如何發現文本騙局並處理郵件

到目前為止,大多數互聯網用戶已經意識到一般在線欺詐的危險,尤其是網絡釣魚。這種惡意行為者誘騙用戶提供有價值信息的聰明方法,幾乎不是一種新的或無法探索的現象。誘使用戶單擊指向網站的鏈接,在該鏈接中自動將鍵盤記錄器安裝在設備上而用戶不知道,這也是各地黑客最喜歡的策略。誘使人們將用戶名和密碼輸入偽造的Web表單中,該表單看起來是真實的,但實際上只是將用戶剛剛放棄的信息存儲到黑客的手中-這些只是互聯網用戶在瀏覽時需要保持警惕的一些危險網絡。

到現在為止,有如此多的人淪為惡意軟件的犧牲品,以至於絕大多數用戶僅通過傳聞和信息滲透就了解了一件事。電話騙局在公眾心目中也非常活躍。雖然欺詐者仍然設法捕食那些消息不靈通或脆弱的人,但總的來說,公眾似乎已經意識到這種事情可能發生。用偉大的作家弗蘭克·哈伯特(Frank Harbert)的話說: “知道陷阱在哪裡,這是逃避陷阱的第一步。”

不幸的是,儘管公眾意識到欺詐性電話和尼日利亞王子電子郵件之類的虛假性質,但很少有人將文本消息與被欺騙或黑客入侵的危險聯繫在一起。

這是一個巨大的盲點。虛假消息和SMS網絡釣魚實際上也被稱為“欺騙” ,每年都會欺騙很多人,甚至有一些IT安全專家甚至將其歸類為網絡釣魚和勒索軟件分發的問題。

幸運的是,用戶可以通過多種方式保護自己免受此類攻擊。他們只需要知道做什麼和不做什麼就可以避免成為騙子的獵物。規避特定陷阱的最重要部分是要注意以下與欺詐者打交道的跡象。

尋找跡象,將SMS標記為有污跡

  1. 無法識別的發件人:每當您收到短信時,請查看發件人。除非您知道該號碼,否則最安全的方法是假設它來自可疑人員。如果您認為發件人的號碼是奇數,也是如此。
  2. 要求提供個人信息:如今,幾乎沒有人想到任何好的信息都會通過短信從用戶那裡要求您提供個人信息。希望填寫其數據庫的組織將以另一種方式與您聯繫。如果有人這樣做,則很可能是他們為您謀取利益,要求您共享您的地址,銀行帳戶詳細信息或其他私人數據。
  3. 包含鏈接的文本:雖然文本消息中的鏈接並不是天生可疑的,但應謹慎對待。除非您完全信任向您發送鏈接的源,否則最好忽略它。即使您確實相信來源,也要小心尋找包含隱藏的拼寫錯誤的虛假鏈接,例如“ www.microsotf.com”。
  4. 緊急消息:敦促用戶快速執行某項操作的消息,以免用戶錯過機會或造成某種損失。破解此漏洞僅需少量常識即可—什麼樣的人會試圖通過短信提醒您一些緊迫的事情?很明顯,這種類型的人會拉你的腿。

識別欺詐郵件時該怎麼辦?

  1. 永遠不要與發件人進行交互。即使此類消息持續存在,也切勿嘗試與發件人聯繫,因為這可能會將您進一步標記為可能從另一個角度攻擊的目標。
  2. 刪除郵件。
  3. 如果虛假消息不斷彈出,請查看如何阻止發件人。
December 19, 2019

發表評論

How to Spot Text Scams and Deal With the Messages

By now, most internet users are aware of the dangers of online fraud in general, and phishing in particular. This smart way for malicious actors to trick users into giving away valuable information is hardly a new or unexplored phenomenon. Fooling users into clicking a link through to a website where a keylogger is automatically installed on the device without the user knowing is also a favorite tactic of hackers everywhere. Tricking people into entering their username and password into a bogus web form that appears genuine but actually just deposits the information that the user just gave up into the hacker's hands – these are just some of the dangers that internet users need to be vigilant about when browsing the web.

By now, so many people have fallen prey to malware that the vast majority of users have learned a thing or two about the matter, if only through hearsay and informational osmosis. Phone scams are also very much alive in the public conscience. While fraudsters still manage to prey on ill-informed or vulnerable individuals, by and large, the general public seems to be aware that that sort of thing can happen. And in the words of the great author Frank Harbert "Knowing where the trap is—that's the first step in evading it."

Unfortunately, while the general public is aware of fraudulent phone calls and the bogus nature of things like the Nigerian Prince emails, few people associate text messages with the danger of being tricked or hacked.

This is a huge blind spot. Bogus messages and SMS phishing, also known as "Smishing", are actually a trick that fools quite a few people each year, with some IT security experts even going so far as to classify it as a problem on par with phishing and ransomware distribution.

Fortunately, there are ways for a user to protect themselves from such attacks. They just have to know what to do and what not to do in order to avoid falling prey to scammers. The most important part of dodging that particular trap is to be on the lookout for the following tell-tale signs that you're dealing with a fraudster.

Signs to Look for That Mark an SMS as Smishing

  1. Unrecognized senders: whenever you receive a text message, look at the sender. Unless you recognize the number it might be safest to assume it's from someone suspicious. The same is true if you think the number of the sender is odd.
  2. Requests for personal information: Nowadays, almost no one with anything good in mind would ask you for personal information from users via text message. Organizations that wish to fill in their databases will contact you in another way. If anyone ever does that, chances are that they're probing you to share your address, bank account details, or other private data for their own ill ends.
  3. Texts containing links: While links within text messages are not inherently suspicious, they should be treated with caution. Unless you trust the source that's sending you the link completely, you are probably better off ignoring it. Even if you do trust the source – be on the lookout for bogus links that contain a concealed spelling mistake – the likes of "www.microsotf.com."
  4. Urgent messages: Messages that urge the user to do something quickly, lest said user miss an opportunity or incur some sort of loss. Cracking this one requires just a minuscule dose of common sense – what sort of person would try to alert you of some pressing matter over a text message? The type of person that's pulling your leg, obviously.

What to do When you Recognize a Fraudulent Message?

  1. Don't ever interact with the sender. Even if such messages persist, never try to contact the sender, as that may further mark you out as a potential target to be attacked from another angle.
  2. Delete the message.
  3. If bogus messages keep popping up, see what you can do to block the sender.
December 19, 2019

Leave a Reply