什么是数据隐私的五大问题?

Data Privacy Concerns

您的隐私费用是多少?它会出现一些饼干。早在2014年,一位名为Risa Puno的表演艺术家在布鲁克林艺术节期间进行了一次实验 。她阻止了一些纽约人,并提供饼干以换取一些私人信息。我们应该指出,我们谈论的是真正的cookie,而不是网站保存在您计算机上的cookie。有没有人想要猜测有多少人同意交换一些糖果的个人信息?

超过50%的人允许拍摄他们的照片,只有不到一半的参与者放弃了他们的社会安全号码的最后四位数,大约31%的人让普诺拿走他们的指纹。除此之外,人们很乐意回答诸如“你母亲的婚前姓名是什么?”,“你的电话号码是多少”,“你住在哪里?”等问题,普诺甚至还看了一些驾驶执照。确保信息正确。

确实,这不是最科学的实验,但它确实表明许多人并不完全注意放弃个人数据的后果。很容易指出手指并嘲笑他们是否愿意交易敏感信息而不必过多考虑。然而,向他们展示为什么他们应该关注他们的隐私可能是一个更好的主意。如果您的个人信息暴露在外,这里列出了一些可能发生在您身上的事情。

  1. 身份盗窃。定义身份盗窃并不容易,因为它有许多不同的形状和大小。例如,劫持Facebook帐户可归类为身份盗用。窃取社会保障金或驾驶执照号码并以受害者的名义签发新的信用卡也是如此。无论你遇到什么类型的身份盗窃,它总会以泪水结束。
  2. 财务损失。您希望某些数据可供全世界查看。例如,如果您的名字不可见,您的朋友就无法在Facebook上找到您。但是,某些详细信息(如信用卡)必须保密。不幸的是,他们并不总是如此,当他们在虚拟世界中暴露时,他们会在真实世界中导致严重的经济损失。
  3. 缠扰。简单的细节,如办公室的位置和家庭住址,可能正是人们手上有很多时间和头脑中许多令人讨厌的想法所需要的。这是您的在线安全性如何影响您的现实生活福祉的另一个例子。
  4. 间谍。应该指出的是,这不是每个人的威胁模型中都存在的东西。然而,“我没有什么可隐瞒”的借口不是你应该生活的东西。你永远不知道什么时候你会成为政府的一个有趣的主题,你不能忘记,一旦信息被放在互联网上,它通常会留在互联网上。
  5. 已售出数据。许多网络犯罪分子想要掌握你的数据,但他们并不总是有窃取它的手段。不过,他们确实有一些现金。虽然有些人愿意为一些饼干出售它,但个人信息很有价值,并且有诈骗者,营销人员和其他愿意为此付出高价钱的可疑人物。. 当然,他们也希望获得投资回报,而且在大多数情况下,这种回报都来自你的口袋。

这些只是暴露私人数据的一些风险。必须采取必要的预防措施并尽力保护它。

我该怎么做才能保密私人数据?

同样,这不是一个详尽的列表,但我们将为您提供一些基本提示,以帮助您更好地保护您的敏感信息。

  • 互联网上存储的信息越少,就越少被误用。在注册在线帐户时,您通常需要在几个字段中输入您的详细信息。其中一些字段旁边有星号,这意味着无法在不填写帐户的情况下创建帐户。然而,其他人却没有,当你接触到它们时,你应该问自己:“ 这个不起眼的在线论坛的管理员真的需要知道我的实际地址和电话号码吗?
  • 黑客不能妥协不存在的帐户。你最终在一个在线论坛帖子中,你看到有人对某个特定主题的看法与你的不一致。你很想回复他们并告诉他们他们错了,但这涉及到注册一个新帐户。是时候提出另一个问题了:“ 发布回复真的值得泄露我的个人信息吗?或者我应该离开这个我以前从未见过的人对他们的幸福无知?
  • 在信誉良好的网站购物。你在亚马逊上找到了你想要的东西,但价格不合适。在Google上几分钟就会引导您访问一个您从未听说过的网站,该网站以相同的价格销售相同的商品。听起来很简单,对吧?

    不要急于求成。在进行购买之前,请确保您最终获得的网站是合法的。首先,在地址栏中查找绿色挂锁,如果您没有看到,请不要输入您的个人信息。接下来,尝试查找有关供应商的一些评论。互联网已经肆无忌惮地向诈骗者提供了许多从毫无戒心的用户那里偷钱的方式,而其他人已经成为受害者并不意味着你也应该这样做。

  • 社交媒体登录按钮可能不是一个好主意。确实,你经常太无聊,无法通过冗长乏味的注册过程来创建一个新网站的帐户。这就是几年前社交媒体登录按钮出现的原因。我们的想法是,不是手动向example.com提供数据,而是从Facebook或Twitter个人资料中获取数据。几秒钟之后,您的example.com帐户已创建,您已准备好开始使用它。

    毫无疑问,它非常方便,但正如我们上个月所提到的,对你所分享的内容的控制程度并不相同,最近的剑桥分析公司丑闻等事件表明,数据不足的公司可能不会受到影响。访问您的信息,无论您是否对此感到满意。一般来说,如果您创建的帐户可能会在一段有限的时间内使用,那么您最好使用一次性电子邮件地址. 使用社交媒体登录按钮,您无法真正做到这一点。

  • 保护您的帐户。如果黑客可以进入您的帐户,您的隐私就完成了。这就是为什么保护它们很重要的原因。将未经授权的人员从您的帐户中扣除的是您的密码。然而,人们在密码问题上似乎犯了同样的错误,我们不能真的责怪他们。

    普通用户拥有数十个在线帐户,在完美的世界中,这些帐户将意味着数十个特别强大且至关重要的独特密码来保护他们。不幸的是,如果您还没有注意到,这不是一个完美的世界,并且用户设置了弱密码和重用密码。事实是,在没有其他工具帮助的情况下坚持安全专业人员的建议实际上是不可能的。这就是专家们提倡使用其他工具的原因。 Cyclonis Password Manager就是这样一个工具。要了解有关它的更多信息, 请单击此处

    然而,由于密码存在如此大的问题,越来越多的服务提供商提供了第二层安全措施,可以更好地保护我们免受坏人的侵害。

    双因素身份验证的想法是,如果有人窃取您的登录数据,仅凭这一点就不足以破坏您的帐户。通常,当从未知设备进行登录尝试时会触发双因素身份验证系统。在这种情况下,除了登录凭证之外,使用所述设备的人还需要输入另一条信息,这些信息通常以通过电子邮件,文本消息发送给您的代码的形式出现,或者由应用程序生成。您的手机。

  • 这不完全取决于你。我们已经涵盖了这一点 。在某些情况下,通过访问网站,您无意中会泄露一些关于您自己的详细信息。即使你自愿地这样做,你也无法控制信息的存储方式。例如,在Equifax违规期间暴露数据的数百万人不知道美国最大的信贷机构之一没有经常更新其软件的习惯。

    越来越多的人认为公司应该对他们收集的数据更加谨慎和透明,欧洲新的GDPR(通用数据保护法规)显示监管机构正在注意。然而,公平地说,寻找合法和非法方式获取信息的人不太可能很快消失。

May 23, 2019

What Are the Top 5 Concerns for Data Privacy?

Data Privacy Concerns

How much does your privacy cost? A few cookies, it would appear. Back in 2014, a performance artist called Risa Puno, conducted an experiment during a Brooklyn arts festival. She stopped some New Yorkers and offered them cookies in exchange for some private information. We should point out that we're talking about real cookies, not the ones websites save on your computer. Does anyone want to hazard a guess how many people agreed to trade personal details for some sweets?

More than 50% of the people allowed to have their photograph taken, just under half of the participants gave away the last four digits of their Social Security numbers, and about 31% let Puno take their fingerprints. In addition to this, people were happy to answer questions like "What is your mother's maiden name?", "What is your phone number", "Where do you live?", etc., and Puno even looked at some driver's licenses to ensure that the information is correct.

It is true that this is not exactly the most scientific experiment, but it does show that many people are not completely mindful of the consequences of giving away personal data. It's easy to point fingers and mock them for their willingness to trade sensitive information without thinking too much about it. It's probably a better idea, however, to show them why they should be concerned about their privacy. Here's a small list of the things that could happen to you if your personal details are exposed.

  1. Identity Theft. It's not that easy to define identity theft because it comes in many different shapes and sizes. Hijacking a Facebook account, for example, can be classified as identity theft. The same goes for stealing a Social Security or a driver's license number and issuing a new credit card in the victim's name. No matter what type of identity theft you get hit by, it's always going to end in tears.
  2. Financial Damage. You want some of your data to be available for the world to see. Your friends can't find you on Facebook, for example, if your name isn't visible. Some details, like your credit card, however, must remain private. Unfortunately, they don't always do, and when they're exposed in the virtual world, they lead to serious monetary damages in the real one.
  3. Stalking. Simple details like the location of your office and your home address could be exactly what people with a lot of time on their hands and a lot of nasty thoughts in their heads want. It's another example of how your online security can affect your real-life well-being.
  4. Spying. It should be noted that this isn't something that is present in everybody's threat model. Nevertheless, the "I've nothing to hide" excuse is not something you should live by. You can never know when you're going to become an interesting subject for your government, and you mustn't forget that once information is put on the Internet, it usually stays on the Internet.
  5. Having your Data Sold. Many cybercriminals want to get their hands on your data, but they don't always have the means of stealing it. They do have some cash, though. Although some people are willing to sell it for a few cookies, personal information is valuable, and there are scammers, marketers, and other shady personalities willing to pay good money for it. Of course, they want a return on their investments as well, and that return, in most cases, comes out of your pocket.

These are just some of the risks associated with having your private data exposed. It's imperative to take the necessary precautions and do what you can to protect it.

What can I do to keep my private data private?

Again, this is not an exhaustive list, but we'll give you some basic tips that will help you better protect your sensitive information.

  • The less information is stored on the Internet, the less of it can be misused.While registering an online account, you usually need to enter your details in a few fields. Some of these fields have asterisks next to them which means that creating the account without filling them is not possible. Others, however, don't, and when you reach them, you should ask yourself: "Does the administrator of this obscure online forum really need to know my physical address and phone number?"
  • The hackers can't compromise an account that doesn't exist.You end up on an online forum thread, and you see that someone's opinion on a specific topic is not in line with yours. You're tempted to reply to them and tell them that they're wrong, but this involves registering a new account. Time for another question: "Is posting a reply really worth giving away my personal information? Or should I leave this person I've never met before to their blissful ignorance?"
  • Shop at reputable websites.You find a thing you want on Amazon, but the price isn't right. A few minutes on Google lead you to a website you've never heard of which sells the same item for a few dollars less. Sounds like a no-brainer, right?Don't be in such a rush. Before committing to a purchase, make sure the website you've ended up on is legitimate. First, look for the green padlock in the address bar, and if you don't see it, do not enter your personal information. Next, try to find some reviews about the vendor. The Internet has given unscrupulous scammers numerous ways of pilfering money from unsuspecting users, and the fact that others have fallen victims doesn't mean that you should too.
  • Social media login buttons might not be such a good idea.It's true that you're often too bored to go through the long, tedious registration process just to create an account for a new website. This is why the social media login buttons appeared several years ago. The idea is that instead of giving example.com your data manually, it just takes it from your Facebook or Twitter profile. Seconds later, your account at example.com is created, and you're ready to start using it.Without a doubt, it's extremely convenient, but as we mentioned last month, the level of control over what you share isn't the same, and incidents like the recent Cambridge Analytica scandal show that the not much can stop the data-hungry companies from accessing your information, regardless of whether you're happy with this or not. Generally speaking, if you're creating an account that you're likely to use for a limited period of time, you're better off using a throwaway email address. With the social media login buttons, you can't really do that.
  • Secure your accounts.If hackers can get into your accounts, your privacy is done for. That's why it's important to have them secured. The thing that keeps unauthorized people out of your account is your password. People seem to make the same mistakes when it comes to passwords, though, and we can't really blame them for it.The average user has dozens of online accounts, which, in a perfect world, would mean dozens of exceptionally strong, and, crucially, unique passwords to protect them. Unfortunately, in case you haven't noticed already, this is not a perfect world, and users set weak and reused passwords. The truth is, sticking to the security professionals' advice without the help of additional tools is not really possible. That's why the specialists advocate the use of additional tools. Cyclonis Password Manager is one such tool. To learn more about it, click here.

    Because passwords present such a big problem, however, more and more service providers are offering a second layer of security that is supposed to better protect us against the bad guys.

    The idea of Two-Factor Authentication is that if someone steals your login data, this alone won't be enough to compromise your account. Usually, two-factor authentication systems are triggered when a login attempt is made from an unknown device. In such cases, in addition to the login credential, the person using the said device will need to enter another piece of information, which usually comes in the form of a code sent to you via email, text message, or generated by an app on your phone.

  • It's not all up to you.We've already covered this. In some cases, by visiting a website, you inadvertently give away some details about yourself. And even if you do it willingly, you can't control how the information is stored. The millions of people whose data was exposed during the Equifax breach, for example, had no idea that one of the US' biggest credit institution doesn't have the habit of updating its software very often.More and more people argue that companies should be much more careful and transparent with the data they collect, and Europe's new GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation) shows that regulators are taking note. It's fair to say, however, that people looking for legal and illegal ways of getting hands on your information are unlikely to disappear any time soon.

May 17, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 2 ?