關於數據洩露的三個重要問題

Three Important Questions About Data Breaches

安全事件每天都在發生,這已經不是什麼秘密了。關於大量人口的信息暴露出來,在某些情況下,對這些人的生活的影響非常嚴重。立即彈出幾個問題。這是第一個:

為什麼數據洩露首先發生?

這很簡單:因為您的數據很有價值。假設您的銀行卡信息是從您使用過的在線商店中竊取的。據報導,信用卡大量出售,在黑暗的網絡上只需5美元。破壞網站的黑客可能不僅僅是你的,還有數百張其他卡,這意味著他們已經在尋找巨額利潤。顯然,這不是它的終點。

犯罪分子購買被盜卡片是因為他們想以其他人的費用沉迷於購物場所。當然,他們購買的大多數卡片將在他們到達時取消,但即使單個卡片保持活動狀態,投資回報也可能很大。不幸的是,問題並不止於信用卡。

大量的電子郵件地址列表,垃圾郵件發送者的生命線,也在黑暗的網絡上買賣。在過去,未經請求的消息主要圍繞著性慾增強藥片和毫無價值的便士股票,但由於這些不像以前那樣有利可圖,壞人已經轉向其他策略。例如,大多數勒索軟件運營商使用垃圾郵件來感染受害者,因為人們很容易通過社交工程設計人員打開惡意文件。一旦完成,黑客只需要坐下來等待資金流開始。而近年來,流量已成為一股洪流。

您可以通過更多方式將個人信息貨幣化,但將它們全部列在一篇文章中是不切實際的。最重要的是,在數據洩露期間洩露的被竊取數據的寶庫正在為整個地下行業提供動力,而且這是一個非常有利可圖的行業。讓我們繼續討論下一個問題。

數據洩露的機制是什麼?

由IBM Security贊助, 2017年Ponemon數據違規成本研究基於對2016年和2017年遭遇數據洩露的419家公司的人員進行的1,900次訪談。該報告主要關注數據暴露後組織遭受的財務損失。 ,這是一個有趣的閱讀。也就是說,該研究還討論了上述419個組織的事件是如何發生的。

47%的數據洩露是因為黑客入侵了系統。在其他情況下,數據因係統故障或人為錯誤而洩露。因此,黑客通常甚至不需要戴上帽子。有時,這是找到暴露的數據庫並複制粘貼它的問題。這是一個非常可怕的東西,它帶給我們最後的問題。

我們可以做些什麼來防止數據洩露?

好吧,你可以嘗試揮動一根魔杖,但除非你的牆上裝有Hogwarts文憑,否則你很可能無法阻止數據暴露。即使你從一所虛構的學校畢業,你仍然不可能做任何事情來有效地阻止現在的增長趨勢。

正如Ponemon的研究所得出的結論,由於黑客,軟件錯誤和人為錯誤而導致數據洩露。黑客將繼續破解,軟件將繼續存在漏洞,人類將繼續犯錯誤。聽起來很嚴峻,你無法改變它。

你能做的就是小心自己的數據. 想想你擁有的賬戶以及是否需要所有賬戶。想一想您在註冊新帳戶時為網站所有者提供的信息量。考慮您使用的網站是多麼值得信賴。

最後但並非最不重要的是,在不同的網站上使用不同的密碼,以確保如果您成為一個數據洩露的受害者,您的其餘帳戶將保持不變。

May 23, 2019

Three Important Questions About Data Breaches

Three Important Questions About Data Breaches

It's no secret that security incidents happen every day. Information on large numbers of people is exposed, and in some cases, the effects on these people's lives are quite serious. A few questions pop up immediately. Here's the first one:

Why do data breaches occur in the first place?

It's simple: because your data is valuable. Let's say your banking card information is stolen from an online shop you've been using. According to reports, credit cards are sold, in bulk, for as little as $5 a pop on the dark web. The hackers that compromised the website have probably made off with not just yours, but hundreds of other cards, which means that they're already looking at a hefty profit. This, obviously, is not the end of it.

Criminals buy stolen cards because they want to indulge in a spot of shopping at other people's expense. Sure, most of the cards they purchase will be canceled by the time they arrive in their hands, but even if a single one is left active, the return on the investment could be significant. Unfortunately, the problem doesn't stop at credit cards.

Large lists of emails addresses, the spammers' lifeline, are bought and sold on the dark web as well. In the past, unsolicited messages revolved mostly around libido-enhancing pills and worthless penny stocks, but since these aren't as profitable as they used to be, the bad guys have moved on to other tactics. Most of the ransomware operators, for example, use spam to infect their victims because it's easy to socially engineer people into opening a malicious file. Once that's done, the hackers just need to sit back and wait for the money flow to begin. And in recent years, the flow has become a torrent.

There are many more ways in which your personal information could be monetized, but listing them all in a single article is just impractical. The bottom line is that the troves of stolen data that get leaked during data breaches are fueling an entire underground industry, and a very profitable one at that. Let's move on to the next question.

What are the mechanisms of a data breach?

Sponsored by IBM Security, the 2017 Ponemon Cost of Data Breach Study is based on 1,900 interviews with people from 419 companies that have suffered a data breach in 2016 and 2017. The report is mostly focused on the financial damage organizations incur after the data is exposed, and it makes for an interesting read. That said, the study also discusses how the incidents happened at the aforementioned 419 organizations.

47% of the data breaches occurred because hackers broke into the system. In the rest of the cases, the data was leaked because of a system glitch or a human error. So, more often than not, the hackers don't even need to put their hoodies on. Sometimes, it's a matter of finding the exposed database and copy-pasting it. This is properly scary stuff, and it brings us on to the final question.

What can we do to prevent data breaches?

Well, you could try waving a magic wand, but unless you have a Hogwarts diploma framed on your wall, you most likely won't be able to stop data from being exposed. Even if you have graduated from a fictional school, you're still unlikely to do anything to effectively stop what is now a growing trend.

As Ponemon's study concludes, data breaches happen because of hackers, software bugs, and human errors. Hackers will continue to hack, software will continue to have bugs, and humans will continue to make mistakes. As grim as it sounds, there's nothing you can do to change that.

What you can do is be careful with your own data. Think about the accounts you have and whether you need all of them. Think about the amount of information you're giving website owners when you're signing up for a new account. Consider how trustworthy the websites you use are.

Last but not least, use different passwords on different websites to ensure that if you fall victim to one data breach, the rest of your accounts will remain intact.

By Duran
April 5, 2018
April 5, 2018

One Comment

  • Renee:

    SO is there any way that I can dissociate those accounts with my Facebook´╝čIf I do deactivate Facebook login, will they be ads-unaffected?

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 10 ?