leaked in the past, it will display a warning, letting you know that you're better off choosing a different password. The idea is that it will work on all websites, and it will fire off alerts only if it thinks that both the username and the password have been breached.

Those of you who follow data security news more closely know that this is not the first service of this kind. Australian security expert Troy Hunt created his Have I Been Pwned platform years ago, and in 2017, he also launched the Pwned Passwords service which lets you check your password against a collection of about half a billion compromised passwords.

Obviously, Google's collection is considerably bigger which means that if your credentials have been compromised, they are more likely to be present in the search engine giant's database than they are in Troy Hunt's. But does this mean that you should download Google's Password Checkup extension immediately?

Can you trust Google's new extension?

Both Troy Hunt and Google have launched these services because the US' National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) reckons that users can benefit from them. A couple of years ago, NIST revisited its password guidelines and told software vendors and service providers that checking users' passwords against collections of breached data and warning them when there's a match is good practice. Before it can tell you whether or not your password has been compromised, however, Google's new extension needs to analyze it, which obviously makes some people rather uncomfortable.

Thinking twice before giving your password to anyone is always a good call. Google, like most of the Silicon Valley companies whose business model revolves around data, has received its share of criticism for its attitude towards users' privacy. It's fair to say, however, that the search engine behemoth is unlikely to risk something going wrong with people's passwords.

Like Troy Hunt, Google uses hashing and encryption to ensure that it never sees the password in plain text. According to the blog post introducing the extension, the check is performed locally, and your password isn't sent to Google in any shape or form.

Ultimately, everyone decides for themselves whether or not they want to use Password Checkup which is probably why Google decided to offer it as an addon rather than embedding it straight into the browser. You could do worse than think about it, though.

February 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 4 ?