擦乾淨前出售USB驅動器和硬盤驅動器可能會困擾您

借助eBay等平台以及所有較小的本地網站(提供類似的消費者對消費者的服務),出售您擁有的任何舊硬件從未如此簡單。儘管出售二手分立視頻卡或處理器時無需擔心,但是在擺脫任何舊的數據存儲設備(如硬盤驅動器和閃存驅動器)時,應注意一些事項。

在最近的一份報告中,與阿伯雷大學合作的安全研究人員表示,他們能夠從eBay上出售的看似乾淨的驅動器中恢復成千上萬個文件。這些文件包含“高度敏感”文件和個人信息,包括密碼,個人照片和銀行對帳單記錄。當然,這是引起警報的原因,因為如果這類信息進入不良行為者的手中,則可能以多種方式被濫用。

類似的可識別個人身份的數據可能被用於各種惡意目的,從勒索到直接從帳戶中竊取錢財,以及在使用共享密碼的其他服務上非法訪問帳戶。

該大學的研究團隊使用了CRU Data Security的專有工具USB WriteBlocker,這是一家從事存儲系統和數字取證的公司。關鍵是,不良參與者也可以使用類似的工具,並且可以輕鬆地恢復您認為已從要出售的舊驅動器中正確刪除的數據。

簡單刪除設備,有時進行簡單格式化也不會導致設備的舊內容被不可逆轉地擦除。對於大多數設備,要花費很多時間在舊數據上寫入新信息,以使原始文件完全不可訪問。

大多數人沒有意識到這一點,僅依靠刪除文件或在舊閃存或硬盤驅動器上運行常規格式即可。但是,有一種簡便的方法可以正確擦除驅動器-擦除舊數據並連續幾次用零重新寫入存儲空間。

您可以通過在Windows開始菜單中鍵入適當的命令來執行此操作。連接要擦拭和出售的驅動器,然後鍵入“ format x:/ p:3”(不帶引號),將字母x替換為要擦除的設備的分配的驅動器號。這將刪除現有文件,並在新格式化的設備的空白空間中連續寫入三個連續的零,一次又一次。

這樣可以確保新格式化的驅動器安全,並且舊數據無法恢復。通常認為兩次或三次通過零會擦拭存儲設備是完全安全的方法。

November 6, 2020

發表評論

Selling USB Drives and Hard Drives Before Wiping Them Clean Could Haunt You

With platforms like eBay and all smaller, local websites that offers similar consumer-to-consumer services, it has never been easier to sell any old hardware you have. While there is nothing to worry about when selling your used discrete video card or processor, there are some things you should be careful with when getting rid of any old data storage devices like hard drives and flash drives.

In a recent report, security researchers working with the University of Aberlay stated that they were able to recover thousands and thousands of files from seemingly clean drives sold on eBay. The files contained "highly sensitive" files and personal information, including passwords, personal photos and bank statement records. Of course, this is cause for alarm, as this sort of information could be misused in a number of ways if it made its way into the hands of bad actors.

Similar personally identifiable data could be used for all sorts of malicious purposes, from blackmail to directly stealing money from accounts and illegally accessing accounts on other services that use shared passwords.

The university research team used a proprietary tool called USB WriteBlocker by CRU Data Security - a company dealing in storage systems and digital forensics. The thing is, bad actors also have access to comparable tools and could easily restore data you thought you had deleted properly from an old drive you want to sell.

Simple deletion and sometimes simple formatting of a device does not lead to its old contents being irreversibly wiped. With most devices, it takes several passes of writing new information over the old data to make the original files completely inaccessible.

Most people don't realize this and rely on simply deleting the files or running a regular format on their old flash or hard drives. However, there is an easy way to wipe your drives properly - wipe the old data and re-write the storage space with zeroes several times in a row.

You can do this by typing the appropriate command in your Windows start menu. Connect the drive you intend to wipe and sell, then type "format x: /p:3", without the quotation marks, replacing the letter x with the assigned drive letter of the device you are wiping. This will delete existing files and write three consecutive passes of zeroes, one over the other, in the blank space of the freshly formatted device.

This will make your freshly formatted drive safe and the old data on it - irrecoverable. Two or three passes of zeroes is generally considered the completely safe approach to wiping a storage device.

November 6, 2020

Leave a Reply