如果你正在使用麦当劳的应用程序,你需要考虑黑客

大多数用户担心其银行应用程序或包含敏感信息的其他程序的安全性。因此,难怪一个应用程序可以帮助用户订购他们喜欢的食物,这可能会让他们的帐户流失资金。不幸的是,似乎这种情况可能发生在加拿大的麦当劳应用用户身上。大多数受害者都责怪该计划,而麦当劳的代表则责怪客户的密码习惯不佳。在本文中,我们将更详细地讨论该问题,并介绍一些用户因欺诈性食品订单而从500美元损失到近2000美元的案例。如果您想了解更多关于被黑客攻击的麦当劳应用程序用户以及您应该采取哪些措施来保护自己,我们邀请您阅读本博文的其余部分。

为什么麦当劳的应用用户应该担心黑客?

来自加拿大的麦当劳应用程序用户有很多报道称有人入侵他们的账户并自费订购食物。没有人知道这些攻击背后的饥饿黑客是谁,或者是否有不止一个,所以媒体决定命名罪魁祸首汉堡

来自新斯科舍省的一位女士Lauren Taylor称,有人用她的账户订购了近500美元的食物。这一切都发生在五天之内,在此期间她没有检查她的电子邮件。一旦她做了,她就从麦当劳的应用程序中找到了一堆订单确认。不幸的是,当她查看她曾经支付食物的帐户时,她发现其中只剩下1.99美元。受害者无法理解的是,没有人觉得订单比平时更大,成本更高,这很奇怪。更不用说它们是魁北克制造的,这个女人从未去过的城市。

汉堡的最新受害者是一位名叫Patrick O'Rourke的记者。有趣的是,这名男子最近刚刚安装了麦当劳的应用程序,在两次交易失败后,他决定继续在没有应用程序的情况下订购他的食物。然而,两周之后,他意识到出现了错误,因为他错过了大约2000美元。显然,攻击他帐户的人在Big Macs,McFlurries,Chicken McNuggets等上花了它。麦当劳没有承担任何责任。与其他受害者一样,O'Rourke被要求从他的信用卡公司寻求退款。

有许多用户因麦当劳应用程序未经授权购买而未能从公司获得任何帮助而损失金钱的报告。例如,有一位女士发推文说 ,当她打电话给麦当劳的加拿大时,她被解释说无能为力。如果您因为可疑活动而丢失了大笔资金并冻结了您的帐户,那么简单的道歉似乎就不够了。

麦当劳是如何回应这些事件的?

Gizmodo.com团队与最近的一名汉堡受害者进行了交谈,并要求麦当劳对与他们的应用程序相关的事件发表评论. 他们收到的声明说:“虽然我们知道发生了一些涉及未经授权购买的孤立事件,但我们对该应用程序的安全性充满信心。”此外,它建议麦当劳的应用程序用户创建唯一的密码,经常更改密码,而不是与任何人分享。这些评论表明,公司对此类事件不承担任何责任,并责怪用户自己过于粗心。

像麦当劳这样的大型知名公司至少应该考虑他们的应用可能存在缺陷并进行调查的可能性。特别是当组织过去不小心泄露用户数据时,以及有相当多的麦当劳应用程序用户已被黑客入侵。例如,在2017年,据透露,麦当劳的印度应用程序泄露了个人信息 ,如电子邮件地址,电话号码和约220万用户的家庭地址。同年,该公司在其网站上发现了一个漏洞,该漏洞可能让黑客从麦当劳网站窃取客户密码

你能做些什么来保护自己?

麦当劳建议创建独特而强大的密码,应用程序要求密码包含8到12个字符,至少包含一个数字,以及小写和大写字母。即使密码很强,麦当劳的应用程序用户很可能因为程序中的一些缺陷而被黑客入侵。在这种情况下,保护自己免于成为所谓的汉堡包的受害者的唯一方法是摆脱应用程序。如果您不想这样做,专家建议从应用程序中删除所有付款方式,这样如果有人破解它,他们将无法自费订购食品。

双因素身份验证功能可以改善这种情况,但就目前而言,麦当劳的应用程序并未提供此功能,并且不知道该公司是否计划添加此类安全措施。对于那些尽管存在风险而决定使用麦当劳应用程序的人,我们建议使用可由密码管理器(如Cyclonis Password Manager)生成的完全唯一的密码。此外,最好定期更改它,当然,监控您的电子邮件(您收到订单确认的地方)和银行帐户,以检查是否没有您无法识别的订单和金钱费用。

正如我们常说的那样,无论您是在浏览互联网,设置新帐户还是订购汉堡包,您都不能放松警惕。数据泄露和帐户黑客每天都在发生,因此您必须快速响应网络安全新闻。如果我们的博客文章帮助您了解在加拿大使用麦当劳应用程序有多么危险,我们建议您使用我们建议的提示,如果您不想成为被黑客攻击的麦当劳应用程序用户之一。希望公司能够认真对待这个问题,很快,加拿大的客户就可以毫无顾虑地享用食物. 在此之前,我们鼓励您了解有关您应该在此处使用的黑客攻击和安全预防措施的更多信息。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

If You Are Using the McDonald's App, You Need to Think About Hackers

Most users worry about the safety of their banking apps or other programs that contain sensitive information. Thus, it is no wonder it might come as a shock that an app, which is supposed to help users order their favorite food, could drain their accounts out of money. Unfortunately, it appears something like this could happen to McDonald’s app users in Canada. Most victims blame the program, while McDonald’s representatives blame their customers’ poor password habits. In this article, we will talk about the issue in more detail as well as present a couple of cases in which users lost from $500 to nearly $2000 due to fraudulent food orders. If you want to know more about hacked McDonald's app users and what you ought to do to protect yourself, we invite you to read the rest of this blog post.

Why McDonald's app users should worry about hackers?

There are quite a lot of reports from McDonald's app users in Canada that say someone hacked into their accounts and ordered food in their expense. No one knows who the hungry hacker behind these attacks is or if there is more than one of them, so the media decided to name the culprit hamburglar.

Lauren Taylor, a woman from Nova Scotia claims someone ordered food for almost $500 using her account. It all happened in only five days, during which she did not check her email. Once she did, she found a bunch of order confirmations from the McDonald's app. Unfortunately, when she checked the account she used to pay for food, she found out there was only $1.99 left in it. What the victim could not understand was how no one found it strange that the orders were much bigger and more costly than usual. Not to mention that they were made from Quebec, a city the woman has never visited.

The most recent victim of hamburglar was a journalist named Patrick O’Rourke. The funny thing is that the man installed the McDonald's app only recently, and after two transaction failures, he decided to continue ordering his food without the app. However, after two weeks, he realized something was wrong as he was missing around $2000. Apparently, someone who hacked into his account spent it on Big Macs, McFlurries, Chicken McNuggets, and so on. McDonald’s did not take any responsibility. Same as other victims, O’Rourke was asked to seek a refund from his credit card company.

There are more reports from users who have lost money due to unauthorized purchases made from their McDonald’s app and who have not received any help from the company. For example, one woman tweeted that when she called McDonald’s Canada, she was explained that nothing could be done. A simple apology does not seem enough when you lose a substantial sum of money and get your account frozen because of suspicious activities going on.

How did McDonald’s respond to these incidents?

Gizmodo.com team talked with one of the most recent hamburglar victims and asked McDonald’s to comment on the incidents related to their app. The statement they received said: “While we are aware that some isolated incidents involving unauthorized purchases have occurred, we are confident in the security of the app.” Also, it advised McDonald’s app users to create unique passwords, change them often, and not to share them with anyone. Such comments show that the company takes no responsibility for the incidents and blame users themselves for being too careless.

A large and well-known company like McDonald's should at least consider a possibility that their app might have flaws and carry out an investigation. Especially when the organization has accidentally leaked user data in the past, and when there are quite a few McDonald's app users who were hacked already. For instance, in 2017, it was revealed that McDonald’s India app leaked personal information, such as email addresses, phone numbers, and home addresses of around 2.2 million users. The same year, the company found a vulnerability on their website that may have allowed hackers to steal customers’ passwords from the McDonald's site.

What can you do to protect yourself?

McDonald’s recommend creating unique and strong passwords and the app requires the passcode to consist from eight to twelve characters, with at least one number, and both lowercase and uppercase letters. Even if passwords were strong, it is quite possible that McDonald's app users were hacked because of some flaw in the program. In such a case, the only way to protect oneself from becoming a victim of the so-called hamburglar would be to get rid of the app. If you do not want to do so, specialists recommend removing all payment methods from the app, so that if anyone hacks it, they would not be able to order food at your expense.

Two-factor authentication feature could improve the situation, but for now, McDonald's app does not offer it, and it is unknown whether the company is planning on adding such a safety measure. For those who are determined to use McDonald's app despite the risks, we advise using a completely unique password that could be generated by a password manager like Cyclonis Password Manager. Also, it would be best to change it regularly and, of course, monitor your email (where you receive order confirmations) and banking account to check if there are no orders and money charges that you do not recognize.

As we often say, you cannot let your guard down even for a second, whether you are browsing the Internet, setting up a new account, or ordering a hamburger. Data breaches and account hacking happens every day, so you have to react to cybersecurity news fast. If our blog post helped you realize how dangerous it could be to use the McDonald's app in Canada, we recommend using our suggested tips if you do not want to become one of the hacked McDonald's app users. Hopefully, the company will address the matter seriously, and, soon enough, customers in Canada will be able to enjoy ordering food without any fear. Until then, we encourage you to learn more about hacking and safety precautions you ought to use here.

June 7, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 10 ?