加密貨幣礦工黑客:如何避免成為他們的下一個目標?

Cryptocurrency Mining Attacks

有數以百萬計的計算機連接到互聯網,最終確定哪種是最多產的網絡攻擊形式,這是非常困難的。然而,大多數安全公司似乎都同意,幾個月前,加密貨幣礦工超越勒索軟件成為最大的威脅。

現在,在我們繼續之前,我們應該指出加密貨幣挖掘可以是100%合法的操作。如果你想“挖出”一些數字硬幣,你可以買一些功能強大的硬件,安裝正確的軟件,等待數百萬的完成計算來填滿你的錢包。

問題是,功能強大的硬件消耗大量電力,在確定合資企業是否有利可圖之前,您必須考慮所有成本。網絡犯罪分子對這一點並不感興趣,這就是為什麼他們找到了一種使用無辜計算機用戶的PC來獲取硬幣的方法,而不考慮月末硬件或電費的磨損。

加密貨幣礦工如何進入受害者的計算機?

社會工程是網絡犯罪庫中最強大的武器之一。多年來,他們一直在想出一種聰明的新方法來誘騙用戶啟動可疑文件,這些文件被證明是惡意的。他們仍然在與加密貨幣礦工合作。

問題是,將礦工嵌入網站並使用訪問它的人的PC要容易得多。事實上,它是進行非法加密貨幣挖掘最廣泛使用的方式,而且非常有利可圖。

實際上,一旦受害者關閉瀏覽器或導航到不同的網站(當然,新網站也沒有被感染),採礦就會停止。如果主持人足夠受歡迎(例如,在任何特定時間都有幾千名訪客的新聞網站),那麼如果它被檢測到的時間足夠長,所有這些權力都可以產生相當多的硬幣。

礦工會造成什麼樣的破壞?

從用戶的角度來看,它取決於設備。對於移動電話,硬件上的壓力可能足以破壞設備。使用PC時,這種破壞性的結果不大可能,但採礦操作會產生大量熱量,削弱性能,並且可能縮短CPU的使用壽命 - 這種類型的攻擊中最常用的組件。

但是,礦工可能對網站的聲譽造成的損害是廣泛的。刪除已經註入的礦工,比如說,你的博客很容易。你只需要找到騙子放在那裡的幾行代碼並刪除它們。恢復博客的聲譽要困難得多。您的讀者會知道您的網站曾被黑客攻擊過一次,他們會認為這可能會再次發生。你最好不要試圖阻止礦工出現,而不是在以後清理混亂。

如何保護我的網站免受加密貨幣礦工(和其他攻擊)的侵害?

對網站的攻擊可能非常難以實現。在某些情況下,黑客需要利用Web應用程序中的漏洞。這需要一個並非每個人都能達到的技能水平,但令人驚訝或不是,保護您的網站免受這種特殊類型的攻擊可能並不那麼困難。

確保您使用的Web應用程序是最新的,如果您的網站足夠受歡迎,請考慮投資安全解決方案,以保護它免受壞人的侵害. 如果你是在你的網站上謀生,那麼確保它盡可能安全是有意義的。

但是,安全產品可能無法有效抵禦更簡單的攻擊。要管理您的網站,您需要進入管理面板或通過FTP,SSH或其他方式登錄。換句話說,對後端的訪問取決於幾個密碼。黑客喜歡破解密碼,如果他們有足夠的動力,他們就不會迴避試圖獲取密碼。

如果你的密碼很弱,他們可以毫無問題地做各種令人討厭的事情,包括嵌入一個加密貨幣礦工。我們之前已經說過了,我們再說一遍 - 你的每一個密碼都需要既複雜又獨特。想一想他們是否,如果答案是“不”,考慮改變它們。

如果不是,您的網站可能是非常有價值的資產。讓它不受保護毫無意義。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 4是什麼?

Cryptocurrency Miner Hacks: How to Avoid Becoming Their Next Target?

Cryptocurrency Mining Attacks

With millions upon millions of computers connected to the Internet, conclusively saying which is the most prolific form of cyberattack out there is extremely difficult. Nevertheless, most security companies seem to agree that a few months ago, cryptocurrency miners overtook ransomware as the biggest threat.

Now, before we continue, we should point out that cryptocurrency mining could be a 100% legitimate operation. If you want to "dig out" a few digital coins, you can buy some powerful hardware, install the correct software, and wait for millions of completed calculations to fill up your wallet.

The thing is, powerful hardware consumes a lot of electricity, and you have to put all the costs into consideration before determining whether the venture will be profitable at all. Cybercriminals are not interested in any of that which is why they've found a way of using the PCs of innocent computer users to get coins without thinking about the wear and tear on the hardware or the electricity bill at the end of the month.

How do cryptocurrency miners make their way to victims' computers?

Social engineering is one of the most powerful weapons in the cybercrooks' arsenal. For years, they've been coming up with clever new ways of tricking users into launching executable files that turn out to be malicious. And they're still doing it with cryptocurrency miners.

The thing is, it's much easier to embed the miner into a website and use the PCs of people who visit it. In fact, it's the most widely used way of conducting illegal cryptocurrency mining, and it's extremely lucrative.

Indeed, the mining stops as soon as the victim closes the browser or navigates to a different website (provided the new website isn't infected as well, of course). If the host is popular enough (e.g., a news website that has a few thousand visitors at any given time), however, all that power can generate quite a few coins if it goes by undetected for long enough.

What sort of damage do miners cause?

From a user's perspective, it depends on the device. With mobile phones, the strain put on the hardware could be substantial enough to destroy the device. With PCs, such a devastating outcome is unlikely, but the mining operation will generate a lot of heat, cripple the performance, and it could shorten the lifespan of the CPU – the component that is most commonly used during this type of attack.

The damage a miner can cause to the website's reputation is extensive, though. Removing a miner that's been injected into, let's say, your blog, is easy. You just need to find the few lines of code that the crooks put in there and delete them. Restoring the blog's reputation is much harder. Your readers will know that your website has been hacked once, and they'll think that it could happen again. You're certainly better off trying to prevent the miner from appearing in the first place than cleaning up the mess later on.

How to protect my website from cryptocurrency miners (and other attacks)?

Attacks on websites could be extremely difficult to pull off. In some cases, the hackers need to exploit vulnerabilities in your web application. This requires a level of skill that not everybody can achieve, but surprisingly or not, shielding your website against this particular type of attack might not be that difficult.

Make sure that the web application you're using is up-to-date, and if your website is popular enough, think about investing in security solutions that will protect it against the bad guys. If you're making a living out of your website, it makes sense to ensure that it's as secure as it could be.

The security products might not be effective against the simpler attacks, though. To manage your website, you need to enter your admin panel or log in through FTP, SSH, or via other means. In other words, access to the backend depends on a few passwords. Hackers love cracking passwords, and they won't shy away from trying to get yours if they're motivated enough.

If your password is weak, they will have no problem doing all sorts of nasty things, including embedding a cryptocurrency miner. We've said it before, and we'll say it again – every single one of your passwords needs to be both complex and unique. Think about whether they are, and if the answer is "no," consider changing them.

Your website could be a very valuable asset if it isn't already. It makes no sense to leave it unprotected.

May 4, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 2 ?