如何保護我的孩子免遭身份盜竊?

身份盜竊似乎不再僅僅是我們的問題。近年來報告了涉及兒童的案件數量驚人。據統計,僅2017年就有100多萬兒童涉及身份盜竊,欺詐或欺凌案件。更令人恐懼的是,超過60%的兒童不到7歲,超過60%是他們個人認識的人的受害者。

如何發現兒童身份盜竊

作為成年人,我們認為我們的風險比我們的孩子更大,但這是真的嗎?兒童和青少年是社交媒體最熱心的用戶之一,也是最熱衷於在互聯網上分享個人生活的人。根據統計數據,孩子成為目標的可能性是成年人的兩倍。但為什麼?成人是更有利可圖的目標,對吧?他們擁有網絡犯罪分子想要的多頭銀行賬戶,所以為什麼要針對孩子?這是因為孩子們是一塊白板,一塊空白的石板,身份盜賊可以利用它來開闢新的信用額度。

合成身份盜竊是兒童和青少年的另一個問題。那時,網絡犯罪分子利用2011年社會安全號碼的變化,使他們隨機創建虛假檔案。在許多情況下,孩子們獲得了社會安全號碼,這些號碼已經有了信用記錄和債務。

現在,您可能認為應該很容易理清,對吧?畢竟,誰會相信一個8歲的孩子會有信用記錄。嗯,這不是那麼簡單。問題是孩子們在調查期間必須經歷與成年人相同的過程。另一個問題是,與成人相比,兒童更有可能成為他們認識的人的受害者。靠近受害者的騙子可以使用您孩子的個人信息(如家庭住址,電話號碼等)來驗證他們創建的假身份證。許多受害者也不願對朋友或家人提出指控,使這一過程變得更加困難。

我如何保護我的孩子免遭身份盜用?

  • 讓您的孩子遠離他人。

確保只有您和您的直系親屬了解您孩子的私密信息。不要與任何人分享您孩子的電話號碼,並且100%肯定要求您孩子的社會安全號碼的機構和組織是合法的並且具有該權限。

    1. 阻止您的孩子打開信用額度。

採取更積極主動的姿態來保護您孩子的信用記錄。根據您所居住的國家和州,您可以凍結您孩子的所有信用額度,從而防止任何網絡犯罪分子在其名稱中打開新行。請向律師諮詢有關如何在您住的地方執行此操作的詳細信息。

    1. 將文檔保存在安全的位置。

這不僅僅是您的數字數據可以被黑客入侵。確保您的重要文件,如出生證明,納稅申報表和其他重要文件都放在一個隱蔽和安全的地方. 不要向任何你不完全信任的人展示它們。

    1. 保持警惕。

你需要留意一些紅旗。畢竟,信用額度不是被盜安全號碼的唯一(誤用)。留意報稅表和其他文件中的奇怪之處。如果您看到或聽到任何奇怪的事情,例如您的孩子獲得陪審團傳票或以任何方式參與執法,請採取行動。

最重要的是,與您的孩子交談並向他們解釋為什麼他們在披露任何個人或私人信息時應該小心,即使是與家人或朋友。讓他們明白,他們應該先說你之前與其他人分享或任何組織或機構的社會安全號碼。如果有人懷疑他們的社會安全號碼,電話號碼,地址等問題,請告訴他們。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 10是什麼?

How to Protect My Children From Identity Theft?

It seems identity theft is no longer just our problem. A staggering number of cases involving children have been reported in recent years. According to statistics, over 1 million children were involved in cases of identity theft, fraud, or bullying in 2017 alone. What's even more frightening is that over 60% of the children involved were under 7, and over 60% were the victims of someone they personally know.

How to spot child identity theft

As adults we think we're more at risk than our kids, but is that true? Children and teenagers are among the most ardent users of social media and by far the most enthusiastic about sharing their personal lives on the Internet. According to statistics, kids were twice as likely to be targeted as adults. But why? Adults are the more lucrative targets, right? They have the juicy bank accounts the cybercriminals want so why target kids? It's because kids are a tabula rasa, a blank slate, which the identity thieves can use to open new lines of credit.

Synthetic identity theft is another issue for children and teenagers. That's when cybercriminals use the 2011 change to Social Security numbers making them randomized to create fake profiles. There are numerous cases where kids were issued social security numbers, which already had a credit history and debt.

Now, you might think that should be pretty easy to sort out, right? After all, who would believe an 8-year-old would have a credit history. Well, it's not that simple. The problem is kids have to go through the same process as adults during the investigation. Another issue is that children are more likely to be the victim of someone they know than adults. Crooks close to the victim could use your child's personal information (like home address, phone number, etc) to verify the fake ID they've created. Many victims are also unwilling to press charges against friends or family members making the process all the more difficult.

How do I protect my children from identity theft?

 

  • Keep your children personal information away from others.

 

 

Make sure only you and your immediate family know intimate details about your kids. Don't share your children's phone numbers with just anyone, and be 100% sure institutions and organizations, which ask for your children's social security numbers are legit and have that authority.

 

    1. Block your children from opening credit lines.

 

Take a more proactive stance in protecting your children's credit history. Depending on the country and state you live you live in you may be able to freeze all of your children's credit lines, thus preventing any cybercriminals from opening new lines in their name. Speak to a lawyer for more details on how to do this where you live.

 

    1. Keep your documents in a secure location.

 

It's not just your digital data that can be hacked. Make sure your important documents like birth certificates, tax returns, and other important documents are placed in a hidden and safe place. Do not show them to anyone you don't fully trust.

 

    1. Stay alert.

 

There are a number of red flags you should be on the lookout for. After all, credit lines aren't the only (mis)use of stolen security numbers. Keep an eye out for oddities in your tax returns and other documents. Act if you see or hear anything strange, like your children getting jury summons or being involved with law enforcement in any way.

Above all else, talk to your children and explain to them why they should be careful when disclosing any personal or private information, even with family members or friends. Make them understand that they should never share their social security numbers with anyone or any organization or institutions before talking to you first. Tell them to inform you if anyone suspicious asks them questions about their social security numbers, their phones numbers, address, etc.

June 26, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 9 ?