移动应用程序暴露密码和启用汽车盗窃

MyCar Controls Security Vulnerability

正如您可能知道的那样,将日常物品连接到互联网的趋势通常被称为物联网(IoT)革命,尽管如今,在使用像“革命”这样的词时我们应该非常小心,在这种特殊情况下,它看起来似乎很合适。在我们的手机连接到互联网后不久,它们基本上粘在了我们的手上,各种物品的制造商决定我们必须将它们用于一切 - 从打开灯到绘制智能吸尘器的路线。这不仅仅是房子周围的东西。

越来越多的新车配备了手机应用程序,可让您远程打开或关闭交流电源,解锁车门,甚至启动发动机。问题是,虽然智能灯泡比它的“哑”灯泡更贵,但大多数人都买得起。对于新车,情况并非如此。

尽管如此,如果你决定享受通过手机控制汽车的好处,如果你花了几百美元,你可以购买并安装一些硬件,在手机上下载应用程序,然后你也可以使你的旧笨蛋“聪明”。问题是,你可能也会把它置于危险之中。

远程启动应用程序或joyrider的梦想

其中一个让您“智能化”旧车的售后服务称为MyCar Controls。它与几个品牌的硬件兼容,可由专家自由购买和安装,该应用程序可在App StoreGoogle Play上使用

然而,仔细阅读评论,你会发现,特别是在过去的几周里,应用程序一直行为不端。人们一直在遇到连接问题,他们无法登录到他们的帐户 - 这是使用应用程序功能的必要步骤,其中包括定位联网汽车,解锁车门和启动引擎等。

开发和销售MyCar Controls应用程序的公司Automobility Distribution没有回应负面评论,但卡内基梅隆大学CERT协调中心的安全警报可能只是告诉我们发生了什么。

它于周一发布,它谈到了MyCar Controls移动应用程序中的一个漏洞,它可能让“远程未经验证的攻击者”与应用程序的后端通信,检索一些数据,并连接到目标的汽车。换句话说,这个漏洞可能导致汽车被盗。

这个漏洞是在1月份由一位名为Jmaxxz的安全研究人员发现的,他立即通知了汽车配电。今年2月,开发人员修补了版本为3.4.24 for iOS和4.1.2 for Android的漏洞。

这尚未得到确认,但时间表明更新可能至少导致评论中报告的一些登录问题. 当被ZDNet评论时,Automobility Distribution表示没有任何人在野外利用这个漏洞。

硬编码凭证 - 最简单的安全错误

一些安全漏洞可能会比其他漏洞带来更严重的后果,不用说,更严重的漏洞应该被视为具有更高的优先级。 MyCar Controls的错误,你必须同意,是一个很大的错误,必须说通过快速生成补丁,Automobility Distribution处理得相当好,特别是与其他一些物联网供应商相比。

安全专家认为,这个漏洞本来就不应该存在。由于可以使用某些管理凭据而不是目标的用户名和密码,因此可能发生攻击。 MyCar Controls的开发人员在应用程序代码中留下了管理员凭据,就安全性错误而言,这是一个非常基本的代码。凭证已被撤销,意味着威胁不再存在。不过,这个故事有一个相当令人沮丧的道德。

由于物联网革命,我们正在将越来越多有价值的物品交给开发人员,他们可能知道或不知道他们在做什么。想想下次你正在考虑把钱花在像智能婴儿车这样傻傻的东西上时。是的, 有一个

April 12, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 7是什么?

A Mobile Application Exposed Passwords and Enabled Car Theft

MyCar Controls Security Vulnerability

As you probably know, the tendency to connect everyday objects to the internet is often referred to as the Internet of Things (IoT) revolution, and although nowadays, we ought to be rather careful when using words like 'revolution', in this particular case, it does seem to fit the bill rather well. Shortly after our mobile phones got connected to the internet, they became basically glued to our hands, and manufacturers of all sorts of items decided that we must use them for everything – from turning on the lights to plotting the route of our smart vacuum cleaner. It's not just stuff around the house, either.

More and more new cars come with mobile phone applications that let you remotely turn the AC on or off, unlock the doors, and even start the engine. The thing is, although a smart light bulb is more expensive than its "dumb" counterpart, most people can afford it. With new cars, this is not really the case.

Still, if you are determined to enjoy the benefits of controlling your car through your mobile phone, and if you've got a couple of hundred dollars to spend, you can buy and install some hardware, download an app on your phone, and you too can make your old clunker "smart". The thing is, you might also be putting it at risk.

A remote start application or a joyrider's dream

One of the aftermarket services that let you "smarten up" your old car is called MyCar Controls. It's compatible with several brands of hardware that can be freely bought and installed by a specialist, and the app is available both on the App Store and on Google Play.

Read through the reviews, however, and you'll see that especially over the last few weeks, the application has been misbehaving. People have been experiencing connectivity issues, and they have had trouble logging in to their accounts – a necessary step for using the app's functionality which includes, among other things, locating the connected car, unlocking the doors, and starting the engine.

Automobility Distribution, the company that develops and sells the MyCar Controls app, hasn't responded to the negative reviews, but a security alert from Carnegie Mellon University's CERT Coordination Center might just tell us what's been going on.

It came out on Monday, and it talked about a vulnerability in MyCar Controls mobile applications which could have let "a remote un-authenticated attacker" communicate with the app's backend, retrieve some data, and connect to a target's car. In other words, the vulnerability could have resulted in car theft.

The hole was discovered in January by a security researcher known as Jmaxxz who informed Automobility Distribution immediately. In February, the developer patched the hole with versions 3.4.24 for iOS and 4.1.2 for Android.

This has yet to be confirmed, but the timing suggests that the update might have caused at least some of the login issues reported in the reviews. When reached for comment by ZDNet, Automobility Distribution said that there is no evidence of anyone exploiting the bug in the wild.

Hard-coded credential – the simplest of security blunders

Some security vulnerabilities can have more severe consequences than others, and needless to say, the more serious ones should be treated with higher priority. MyCar Controls' bug, you have to agree, was a big one, and it must be said that by producing a patch quickly, Automobility Distribution handled it rather well, especially when compared to some other IoT vendors.

Security experts reckon that the vulnerability should never have existed in the first place, though. The attack was possible because of some administrative credentials that could have been used instead of the target's username and password. MyCar Controls' developers left the admin credentials in the app's code which, as far as security mistakes go, is a pretty elementary one. The credentials have been revoked meaning that the threat doesn't exist anymore. There is a rather depressing moral to the story, though.

Thanks to the IoT revolution, we are putting more and more valuable belongings in the hands of developers who may or may not know what they're doing. Think about this the next time you are considering spending big money on something silly like a smart baby stroller. Yes, there is one.

April 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 2 ?