我是否需要每隔几个月更改一次密码?

您的密码太旧了,您必须更改密码。如果你已经上网很长时间了,你可能已经听过这个建议了。但它仍然有水吗?

遗憾的是,这是一个重要的问题,没有一个确定的答案。在某些情况下,它可能是一个非常好的安全实践。在其他情况下,它可能会增加您的帐户遭到入侵的风险。以下是对该主题的深入研究。

2016年,一些坏人进入黑暗网站并开始销售包含数百万个MySpace用户名和密码的数据库。我们假设您的帐户位于该数据库中。这意味着任何在钱包里有一些闲钱的人都可以“购买”您的登录凭据并破坏您的帐户。如果您的MySpace密码在其他地方被重复使用,那么潜在的影响远比那些在一个完全休眠的社交网络上可能访问可能是休眠帐户的人更严重。

当然,除非您经常更改密码。你看,尽管它在2016年出现在黑暗网络上,但后来证明这些数据在此之前很久就被盗了。实际上,分析表明它可以追溯到2008年。当它被出售时,数据库对于定期更改密码的人没有威胁,因为与他们的帐户相关联的登录凭证已经过时了。

这个故事的寓意似乎是,定期更改您的密码,您有更好的机会保护自己免受帐户接管。不幸的是,还有更多的东西。

首先,尽管黑客在2016年开始销售这个数据库,但很久以前有人可能已经开始销售这个数据库了,有人有足够的时间做很多损坏。而且,对于大多数用户来说,改变密码是一件麻烦事。更改大量密码是一项更令人讨厌的苦差事,网站和在线服务对他们经常错综复杂的密码更改机制没有多大帮助。我们甚至不想解决重置新密码的问题,因为您已经忘记了它。因此,希望(或被迫)遵循“经常更改密码”建议的人建议使用模式(即,更改一个或两个符号并保持旧密码的较大部分保持不变)。

您的新密码最终可能会比它所替换的密码弱,这会让您面临风险。除此之外,众所周知,黑客手上有很多业余时间,这意味着,如果他们有足够的动力,他们会搜索一种模式,让他们根据旧的猜测你的新密码一。如果他们聪明(而且他们中的一些人往往非常聪明),他们可能会发现它并且仍然设法闯入。

说到动机,如果攻击者设法侵入您的社交媒体帐户,他们可能会花一些时间浏览您的照片和私人谈话。但是,如果黑客获得了您的银行帐户的登录详细信息,那么他们会更加渴望进入并在您可以采取任何措施之前抽走资金。在这种情况下,拥有密码更改时间表并没有多大帮助。

这正是造成争议的原因。多年前,互联网是一个不同的地方,黑客攻击系统和用户的目标也不同。当时,隐形是游戏的名称,而现在,这种情况很少发生. 这就是为什么专家,公司和机构在频繁更改密码时会改变主意的原因。

2009年,微软研究院首席研究员Cormac Herley 表示,定期更改密码会“增加负担,但收益微乎其微”。一年后,密码学家和计算机安全专家Bruce Scheiner也反对严格的密码更改政策。最近,英国国家网络安全中心发布了密码指南,该指南还说“ 常规密码更改会损害而不是提高安全性”

所以,专家们已经说过:每隔几个月就停止更改密码。那么,再一次,它还有更多的东西。

如果您使用弱密码,则应立即更改密码。如果您认为其中一个密码可能已被盗用,则应立即更改密码。专家们不相信的是改变不受直接威胁的密码。他们认为这样做的麻烦导致了易于猜测的模式和密码重用。他们确实有一点意义。

您可以创建并记住相对较长且复杂的密码。几个星期后,你应该没有问题将它换成另一个相对较长和复杂的密码,虽然记住它会有点困难,你可能会管理。这只是一个帐户的努力,但是,您可能有几十个甚至几百个不同的帐户。如果他们要保持安全,他们每个人都需要自己的密码既强又独特。人类根本无法创建和记忆这么多密码。然而,正如我们已经建立的那样,更新密码可以在适当的情况下为您节省时间。这就是Cyclonis密码管理器的用武之地。

密码分析器是您登录帐户时看到的第一个功能,用于检查自您创建密码或将每个密码输入个人保险库后所经过的时间,并提醒您注意那些密码分析一会儿。有一个方便的转到站点按钮,可让您使用旧密码直接登录帐户。进入后,您可以使用Cyclonis Password Manager的内置密码生成器创建一个独特且无法猜测的新密码生成器。生成器允许您创建一个强大的密码,并且至关重要的是,它与您的旧密码无关。完成更改后,Cyclonis Password Manager的浏览器扩展将询问您是否要将新数据保存到Vault中,单击“更新”按钮可完成此过程。就这么简单。

换句话说,每隔几周必须创建数十个唯一密码的麻烦就消失了。与此同时,拥有强大且无法猜测的新密码的好处就在那里。因此,这将我们带回原始问题 - 您是否应该定期更新密码?

这样做并不能保证您100%安全。没有什么可以. 当发生数据泄露时,会发生许多事情并确定您的帐户是否会遭到入侵。这些包括黑客的动机,供应商如何存储您的密码,以及它具有哪些安全预防措施。您的密码最近是否已更改可能不一定是因素之一。但是,如果您拥有一个工具的便利性,可以显着减少为强大的新密码更改旧密码所需的时间和精力,那么每隔一段时间就更新它们是有意义的。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 4是什么?

Do I Need to Change My Passwords Every Few Months?

Your password is too old, and you must change it. If you've been on the Internet for long enough, you've probably heard this advice. But does it still hold water?

It's an important question that, unfortunately, doesn't have one definitive answer. In some cases, it could be a really good security practice. In others, it might increase the risk of having your accounts compromised. Here's a deeper look into the subject.

In 2016, some bad guys went on the Dark Web and started selling a database containing millions of MySpace usernames and passwords. Let's assume that your account was in that database. This meant that anyone with some spare cash in their wallet was able to "buy" your login credentials and compromise your account. If your MySpace password was reused elsewhere, the potential repercussions were much, much more serious than someone having access to what is probably a dormant account on an all but dormant social network.

Unless, of course, you change your passwords frequently. You see, although it appeared on the Dark Web in 2016, the data, it later turned out, had been stolen long before that. In fact, analysis showed that it dates back to 2008. When it was put up for sale, the database presented no threat to the people who change their passwords regularly because the login credentials associated with their accounts were long outdated.

The moral of the story, it seems, is, change your passwords regularly and you have a better chance of protecting yourself against an account takeover. Unfortunately, there's a bit more to it than that.

First of all, although hackers started selling the database in 2016, someone probably had their hands on it long before that, someone had plenty of time to do a lot of damage. And let's not beat about the bush, for most users, changing a password is a hassle. Changing a lot of passwords is an even more unpleasant chore, and websites and online services don't help much with their often convoluted password changing mechanisms. We don't even want to go into the problem of resetting the new password because you've forgotten it. As a result, people that do want (or are forced) to follow the "change your passwords frequently" advice resort to patterns (i.e., changing one or two symbols and keeping the larger portion of the old password intact).

Your new password might end up being weaker than the one it replaces which puts you at risk. In addition to this, as we all know, hackers have a lot of spare time on their hands, which means that, if they're motivated enough, they'll search for a pattern that lets them guess your new password based on the old one. If they're clever (and some of them tend to be quite clever), they might find it and still manage to break in.

Speaking of motivation, if attackers manage to break into your social media account, they might spend some time browsing through your photos and private conversations. If a hacker obtains your login details for, say, your bank account, however, they'll be much more eager to get in and siphon money away before you can do anything about it. In such cases, having a password changing schedule doesn't help that much.

This is exactly what causes the controversy. Years ago, the Internet was a different place, and the hackers' goals when compromising systems and users were also different. Back then, stealth was the name of the game whereas right now, this is rarely the case. Which is why experts, companies, and institutions have had a change of heart when it comes to their opinion on frequent password changes.

In 2009, Cormac Herley, a principal researcher at Microsoft Research, said that regularly changing passwords "amplifies the burden for little gain." A year later, cryptographer and computer security expert Bruce Scheiner also spoke out against strict password changing policies. More recently, UK's National Cyber Security Centre issued its Password Guidance which also says that "regular password changing harms rather than improves security."

So, the experts have spoken: Stop changing your passwords every few months. Well, once again, there's a bit more to it than that.

If you use weak passwords, you should change them immediately. If you think that one of your passwords might have been compromised, you should change it immediately. What the experts aren't convinced about is changing passwords that are not under immediate threat. They reckon that the hassle of doing it leads to easy-to-guess patterns and password reuse. And they do have a point.

You can probably create and remember a relatively long and complicated password. Several weeks later, you should have no problems swapping it for another relatively long and complicated password, and although it will be a bit of a struggle remembering it, you'll probably manage. This is the effort for just one account, however, and chances are, you have tens or even hundreds of different accounts. If they are to remain secure, each of them will need its own password that's both strong and unique. Human beings simply aren't capable of creating and remembering so many passwords. And yet, as we've established already, updating passwords can save you under the right circumstances. This is where Cyclonis Password Manager comes in.

The Password Analyzer, the first feature you see when you log into your account, checks the time elapsed since you've created or entered each and every one of your passwords into your personal vault and brings to your attention the ones that have been there for a while. There's a handy Go to site button that lets you directly log into the account with the old password. Once you're in, you can use Cyclonis Password Manager's built-in Password Generator to create a new one that will be unique and impossible to guess. The generator lets you create a password that's strong, and, crucially, is not related in any way to your old one. When you're done with the change, Cyclonis Password Manager's browser extension will ask you if you would like to save the new data in your vault, and clicking the Update button completes the process. It's as simple as that.

In other words, the hassle of having to create tens of unique passwords every few weeks is gone. At the same time, the benefits of having fresh passwords that are strong and impossible to guess are there. So, this brings us back to the original question – Should you regularly update your passwords?

Doing it can't guarantee that you'll be 100% safe. Nothing can. When a data breach happens, there are a number of things that come into play and determine whether or not your account will be compromised. These include how motivated the hacker is, how the vendor stores your password, and what security precautions it has in place. Whether or not your password has recently been changed might not necessarily be among the factors. When you have the convenience of a tool that significantly reduces the time and effort needed to change the old passwords for strong new ones, however, it makes sense to update them every once in a while.

By Naria
March 14, 2018
March 14, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 4 ?