千禧一代員工最討厭重用工作密碼

一項新的研究表明,美國員工仍然經常重複使用密碼。數據還突出表明,這一問題在千禧一代員工中最為普遍。

數據由Visual Objects發布,概述了一個非常嚴重的問題。發現有63%的美國員工在與工作場所中的應用程序和服務進行交互時重用密碼。犯罪最嚴重的人似乎是千禧一代,他們一貫重複使用其辦公室密碼的可能性要高出6.5倍。該比較是針對嬰兒潮一代的員工進行的,他們更善於保護自己的密碼並採用了更好的安全措施。

分析人士認為,密碼安全方面的這種疏忽來自千禧一代對技術的高度熟悉和依賴。 Entisys360的分析師兼副總裁Brad Bussie進一步表示,千禧一代似乎“信任”了大公司和服務,認為公司支持他們,並且似乎認為安全性應該始終“內置”到他們使用的任何服務或應用程序中。

其他有趣的統計數據表明,超過一半的美國員工根本不擔心在工作計算機上存儲某種個人信息。但是,按照這一指標,千禧一代在將個人信息放到工作設備上時表現更好,也更加謹慎。無論您的年齡或職業如何,將個人數據和與工作相關的數據分開都是一個重要的了解和堅持的數據。

這項民意測驗的另一個指標表明,絕大多數員工認為,他們工作的公司應該對安全負責。責任的這種錯誤轉移通常會造成很多麻煩,即使對於大公司和大公司也是如此。遵循良好的數字安全規範,尤其是涉及密碼時,每個員工的個人責任都不應被邊緣化。

目前,在Covid-19大流行中有許多辦公室工作人員在家中工作,這一事實並沒有改變。如果有的話,安全性就顯得尤為重要,因為現在有這麼多人在家工作,而使用的設備可能不如其通常的工作場所安全。

November 19, 2020

發表評論

Millennial Employees Are the Worst at Reusing Work Passwords

A new study shows that US employees still reuse passwords a lot. The data also highlights that the issue is most prevalent among millennial employees.

The data was published by Visual Objects and it outlines a very serious issue. A massive 63% of US employees were found to reuse passwords when interacting with applications and services in their workplace. The worst offenders appear to be millennials, who were up to 6.5 times more likely to consistently reuse their office passwords. The comparison is drawn against baby boomer employees who took better care of their passwords and employed better safety practices.

Analysts believe that this negligence when it comes to password security comes from the extreme familiarity with and reliance on technology when it comes to millennials. Brad Bussie, analyst and vice president of Entisys360, further stated that millennials seem to "trust" big companies and services, believe that corporations have their back and appear to think security should always be "built-in" into whatever service or application they use.

Other interesting statistics show that more than half of US employees are not at all worried about storing some sort of personal information on their work computers. In this metric, however, millennials are doing better and are more careful when it comes to putting personal information on their work devices. The separation of personal and work-related data is an important one to understand and stick to, regardless of your age or occupation.

Another metric from the poll shows that the overwhelming majority of employees believe the company they work for should be largely responsible for security. This false shift of responsibility can often cause a lot of trouble, and it has in the past, even with big corporations and companies. The personal responsibility of each employee when it comes to following good digital security practices, especially when it comes to passwords, should never be marginalized.

The fact that a lot of office workers are currently working from home in the Covid-19 pandemic does not change that. If anything, security is even more important now that so many people work from home, on devices that may be less secure than the ones in their usual workplace.

November 19, 2020

Leave a Reply