5 Continuously Growing Cyberthreats You Should Watch Out For

5 Cyberthreats to Look Out For

网络世界不是一个安全的地方,但究竟有多危险?在专门讨论网络安全的网站上阅读新闻,您会留下这样的印象,即您点击的每个链接或您打开的每封电子邮件或多或少都会不可避免地造成巨大的损失。虽然我们都知道情况并非如此,但网络攻击是我们日常在线生活的一部分,人们需要警惕它们。有些威胁比其他威胁更加活跃,安全专家正在疯狂地分析所有趋势,并让我们了解一下我们应该最关心的问题。

我们列出了六个在过去几个月似乎非常活跃的网络攻击。记住它们并积极保护自己免受它们攻击可能无法保证在线存在无故障,但它应该可以帮助你避开一些子弹。

信用卡浏览电子商务网站

那些对信息安全领域感兴趣的人几乎肯定听说过Magecart。最初,“Magecart”一词用于参考针对Magento在线购物软件的攻击,但多年来,它已成为注入电子商务网站源代码的恶意脚本的集体名称,无论如何底层平台。所述脚本旨在默默地抓取在线购物者的信用卡详细信息并将其发送到由网络犯罪分子控制的服务器。基本上,它是一个在线自动取款机,骗子似乎完全爱上了它。

提出有关任何类型的网络攻击的统计数据很困难,因为其中许多事件仍未被发现或未被发现。对于像Magecart这样的威胁来说尤其如此,这些威胁从头开始设计为隐身且难以发现。尽管如此,为了让您了解Magecart在过去几个月中的流行程度,Malwarebytes的专家最近指出 ,仅在7月份,他们发现并阻止了超过6.5万次对网上商店的掠夺攻击。

加密货币挖掘恶意软件

你们中的大多数人都记得像比特币在2017年下半年和去年头几个月经历的突然和无法解释的价格飙升加密货币。经济学专家预测,泡沫几乎会立即爆发,但实际上,数字硬币继续以高价交易一段时间。对于罪犯来说,诱惑太大了,不容错过。

他们知道使用自定义和现成的工具,他们可以使用毫无戒心的用户的计算机资源免费挖掘加密货币。而且,他们没有一种,而是两种方式将它拉下来。他们可以在受感染的网站上注入脚本,并使用访问者的硬件创建数字硬币,或者使用传统的恶意软件感染媒介直接在受害者的机器上部署矿工。 “抢劫”这个词被用来形容这次攻击,它变得如此多产,以至于它超越了勒索软件,成为网络犯罪分子最喜欢的首选武器。

加密货币热潮在2018年末略有下降,而在今年上半年,价格暴跌至18个月前的高点以下. 然而,加密劫持仍然是主要的在线威胁之一。

7月份,当Avast的研究人员与法国警方合作并推翻了用于分发加密货币挖掘恶意软件的Retadup僵尸网络时证明了这一点。由于研究人员和执法人员的努力,超过85万人的个人电脑被清理干净。

供应链攻击

您可能已经听说过,在软件和硬件方面,您必须始终使用受到大量人员信任的合法供应商。这就是安全专家一次又一次地说的,并且考虑到有多少阴暗的开发人员推出各种安全性差或者非常危险的产品,这只是为了更好地保护自己而采取的最基本的预防措施。

然而,安全专家也知道即使是最值得信赖的供应商也会受到损害。他们充分意识到,如果黑客设法破坏大型软件开发人员的系统,他们就可以直接访问不少用户的PC。事实上,这似乎发生了相当多的事情。

所谓的供应链攻击现在已经存在了一段时间,但近年来,它的使用范围更广泛了。例如,在2018年下半年,卡巴斯基的研究人员发现 ,网络犯罪分子已经设法破坏台湾PC制造商华硕的Live Update Utility。多亏了这一点,他们能够为华硕的一个工具创建一个后门更新,并将其推送给数百万用户。恶意软件被设计为仅在特定的MAC地址上激活,这表明攻击是针对性的,但很明显,后果可能会更加严重。当卡巴斯基在3月发布有关其调查结果的细节时,他们表示像这样的供应链攻击将继续对全世界的用户构成相当大的威胁。

凭证填料

有两个很好的理由说明凭证填充将继续成为破坏大量在线帐户的最简单方法。第一个问题源于人们在多个帐户中重复使用相同密码的习惯。即使是安全专业人员,也就是解释这有多危险的人,也可以做到这一点 。提升凭证填充的受欢迎程度的另一个因素来自于获得所述重用密码比您想象的更容易的事实. 安全专家每天都会发现配置错误的数据库和包含大量敏感数据的服务器只需浏览器即可访问。

拥有数以千计的用户名和密码组合,对黑客来说最简单的方法就是使用一个简单的脚本来测试它们与其他在线服务的对比。统计数据清楚地表明,其中一小部分是有效的。

最近几个月,我们看到针对许多不同组织和在线服务提供商的用户的凭证填充攻击,包括伦敦运输公司的Oyster网站汇丰银行Dailymotion 。正如我们已经提到的,撤消这些攻击需要的努力非常少,潜在的利润是严重的,这意味着这种活动不太可能很快消失。

垃圾邮件

你们中的一些人可能很幸运,不知道在线帐户遭到入侵的感觉如何。您可能还设法避免在计算机上收到恶意软件。不过,我们非常确定您已经看到并处理过垃圾邮件。

许多人认为垃圾邮件不仅仅是为了销售阴暗的医药产品,而是将人们吸引到阴暗的约会网站上。他们认为垃圾邮件造成的损害仅限于专门删除它们的几分钟时间。这比那复杂一点。

尽管有大量的人相信他们知道的更好,但垃圾邮件仍然是世界上一些最引人注目的攻击的核心。研究表明 ,垃圾邮件几乎占所有每天发送和接收的电子邮件的一半,而在最近几个月,垃圾邮件发送者已经找到了其他聪明的方式来接触受害者。

垃圾邮件促成的骗局不再局限于简单的,着名的尼日利亚王子式行动。实际上,这些场景逐渐被淘汰,有利于复杂的多阶段方案和网络钓鱼攻击,即使是经验丰富的用户也能成功地欺骗它们。

如何保持安全?

显然,这远不是一份详尽的威胁列表. 其他涉及勒索软件银行特洛伊木马的网络攻击也非常受网络犯罪分子的欢迎,它们可能造成同样多(如果不是更多)的伤害。

不幸的是,您需要注意的各种各样的攻击意味着没有单一的,一刀切的解决方案来保证您自己(和您的数据)的安全。但是,您可以遵循一些可以提高安全性的常识性策略。使用可靠的安全产品,仔细检查您打开的每封电子邮件以及您点击的每个链接,并确保您的密码管理达到最佳状态。

September 9, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 10是什么?

5 Continuously Growing Cyberthreats You Should Watch Out For

5 Cyberthreats to Look Out For

The online world is not a safe place, but how dangerous is it exactly? Read the news on a website dedicated to cybersecurity, and you'll be left with the impression that more or less every link you click on and every email you open will almost inevitably cause a huge amount of damage. While we all know that this is not strictly the case, cyberattacks are a part of our everyday online lives, and people need to be wary of them. Some threats are more active than others, and security experts are working furiously to analyze all the trends and give us a heads-up about what we should be wary of the most.

We've put together a list of six cyberattacks that seem to have been quite active over the last few months. Keeping them in mind and actively protecting yourself against them might not guarantee a trouble-free online existence, but it should help you dodge a few bullets.

Credit card skimming on e-commerce websites

Those of you interested in the infosec landscape have almost certainly heard of Magecart. Initially, the word "Magecart" was used in reference to attacks aimed at the Magento online shopping software, but over the years, it has turned into a collective name for a malicious script injected into the source code of an e-commerce website, regardless of the underlying platform. The said script is designed to silently scrape online shoppers' credit card details and send them to a server controlled by the cybercriminals. Basically, it's an online ATM skimmer, and the crooks seem to be absolutely in love with it.

Coming up with statistics about any type of cyberattack is difficult because many of these incidents remain undetected or unreported. This is especially true for threats like Magecart which are designed from the ground up to be stealthy and hard-to-spot. Nevertheless, to give you an idea of how prevalent Magecart has been over the last few months, experts from Malwarebytes pointed out recently that during the month of July alone, they detected and blocked more than 65 thousand skimming attacks on online shops.

Cryptocurrency mining malware

Most of you remember the sudden and inexplicable price surge cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin experienced back in the second half of 2017 and the first few months of last year. Experts in economics were predicting that the bubble would burst almost immediately, but in reality, the digital coins continued to be traded at sky-high prices for a while. For criminals, the temptation was too big to miss.

They knew that using custom and off-the-shelf tools they can use unsuspecting users' computer resources to mine cryptocurrency for free. Moreover, they had not one, but two ways of pulling it off. They could either inject a script on a compromised website and use the visitors' hardware to create the digital coins, or deploy miners directly on the victim's machine using traditional malware infection vectors. The term cryptojacking was coined to describe the attack, and it became so prolific, that it overtook ransomware as the most preferred weapon of choice for the cybercriminals.

The cryptocurrency craze subsided a bit in late 2018, and during the first half of this year, the price plunged way below the highs reached about eighteen months ago. Nevertheless, cryptojacking continued to be one of the major online threats.

This was proven in July when researchers from Avast teamed up with the French police and brought down the Retadup botnet which had been used to distribute cryptocurrency mining malware. Thanks to the efforts of researchers and law enforcement agents, the PCs of over 850 thousand people were cleaned up.

Supply chain attacks

You have probably heard that when it comes to software and hardware, you must always use legitimate vendors that are trusted by a large number of people. This is what security experts say time and again, and given how many shady developers push all sorts of poorly secured or downright dangerous products, it is just about the most basic precaution you can take in order to protect yourself better.

Security experts also know, however, that even the most trustworthy vendors can be compromised. They are fully aware that if the hackers manage to break the system of a big software developer, they can get direct access to the PCs of quite a few users. In fact, this seems to be happening rather a lot.

The so-called supply chain attack has been around for a while now, but in recent years, it's been used a lot more extensively. In the second half of 2018, for example, Kaspersky's researchers discovered that cybercriminals had managed to compromise the Live Update Utility of Taiwan-based PC manufacturer ASUS. Thanks to this, they were able to create a backdoored update to one of ASUS' tools and push it to millions of users. The malware was designed to be activated only on specific MAC addresses which goes to show that the attack was targeted, but it was clear that the consequences could have been much more serious. When Kaspersky released details on their findings in March, they said that supply chain attacks like this one will continue to pose a considerable threat to users all over the world.

Credential stuffing

There are two very good reasons why credential stuffing will continue to be the easiest way of compromising a large number of online accounts. The first one is rooted in people's habit of reusing the same passwords across multiple accounts. Even security professionals, the people whose job it is to explain how dangerous this can be, do it. The other factor boosting credential stuffing's popularity comes from the fact that getting to the said reused passwords is easier than you might think. Every day, security experts find misconfigured databases and servers that contain mountains of sensitive data accessible with nothing more than a browser.

Armed with thousands of username and password combinations, the easiest thing for hackers is to use a simple script that can test them against other online services. Stats show clearly that a not inconsiderable portion of them work.

In recent months, we've seen credential stuffing attacks against the users of a number of different organizations and online service providers, including Transport for London's Oyster website, HSBC, and Dailymotion. As we mentioned already, pulling off these attacks requires very little in terms of effort, and the potential profits are serious, which means that this sort of activity is unlikely to die down any time soon.

Spam

Some of you may be lucky enough not to know what having an online account compromised feels like. You may have also managed to avoid getting malware on your computer. We're pretty sure that you have all seen and dealt with spam, though.

Many people see spam as little more than an annoyance designed to sell shady pharmaceutical products and lure people onto shadier dating websites. They think that the damage spam emails cause is limited to the few minutes of lost time dedicated to deleting them. It's a bit more complicated than that.

Despite the huge number of people who are convinced that they know better, spam is still at the center of some of the world's most high-profile attacks. Research shows that spam accounts for very nearly half of all emails sent and received every day, and in recent months, spammers have found other clever ways of reaching their victims.

The scams facilitated by spam are no longer limited to simple, well-known Nigerian Prince-type operations. In fact, these scenarios are gradually being phased out in favor of sophisticated, multi-stage schemes and phishing attacks that can successfully fool even the more experienced users.

How to stay safe?

Obviously, this is far from an exhaustive list of threats. Other cyberattacks involving ransomware and banking trojans are also extremely popular with cybercriminals, and they can cause just as much (if not more) harm.

Unfortunately, the wide diversity of attacks you need to watch out for means that there is no single, one-size-fits-all solution for keeping yourself (and your data) safe. You can, however, follow some common-sense tactics that should improve your security. Use a reliable security product, double-check every email you open and every link you click, and make sure that your password management is up to scratch.

September 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 3 ?