如果您有WhatsApp帐户,则需要立即更改语音邮件PIN

对于重视隐私的任何人来说, WhatsApp是一款出色的消息传递应用程序。这是因为该程序使用端到端加密来加密它们,因此所有消息只能由其收件人和发件人读取。但是,可以通过此类消息传递的敏感信息吸引了黑客,他们最近发现了一种访问WhatsApp帐户的方法。显然,他们是通过使用受害者的语音邮件来实现的。网络犯罪分子寻找具有默认语音邮件PIN码(很容易猜到)的用户,以控制用户的语音邮件服务。如果您继续阅读我们的博客文章,我们将为您提供有关WhatsApp语音邮件骗局的更多信息,并讨论如何更改语音邮件PIN以及采取哪些额外的预防措施来确保您的WhatsApp帐户及其内容不受入侵者的侵害。

WhatsApp语音邮件骗局如何工作?

对于初学者,黑客需要在自己的设备上使用目标受害者的电话号码时安装WhatsApp。为确保同一用户,WhatsApp应将验证码发送到帐户所有者的电话号码。由于攻击者没有电话或无法使用电话,因此他无法查看代码。不幸的是,通过使用用户的语音邮件可以轻松克服这一障碍。如您所见,当未输入发送的验证码时,应用程序应建议执行所谓的语音验证。在此期间,用户会收到一个电话,并且可以听到大声说出的验证码。

关键是要确保呼叫转到语音邮件。这就是诈骗者在深夜这样做的原因,希望目标受害者能够入睡,并且不会接电话。进行攻击的另一个基本条件是用户必须具有弱的语音邮件PIN码。理想情况下,一开始它应该是服务随附的默认PIN码,因为在大多数情况下,它是由四个字符组成的,因此很容易猜到。在这种情况下,黑客要做的就是猜测语音邮件PIN。然后收听WhatsApp语音消息以键入提及的代码,并从其设备访问用户的帐户。如果受害者未激活“双重身份验证”,则网络犯罪分子可能会这样做,以确保用户无法取回其帐户。因此,如果攻击成功发起,则黑客不仅能够查看潜在的敏感消息,而且还可以接管帐户,与可用联系人聊天等等。

如何保护自己免受WhatsApp语音邮件骗局的侵害?

使用WhatsApp和语音邮件服务的用户应该做的第一件事就是确保他们具有安全的语音邮件PIN。如果您从未更改过此密码,则很可能您仍在使用服务随附的默认PIN码。另一方面,如果您将默认语音邮件PIN替换为包含最少所需字符的PIN码,则建议您使用最大可能字符数的组合来更新它,因此黑客将很难猜测到它。通常,用户可以通过手机的语音邮件设置更改其PIN。如果您不知道如何更改语音信箱PIN,请联系您的电话服务提供商,并请他帮助您。

除了更改您的语音信箱PIN码外,如果您认为自己的密码可能也很弱,我们建议您对WhatsApp密码进行相同的操作。您可以在此处找到有关如何创建强大的语音邮件PIN或密码的所有知识。如果您想保护自己的WhatsApp帐户,还可以采取另外一种预防措施。我们正在谈论的是激活双重身份验证。这很容易做到,最重要的是,这将使定位您帐户的任何人访问它变得更加困难。如果您想启用此功能,但不知道如何启用,则可以查看下面的说明。

如何启用WhatsApp两因素身份验证

以下说明显示了如何为在Android设备上使用WhatsApp的用户启用双向身份验证。

  1. 打开您的WhatsApp应用程序。
  2. 通过点击“菜单”图标( 右上角 )转到“设置”
  3. 选择“帐户”,然后转到“两步验证设置”
  4. “启用”
  5. 从其他设备登录时,系统会要求您输入六个字符的密码
  6. 确认密码。
  7. 输入您的电子邮件地址 ,以备不时之需。
  8. 点击“下一步”确认您的电子邮件地址

注意:无论是验证密码和恢复电子邮件可以,如果有通过两个这样的需求而改变-两步验证设置。

WhatsApp语音邮件骗局只能证明,如果我们不希望任何人侵犯我们的隐私,那么保护我们拥有的每个帐户的重要性就至关重要。即使我们不经常使用该帐户,或者该帐户似乎不像我们的电子邮件或社交媒体资料一样重要,黑客仍可以找到创造性的方式来滥用它们。现在您知道了弱的语音邮件PIN会如何危及您的隐私,我们敦促您不要冒险并尽快更换它。对于被黑客攻击如何保护您的WhatsApp的更多提示,我们建议您阅读我们以前的博客文章可以在这里

March 7, 2019

发表评论

If You Have a WhatsApp Account, You Need to Change Your Voicemail PIN Now

WhatsApp is a great messaging application for anyone who values their privacy. That is because all messages can be read only by their recipients and senders, as the program uses end-to-end encryption to encipher them. However, sensitive information that could be delivered via such messages attracts hackers who have recently discovered a way to gain access to WhatsApp accounts. Apparently, they do so by employing the victim's voicemail. The cybercriminals look for users that have default voicemail PIN codes, which are easy to guess, to gain control over the user's voicemail services. If you continue reading our blog post, we will tell you more about the WhatsApp voicemail scam as well as talk about how to change voicemail PIN and what extra precautions to take to keep your WhatsApp account and content on it safe from intruders.

How does the WhatsApp voicemail scam work?

For starters, the hackers need to install WhatsApp while using the targeted victim's telephone number on their own device. To be sure it is the same user, WhatsApp should send a verification code to the account owner's telephone number. Since the attacker does not have the phone or access to it, he cannot view the code. Unfortunately, this obstacle can be easily overcome by employing the user's voicemail. As you see, when the sent verification code is not entered, the application should suggest performing a so-called voice verification. During it, the user receives a phone call and can hear the verification code said out loud.

The key is to make sure the call goes to voicemail. This is why the scammers do this late at night in the hope that the targeted victim will be asleep, and will not pick up the phone. Another essential condition for the attack to work is the user has to have a weak voicemail PIN code. Ideally, it should be the default PIN code that comes with the service from the beginning, as in most cases it is made from four characters and so can be easily guessed. In such a case, all that the hackers have to do is guess the voicemail PIN. Then listen to the WhatsApp voice message to type the mentioned code and gain access to the user's account from their device. If the victim does not have Two-Factor authentication activated, the cybercriminals may do so to ensure the user is unable to get back to his account. Therefore, if the attack is successfully initiated, the hackers may not only be able to view potentially sensitive messages, but also take over the account, chat with the available contacts, and so on.

How to protect yourself from the WhatsApp voicemail scam?

The first thing users who use WhatsApp and voicemail services should do is make sure they have a secure voicemail PIN. If you have never changed it before, the chances are you are still using the default PIN code that came along with the service. On the other hand, if you replaced the default voicemail PIN with a PIN code that consists of minimum required characters, we would recommend updating it with a combination that uses the maximum number of possible characters, so the hackers would have a difficult time guessing it. Usually, users can change their PINs through the mobile phone's voicemail settings. If you do not know how to change voicemail PIN, you should contact your phone service provider and have him help you out.

In addition to changing your voicemail PIN, we would recommend doing the same with your WhatsApp password if you think it might be weak too. You can find all that you need to know about how to create a strong voicemail PIN or password right here. There is also one more extra precaution you can take if you want to secure your WhatsApp account. What we are talking about is activating the Two-Factor Authentication. It is easy to do, and most importantly it will make it much more difficult for anyone targeting your account to get access to it. If you would like to enable this feature, but do not know how, you could take a look at the instructions available below.

How to enable WhatsApp Two-factor Authentication

The following instructions show how to turn on Two-Factor Authentication for those using WhatsApp on Android devices.

  1. Open your WhatsApp application.
  2. Go to "Settings" by tapping the "menu" icon (top-right corner).
  3. Choose "Account" and go to "Two-step verification settings".
  4. Press "Enable".
  5. Create a password from six characters that you will be asked when logging in from another device.
  6. Confirm the passcode.
  7. Enter your email address that will be used in case you need to recover forgotten verification password.
  8. Tap "Next" and confirm your email address.

Note: Both the verification password and recovery email can be changed if there is such a need via the Two-step verification settings.

The WhatsApp voicemail scam only proves how crucial it is to secure every single account we have if we do not want anyone to invade our privacy. Even if we do not use the account that often or if it does not appear to be as important as our email or social media profiles, hackers can find creative ways to misuse them. Now that you know how a weak voicemail PIN could endanger your privacy, we urge you not to take any chances and replace it as soon as possible. For more tips on how to protect your WhatsApp from being hacked, we recommend reading our previous blog post available here.

March 6, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 3 ?