什么是WPA3,它比WPA2好多少?

WPA3 vs WPA2

好消息,各位:Wi-FiAlliance®已正式宣布WPA2的继任者WPA3。

这个简单的句子可以出现许多问题。谁是Wi-FiAlliance®?什么是WPA3,它与WPA2有什么不同?我为什么要在乎?这是一个很长的清单,所以我们不妨破解。

Wi-FiAlliance®成立于1999年,是实际创造“Wi-Fi”一词的组织。您可能已经或可能没有注意到,许多可以连接到家中无线网络的设备在底部的贴纸或他们进来的盒子上都有“Wi-Fi认证”徽标。此认证已颁发通过Wi-FiAlliance®,其目的是确保您的笔记本电脑,智能手机,连接互联网的冰箱以及其他小工具“知道”如何与路由器通信。 Wi-FiAlliance®负责选择和开发将在无线网络中使用的技术类型,并确保设备支持该技术。 WPA就是这样一种技术。

什么是WPA?

如果您的无线网络有密码,则很可能使用WPA安全协议。您可能知道,当您连接到Wi-Fi网络时,您的设备会与路由器通信并以其方式发送信息。然后,路由器通过线路将其传输到Internet的相关角落。 WPA或Wi-Fi保护访问的工作是确保在您的设备和路由器之间传输的信息是加密的。

WPA不是唯一保护无线网络的协议。当Wi-Fi还处于起步阶段时,我们有了有线等效保密(WEP),它使用一种称为RC4的密码来加密来自当时非常重的数据,而不是非常便携的笔记本电脑。虽然简单快速,但RC4并不是一种非常安全的加密数据的方式,这意味着WEP本身就很弱。 2003年,它正式被WPA的第一版取代。

新协议带来了一些额外的安全功能,包括对每个数据包的完整性检查以及使加密更加安全的临时密钥完整性协议(或TKIP)。

然而,“更加安全”并不够安全,并且在2004年,WPA2诞生了,它使用基于AES(或高级加密标准)的加密协议。 2006年,Wi-FiAlliance®宣布,从那时起,所有Wi-Fi认证产品都必须支持WPA2。

WPA2 KRACKs

2017年10月,安全研究员Mathy Vanhoef 发布了可能攻击WPA2的细节,他称之为KRACK(来自Key Reinstallation Attack)。他发现在握手过程中,攻击者可以重置负责创建加密密钥的初始化向量,这反过来又允许他们解密并可能篡改来自和进入设备的信息。

攻击并不是特别容易实现,必须要说负责任的供应商在公开披露漏洞后不久就发布了补丁。然而,安全漏洞显示WPA2正在变老。该阶段是为WPA3的到来而设定的。

WPA3:加快步伐

WPA3与WPA2没有根本的区别,但它确实带来了一些优势。例如,新的“握手”程序使得KRACK攻击无效,并且作为额外的奖励,它还提供更强的保护,防止暴力强制尝试,即使密码不复杂或足够长。

使用WPA3,将智能“东西”连接到无线网络也会更容易. Wi-FiAlliance®显然已经密切关注越来越多没有显示器的设备以及它们在连接到互联网时所带来的挑战。 WPA3应该解决这个问题。

第三个变化不会对家庭用户产生太大帮助,但它被引用为另一个进步。 WPA3带有192位网络强度协议,可以在企业环境中提供更好的安全性。

WPA3的最后一个关键优势可能是最重要的优势。我们过去曾讨论过公共Wi-Fi网络,我们已经讨论了它们带来的安全问题。最大的问题是,当Wi-Fi网络没有密码保护时,设备和路由器之间交换的信息不会被加密,因此很容易拦截,窃取和篡改。使用WPA3,即使没有密码,来自和进入您设备的数据包也将被加密。这是个好消息,尤其适合那些在咖啡馆和机场度过很多时光的人。尽管如此,乐观情绪应该谨慎,因为我们还没有看到坏人会想出什么样的攻击。然而,在他们想到某些事情之前,人们首先需要采用WPA3。

什么时候WPA3会成为常态?

该协议于1月份首次公布

t Wi-FiAlliance®刚刚开始认证设备,因此,除非您准备一次性更换所有符合WPA3标准的设备,否则您需要等到可以充分利用新协议。这些天新设备来来往往的速度确实表明它可能不会太长。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 10是什么?

What Is WPA3 and How Much Better Is It Than WPA2?

WPA3 vs WPA2

Good news, everybody: Wi-Fi Alliance® has officially announced WPA3, the successor of WPA2.

Many questions can emerge from this simple sentence. Who is Wi-Fi Alliance®? What is WPA3, and how is it different than WPA2? Why should I care? It's a long list, so we might as well crack on.

Established in 1999, Wi-Fi Alliance® is the organization that actually coined the term "Wi-Fi." You may or may not have noticed that a lot of the devices that can connect to your wireless network at home have a "Wi-Fi Certified" logo either on a sticker at the bottom or on the box they came in. This certification was issued by Wi-Fi Alliance® and its purpose is to make sure that your laptop, your smartphone, your internet-connected fridge, and the rest of your gadgets "know" how to communicate with your router. Wi-Fi Alliance® is responsible for choosing and developing the types of technology that will be used in wireless networks and ensuring that devices support it. WPA is one such type of technology.

What is WPA?

If your wireless network has a password, it most likely uses the WPA security protocol. As you probably know, when you're connected to a Wi-Fi network, your device communicates with the router and sends information its way. The router then transmits it over the wire to the relevant corner of the Internet. The job of WPA, or Wi-Fi Protected Access, is to ensure that the information that travels between your device and the router is encrypted.

WPA isn't the only protocol securing wireless networks. Back when Wi-Fi was still in its infancy, we had Wired Equivalent Privacy (or WEP), which used a cipher known as RC4 to encrypt the data coming from what back then were extremely heavy and not very portable laptops. While simple and fast, RC4 is not a very secure way of encrypting data as a whole, which means that WEP was inherently weak. In 2003, it was formally superseded by the first version of WPA.

The new protocol brought a few additional security features including integrity check for every single packet and Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (or TKIP) that made the encryption much more secure.

"Much more secure" wasn't secure enough, however, and in 2004, WPA2 was born which uses an encryption protocol based on AES (or Advanced Encryption Standard). In 2006, Wi-Fi Alliance® announced that from then on, all Wi-Fi certified products must support WPA2.

WPA2 KRACKs

In October 2017, security researcher Mathy Vanhoef published details on a possible attack against WPA2 which he called KRACK (coming from Key Reinstallation Attack). He discovered that during the handshake process, adversaries can reset the Initialization Vectors responsible for creating encryption keys which, in turn, allows them to decrypt and possibly tamper with the information coming from and going to the device.

The attack isn't especially easy to pull off, and it must be said that responsible vendors did put out patches shortly after the public disclosure of the vulnerability. The security hole showed, however, that WPA2 is getting older. The stage was set for the arrival of WPA3.

WPA3: a step up

WPA3 isn't fundamentally different from WPA2, but it does come with a few advantages. A new "handshake" procedure, for example, renders KRACK attacks ineffective, and, as an added bonus, it also provides stronger protection against brute-forcing attempts, even when the password isn't complex or long enough.

Connecting smart "things" to the wireless network will also be easier with WPA3. Wi-Fi Alliance® has apparently paid close attention to the growing number of devices that have no displays and the challenges they pose when connecting to the Internet. WPA3 is supposed to address the issue.

The third change isn't going to help the home user very much, but it is quoted as another step forward. WPA3 comes with 192-bit network strength protocol which should provide much better security in the enterprise environment.

The last key advantage of WPA3 is perhaps the most important one. We've talked about public Wi-Fi networks in the past, and we've discussed the security issues they pose. The biggest problem is the fact that when a Wi-Fi network is not protected by a password, the information exchanged between your device and the router is not encrypted and therefore trivial to intercept, steal, and tamper with. With WPA3, the packets of data coming from and going to your device will be encrypted even if there is no password. This is great news, especially for people who spend a lot of time in cafés and airports. Nevertheless, optimism should be cautious, as we've yet to see what sort of attacks the bad guys will come up with. Before they can think of something, however, people will first need to adopt WPA3.

When will WPA3 become the norm?

The protocol was first announced in January, bu

t Wi-Fi Alliance® has only just started certifying devices, so unless you're ready to replace all your gadgets with WPA3 certified ones at once, you'll need to wait until you can take full advantage of the new protocol. The rate at which new devices come and go these days does suggest that it probably won't be too long.

July 2, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 4 ?