Here's What Happens When You Give Companies Access to Your Data Online

What Tech Companies Do With Our Data

您是否尝试过使用在线服务(无论是否付费)而没有先注册帐户?几年前,这是可能的,但是在当今时代,这几乎是闻所未闻的。每天,各种形状和大小的网站和在线应用程序都要求我们创建帐户,而那些没有的帐户和在线应用程序中,有很多尝试让我们使用我们的社交媒体个人资料。但是,为什么他们不让我们直接使用服务而无需登录?

的确,使用一些没有帐户的网站和应用程序将是一场噩梦,但是很多时候,在线服务使我们在其平台上创建配置文件的另一个原因。个人帐户拥有个人数据,个人数据可能非常有价值。

在线服务如何处理我们的数据?

这是21世纪奇怪的悖论之一。我们日复一日地散布我们的个人信息。我们创建新帐户并连接现有帐户,而无需付出任何努力,在线服务积累了越来越多的关于我们是谁,我们喜欢什么以及每天去哪里的信息。此类数据收集是塑造当前在线格局的原因之一,如果没有它,我们在互联网上的存在将几乎是不可能的。但是,如果您问人们对此事的看法,许多人会说,这种大规模的信息收集是一件坏事,并且已经失去了控制。这并非完全正确。

将我们的个人数据提供给在线服务提供商有时可以使我们安全。有了它,应用程序可以确保我们是我们所说的自己,并且没有人干扰我们的帐户。此外,我们的个人数据可以改善提供者的整体体验,因为它可以帮助提供商向我们展示我们可能真正喜欢的内容,并使我们与认识或乐意结识的人建立联系。这使得使用服务变得更加愉快,但是我们必须知道科技公司对我们的了解程度以及他们对我们的信息所做的事情。

科技公司如何收集个人信息

不幸的是,这不仅仅与您在注册表中输入的数据有关。部分归功于物联网(IoT) ,技术巨头可以通过多种不同的方式来了解我们的位置,我们在做什么,对我们感兴趣的内容以及有关我们个人生活的所有其他方式。在大多数情况下,这些数据收集机制在每一项在线服务随附的法律术语中都有详细说明,但人们对此一无所知,当他们了解正在发生的事情时,他们往往会感到不安。

正如我们过去提到的那样,通读您正在使用的每一项在线服务和应用程序的隐私策略都是不可能的。略过它们,并牢记公司将尝试以各种新颖有趣的方式收集您的数据非常重要,. 不幸的是,在他们得到之后,它可能会落入错误的手中。

当服务提供商无法保护我们的数据时

在配置错误的Amazon S3存储桶ElasticSearchMongoDB数据库中发现的大量数据表明,到目前为止,数据存储不正确是造成大量数据泄露的最大原因。这种暴露每天都在发生,尽管表面上的错误很简单,但它们都是大大小小的公司都犯的。

希望您不会受到类似性质的数据泄漏的影响,这只是一厢情愿。希望负责任的安全研究人员能够在网络罪犯面前找到配置错误的服务器,这更为现实。

当服务提供商通过我们的数据获利时

我们已经提到过,个人数据是一种有价值的商品,听说有人愿意为此付出一分钱,您可能不会感到惊讶。事实是,一些服务提供商会将我们的个人数据出售给广告商和营销公司,他们不一定会问我们是否可以这样做。

其后果从烦人的冷打电话到潜在的身份盗用不等,安全专家建议,为了最大程度地降低风险,用户应限制与他们打交道的在线公司和服务提供商的数量,并坚持自己认识和信任的公司。

当政府敲门

世界各地的政府机构都与技术公司联系,并要求用户提供个人信息。这是生活中的事实,到目前为止,您可能并没有给予太多关注,但这是事实。实际上,几个月前,教程网站AddictiveTips.com 试图分析一些趋势。它的记者仔细阅读了一些由硅谷最知名的公司发布的透明度报告,他们发现信息请求的数量从2010年的不足3万增加到2017年的38万。趋势在2018年有所增长,但总体而言,这一数字非常可观。

不用说,并不是每个请求都被批准。收到政府机构最多请求的Facebook同意在74%的案件中提供个人信息。苹果和Snapchat收到的请求要少得多,但他们批准了大约80%的请求,而Google同意66%的时间与政府共享信息。与政府机构共享个人信息时,Airbnb和LinkedIn分别是最不愿意提供的服务(分别满足了请求的34%和43%). 美国用户可能会对了解美国政府负责的请求数量最多感兴趣。

许多用户倾向于认为个人信息的隐私不是很重要,因为没有人对此感兴趣。他们认为,科技公司,罪犯和政府机构将更愿意获取特定的,备受关注的用户的数据,而不是普通的Joe和Joanne。不断发生的安全事件,大量的个性化广告以及政府要求AddictiveTips.com谈论的内容清楚地表明并非如此。

October 3, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 2是什么?

Here's What Happens When You Give Companies Access to Your Data Online

What Tech Companies Do With Our Data

Have you tried using an online service (regardless of whether it's paid or not) without registering an account first? Years ago, this was possible, but in this day and age, it's almost unheard of. Every day, websites and online apps of all shapes and sizes ask us to create accounts, and of those who don't, quite a few try to get us to use our social media profiles. But why don't they just let us use the service without being signed in?

It is true that using some websites and applications without an account would be a nightmare, but far too often, online services have another reason for making us create profiles on their platforms. Personal accounts hold personal data, and personal data can be very valuable.

What do online services do with our data?

It's one of the 21st century's strange paradoxes. We give our personal information away day in, day out. We create new accounts and connect existing ones without so much as batting an eyelid, and online services amass more and more information about who we are, what we like, and where we go on a daily basis. This type of data collection is one of the things that has shaped the current online landscape, and without it, our existence on the internet would be next to impossible. And yet, if you ask people what they think about it, many would say that this sort of mass gathering of information is a bad thing and has gone way out of control. This is not entirely true.

Giving our personal data to online service providers can sometimes keep us safe. With it, applications can ensure that we are who we say we are and that nobody interferes with our accounts. What's more, our personal data can improve our overall experience because it helps providers show us content we might actually like and connect us with people we know or would be happy to meet. This makes using the services more enjoyable, but we have to be aware of how much tech companies know about us and what they're doing with our information.

How tech companies gather personal information

Unfortunately, it's not just about the data you put in the registration form. Thanks in part to the Internet of Things (IoT), tech giants have a number of different ways of learning where we are, what we're doing, what we're interested in, and all manner of other details about our personal lives. For the most part, these data collection mechanisms are detailed in the legalese that comes with every single online service, but people don't know about them, and when they do learn what's going on, they tend to be quite upset.

As we've mentioned in the past, reading through the privacy policies of every single one of the online services and applications you're using is not really possible. Skimming through them and bearing in mind that companies will try to collect your data in a variety of new and interesting ways is very important, though. Unfortunately, after they get it, it might end up in the wrong hands.

When service providers fail to protect our data

The mountains of data found in misconfigured Amazon S3 buckets, ElasticSearch and MongoDB databases show that improper data storage is by far the biggest reason for the huge number of data breaches nowadays. This sort of exposure happens every day, and although the mistakes are fairly simple on the face of it, they're made by both big and small companies.

Hoping that you won't be affected by a data leak of similar nature would amount to little more than wishful thinking. Hoping that responsible security researchers get to the misconfigured servers before the cybercriminals is a bit more realistic.

When service providers monetize our data

We mentioned already that personal data is a valuable commodity, and you probably won't be surprised to hear that some people are willing to pay a pretty penny for it. The fact of the matter is, some service providers will sell our personal data to advertisers and marketing companies, and they won't necessarily ask us if we're okay with this.

The consequences range from annoying cold calls to potential identity theft, and security experts advise that to minimize the risk, users should limit the number of online companies and service providers they deal with and stick to the ones they know and trust.

When the government knocks on the door

Government agencies the world over contact tech companies and request the personal information of users. It's a fact of life that you probably haven't paid that much attention to so far, but it's true. In fact, a couple of months ago, tutorial website AddictiveTips.com tried to analyze some of the trends. Its reporters went through a few transparency reports published by some of Silicon Valley's most recognizable names, and they discovered that the number of information requests went up from under 30 thousand in 2010 to more than 380 thousand in 2017. New data privacy laws did buck the trend a bit in 2018, but overall, the numbers are pretty significant.

Needless to say, not every request is granted. Facebook, which received the largest number of requests from government agencies, agreed to give away personal information in 74% of the cases. Apple and Snapchat received far fewer requests, but they granted about 80% of them, and Google agreed to share information with governments 66% of the times. When it comes to sharing personal information with government agencies, Airbnb and LinkedIn (which granted 34% and 43% of the requests, respectively) are the most reluctant services. American users will probably be interested to learn that the US Government is responsible for by far the largest number of requests.

Many users tend to think that the privacy of their personal information isn't very important because nobody is that interested in it. They assume that tech companies, criminals, and government agencies would be more willing to get their hands on the data of specific, high-profile users rather than the average Joe and Joanne. The continuous stream of security incidents, the barrage of personalized ads, and the government requests AddictiveTips.com talked about clearly show that this is not the case.

October 3, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?