當心“動盪不安的投票匿名”網絡釣魚郵件

Black Lives Matter Phishing Scam

網絡罪犯觀看新聞。他們看著它時,COVID-19大流行爆發, 病毒作為他們的一些騙局的核心部分。他們現在也在看它。喬治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)逝世引發的抗議活動席捲了美國,並正在向其他國家蔓延。黑人生命至關重要的人權運動是示威活動的中心,而Google趨勢圖可以讓您了解它在過去幾週吸引了多少關注。不難預測它的名字早晚會成為在線騙局的一部分。

網絡犯罪分子在網絡釣魚詐騙中使用人權運動的名稱

以“ Black Lives Matter”運動為中心的網絡釣魚詐騙活動正在進行。該活動是由一家名為abuse.ch的安全公司發現的,儘管沒有有關其傳播範圍的信息,但它的規模顯然足以引起《福布斯》等主流媒體的關注。

騙局就這麼簡單。據《福布斯》報導,這封電子郵件的主題是“對黑生命問題進行匿名投票”,而該機構只是說“對黑生命問題進行秘密審查……在所附文件中聲明”。

糟糕的語法和歧義可能足以使一些人失望。奇怪的是,相同的確切特性可能會使其他人陷入困境。這些電子郵件確實是由缺乏想像力和英語能力有限的人們急忙整理的,但是當您考慮一下時,您會發現圍繞投票的奧秘和評論用戶應該離開,很可能會吸引許多人打開附件。這對他們來說是個壞消息,因為競選活動正在分發臭名昭著的Trickbot木馬。

黑客仍然愛上Trickbot

《福布斯》的報告沒有解釋騙子在這個特定競選活動中使用了什麼樣的依戀。確實指出,惡意文件正在受害者計算機上安裝Trickbot木馬。

Trickbot大約在四年前首次出現,這在網絡安全世界中是一個巨大的時間。但是,這些年來,它已經進行了一些更新,根據濫用(chase.ch)的統計 ,在撰寫本文時,它是第二多產的惡意軟件家族。

它從銀行木馬開始,至今仍然能夠竊取登錄信息。但是,在最近幾個月中,它也被大量用作其他惡意軟件家族的下載器。在對《福布斯》的一次採訪中,一個濫用.ch的發言人說Trickbot最近與Ryuk勒索軟件有密切的聯繫,專家們懷疑,如果騙子把他們的“對Black Lives Matter匿名投票”的目標瞄準了公司網絡,將嘗試部署文件加密惡意軟件。

這不是發送消息,而是錢

某些人可能會認為,通過將“ Black Lives Matter”這個名字放在騙局中,黑客就將攻擊的目標直接對準了運動的支持者。儘管很容易將妖怪妖魔化為種族主義者,但必須說,在這種特殊情況下,受害者對黑手黨的感情可能對騙子不是很重要。

當他們分發以冠狀病毒為主題的網絡釣魚電子郵件時,他們並沒有針對健康意識強的個人,並且以幾乎相同的方式,他們並沒有使用“ Black Lives Matter”這個名稱來以某種方式在組織中占主導地位。如果他們想這樣做,他們將使用不同的工具和不同的攻擊方法。

在這兩種情況下,黑客都使用頭版新聞事件來確保受害者單擊惡意鏈接或附件。對於他們來說,這一切都是關於利用用戶的被盜密碼或加密文件獲利的。

June 12, 2020

發表評論

Watch out for the 'Vote Anonymous About Black Lives Matter' Phishing Email That Is Gaining Momentum

Black Lives Matter Phishing Scam

Cybercriminals watch the news. They watched it when the COVID-19 pandemic broke out and used the virus as a central part of some of their scams. They are watching it now as well. The protests sparked by George Floyd's death have swept over the US and are spreading to other countries as well. The Black Lives Matter human rights movement is at the center of the demonstrations, and a Google Trends chart can give you an idea of how much attention it has attracted over the last few weeks. It wasn't that hard to predict that sooner or later, its name would become a part of an online scam.

Cybercriminals use the name of a human rights movement in a phishing scam

A phishing scam centered around the Black Lives Matter movement is doing the round. The campaign was discovered by a security company called abuse.ch, and although there is no information on how widespread it is, it's apparently big enough to warrant the attention of mainstream media outlets like Forbes.

The scam is about as simple as they get. According to Forbes, the email's subject reads "Vote anonymous about Black Lives Matter," and the body simply says "Leave a review confidentially about Black Lives Matter… Claim in attached file."

The poor grammar and the ambiguity might just be enough to tip some people off. Curiously, the same exact characteristics could spring the trap for others. The email does appear to be put together in a hurry by people who have no imagination and a limited command of English, but when you think about it, you'll see that the mystery around the vote and the review users are supposed to leave, is very likely to lure many people into opening the attachment. This would be bad news for them because the campaign is distributing the infamous Trickbot trojan.

Hackers are still in love with Trickbot

Forbes' report doesn't explain what sort of attachment the crooks used for this particular campaign. It does point out that the malicious file is installing the Trickbot trojan on the victim's machine, though.

Trickbot first appeared around four years ago, which is an enormous amount of time in the cybersecurity world. Nevertheless, over the years, it has received a few updates, and according to abuse.ch's statistics, it's the second most prolific malware family at the time of writing.

It started its life as a banking trojan, and it's still capable of stealing login information. In recent months, however, it's been heavily used as a downloader for other malware families as well. In an interview for Forbes, an abuse.ch spokesperson said that Trickbot has recently been in a close relationship with the Ryuk ransomware, and the experts suspect that if the crooks aim their "Vote anonymous about Black Lives Matter" scam at corporate networks, they will try to deploy the file-encrypting malware.

It's not about sending a message, it's about the money

Some people might assume that by putting the Black Lives Matter name in the scam, the hackers are aiming their attack squarely at supporters of the movement. While it is tempting to demonize the hackers as, among other things, racist, it must be said that in this particular case, the victims' feelings on Black Lives Matter probably aren't very important to the crooks.

When they're distributing coronavirus-themed phishing emails, they're not targeting health-conscious individuals, and in much the same way, they're not using the name "Black Lives Matter" to somehow put a spoke in the organization's wheels. If they wanted to do that, they would be using different tools and different attack methods.

In both cases, the hackers are using frontpage news events to ensure that their victims click on malicious links or attachments. For them, it's all about monetizing the user's stolen passwords or encrypted files.

June 12, 2020

Leave a Reply