如果您使用的是密码,您如何知道?

尽管专家们努力启发他们为所有帐户设置安全数字锁的重要性,但用户仍然使用弱密码,因此密码黑客率在过去几年内没有降低一个百分点也就不足为奇了。事实上,研究表明情况甚至更糟。根据Verizon的说法,过去三年中涉及密码的数据泄露数量从50%上升到81% ,这清楚地表明安全专家建议采取的传统安全措施根本不起作用或者即使不重视10个用户中有8个承认关注他们的在线隐私和安全性。

为什么要密码?

虽然一些专家指责网站及其开发者允许用户设置易于识别的弱密码,但大多数研究人员都认为最终用户在很大程度上也对他/她的安全负责。不幸的是,一些用户仍然不明白使用强密码可以帮助防范网络攻击。他们选择简短的“易于输入”密码,这些密码可以很容易地记住,而不是复杂密码,这会自动使他们面临数据泄露的风险。最近的研究表明,近10%的用户使用最差密码列表中的密码至少一次,而3%使用123456 ,这被认为是世界上最薄弱的密码之一,因为它可以轻松地进行。应该注意的是,对字母替换字符(例如数字和特殊符号)并不会显着增加密码强度,即使它是关于密码安全性的最受欢迎的建议之一。

当我们谈论密码时,分享并不关心。最近的一项调查显示, 41%使用在线服务的美国成年人与其他人(通常是朋友和家人)分享了他们的密码,因此,如此多的密码最终落入黑客的手中并被逮捕,这并不奇怪。请记住,共享密码以解锁充满私人信息的在线帐户是一种不好的做法。将密码列在计算机上的未受保护的文本文档中也没有什么安全的,因为如果网络犯罪分子获得对您系统的访问权限,它们将被计算在内。最后但并非最不重要的一点是,您应该在输入密码之前检查登录表单两次,以确保您不与黑客共享您的凭据。

还有一个原因可以解释为什么如此多的密码被用作 - 用户仍然会在多个服务中重复使用密码。 居住在美国,德国,澳大利亚,法国和英国的2000人进行的一项调查显示了令人震惊的调查结果:91%的受访者非常清楚与密码重用相关的安全风险,但仍有59%的人这样做。如果你问我们,这是一种危险的做法。通过重复使用密码,您将自己置于危险之中. 一般来说,如果您的某个帐户密码已被确认,您的所有帐户可能会在一夜之间被黑客入侵。

如何判断我的密码是否已被确认?

如果您在自己的在线帐户中检测到可疑活动,则可能是您的密码已被检测,即您已成为数据泄露的受害者。哇,不要惊慌失措,这不是世界末日。我们期望你做的是访问Have I Been Pwned 。您将被要求输入您担心的密码(不用担心,这是安全的),然后点击pwned?按钮检查它是否已被检测。

原始数据库最近收到了大量更新。虽然Pwned Passwords数据库的初始版本包含从各种来源获取的3.2亿个被黑客密码,但最新版本(通常称为Pwned Passwords V2)包含从各种数据泄露中收集的501,636,842个泄露密码 。该数据库现在还包括两个主要来源:Onliner Spambot Dump,包含711万条记录和在Dark Web上发现的14亿条明文凭证。 Pwned Passwords V2中也添加了一些次要资源,使其更加可靠。最重要的是,一些垃圾记录已从数据库中删除,略微减少了Pwned Passwords V2的大小。

我已经被逮捕了。现在我该怎么做?

如果您收到了已经被告知的消息,那么尽快更改受到破坏的密码是一个聪明的举动,以避免进一步的安全相关问题,特别是如果它在多个站点上重复使用,因为您可能会发现所有帐户遭到黑客攻击并且信息被盗很快就从他们那里来。不要设置可以轻松再次使用的弱密码。相反,选择一个安全的密码网络犯罪分子无法破解。

你可能会问,理想的密码是什么样的。首先,您需要选择足够长的密码。安全专家说,安全密码必须至少包含12个字符,但当然,建议使用密码。其次,它应该包含数字,符号和大写/小写字母的混合。第三,它不能是一个可以在字典中找到的简单单词。多个字典单词的组合也不被视为强密码。最后但并非最不重要的是,您应该避免在密码中使用个人详细信息(例如地址),因为这些密码可以很容易地进行。

用于设置密码的前3种策略

网络钓鱼

从技术上讲,钓鱼与捕鱼无关。它可以被描述为一种网络攻击,其主要目的是诱骗用户提供敏感信息,包括登录凭证。最好的网络钓鱼示例之一是使用密码恢复链接打开虚假门户网站的伪造电子邮件。它们被发送给全球的互联网用户,寻求获取他们的登录名和密码,从而访问他们的帐户. 这些网络钓鱼电子邮件非常令人信服,据英特尔安全部门称, 80%的人仍然无法识别它们。

蛮力

蛮力仍然被认为是最流行的密码破解方法之一。它通常被称为试错法,因为攻击者会尝试所有可能的字符组合,希望破解密码集。毋庸置疑,有些密码比其他密码更容易破解。破解安全密码可能需要数年时间,而123456之类的简单密码可能会在短时间内被猜到。这证明了再次为所有帐户设置复杂密码的重要性。

字典攻击

这是一种简单的密码破解策略。为什么称它为字典攻击?因为它只是在字典中尝试单词,直到找到用作密码的正确单词。所谓的字典不是教室里使用的书。通常,它是一个小文件,也包含最流行的密码组合,例如123456qwerty

如果已证明您的密码已被确认,则必须立即重置密码。创建一个难以破解的安全密码是当今世界的必需品,因此请花一些时间为您的帐户提供最佳密码。如果您不是一个富有创造力的人,您可以使用Cyclonis Password Manager生成安全密码。它还会将您保存的所有密码保存在您的个人保管库中,并自动将其输入登录表单。我们可以向您保证,只要您保持主密码授予对密码管理器安全的访问权限,您的所有密码都不会被伪造。

提示:您可以使用Cyclonis Password Manager的密码分析器功能估算所有已保存密码的总强度。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

How Do You Know If You're Using a Pwned Password?

Users still use weak passwords despite specialists’ efforts to enlighten them on the importance of setting secure digital locks for all their accounts, so there is nothing surprising that the password hacking rate has not decreased by a single percentage point in the past few years. In fact, research has shown that the situation has even got worse. According to Verizon, the number of data breaches that involve pwned passwords has gone up from 50 percent to 81 percent during the last three years, which clearly shows that traditional security measures security experts recommend taking simply do not work or are not taken seriously even though 8 out of 10 users admit to be concerned about their online privacy and security.

Why do passwords get pwned?

While some specialists blame websites and their developers for allowing users to set weak passwords that can be easily pwned, the majority of researchers agree that the end-user is, without a doubt, responsible for his/her security to a great extent too. Unfortunately, some users still fail to understand that using strong passwords can help shield against cyber attacks. They choose short “easy to type” passwords that can be remembered easily over complex ones, which automatically puts them at risk of a data breach. Recent research has shown that nearly 10 percent of all the users used passwords from the worst passwords list at least once, whereas 3 percent used 123456, which is considered one of the weakest passwords in the world since it can be pwned easily. It should be noted that substituting characters, such as numbers and special symbols, for letters does not dramatically increase the password strength even though it is one of the most popular pieces of advice regarding password security.

Sharing is not caring when we talk about passwords. A recent survey has shown that 41% of American adults using online services have shared their passwords with somebody else, typically, friends and family, so it is not surprising at all that so many passwords end up in hackers’ hands and get pwned. Remember, it is a bad practice to share passwords that unlock online accounts full of private information. There is nothing safe about keeping passwords listed in an unprotected text document on your computer too because they will get pwned in case cyber criminals gain access to your system. Last but not least, you should check the login form twice before entering your password to make sure you do not share your credentials with hackers.

There is one more reason why so many passwords are pwned these days – users still reuse passwords across multiple services. A survey of 2000 people living in the United States, Germany, Australia, France, and the UK has revealed shocking findings: 91% of respondents are well aware of the security risks associated with password reuse, but 59% do so anyway. If you ask us, it is a dangerous practice. You push yourself into danger by reusing passwords. Generally speaking, all your accounts might be hacked overnight if one of your accounts’ password is pwned.

How do I tell if my password has been pwned?

If you have detected suspicious activity on your online account, there is a possibility that your password has been pwned, i.e. you have become a victim of a data breach. Woah, do not freak out, it is not the end of the world. What we expect you to do instead is to access Have I Been Pwned. You will be asked to enter the password you are worried about (don’t worry, it is safe) and then click the pwned? button to check if it has been pwned.

The original database has recently received a massive update. While the initial version of the Pwned Passwords database consisted of 320 million hacked passwords taken from a variety of sources, the most recent version, usually referred to as Pwned Passwords V2, contains 501,636,842 leaked passwords collected from various data breaches. The database now also includes two major sources: Onliner Spambot Dump consisting of 711 million records and 1.4 billion clear text credentials discovered on the Dark Web. Some minor sources have been added to Pwned Passwords V2 too, making it even more reliable. On top of that, some junk records have been removed from the database, slightly reducing the size of Pwned Passwords V2.

I have been pwned. What do I do now?

If you get the message that you have been pwned, it would be a smart move to change the compromised password ASAP to avoid further security-related problems, especially if it is reused on multiple sites because you might find all your accounts hacked and information stolen from them in no time. Do not set a weak password that can be pwned easily again. Instead, choose a secure password cyber criminals could not crack.

What an ideal password looks like, you may ask. Well, first of all, you need to choose a password that is long enough. Security specialists say that a secure password must consist of 12 characters minimum, but it is, of course, advisable to go up. Second, it should contain a mix of numbers, symbols, and upper/lower-case letters. Third, it cannot be a simple word that can be found in a dictionary. A combination of several dictionary words is not considered a strong password too. Last but not least, you should refrain from using personal details (e.g. address) in your passwords as well because such passwords can be easily pwned.

Top 3 tactics used to pwn passwords

Phishing

Technically, fishing has nothing to do with fishing. It can be described as a type of a cyber attack whose primary goal is to trick users into providing sensitive information, including login credentials. One of the best phishing examples is fabricated emails with password recovery links opening fake portals. They are sent to Internet users around the globe seeking to obtain their logins and passwords and thus access their accounts. These phishing emails are so convincing that, according to Intel Security, 80% of people still fail to recognize them.

Brute force

Brute force is still considered one of the most popular password cracking methods. It is usually referred to as a trial-and-error method because an attacker tries all possible character combinations hoping to crack the password set. Needless to say, some passwords are easier to crack than others. It might take years to hack a secure password, whereas simple passwords like 123456 can be guessed within moments. This proves the importance of setting complex passwords for all accounts again.

Dictionary attack

It is an uncomplicated password hacking tactic. Why is it called a dictionary attack? Because it is all about trying words in a dictionary until a correct word used as a password is found. The so-called dictionary is not a book used in a classroom. Usually, it is a small file that also contains the most popular password combinations, e.g. 123456 and qwerty.

If it has turned out that your password has been pwned, you must reset it immediately. Creating a secure password that is hard to crack is a necessity in today’s world, so spend some time to come up with the best password for your account. If you are far from being an inventive person, you can use Cyclonis Password Manager to generate a secure password. It would also keep all your saved passwords encrypted in your personal vault and automatically enter them into login forms for you. We can assure you that none of your passwords will get pwned as long as you keep your master password granting access to the password manager safe.

Tip: You can estimate the total strength of all your saved passwords using the Password Analyzer feature of Cyclonis Password Manager.

July 24, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 8 ?