網絡安全與信息安全之間有什麼區別?

任何每天遇到信息技術的用戶都會以某種方式處理信息和網絡安全。它基本上意味著我們每個人都接觸到這些安全方面。但我們很少考慮這些不同類型的安全性。事實上,有時即使是在該領域工作的專家也確信網絡安全和信息安全是同義詞,而你不能擁有另一個。但如果它們是同義詞,為什麼你需要兩個不同的術語?我們在這裡解釋兩者之間的差異,我們希望您會發現我們的帖子很有用。

什麼是信息安全?

要了解信息安全是什麼,我們必須首先了解信息的確切含義。畢竟,我們總是看到“數據安全”和“信息安全”之類的東西,感覺信息和數據可以互換使用。然而,再一次,它們並不意味著同樣的事情。

簡而言之,數據可以引用任何變量集。它可能是一串數字或一組字母,但它不一定有意義。另一方面,信息是具有HAS含義的數據。例如,您的出生日期是一系列數字,但它意味著什麼。所以這就是我們區分數據和信息的方式。

因此,我們可以在任何地方遇到信息我們可以在模擬資源(如牆上的書籍或筆記)和數字資源(互聯網或移動設備的備忘錄應用程序)中找到它。因此,當我們談論信息安全時,我們指的是保護所有類型信息(包括模擬和數字)的機密性,完整性和可用性的所有方法和措施。同樣,您用來保護圖書館中的一摞書的方法與您確保社交媒體帳戶保持安全的方式略有不同。

也許似乎信息安全通常主要涉及網絡安全的各個方面,因為當我們瀏覽網頁時,它總是在我們的指尖,互聯網是向大量用戶提供信息訪問的主要媒體之一。因此,當我們想到“信息安全”時,我們會自動將其與數字世界聯繫起來。但它不一定非得那樣。

什麼是網絡安全?

因此,雖然信息安全可能涉及模擬和數字領域,但網絡安全顯然涉及數字世界。我們還可以看到,網絡安全也與網民更相關。如果您查看以下Google趨勢比較,了解過去三個月美國的“信息安全”,“網絡安全”和“網絡安全”,您會發現網絡安全是更常見的搜索關鍵字。

那麼網絡安全有什麼特別之處呢?關鍵在於,網絡安全是指為保護網絡空間中易受攻擊,受損或被盜而設計的每一種方法。顯而易見,可以在網絡空間中竊取的一件事就是信息。因此,如果我們談論DIGITAL信息,我們可以說網絡安全是信息安全的一部分. 然而,這不是全部,我們不應該跳到這樣的結論。

讓我們考慮一下,信息是網絡空間中唯一存在的東西嗎?沒有ICT(信息和通信技術)和IT(信息技術),這些信息將無法在線存在。換句話說,我們需要軟件和硬件設備來存儲信息並訪問它。因此,軟件和硬件也容易受到網絡威脅的攻擊,因此它們屬於網絡安全的範疇。

如果我們給你一個非信息的例子,但它是網絡安全的一部分,我們可以指出網絡安全。網絡安全旨在防止未經授權的訪問,修改,濫用以及計算機網絡上的其他未經請求的活動。雖然網絡本身不是信息,但它是一種允許我們共享信息並訪問它的媒介。如果我們沒有這種媒介,我們就不可能使用我們需要的信息。因此,網絡安全就是為了保護這種媒介。

更重要的是,即使您沒有意識到這一點,我們也確信您非常熟悉網絡安全。您可能每天都會遇到反間諜軟件,防火牆,雙因素身份驗證,加密,密碼和其他網絡安全工具。由於我們使用這些工具來保護我們的數字信息,因此很容易認為信息安全是網絡安全。

網絡安全與信息安全

那麼到目前為止我們發現了什麼?也許我們帖子最後一部分的副標題有點誤導。從技術上講,它不是網絡安全與信息安全。當我們處理數字信息時,它們會重疊,但這些術語本身涉及更廣泛的應用範圍,我們只需記住數字空間或信息本身並不是限制。

總而言之,信息安全涉及保護模擬和數字信息免受惡意利用,盜竊等的方法。網絡安全是一套保護數字信息和其他易受攻擊事物的方法,而這些信息是網絡領域的一部分。當我們談論數字信息安全時,這兩個術語都重疊。但是你的筆記本上的秘密筆記上寫著你最喜歡的筆不會受到網絡安全的控制。信息安全與保護計算機網絡或硬件無關。

當我們談論保護數字信息時,說網絡信息安全可能更有意義,但普通用戶是否會感受到差異是非常值得懷疑的。只要他們密切關注他們的筆記並使用強大的密碼和密碼管理器作為他們的社交媒體帳戶,我們就可以確保他們擁有自己的信息和網絡安全。

April 30, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 3是什麼?

What Are the Differences Between Cyber Security and Information Security?

Any user who encounters information technologies every single day will have dealt with information and cyber security in one way or the other. It basically means that every one of us is exposed to these security aspects. But it is probably very seldom that we think properly about these different types of security. In fact, sometimes even the specialists who work in the field are sure that cyber security and information security are synonyms, and you can't have one without the other. But if they were synonymous, why would you need two different terms? We are here to explain the differences between the two, and we hope you will find our post useful.

What Is Information Security?

To understand what information security is, we have to first understand what exactly information is. After all, we always see things like "data security" and "information security," and it feels like information and data are used interchangeably. However, once again, they do not mean the same thing.

To put it simply, data may refer to any set of variables. It might be a string of numbers or a set of letters, but it does not necessarily have a meaning. Information, on the other hand, is data that HAS meaning. For instance, your birth date is a sequence of numbers, but it means something. So this is how we differentiate between data and information.

Consequently, we can encounter information anywhere. We can find it in analog sources (like books or notes on a wall) and digital sources (the Internet or your mobile device's memo app). So when we talk about information security, we mean all the methods and measures to protect confidentiality, integrity, and availability of all types of information, both analog and digital. Likewise, the methods you employ to protect a stack of books in the library will be slightly different from the things you do to ensure your social media account remains secure.

Perhaps it often seems that information security mainly deals with the aspects of cyber security because it is always at our fingertips when we browse the web, and the Internet is one of the main media that provides information access to a considerable number of users. Therefore, when we think "information security," we automatically associate it with the digital world. But it does not necessarily have to be like that.

What Is Cyber Security?

So while information security may refer to the analog and the digital spheres, cyber security clearly deals with the digital world. We can also see that cyber security is more relevant to netizens, too. If you check out the Google trends comparison below for "information security," "cyber security," and "cybersecurity" in the United States for the last three months, you will see that cyber security has been the more common search keyword.

So what is so special about cyber security? The point is that cyber security refers to every single method devised to protect anything vulnerable on the cyber space from being attacked, compromised or stolen. One of the things that can be stolen on the cyber space is, obviously, information. So if we are talking about the DIGITAL information, we could say that cyber security is part of information security. However, that's not all to it, and we shouldn't jump to such conclusions.

Let's think about it, is information the only thing that is present in the cyber space? The information would not be able to exist online without ICT (information and communications technology) and IT (information technology). In other words, we need software and hardware appliances to store the information and to access it. Consequently, software and hardware also become vulnerable to cyber threats, and so they fall under the scope of cyber security.

If we were to give you an example of something that is not information, but is part of the cyber security, we could point out network security. Network security is designed to prevent unauthorized access, modification, misuse, and other unsolicited activities on a computer network. Although a network by itself is not information, it is a medium that allows us to share the information and to access it. If we do not have that medium, it is impossible for us to use the information we need. Hence, network security is there to protect that medium.

What's more, we are sure that you are very well acquainted with cyber security even if you are not aware of that. You probably encounter things like antispyware software, firewalls, two-factor authentication, encryption, passwords, and other cyber security tools every single day. And since we use those tools to protect our digital information, it is easy to think that information security IS cyber security.

Cyber Security vs. Information Security

So what have we found so far? Perhaps our subtitle for the last part of our post is a little bit misleading. Technically, it is not cyber security vs. information security. They DO overlap when we deal with digital information, but the terms themselves refer to far broader scopes of application, and we just have to remember that digital space or information alone are not the limits.

To sum up, information security deals with methods that protect both analog and digital information from malicious exploitation, theft and so on. Whereas cyber security is a set of methods to protect digital information and other vulnerable things that are part of the cyber sphere. Both terms overlap when we talk about the digital information security. But your secret notes in your notebook scribbled with your favorite pen would not be governed by cyber security. And information security has nothing to do with securing your computer network or your hardware.

Perhaps it would make more sense to say cyber information security when we talk about protecting digital information, but it is very doubtful whether a regular user would ever feel the difference. As long as they keep an eye on their notes and use strong passwords and password managers for their social media accounts, we can be sure that they have their information and cyber security covered.

By Foley
October 8, 2018
October 8, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 6 ?