如何在使用免費Wi-Fi網絡時保持安全

Free Wi-Fi-Networks

您在一家高檔購物中心的國際咖啡連鎖店的分店。您訂購含有各種奇異和異國情調成分的含咖啡因的飲料,您議程中最重要的事情就是連接互聯網並與全世界分享您正在消費的飲料的確切類型。毋庸置疑,這家咖啡店提供免費無線網絡連接,但是在您開始使用主頁之前,您應該停下來考慮一兩件事。

使用公共Wi-Fi網絡是否安全?

多年來,安全專家一直在說使用免費無線網絡時要小心。幾個月前發生的事件表明,他們不只是吹熱風。

2017年12月,位於布宜諾斯艾利斯的星巴克分店的客戶在連接到咖啡館的免費Wi-Fi網絡後不久,他們的設備開始採用加密貨幣時,他們感到非常驚訝。後來發現有人將一個挖掘腳本注入到不安全的網絡中,使他們能夠劫持連接到它的所有設備。

在其中一位客戶發現問題後,他在Twitter上分享了該問題,並立即刪除了該腳本。損害很小,但無擔保的無線網絡可能會導致更多的災難性後果。例如,如果它丟棄了勒索軟件而不是加密貨幣礦工,那麼客戶就會變得更加暴躁。

公共Wi-Fi網絡是一種隱私威脅

除了勒索軟件和採礦攻擊外,免費的Wi-Fi網絡還存在另一種風險。連接到Internet意味著您的設備將與位於數百英里之外的數據中心的服務器交換信息。然而,在信息可以到達該服務器之前,它通過Wi-Fi網絡和路由器。它可以包括登錄憑證,如果您在線購物的信用卡詳細信息,私人消息等,如果它沒有加密,攔截它是非常容易的。如果Wi-Fi受密碼保護,則設備與路由器之間的信息會被加密,但即使這樣也可能不夠。

設備和路由器之間的無線通信的加密早在很久以前就開始使用有線等效保密(WEP)協議。黑客很快找到了打破它的方法,並且在2003年,WEP被Wi-Fi保護訪問(WPA)所取代,這是一種使用更複雜的加密算法的更強大的協議。多年來,WPA演變為更安全的WPA2,但在2017年10月,安全研究人員發現了一個可能產生嚴重後果的漏洞 。這種攻擊很容易實現,但如果它針對處理大量敏感信息的公共網絡,那麼黑客可能會有足夠的動力來嘗試它。

但我真的想要我的卡布奇諾咖啡

如您所見,在酒店或咖啡館使用免費無線網絡可能會有風險,但在某些情況下,保持離線並不是一種選擇. 當您需要通過免費Wi-Fi網絡連接到Internet時,需要考慮以下幾點:

  • 把重要的東西放在以後。一般來說,閱讀新聞或觀看YouTube視頻不應該是一個太大的問題,因為在大多數情況下,你沒有交出任何類型的敏感信息。但是,如果您登錄到您的在線銀行門戶,則通過可能不安全的連接發送您的用戶名和密碼。這不是明智之舉。
  • 關閉文件共享。當您連接到家庭網絡時,文件共享是跨設備移動數據的便捷方式。在公共Wi-Fi上,您不希望這樣做。如果您正在運行Windows,請打開“控制面板”,然後在“搜索”欄中鍵入“高級共享設置”以查找關閉文件共享的設置。通過單擊“系統首選項”屏幕上的“共享”圖標,Mac用戶可以執行相同的操作。
  • 使用VPN。公司使用虛擬專用網絡(或VPN)為員工提供安全的外出訪問寶貴資源的權限。如果您經常旅行並且需要在線處理涉及敏感信息的事情,那麼投資個人VPN是有意義的。使用虛擬專用網絡,您將確保所有數據始終都是加密的。也就是說,一些VPN被發現洩露私人信息,所以如果你承諾使用一個,請確保你做一些窗口購物。閱讀評論,進行研究,並選擇一個受到眾多人信賴的信譽良好的服務。

免費的Wi-Fi網絡,幾乎與互聯網連接的其他所有網絡,都可能帶來一定的風險。如果您了解它們,您應該能夠在不遇到麻煩的情況下使用它。如果你不是,你可能想考慮享受你的咖啡,並找到其他社交方式。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 10是什麼?

How to Stay Safe When You're Using Free Wi-Fi Networks

Free Wi-Fi-Networks

You're at a branch of an international coffee shop chain in a fancy shopping mall. You order a weakly caffeinated drink that contains a variety of strange and exotic ingredients, and the most important thing on your agenda is to connect to the Internet and share with the world the exact type of beverage you're consuming. Needless to say, the coffee shop has free Wi-Fi, but before you set off on your hashtagging spree, you should probably stop and consider one or two things.

Is it safe to use public Wi-Fi networks?

For years now, security specialists have been saying that you should be careful when using free wireless networks. An incident from a few months ago showed that they're not just blowing hot air.

In December 2017, customers of a Starbucks branch in Buenos Aires were unpleasantly surprised when their devices started mining cryptocurrency shortly after connecting to the café's free Wi-Fi network. It later turned out that someone had injected a mining script into the unsecured network which enabled them to hijack all the devices connected to it.

After one of the customers spotted the problem, he shared it on Twitter, and the script was promptly removed. The damage was minimal, but the unsecured wireless network could have led to much more disastrous consequences. If it'd dropped ransomware instead of a cryptocurrency miner, for example, the customers would have been much grumpier.

Public Wi-Fi networks as a privacy threat

Ransomware and mining attacks aside, free Wi-Fi networks present another risk. Connecting to the Internet means that your device will exchange information with a server situated in a data center hundreds of miles away. Before the information can go to that server, however, it passes through the Wi-Fi network and the router. It can include login credentials, credit card details if you're shopping online, private messages, etc., and if it's not encrypted, intercepting it is pretty easy. If the Wi-Fi is protected by a password, the information flying between your device and the router is encrypted, but even that might not be enough.

Encryption of the wireless communication between devices and routers began a while ago with the Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) protocol. Hackers quickly found a way of breaking it, and in 2003, WEP was replaced by Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA), a stronger protocol that uses a more complex encryption algorithm. Over the years WPA evolved into WPA2 which was even more secure, but in October 2017, security researchers found a vulnerability that could have serious consequences. The attack is anything but easy to pull off, but if it's aimed at a public network that handles a lot of sensitive information, a hacker might be motivated enough to try it out.

But I really want to instagram my cappuccino

As you can see, using the free wireless network in a hotel or a café could be risky, but in some cases, staying offline simply isn't an option. Here are a few things to consider when you do need to connect to the Internet via a free Wi-Fi network:

  • Leave the important stuff for later. Generally speaking, reading the news or watching a YouTube video shouldn't be too much of a problem because, in most cases, you're doing this without handing over any sort of sensitive information. If you log in to your online banking portal, however, you're sending your username and password through a connection that might not be secure. That's not a wise thing to do.
  • Turn off file sharing. When you're connected to your home network, file sharing is a convenient way of moving data across devices. On a public Wi-Fi, you don't want to do that. If you're running Windows, open the Control Panel and type "Advanced sharing settings" in the Search bar to find the setting that turns off file sharing. Mac users can do the same thing by clicking the Sharing icon on the System Preferences screen.
  • Use a VPN. Corporations use Virtual Private Networks (or VPNs) to give employees secure out-of-the-office access to valuable resources. If you travel a lot and need to do things online that involve sensitive information, it makes sense to invest in a personal VPN. With a Virtual Private Network, you will be sure that all your data is encrypted all the time. That said, some VPNs have been found to be leaking private information, so if you commit to using one, make sure you do some window shopping. Read the reviews, do the research, and choose a reputable service that's trusted by a large number of people.

A free Wi-Fi network, like virtually everything else connected to the Internet, can pose certain risks. If you're aware of them, you should be able to use it without getting yourself in trouble. If you aren't, you might want to consider just enjoying your coffee and finding other ways of socializing.

By Duran
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 2 ?