安全專家警告勒索軟件創建者正在進行網絡釣魚

Ransomware Creators Turn To Phishing

2017年5月12日,WannaCry勒索軟件加密了全球20多萬台Windows PC的文件,造成數百萬美元的損失。感謝EternalBlue,一種據稱由NSA開發的黑客工具,WannaCry設法迅速傳播並影響了各種形狀和大小的用戶和組織。幸運的是,一位名叫Marcus Hutchins的網絡安全專家設法阻止了感染,但影響仍然很大,足以讓主流媒體談論勒索軟件。

2017年6月27日,恰好46天后,頭條新聞被NotPetya所佔據 - 這是另一個需要贖金的惡意軟件。雖然,正如後來的分析所揭示的那樣,NotPetya不是一個典型的勒索軟件家族,它就像一個人一樣,並且在一個半月的時間內第二次爆發意味著人們突然更加認真地對待威脅。

WannaCry和NotPetya只是2016年和2017年出現的無數文件加密惡意軟件系列中的兩個。勒索軟件在當時的網絡地下風靡一時,許多專家認為,由於高盈利能力,騙子會繼續在未來幾年中大量使用它。碰巧的是,它們並不完全正確。

勒索軟件退居二線

十多年來,微軟一直利用其客戶的數據來更好地了解影響網絡安全格局的力量及其內部發生的變化。最近,操作系統開發人員發布了最新的安全情報報告,並指出,在過去的幾年中,令人驚訝與否的是,與勒索軟件的區別在於。實際上,在2017年3月到2018年12月之間,微軟的勒索軟件攻擊數量減少了60%。

這些數字基於從大量用戶收集的數據,因此它們應該非常準確。然而,即使你不信任他們,你也可以查看其他公司的報告,這些報告也會證實網絡犯罪分子正積極投入時間和精力投入非勒索軟件攻擊,而這些攻擊雖然不具有破壞性,但可能就像(如果不是更多)有利可圖。

加密貨幣開採越來越受歡迎

你們中的大多數人可能還記得2016年各種描述的加密貨幣在價值方面的天文數字飆升。價格達到頂峰,人們開始認為擁有一些數字硬幣將使他們非常富有。

問題是,在您自己的硬件上挖掘加密貨幣需要大量的初始投資,並且可能導致巨額電費。但是,如果您正在使用其他人的PC,則無需擔心任何此類問題。

微軟的報告顯示,在加密硬幣價格暴漲之後不久,騙子開始大量使用挖掘惡意軟件 。最初,礦工通過傳統的攻擊媒介進行分發,但在某一時刻,犯罪分子意識到妥協合法網站並將加密貨幣挖掘代碼嵌入其中可以提供更好的結果。 JavaScript礦工將利用訪問者的計算機資源來完成大量複雜的計算並生成加密硬幣,這些硬幣將被發送給騙子. 除了較差的性能和增加的電力消耗之外,沒有任何可以立即看到的可以提醒用戶的信息。

將非法加密貨幣挖掘與勒索軟件進行比較,您就會明白為什麼前者已經超越了後者。這是一種更加無聲的攻擊,可以在更長的時間內保持不被發現。更重要的是,它的成功與否取決於用戶是否有可靠的備份策略 ,以及他們是否願意與犯罪分子談判。

正如微軟的報告指出的那樣,為什麼騙子像加密貨幣礦工一樣有其他一些原因,但必須說這種愛情不太可能持續很長時間。其中一個,CoinHive是最受歡迎的瀏覽器內礦工之一,幾個月前就停產了,儘管還有其他類似的工具和服務,但它們似乎都沒有那麼廣泛。考慮到數字硬幣在過去一年左右的價值大幅下降,這並不令人難以置信。現在利潤率更加微薄,這意味著加密貨幣挖掘與許多其他惡意活動一樣,可能會達到其“最佳之前”的日期。但是,網絡安全領域的一些事情從未變老。

網絡犯罪分子仍然青睞網絡釣魚和供應鏈攻擊

無論黑客選擇勒索軟件還是加密貨幣作為他們選擇的武器,他們都需要一個初始的感染向量。網絡釣魚是獲取未經授權訪問計算機的最古老,最受歡迎的方式之一,看起來大多數騙子都無意改用其他任何東西。事實上,微軟報告稱,在2018年1月至12月期間,被確定為網絡釣魚詐騙的入站郵件的份額增加了250%。

網絡釣魚一直(並且很可能會繼續)成為一個非常成功的感染媒介,因為它利用了這樣一個事實:當他們受到正確的社會工程技術時,人類根本不擅長保護自己的安全。正確玩牌的騙子可以輕鬆說服普通用戶點擊鏈接,打開文件或提供有價值的信息。然而,一些犯罪分子選擇了一種不涉及那麼多社會工程的方法。

微軟解釋說,去年供應鏈攻擊數量也有所增加。在供應鏈攻擊期間,黑客破壞了流行軟件應用程序的開發人員,並使所述應用程序以不應該的方式運行。 在2018年最引人注目的供應鏈攻擊之一中 ,Piriform,一個名為CCleaner的流行系統優化應用程序的創建者,受到了打擊,因此,近230萬用戶無意中下載了後門更新。如今的軟件更新在很大程度上是完全自動化的,人們傾向於信任它們,這意味著受害者不可能在已經太晚之前弄清楚某些事情是不對的。

任何人都不應該知道威脅形勢並沒有停滯不前. 勒索軟件失寵,被加密貨幣礦工取代,遲早會被其他東西取代。所有這些動態變化意味著我們根本沒有自動化工具來保護我們免受每一個威脅,這就是為什麼當我們瀏覽網頁時保持我們的智慧比以往任何時候都更重要。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 7是什麼?

Security Experts Warn That Ransomware Creators Are Going Phishing

Ransomware Creators Turn To Phishing

On May 12, 2017, the WannaCry ransomware encrypted the files of over 200 thousand Windows PCs all around the world and caused millions of dollars in damages. Thanks to EternalBlue, a hacking tool allegedly developed by the NSA, WannaCry managed to spread quickly and affected users and organizations of all shapes and sizes. Fortunately, a cybersecurity expert by the name of Marcus Hutchins managed to stop the infection, but the impact was still significant enough to get the mainstream media talking about ransomware.

On June 27, 2017, exactly 46 days later, the headlines were occupied by NotPetya – another malware strain that demands a ransom. Although, as later analysis revealed, NotPetya was not a typical ransomware family, it acted like one, and a second outbreak in the span of a month and a half meant that people were suddenly taking the threat a lot more seriously.

WannaCry and NotPetya were just two of the countless file-encrypting malware families that appeared in 2016 and 2017. Ransomware was all the rage in the cyber underground at the time, and many experts thought that because of the high profitability, the crook would continue to use it prolifically in the years to come. As it happens, they weren't quite right.

Ransomware is taking a back seat

For over a decade, Microsoft has used data from its customers to gain a better understanding of the forces that shape the cybersecurity landscape and the changes that happen within it. Recently, the OS developer released its latest Security Intelligence Report and pointed out that surprisingly or not, over the last couple of years, there's been a distinctive move away from ransomware. In fact, between March 2017 and December 2018, Microsoft saw a 60% decrease in the number of ransomware attacks.

These figures are based on data gathered from a large number of users, so they should be pretty accurate. Even if you don't trust them, however, you can go through reports from other companies which will also confirm that cybercriminals are actively investing time and effort into non-ransomware attacks which, while not as destructive, can be just as (if not more) profitable.

Cryptocurrency mining gains popularity

Most of you probably remember the astronomical surge in value that cryptocurrencies of various description experienced in 2016. Prices peaked, and people started thinking that owning some digital coins will make them incredibly wealthy.

The thing is, mining cryptocurrency on your own hardware requires a significant initial investment and can result in a hefty electricity bill. If you're using other people's PCs, however, you don't need to worry about any of this.

Microsoft's report shows that shortly after the price of crypto coins shot up, crooks started using mining malware quite extensively. Initially, the miners were distributed through the traditional attack vectors, but at one point, the criminals realized that compromising a legitimate website and embedding cryptocurrency-mining code into it could deliver better results. The JavaScript miner would harness visitors' computer resources to complete a large number of complex calculations and generate crypto coins which would be sent to the crooks. Apart from the poorer performance and the increased electricity consumption, there's nothing immediately visible that can alert the user.

Compare illicit cryptocurrency mining to ransomware, and you'll see why the former has overtaken the latter. It's a much more silent attack that can remain undetected for a far greater period of time. More importantly, its success isn't dependent on whether or not the user has a solid backup strategy, and on their willingness to negotiate with criminals.

As Microsoft's report points out, there are a few other reasons why crooks like cryptocurrency miners, but it must be said that this love affair is unlikely to last long. For one, CoinHive, one of the most popular in-browser miners, was discontinued a couple of months ago, and although there are other similar tools and services available, none of them seems to be that widespread. This isn't incredibly surprising considering the massive decrease in value that digital coins have experienced over the last year or so. The profit margin is much slimmer now which means that cryptocurrency mining, like many other malicious activities, might be reaching its "Best Before" date. Some things in the cybersecurity world never grow old, though.

Phishing and supply chain attacks are still favored by cybercriminals

Regardless of whether a hacker chooses a strain of ransomware or a cryptocurrency miner as their weapon of choice, they need an initial infection vector. Phishing is one of the oldest and most popular ways of gaining unauthorized access to a computer, and it would appear that most crooks have no intention of switching to anything else. In fact, Microsoft reported that between January and December 2018, there was a 250% jump in the share of inbound messages that were determined to be phishing scams.

Phishing has always been (and will likely continue to be) an incredibly successful infection vector because it exploits the fact that when they're subjected to the right social engineering techniques, human beings are simply not very good at keeping themselves safe. Crooks who play their cards right can easily persuade the regular user to click a link, open a file, or give away valuable information. Some criminals, however, have opted for an approach that doesn't involve that much social engineering.

Microsoft explains that last year also saw an uptick in the number of supply chain attacks. During a supply chain attack, hackers compromise the developer of a popular software application and make the said application behave in a way that it's not supposed to. In one of 2018's most noteworthy supply chain attacks, Piriform, the creator of a popular system optimization app called CCleaner, got hit, and as a result, close to 2.3 million users inadvertently downloaded a backdoored update. Software updates nowadays are, for the most part, completely automated, and people tend to trust them which means that victims are unlikely to figure out that something's not quite right until it's already too late.

It shouldn't really be news to anyone that the threat landscape is not sitting still. Ransomware fell out of favor and was replaced by cryptocurrency miners which will sooner or later be replaced by something else. All these dynamic changes mean that we simply don't have the automated tools to protect us against every single threat which is why keeping our wits about us when we're browsing the web is more important than ever.

May 20, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 10 ?