什麼是黑暗網絡以及如何確保個人數據不會在那裡結束

Personal Information on the Dark Web

“暗網”一詞似乎是在線安全領域中使用最廣泛的概念之一。部分原因是有些記者不完全了解互聯網上的事物的工作方式,部分是因為它聽起來很酷並且會產生大量流量,所以人們傾向於錯誤地認為,如果在網上進行了非法活動,則是在“暗網”上進行的。 '。這不是嚴格正確的。

實際上,我們每天使用的互聯網部分是我們看到和聽到的大多數惡意活動的溫床。也就是說,黑暗的網絡不僅僅是聰明的營銷人員的發明。它確實存在,今天我們將討論它如何影響您的個人數據。但是,在開始討論之前,讓我們更好地了解我們在說什麼。我們將從一些歷史和一些技術細節開始。

Tor和黑暗之網

儘管一小部分暗網依賴於其他技術,但大多數存在是由於眾所周知的The Onion Router或Tor。 Tor作為一個概念誕生於二十多年前,無論您是否相信,Tor的創造者在他們的頭腦中絕對沒有任何非法活動。其最初目的是保護美國的在線情報通信。按照目前的形式,Tor並非僅由政府機構使用。實際上,如果您下載Tor瀏覽器(完全合法且免費),您也可以訪問Tor網絡。

網絡犯罪分子之所以使用Tor,是因為它提供了一種匿名在線交流的方式。當您使用Tor網絡時,信息的每一位都經過多層加密(這是“洋蔥”隱喻的來源),然後以完全隨機的方式通過多台不同的機器進行中繼(這就是“路由器”部分)。在在線世界中,說出“不可能”並不是一個好主意,但是可以肯定的是,在Tor上找到人們是非常困難的。這使舉報者可以與記者安全地進行通信,而不必擔心暴露自己的身份(或位置)。它還使政府機構能夠傳輸一些極其敏感的信息,而不必擔心未經授權的各方會看到它。

您可以在黑暗的網絡上找到什麼?

不幸的是,相同的匿名性使犯罪分子可以買賣大量非法商品,而不必擔心執法人員會敲門。這種交易使黑暗的網絡變得黑暗。

犯罪分子使用特殊的黑暗網絡市場來買賣,共享從盜版內容,黑客工具到毒品和武器的任何東西。這是一個在全球開展業務的龐大行業,而加密貨幣的誕生無疑為其最近的增長做出了貢獻。

執法機構正在為阻止犯罪活動而進行的一場敗仗。多年以來,我們已經看到一些主要的黑暗網絡市場永久關閉,有些人甚至從監獄裡看到了世界的樣子。不幸的是,大多數騙子似乎並沒有為此而煩惱。新市場取代了那些被關閉的市場,擁有巨大比特幣錢包的人繼續在街上自由漫步。

我的數據在哪裡適合整個圖片?

為了很好地說明我們在本文開頭描述的問題,每當一個組織披露數據洩露時,您都會閱讀報告,說很快就會在暗網上買賣被盜的信息。. 並非總是如此。

許多人會告訴您“數據是新的石油”,實際上,諸如Google和Facebook之類的公司的市值表明,信息(無論是共享還是被盜)非常有價值。問題是,如今有很多東西,即使是非法獲得,也並不像某些人所相信的那麼寶貴。

實際上,登錄憑據,信用卡號甚至健康記錄都是在黑暗的網絡上買賣的。就是說,例如,交易數據的潛在後果沒有毒品或武器交易那麼嚴重,這就是為什麼騙子們通常不願打擾所謂的黑網。他們只是通過網站和論壇來購買,出售和共享遭到破壞的信息,這些信息可以通過簡單的Google搜索輕鬆地通過常規瀏覽器訪問。

總而言之,在交易個人信息時,黑暗的網絡並不像您想像的那樣受歡迎。無論我們談論的是黑暗的網絡還是更易於訪問的資源,但是,您都不想找到自己的個人信息從一對犯罪分子轉移到另一對犯罪分子的地方。

如何確保您的數據安全?

專家編寫了書籍,繪製圖表並記錄了嘗試回答這個問題的課程。儘管工作量很大,但逐步製定一份在線保護數據的分步指南並不可行。

一個好的方法是考慮最壞的情況,並假設您(和/或您正在使用的服務)遲早會遭到黑客攻擊。這將幫助您認識到數據安全為時已晚的重要性。

您可能需要查看社交媒體帳戶的隱私設置 ,並且可能會發現與朋友共享的信息過多

說到密碼,您應該知道存儲非常重要。如果正確存儲了密碼(使用強大的算法對密碼進行了鹽化和哈希處理),則只要密碼不太短或沒有字典單詞,就很難破解。如果使用較弱的算法進行散列處理,則只有騙子才能隱藏真正複雜且較長的密碼。如果它以純文本格式存儲,並且您要在多個網站上使用它,那麼我們將面臨“坐無可收”的局面。不幸的是,供應商存儲密碼的方式超出了您的控制範圍,這意味著您別無選擇,只能再次假設最壞的情況將會發生。

保持盡可能多的數據安全的唯一方法是為所有帳戶創建長而復雜的唯一密碼。 Cyclonis密碼管理器為您提供了一種快速便捷的方法。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

What Is the Dark Web and What to Do to Ensure That Personal Data Does Not End up There

Personal Information on the Dark Web

The term 'dark web' seems to be one of the most widely misused concepts in the world of online security. Partly because some journalists don't fully understand how things work on the internet, and partly because it sounds cool and generates quite a lot of traffic, people tend to wrongly assume that if something illegal is done online, it's done on the 'dark web'. This is not strictly true.

In fact, the part of the internet we use every day is the breeding ground for most of the malicious activity we see and hear about. That said, the dark web isn't just the invention of a clever marketing person. It does exist, and today we're going to talk about how it affects your personal data. Before we get to that, however, let's get a better understanding of what we're talking about. We'll start with some history and a few technical details.

Tor and the dark web

Although a small portion of the dark web relies on other technologies, most of it exists thanks to The Onion Router or Tor as it's commonly known. Tor as a concept was born more than twenty years ago, and believe it or not, the people who created it had absolutely no illegal activities on their mind. Its initial purpose was to protect US online intelligence communication. In its current form, Tor isn't used exclusively by government agencies. In fact, if you download the Tor browser (it is completely legal and free to do so), you too can access the Tor network.

Cybercriminals use Tor because it provides a way of communicating online anonymously. When you're on the Tor network, every bit of information is subjected to multi-layer encryption (this is where the "onion" metaphor comes from) and is then relayed through multiple different machines in a completely random fashion (this is the "router" part). In the online world, saying that something is "impossible" is not a terribly good idea, but you can be pretty sure that tracing people on Tor is extremely difficult. This enables whistleblowers to communicate securely with journalists without the fear of having their identity (or location) exposed. It also allows government agencies to transmit some extremely sensitive information without fearing that unauthorized parties could see it.

What can you find on the dark web?

Unfortunately, the same anonymity lets criminals buy and sell tons of illegal goods without worrying about law enforcement officers knocking on their doors. This trade is what makes the dark web dark.

Criminals use special dark web marketplaces to buy, sell, and share anything from pirated content, through hacking tools, to drugs and weapons. It's a massive industry that operates globally, and the birth of cryptocurrencies has definitely contributed to its recent growth.

Law enforcement agencies are fighting a losing battle trying to stop the criminal activities. Over the years, we've seen a few major dark web marketplaces shutting down for good, and some people even got to see what the world looks like from behind bars. Unfortunately, most of the crooks don't seem all that bothered about it. New markets replace the ones that got shut down, and people with humongous Bitcoin wallets continue to roam the streets freely.

Where does my data fit into the whole picture?

In a perfect illustration of the problem we described at the beginning of the article, whenever an organization discloses a data breach, you read reports saying that very soon, the stolen information will be bought and sold on the dark web. This isn't always the case.

Many people will tell you that "data is the new oil" and indeed, the market capitalization of companies like Google and Facebook show that information (whether willingly shared or stolen) is very valuable. The thing is, there is so much of it nowadays that even when it's obtained illegally, it's not quite as precious as some people would have you believe.

Login credentials, credit card numbers, and even health records are indeed bought and sold on the dark web. That said, the potential consequences of trading data are not as significant as those of trading drugs or weapons, for example, which is why crooks often prefer not to bother with the so-called dark web. They just buy, sell, and share compromised information through websites and forums that can be easily accessed with a regular browser after a simple Google search.

All in all, when it comes to trading personal information, the dark web isn't as popular a destination as you may think. Regardless of whether we're talking about the dark web or more easily accessible resources, however, you don't want to find your personal information getting transferred from one pair of criminal hands to another.

How to keep your data safe?

Experts have written books, drawn diagrams, and recorded courses trying to answer this question. Despite the huge volume of work, putting together a step-by-step guide to protecting your data online is just not feasible.

A good approach would be to think about the worst-case scenario and assume that sooner or later, you (and/or a service you're using) will get hacked. This will help you realize how important data security is before it's too late.

You'll probably want to review the privacy settings of your social media accounts, and you'll see that you might be sharing a bit too much information with your friends.

When it comes to passwords, you should know that storage is very important. If a password is stored correctly (salted and hashed with a strong algorithm), cracking it would be hard, as long as it's not too short or a dictionary word. If it's hashed with a weaker algorithm, only really complex and long passwords can remain hidden for the crooks. If it's stored in plain text, and if you're using it on multiple websites, we've got a sitting duck scenario. Unfortunately, the way the vendors store your passwords is beyond your control, which means that you have little other choice but to once again assume that the worst is going to happen.

The only way of keeping as much of your data as safe as possible is to create long, complex, and unique passwords for all your accounts. Cyclonis Password Manager gives you a quick and convenient way of doing just that.

By Duran
November 8, 2018
November 8, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 5 ?