遭受密码疲劳?这是如何打败它

Password Fatigue

密码作为一种认证机制的缺陷在几年前变得明显,为了尽量减少它们对我们的影响,软件开发人员和供应商已经实现了许多不同的功能和机制。有些比其他人更明显。

使密码更安全

例如,当您输入密码时,通常会看到星号或黑点而不是实际符号。这可以防止肩部冲浪攻击

这不仅仅是我们如何输入密码。这也是我们的密码。正如我们在这些页面上多次提到的那样,人们经常拒绝努力创建强密码,这就是网站和组织试图强迫他们这样做的原因。

他们告诉您,您的密码必须是一定的长度,必须包含各种字符,如果您不遵守所有要求,他们将不会让您注册帐户。除此之外,他们知道黑客是在你的密码之后,可能只是设法得到它们。这就是为什么有些组织会频繁更改密码,希望即使骗子们掌握了你的登录数据,当他们开始使用它时,也为时已晚。

一直以来,您都有安全专家一直告诉您,您的所有帐户都应该拥有长而复杂且唯一的密码 - 大多数人显然都不会太注意

不必要的副作用

所有这些措施都是出于最好的意图,但它们在一定程度上适得其反。在没有看到密码的情况下输入密码应该远离窥探,但这个过程本身很烦人。错误经常发生,这就是为什么当您设置新密码或更改旧密码时,通常需要输入两次。这更令人讨厌。

强度要求规则是一个更大的痛苦。它们在理论上有很好的用途,但供应商经常被带走。更重要的是,它们并不总是明确地说明了将创建密码的繁琐,耗时的过程变成更大的麻烦。至于一些组织遵循的密码过期策略, 它们是否可以工作是有争议的 。毫无疑问的是,他们给用户带来了更多的压力。

说到对用户的压力,现在很多人拥有超过100个在线帐户,并且毫不奇怪,安全专家很难说服他们为每个人创建一个独特的,相当强大的密码。

总而言之,创建一个在线帐户并登录它应该是微不足道和简单的事情,但要想到这么多事情,它就变成了一场噩梦。这是一场噩梦,导致所谓的“密码疲劳”。

人类大脑无法可靠地创建,存储和管理所有这些密码。当用户听到密码应该包含各种各样的字符并且登录凭据应该每隔一个月更新一次时,他们会更加沮丧. 人们在便利贴上创建,重用和放置简单密码,因为这是他们对来自供应商,安全专家和网络犯罪分子的所有压力的本能反应。

打败密码疲劳

在某种程度上,您可以通过不注册您访问的每个网站来减轻一些负担,这实际上是您应该考虑的其他许多原因。但是,采用“无密码,没有问题”的方法永远无法真正解决问题。事实上,就你自己来说,扭转密码疲劳的影响或多或少是不可能的。如果你有机会克服它,你需要额外的帮助。

由于其有用的功能,我们的Cyclonis密码管理器可以提供大量帮助。首先,它将在一个中央保险库中存储和加密您的所有密码,这意味着您可以自由地忘记它们。只有您的主密码才能访问它们 - 您需要记住的唯一密码。内置密码生成器将在几毫秒内为您创建复杂的新密码,使用浏览器扩展,您无需担心输入密码,因为它会为您完成。

密码疲劳是一种相对较新的现象,由安全性和易用性很少携手共进而产生。但是,使用Cyclonis Password Manager等工具,终于可以实现。

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 7是什么?

Suffering from Password Fatigue? Here's How to Beat It

Password Fatigue

The password's flaws as an authentication mechanism became apparent years ago, and to try and minimize the impact they have on us, software developers and vendors have been implementing a number of different features and mechanisms. Some are more obvious than others.

Making passwords more secure

When you enter your password, for example, you usually see asterisks or black dots instead of the actual symbols. This serves as a protection against shoulder surfing attacks.

It's not all about how we enter our password, either. It's also about what our password is. As we've mentioned numerous times on these pages, people frequently refuse to put in the effort to create strong passwords which is why websites and organizations try to force them to do it.

They tell you that your password must be a certain length, that it must contain a set variety of characters, and they won't let you sign up for an account if you don't comply with all the requirements. In addition to this, they know that hackers are after your passwords and might just manage to get them. That's why, some organizations enforce frequent password changes, hoping that even if the crooks get their hands on your login data, by the time they get around to using it, it would be too late.

All the while, you have the security experts who keep telling you that you should have long, complex, and unique passwords for all your accounts – something most of you clearly don't pay much attention to.

The unwanted side effects

All these measures are taken with the best of intentions, but they do backfire to a certain extent. Typing your password without seeing it should keep it away from prying eyes, but the process itself is annoying. Mistakes happen way too often which is why when you set up a new password or change an old one, you usually need to enter it twice. This is even more annoying.

The strength requirement rules are an even bigger pain. They serve a good purpose in theory, but vendors frequently get carried away. What's more, they're not always explicitly stated which turns the tedious, time-consuming process of creating a password into an even bigger nuisance. And as for the password expiration policies that some organizations follow, it is arguable whether they work at all. What is beyond any doubt is that they put even more stress on the user.

Speaking of stress on the user, many people have more than 100 online accounts these days and not surprisingly, security specialists are having a really hard time convincing them to create a unique, reasonably strong password for each and every one.

All in all, creating an online account and logging in to it should be something trivial and simple, but with so many things to think about, it's turning into a nightmare. It's a nightmare that causes what is commonly known as "password fatigue."

The human brain just isn't capable of reliably creating, storing, and managing all these passwords. When users hear that passwords should consist of a wide variety of characters and that login credentials should be updated every other month, they get even more frustrated. People create, reuse, and put simple passwords on sticky notes because that's their instinctive reaction to all the pressure coming from vendors, security specialists, and cybercriminals.

Beating password fatigue

To some extent, you can relieve some of the burden by not signing up for every website you visit, and this is actually something you should consider for many other reasons. Taking the "no password, no problem" approach can never really solve the problem, though. In fact, on your own, reversing the effects of password fatigue is more or less impossible. If you stand any chance of overcoming it, you need extra help.

Thanks to its useful features, our Cyclonis Password Manager can be of massive assistance. First, it will store and encrypt all your passwords in one central vault which means that you are free to forget them. Accessing them is only possible with your master password – the only password you'll need to remember. The built-in password generator will create complex new passwords for you in milliseconds, and with the browser extension, you won't need to worry about typing them because it will do it for you.

Password fatigue is a relatively new phenomenon that was spawned by the fact that security and ease of use rarely go hand-in-hand. With tools like the Cyclonis Password Manager, however, this is finally possible.

December 14, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 4 ?