Schemers使用新的網絡釣魚電子郵件收集Microsoft密碼

Phishing Campaign Against Microsoft Users

你能說出世界上最賺錢的網絡犯罪嗎?不幸的是,我們無法明確說出您的建議是否正確。在線欺詐的世界是如此龐大和多樣化,以至於無法確定哪個特定方案產生了最大的損失。然而,可以肯定地說,商業電子郵件妥協(或BEC)非常接近頂級。

去年7月,FBI的互聯網犯罪投訴中心(IC3)提出了一些有趣的BEC統計數據 。根據其數據,在2013年10月至2018年5月期間,由於BEC詐騙,共計125億美元被欺詐性地重定向。在同一時期,僅在美國就有4.1萬個組織損失超過29億美元。

這是一個非常嚴重的問題,可能會產生破壞性後果,特別是對於小型企業。然而,關於它的最糟糕的事情是,作為上週開始的BEC活動,該騙局可以非常容易地實現。

簡短,快速,重點突出

1月31日,來自GreatHorn的研究人員首次發現了該攻擊。 該活動針對的是眾多公司的知名員工(CEO,CTO,SVP等),其最終目標是對受害者的微軟用戶名進行網絡釣魚。密碼。通常情況下,這一切都始於一封電子郵件。

詐騙者顯然正在使用一種稱為“直接欺騙”的東西,當我們談論電子郵件時,意味著對“From”和“To”字段使用相同的電子郵件地址。這通常會引起一些人的注意,但電子郵件的正文可能足以說服受害者該消息是真實的。每個受害者都會收到他們自己的自定義電子郵件,但有意將這些郵件看作是由名為Doodle的Web應用程序自動生成的。

該消息告訴受害者管理會議已被重新安排,並且他們被邀請點擊鏈接並對重要集合的新時間和地點進行投票。 Doodle's旨在幫助員工和經理跟踪會議和約會,使場景聽起來更合理。

當他們點擊鏈接時,受害者會被引導到一個看似合法的登錄頁面,要求提供他們的Microsoft登錄憑據。正如您可能已經猜到的那樣,在所述頁面上輸入的所有用戶名和密碼都會自動以騙子的方式發送。

潛在的傷害是巨大的

根據GreatHorn,我們談論的是一場大規模的競選活動。多達14%的客戶是目標客戶,我們只能想像有多少組織收到了欺詐性電子郵件。雖然一部分消息落在受害者的垃圾郵件文件夾中,但通知的性質可能使某些人確信這是一個錯誤。

那些在不知不覺中將他們的微軟登錄憑證提供給騙子的人可能會陷入不愉快的境地。不要忘記我們在談論企業環境中的頂級管理人員. 如果他們的業務廣泛使用微軟的產品,他們的密碼可以打開眾所周知的潘多拉盒子。

雖然它可以進入谷歌的G-Suite還有很長的路要走,但Office 365的市場份額正在增長,微軟的應用程序的任務是處理和存儲大量敏感數據,這些數據可能被竊取,濫用和勒索贖金。從外部對它進行妥協是很困難的,但是如果你有正確的密碼,那麼按下它就像按幾個按鈕一樣簡單。

這不是完美的犯罪

一方面,騙子決定使用塗鴉主題的電子郵件來吸引受害者的微軟密碼似乎是一個聰明的舉動。 1月30日,在發現第一條消息的前一天,Doodle 宣布它正在向其登錄頁面添加“繼續使用Microsoft”按鈕。換句話說,在騙子開始發送虛假消息之前幾個小時,就可以使用您的Microsoft密碼登錄日曆管理工具。但是,有一個重要的區別。

如果您真的想在自己的Microsoft帳戶中使用Doodle,首先必須轉到Doodle的登錄頁面 ,然後需要單擊“繼續使用Microsoft”,之後,如果您不是,則會要求您輸入登錄憑據通過對比,偽造的電子郵件將目標直接重定向到Microsoft登錄頁面 - 看似微小的差異,但可以為您節省大量的麻煩。如果您在提交憑據之前發現URL已成為面,那麼您也應該沒問題。

最後,這一切都歸結為避免在您發送任何用戶名和密碼之前在您不期望的電子郵件中進行鏈接並進行思考。它應該是常識,而IC3的統計數據表明,缺乏它可能相當昂貴。

March 1, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 2是什麼?

Schemers Employ a New Phishing Email to Collect Microsoft Passwords

Phishing Campaign Against Microsoft Users

Can you name the world's most lucrative type of cybercrime? Unfortunately, we can't definitively say whether or not your suggestion is correct. The world of online fraud is so vast and diverse that there simply is no way of saying for sure which particular scheme has generated the biggest losses. It's pretty safe to say, however, that Business Email Compromise (or BEC) is very near the top.

In July last year, FBI's Internet Crime Complain Center (IC3) came up with some interesting BEC statistics. According to its data, between October 2013 and May 2018, a total of $12.5 billion was fraudulently redirected thanks to BEC scams. During the same period, 41 thousand organizations lost in excess of $2.9 billion in the US alone.

It's a pretty serious problem that can have devastating consequences, especially for smaller businesses. The worst thing about it, however, is that, as a BEC campaign that started last week shows, the scam can be extremely easy to pull off.

Short, quick, and to the point

The attack was first spotted by researchers from GreatHorn on January 31. The campaign is aimed at high-profile employees (CEOs, CTOs, SVPs, etc.) of a number of companies, and its ultimate goal is phishing the victims' Microsoft usernames and passwords. As is often the case, it all starts with an email.

The scammers are apparently using something called "direct spoofing" which, when we're talking about email, means using the same email address for both the "From" and the "To" fields. This could normally raise some eyebrows, but the body of the email might just be enough to convince the victim that the message is genuine. Every victim gets their own customized email, but the messages are intentionally made to look like they were automatically generated by a web application called Doodle.

The message tells victims that a management meeting has been rescheduled, and they are invited to click a link and vote on a new time and place for the important rendezvous. Doodle's is designed to help employees and managers keep track of meetings and appointments which makes the scenario sound plausible.

When they click the link, victims are led to a legitimate-looking login page that asks for their Microsoft login credentials. As you might have guessed, all usernames and passwords entered on the said page are automatically sent the crooks' way.

The potential damage is enormous

According to GreatHorn, we're talking about a massive campaign. As many as 14% of their customers were targeted, and we can only imagine how many more organizations received the fraudulent emails. Although a portion of the messages landed in the victims' Spam folders, the nature of the notifications probably convinced some people that this was a mistake.

Those that did unwittingly give their Microsoft login credentials to the crooks could be in for an unpleasant ride. Don't forget that we're talking about Top-Level management people in a corporate environment. If their business uses Microsoft's products extensively, their password can open the proverbial Pandora's box.

Although it still has a long way to go before it can reach Google's G-Suite, Office 365's market share is growing, and Microsoft's apps are tasked with handling and storing tons of sensitive data that can be stolen, abused, and held to ransom. Compromising it from the outside is difficult, but if you have the right password, getting to it could be as easy as pressing a few buttons.

This is hardly the perfect crime

On the one hand, the crooks' decision to use a Doodle-themed email to lure victims out of their Microsoft passwords seems like a clever move. On January 30, a day before the first messages were spotted, Doodle announced that it's adding a "Continue with Microsoft" button to its login page. In other words, logging into the calendar management tool using your Microsoft password became possible just hours before the crooks started sending the fake messages. There is one crucial difference, though.

If you really want to use Doodle with your Microsoft account, you first have to go to Doodle's login page, you then need to click "Continue with Microsoft", and after this, you will be asked for your login credentials if you're not logged in. By Contrast, the fake emails redirects targets directly to a Microsoft login page – a seemingly small discrepancy, but one that could save you plenty of headaches. If you notice that the URL is face before you give out your credentials, you should also be fine.

In the end, it all boils down to avoiding links in emails you weren't expecting and thinking twice before giving out any usernames and passwords. It should all be common sense, and lack of it can, as IC3's stats show, be rather expensive.

February 5, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 7 ?