每一天都可以成為'世界備份日'

World Backup Day

世界備份日的想法誕生於2011年左右,當時一些“關注用戶”開始討論Reddit他們可以做些什麼來保護他們的數據。思想交流變成了一種病態的倡議。決定3月31日是世界備份日,而現在,大約8年後,它以硬件供應商和備份解決方案提供商的大量標籤和促銷活動來慶祝。結果,越來越多的人了解世界備份日。但這對他們有什麼幫助?

世界備份日有什麼意義?

如果您認為世界備份日是您按下“備份”按鈕的一年中的那一天,那麼我們擔心您完全錯過了這一點。世界備份日不是為了慶祝保存文件副本的行為。這不是一個與某些習俗和傳統相關的節日。

與許多其他“世界日”一樣,世界備份日旨在提高認識並讓人們考慮他們的備份。這個想法是讓你開始備份你的數據,如果你不這樣做,如果你這樣做,它應該讓你思考你是否採用最有效的備份機制。

很難估計有多少人從中受益,但毫無疑問,世界備份日是一個絕妙的主意。話雖如此,我們認為不應僅在3月31日探討這個話題。這就是為什麼,今天,在今年的世界備份日後大約一周,我們會嘗試給你一些提示,希望能幫助你更有效地管理備份。首先,讓我們看看為什麼備份是如此重要。

為什麼備份必不可少?

向安全專家詢問有關備份的信息,勒索軟件的主題必定會在幾秒鐘內完成。勒索軟件確實是一個令人生畏的威脅。這種類型的攻擊首先將您的文件作為人質並要求金錢以換取釋放它們。那些不保留數據備份的人除了支付贖金之外別無選擇,這幾乎不是理想的情況。

一方面,騙子獲得金錢,他們可以投資於進一步的犯罪活動。更重要的是,一旦你向他們支付了贖金,你和你的檔案就會受到憐憫,有時候,黑客不會被諸如履行承諾和向你提供數據等事情所困擾。有時,他們只是拿走現金並走開。

最近,重要文件的工作備份是確保如果您發現自己處於這種情況的唯一方法,您可以逃避而無需付錢或依賴網絡犯罪分子的誠實。但是,還有其他原因可以將文件的備用副本存儲在安全的地方。

其他類型的惡意軟件不會對加密文件感到煩惱。他們只是刪除數據,讓你想知道出了什麼問題。合法軟件的開發人員時不時也會犯錯,而且更新的破壞有時會導致數據丟失。

即使你(像其他許多被證明是錯誤的人)相信這一切都不會發生在你身上,你只需要考慮一下,你就會發現至少有一個人知道丟失了他們的筆記本電腦或看到他們的硬盤失敗. 換句話說,許多不同的因素可能導致無法挽回的數據丟失,並且功能備份是唯一可以幫助您恢復文件的因素。

問題是,安全地備份重要數據比複製粘貼一些文件更複雜。你必須提出一個策略,這個策略本身就是一個複雜的過程,涉及回答大量不同的問題。重要的是要考慮所有因素並做出正確的決定。

3-2-1備份策略

網絡安全專家會告訴您,接近備份的最佳方法是遵循3-2-1備份口頭禪。 3-2-1策略的理論定義可能有點令人困惑,因此我們將嘗試通過解釋一個普通人如何使用它來簡化它。

他們將有兩個單獨的備份。第一個備份將存儲在外部硬盤驅動器上,該硬盤驅動器保存在其家中的抽屜中,第二個備份將被發送到雲端。這意味著用戶有三個數據副本(原始和兩個備份);存儲在兩個位置(在家中和雲中); 其中一個位置(雲)是異地的。

人們主張採用3-2-1備份策略有幾個原因。例如,擁有多個備份可進一步減少數據丟失的可能性。在兩個不同的位置存儲兩個單獨的備份可確保即使其中一個副本發生某些情況,您仍可以檢索數據。同時,無論您身在何處,它都能為您提供快速恢復機制。

在一個完美的世界中,3-2-1備份策略是最適合的。可悲的是,正如我們在這些頁面上建立了無數次,我們並沒有生活在一個完美的世界中,這意味著你們中的許多人需要做出某種妥協。最常見的困境是是否要進行本地備份或云備份 。顯然,您需要自己弄清楚哪種選擇最適合您的需求,並且該決策還需要考慮財務和其他限制。但總的來說,雲備份是最適合的。實際上,從雲中恢復通常需要更長的時間,但從安全性和可靠性的角度來看,它是更好的選擇。

您應該多久備份一次數據?

剛剛意識到備份是一個好主意的人經常會誤以為保存重要文件的副本是一次性事件。他們往往忘記在21世紀,數據量不會停止增長。我們每天都會拍攝新照片,保存新文件,並開展新項目。所有這些數據都很重要,如果您沒有足夠頻繁地備份文件,那麼您將面臨風險。

當然,定義“足夠頻繁”並不是一個簡單的過程。如果用戶每隔一周備份一次數據,他們應該非常安全。如果他們不每天都支持,其他人可能會把自己置於危險之中。

每個用戶必須自己決定備份的頻率。沒有公式或算法來計算這一點,但可以公平地說,您在計算機上花費的時間越多,積累的數據就越多,您應該越頻繁地備份它們。

損壞的備份不是備份

最後但同樣重要的是,您必須確保您的數據是可恢復的。事情確實出錯了,特別是如果您使用外部硬件設備信任備份. 嘗試養成每隔一段時間檢查備份的習慣,以確保它們正常工作。完成備份後,嘗試恢復或運行某些文件以確保其中的數據完好無損。通過這種方式,您可以放心使用。

那些不習慣保證數據安全的人可能會認為這是一項過於艱苦的工作,但事實是,在易於使用的附加工具的幫助下,這並不是什麼大不了的事,特別是一旦養成習慣。無論如何,考慮到文件的價值,這項工作非常值得。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 5是什麼?

Every Day Can Be 'World Backup Day'

World Backup Day

The idea of World Backup Day was born around 2011 when a few 'concerned users' started a discussion on Reddit about what they can do to protect their data. The exchange of ideas morphed into an initiative that went viral. It was decided that March 31 would be World Backup Day, and right now, some eight years later, it's celebrated with lots of hashtags and promotional sales from hardware vendors and providers of backup solutions. As a result, more and more people learn about World Backup Day. But how is that helping them?

What is the point of World Backup Day?

If you think that World Backup Day is the day of the year when you press the "Backup" button, then we're afraid that you've missed the point completely. World Backup Day isn't about celebrating the act of keeping a copy of your files. It's not a holiday that is connected to certain customs and traditions.

World Backup Day, like many other "World Days", is about raising awareness and making people think about their backups. The idea is to get you to start backing up your data if you don't do it already, and if you do, it's supposed to make you think whether you're employing the most efficient backup mechanisms.

It's difficult to estimate how many people benefit from it, but there's no doubt that World Backup Day is a brilliant idea. Having said that, we believe that the topic shouldn't be explored on March 31 only. That's why, today, about a week after this year's World Backup Day, we'll try to give you some tips that will hopefully help you manage your backups more efficiently. First, though, let's see why backing up is so important.

Why are backups essential?

Ask a security specialist about backups, and the topic of ransomware is bound to come up within seconds. Ransomware is indeed a formidable threat. This type of attack first takes your files hostage and demands money in exchange for releasing them. People who don't keep backups of their data are left with little other choice than to pay the ransom which is hardly an ideal scenario.

On the one hand, the crooks get money which they can invest in further criminal activity. What's more, once you pay them the ransom, you and your files are at their mercy, and sometimes, the hackers can't be bothered with things like keeping their promise and giving you your data back. Sometimes, they just take the cash and walk away.

A recent, working backup of your important files is the only way to ensure that should you find yourself in such a situation, you can escape without paying money or relying on the honesty of cybercriminals. There are, however, other reasons to store a spare copy of your files in a safe place.

Other types of malware don't bother with encrypting files. They just erase the data and leave you wondering what went wrong. Developers of legitimate software also make mistakes every now and then, and a botched-up update can sometimes lead to data loss.

Even if you (like so many other people who have been proven wrong) believe that none of this can happen to you, you only need to think about it for a moment, and you'll realize that you know at least one person that has lost their laptop or has seen their hard drive fail. In other words, many different factors can lead to irretrievable data loss, and a functioning backup is the only thing that can help you get your files back.

The thing is, safely backing up your important data is more complex than copy-pasting some files every now and again. You have to come up with a strategy which, in itself, is a complicated process that involves answering a host of different questions. It's important to take all the factors into account and make the right decisions.

The 3-2-1 backup strategy

Cybersecurity specialists will tell you that the best way to approach your backups is to follow the 3-2-1 backup mantra. The theoretical definition of the 3-2-1 strategy might be a bit confusing, so we'll try to simplify it by explaining how a regular person would go about using it.

They would have two separate backups. The first backup would be stored on an external hard drive that is kept in a drawer in their home, and the second one would be sent to the cloud. This means that the user has three copies of their data (the original and the two backups); stored in two locations (at home and in the cloud); and one of those locations (the cloud) is offsite.

People advocate the adoption of the 3-2-1 backup strategy for several reasons. For one, having more than one backup further minimizes the chances of data loss. Storing two separate backups in two separate locations ensures that even if something happens to one of the copies, you can still retrieve your data. At the same time, it gives you a quick recovery mechanism wherever you are.

In a perfect world, the 3-2-1 backup strategy is the one to go for. Sadly, as we have established numerous times on these pages, we don't live in a perfect world, which means that many of you will need to make some sort of a compromise. The most common dilemma is whether to go for local or cloud backup. Obviously, you need to figure out for yourself which of the options suits your needs the best, and that decision also needs to take into account financial and other restrictions. Overall, however, the cloud backup is the one to go for. Indeed, restoring from the cloud usually takes a bit longer, but from a security and reliability point of view, it's the much better option.

How often should you back up your data?

People who have just realized that a backup is a good idea often get the misconception that saving a copy of your important files is a one-time event. They tend to forget that in the 21st century, the amount of data doesn't stop growing. Every day we take new photographs, save new documents, and work on new projects. All that data is important, and if you don't back up your files frequently enough, you're putting it at risk.

Of course, defining "frequently enough" is not a straightforward process. Some users should be pretty safe if they back up their data every other week. Others could be putting themselves at risk if they don't back up every day.

Each individual user must decide for themselves how frequent their backups should be. There is no formula or algorithm to calculate this, but it's fair to say that the more time you spend on your computer, the more data you accumulate, and the more frequently you should back it up.

A broken backup is not a backup

Last but not least, you must make sure that your data is recoverable. Things do go wrong, especially if you've trusted your backups with an external hardware device. Try to develop a habit of checking your backups every now and then to make sure that they work. After you complete a backup, try restoring or running some of the files to make sure that the data inside them is intact. This way, you can have the peace of mind you're really after.

People who are not used to keeping their data safe might view this as too much hard work, but the truth is, with the help of easily accessible additional tools it's not that big of a deal, especially once you develop a habit for it. In any case, considering how valuable your files are, the effort is well worth it.

April 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 6 ?