哪些数据泄露成本?世界上最昂贵的三个数据泄露事件

What Data Breaches Cost

您知道该怎么做才能最大限度地减少在黑客论坛上发布您的个人信息的可能性。您知道如何查找网页仿冒网页,您拥有最新的反恶意软件程序,并且您只使用受信任的网站,其中您的帐户受到复杂且唯一的密码保护。你认为你几乎是无敌的。不幸的是,这并不完全正确。

小型,安全性较差的供应商每天都遭到破坏,但拥有数千名员工和数百万美元的大型,强大的互联网公司有时也成为成功攻击的受害者。当他们这样做时,冲击波会影响从普通用户到被攻击公司的CEO的每个人。

用户的隐私受到侵害,个人信息暴露无遗。另一方面,公司需要花钱修理系统并在事件发生后降低风险。他们需要花很多钱。

数据泄露后的财务损失有多大?

没有简单的方法来回答这个问题。受IBM Security委托, 2017年数据泄露研究成本涉及前一年遭到攻击的419家公司,结论是导致数据泄漏的事件的平均成本约为360万美元。但这远非结论性的。

公司越大,它可能损失的数据就越多。您认为丢失的数据越多,货币损失就越大,但事情并非如此简单。事实上,涉及很多因素。从被盗信息的性质到公司处理事件的方式都起到了作用,即使考虑到所有这些因素,准确估算财务影响仍然不容易,尤其是因为成本会随着时间的推移而累积。

更重要的是,财务损失不仅转化为支付给需要清理混乱的受害者和安全专业人员的钱。这也反映在公司的声誉以及用户发现更难相信发生安全事件的组织这一事实。

结果是,估计数据泄露成本永远不会绝对准确。不过,如果我们看一下过去几年的一些重大事件,我们至少可以了解效果的大小。

尤伯杯

优步2016年的数据泄露是一个特别难看的故事。黑客入侵涉及被盗的登录凭据,由于不可思议的原因,这些凭据被放入GitHub存储库中。这些凭据打开了一个Amazon Web Service帐户,其中包含大约5700万用户的个人信息以及60万驱动程序的驱动程序许可证号。

当优步发现事件时,它并没有以最负责任的方式行事。它向黑客支付了10万美元而不是透明,而骗子则承诺删除这些数据。然后,优步表现得好像什么也没发生过。

直到一年之后,真相浮出水面,并且可以预见,这种愤怒是巨大的. 对违规行为的粗暴处理导致了当时的首席安全官Joe Sullivan被解雇,并导致该公司的估值从大约680亿美元降至480亿美元。

这是如何不处理数据泄露的一个教训,虽然现在由一个新的管理团队负责,但有安全意识的用户在创建帐户之前仍会三思而后行。

雅虎

这是有史以来最大的数据泄露事件,这使得计算财务损失更加困难。但它很大。上个月,例如雅虎!以8000万美元的价格向自己的股东提起集体诉讼。几天前,美国证券交易委员会对Sunnyvale公司罚款3500万美元,未能披露违规行为。当消息在2016年出现时,雅虎!正在谈判Verizon的收购谈判。最终,Verizon因此事件获得了3.5亿美元的折扣。

还有很多集体诉讼尚未提起,还有更多的钱可以改变所有权。有一点是绝对肯定的 - 用户失去信任的影响是无法估量的。

Equifax公司

2017年9月,美国最大的信用局之一Equifax宣布,黑客已经破坏了其系统并使用了大约1.45亿人的个人信息。与失去所有30亿账户的雅虎相比,这一漏洞看起来并不那么庞大。因为被盗数据包括非常敏感的细节,如社会安全号码,在某些情况下,信用卡和驾驶执照号码,但损害可能同样巨大。

在大约一个星期内,信用报告机构的股票损失了大约五分之一的价值,并且在一个月内至少对Equifax提起了30起集体诉讼。为了降低与黑客相关的风险,Equifax还免费为受害者提供信用监控服务。在我们发言时,财务成本正在增加,而且甚至没有考虑到Equifax的业务将因为违规而失败。

专家们就此事做了大量研究,公司继续进行调查。尽管如此,没有人能够合理准确地说出一个公司如果被黑客攻击会损失多少钱。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 4是什么?

What data breaches cost? Three of the world's most expensive data breaches

What Data Breaches Cost

You know what to do to minimize the chances of having your personal information posted on a hacking forum. You know how to look out for phishing pages, you have an up-to-date anti-malware program, and you only use trusted websites where your accounts are protected with complex and unique passwords. You think that you're pretty much invincible. Unfortunately, that's not strictly true.

Small, poorly secured vendors get breached every day, but the big, powerful Internet companies that have thousands of employees and millions of dollars also fall victims to successful attacks sometimes. And when they do, the shockwave affects everyone from the regular user to the CEO of the attacked company.

Users have their privacy compromised and personal information exposed. Companies, on the other hand, need to spend money on fixing their systems and mitigating the risks after the incident. They need to spend a lot of money.

How big is the financial damage after a data breach?

There is no simple way to answer this question. Commissioned by IBM Security, the 2017 Cost of Data Breach Study involved a total of 419 companies that had been attacked the previous year, and the conclusion was that the average cost of an incident that results in a data leak is about $3.6 million. This is far from conclusive, though.

The bigger the company, the more data it can lose. You'd think that the more data lost, the greater the monetary damage, but again, things are not as simple as that. In fact, a lot of factors are involved. Everything from the nature of the stolen information to the way the company is handling the incident plays a part, and even when you take all this into account, it's still not easy to accurately estimate the financial effects, not least because the costs accumulate over time.

What's more, the financial damage doesn't only translate into the money paid to victims and security professionals who need to clean up the mess. It's also reflected in the reputation of the company and the fact that users are finding it harder to trust an organization that has had a security incident.

The upshot is, an estimate of how much a data breach costs can never be absolutely accurate. Still, if we take a look at some of the big incidents from the last few years, we could at least get an idea of how massive the effects could be.

Uber

Uber's 2016 data breach was a particularly ugly story. The hack involved stolen login credentials which, for unfathomable reasons, were put in a GitHub repository. These credentials opened an Amazon Web Service account which contained personal information of about 57 million users and the driver's license numbers of 600 thousand drivers.

When Uber found out about the incident, it didn't behave in the most responsible way possible. Instead of being transparent, it paid the hackers $100 thousand, and the crooks promised to delete the data. Then, Uber acted as if nothing had happened.

It wasn't until a year later that the truth surfaced, and, predictably, the outrage was enormous. The sloppy handling of the breach led to the firing of Joe Sullivan, the Chief Security Officer at the time, and it contributed to the company's valuation dropping from around $68 billion to $48 billion.

It was a lesson in how not to handle a data breach, and although the ride-hailing company is now headed by a new management team, security conscious users will still think twice before creating an account.

Yahoo!

It is by far and away the biggest data breach ever recorded, and this makes tallying up the financial damage even more difficult. It is huge, though. Last month, for example, Yahoo! settled a class action lawsuit with its own shareholders for $80 million. A few days ago, the US Security and Exchange Commission slapped a $35 million fine on the Sunnyvale company for failing to disclose the breach. And when the news came out in 2016, Yahoo! was in the middle of negotiating its acquisition by Verizon. In the end, Verizon got a $350 million discount because of the incident.

Plenty more class action lawsuits are yet to be filed, and more money is yet to change ownership. One thing is absolutely certain – the impact from the users' lost trust is immeasurable.

Equifax

In September 2017, Equifax, one of US' biggest credit bureaus announced that hackers had breached its systems and made off with the personal information of around 145 million individuals. Compared to Yahoo!, which lost all 3 billion of its accounts, the breach doesn't seem so huge. Because the stolen data included extremely sensitive details like Social Security numbers and, in some cases, credit card and driver's license numbers, however, the damage could be just as enormous.

Within about a week, the credit reporting agency's stock lost around a fifth of its value, and at least 30 class action lawsuits were filed against Equifax in a matter of a month. To mitigate the risks associated with the hack, Equifax also offered credit monitoring services to the victims for free. The financial costs are adding up as we speak, and that's without even considering the business Equifax will lose because of the breach.

Experts have done a lot of research on the matter, and companies continue to conduct surveys. Despite this, nobody can say with reasonable accuracy how much money a company will lose if it gets hacked.

April 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 2 ?