如果您的员工远程工作,需要考虑的七大安全实践

很少有人会认为互联网的出现为既有企业和企业家都打开了许多大门 - 而现代世界的持续网络化只会以指数方式增加这些机会。 “远程办公室”“家庭办公室”现在比二十年前更为普遍,当时可以在舒适的家中或在路上完成的工作受到严重限制。虽然专用办公空间肯定有其优点,但远程设置可为公司及其员工带来好处和优势。但是,这种做法要求公司在安全方面对员工行为政策做出某些调整。 考虑到这一点 - 这里有一些雇主应该实施的卓越实践的例子,以大幅提高其业务的安全性:

  1. 确保员工拥有专用工作站。虽然公司只是让员工可以用他们手头的东西来做可能是诱人的,但只要结果不断出现,这就不能用力了。让您的员工在履行职责时只使用专用机器。此外,请确保所述工作站仅用于公司业务,而不是用于私人网上冲浪,因为如果相关员工不小心,可能会使机器面临风险。这大大降低了工作站遭受恶意攻击的风险。
  2. 只有相关员工才能访问其工作站(计算机或笔记本电脑)。除了有问题的员工之外,没有人必须能够访问该员工正在进行工作的设备。雇主应该做到这一点绝对清楚,并确保执行该规则,因为替代方案使他们对可能发生的灾难性灾难持开放态度。没错,远程员工可能是世界上最诚实,最懂技术的人,但他们的配偶和/或兄弟姐妹和/或室友和/或孩子也可以这样说吗?最好不要冒风险。
  3. 限制员工访问某些网络。通过不安全的网络浏览Web会使远程员工的计算机暴露于潜在的黑客攻击。黑客可以使用各种方法来访问通过因特网发送的所有信息。当您从公共网络浏览时,没有什么是完全安全的 - 机密电子邮件,安全凭证,信用卡详细信息 - 任何事情都可以从以太中剔除。更好地保持安全 - 确保您的员工只使用安全网络。或者使用VPN。
  4. 使远程员工使用虚拟专用网。所谓的VPN非常适合远程工作人员,他们不希望或出于某种其他原因不仅可以在执行涉及敏感公司数据和信息的日常任务时使用安全网络。简而言之,VPN结合了加密协议和专用连接,以创建虚拟对等连接。反过来,这种连接使黑客实际上无法访问他们可能以其他方式获得的有意义的数据。
  5. 花时间学习并指导员工了解在线安全问题。即使他们看起来像有经验的互联网用户,也无法保证您的员工了解最新的在线安全最佳实践。如果员工的工作涉及他们浏览可疑或可能可疑的网站,他们的机器应配备足够的反恶意软件,并始终运行防火墙。如果他们的工作包括与社交媒体互动,则应指示他们对所有链接加倍谨慎并对其所有来源保持警惕 - 点击或打开它们而不事先批评它们会使它们面临恶意软件感染的风险. 电子邮件也是如此 - 远程员工应该始终密切关注他们的通信,并始终以批判的眼光来检查它。总是检查您正在阅读的电子邮件的来源是一个好习惯 - 因为看似合法的通信可能最终成为网络钓鱼诈骗或恶意软件电子邮件。在处理包含附件和链接的电子邮件时,员工应该知道要格外小心。这两件事都是恶意软件感染的重要载体 - 应该教他们如何识别和避免危险。
  6. 雇主应严格执行政策。无论其他做法和雇主或员工对此事的个人感受如何,公司必须实施并严格遵守自己的安全政策。没有任何借口 - 再次,您的员工可能是世界上最可靠的人。但是他们周围的人,他们在非工作时间访问的网站,他们使用的公共网络呢?雇主不能依赖所有那些完全安全的人。远程员工通常不能保证所说的东西是安全的 - 他们不应该这样做。在这个问题上实施和执行严格的公司政策可以简化事情并消除双方在远程就业中涉及的许多风险。
  7. 沟通是关键。需要让远程工作人员意识到立即报告工作站问题的重要性,以便雇主及时采取适当措施。这些问题可能是硬件或软件故障以及工作站损坏,数据泄露和恶意软件感染等问题。雇主应该非常清楚 - 面对逆境,透明度是必须的。

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 3是什么?

Top Seven Security Practices to Consider If Your Employees Work Remotely

Few can argue that the advent of the Internet brought opened many doors for both established businesses and entrepreneurs alike – and the continued cyberization of the modern world has only increased these opportunities exponentially. "Remote office" or "home office" is now a much more common phenomenon than it was twenty years ago, when the work one could do from the comfort of their own home or while on the road was severely limited. While a dedicated office space definitely has its merits, a remote setup yields benefits and advantages both for companies and their workforce. However, this practice requires companies to make certain adjustments to their policy regarding employee behavior, with regards to security. With this in mind - here are a couple of examples of excellent practices that employers should implement to drastically improve the security of their business:

  1. Make sure the employee has a dedicated workstation. While it may be tempting for companies just to let employees make do with what they have at hand, as long as the results keep coming in, this can't be stressed hard enough. Make your employees only use dedicated machines when performing their duties. Also, make sure that said workstation is only used for company business, and not for private web-surfing, as that may put the machine at risk if the employee in question is not careful. This dramatically reduces the risk of the workstation getting suffering a malicious attack.
  2. Only the employee in question must have access to their workstation (computer or laptop). No one but the employee in question must have access to the device on which said employee is doing their work. Employers should make that absolutely clear, and make sure to enforce the rule because the alternative leaves them open for potentially disastrous catastrophes. True, the remote employee may be the most honest and tech-savvy person in the world, but can the same be said for their spouse and/or siblings and/or roommate and/or child? Better not risk it.
  3. Restrict employee access to certain networks. Browsing the web through an unsecured network exposes a remote employee's machine to potential hacking. There are various methods hackers can employ to gain access to all of the information sent out through the Internet. Nothing is completely safe when you're browsing from a public network - confidential emails, security credentials, credit card details – anything can be nabbed out of the aether. Better stay safe – make sure that your employees only use secure networks. Or Use VPN.
  4. Make remote employees use Virtual Private Networks. The so-called VPNs are perfect for remote workers who don't want to or for some other reason can't only use secured networks while performing their daily tasks involving sensitive company data and information. To put it simply, VPNs combine encryption protocols and dedicated connections in order to create a virtual peer to peer connections. This connection, in turn, keeps hackers from actually gaining access to meaningful data that they may have otherwise managed to obtain.
  5. Take the time to learn and instruct employees on matters of online security. Even if they may seem like experienced internet users, there's no guarantee that your employees are up to date with the current best practices in online security. If the employee's job involves them browsing suspicious or potentially dubious websites, their machines should be equipped with adequate anti-malware software, and have firewalls running at all times. If their job includes interacting with social media, they should be instructed to be doubly careful of all links and wary of all their sources - clicking or opening them without assessing them critically beforehand can put them at risk of a malware infection. Same goes for emails – remote employees should always keep a close eye on their correspondence, and always examine it with a critical eye. It is a good practice always to check the origin of the email you are reading – because what may look like legitimate correspondence may well end up being a phishing scam or a malware-laden email. Employees should know to be extra careful when dealing with emails that have attachments and links in them. Both of those things are prominent vectors of malware infection – they should be taught how to recognize and avoid the danger.
  6. Employers should be strict on policies. Regardless of other practices and the employer or employee's personal feelings on the matter, it is vital that companies implement and strictly follow their own security policies. No excuses – again, your employee may be the most reliable person in the world. But what about the people around them, the websites that they visit off-hours, the public networks that they use? Employers can't depend on all of those being completely safe. Remote employees usually can't guarantee that said things are safe – and they shouldn't need to. Implementing and enforcing a strict company policy on the matter simplifies things and removes many of the risks involved in remote employment, for both sides.
  7. Communication is key. Remote workers need to be made aware of the importance of reporting problems with their workstations immediately so that adequate measures can be taken by the employer in a timely manner. Such problems may be anything from hardware or software malfunctions and damages to the workstation to data breaches and malware infections. Employers should be very clear – transparency is mandatory in the face of adversity.

December 7, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 3 ?