IRS Provides Users with Tips to Avoid Scams

有大量的诈骗,并且阴谋家确保它们具有各种形状和尺寸,这使得它们更难以揭开它们。虽然我们现在应该知道,在一个陌生的网站上弹出一个警告涉嫌威胁是完全虚假的,但现在越来越多的攻击者选择开箱即用。不幸的是,诈骗已经变得非常错综复杂,而且经验不足的用户 - 那些过去没有处理过诈骗的用户 - 可能会受到挤压。

我们现在处于税收季节,美国国税局(IRS)再次警告我们,我们需要小心国税局的骗局。无论您是想了解网络钓鱼邮件的外观,还是希望能够识别IRS诈骗,我们相信您会在本报告中找到有用的信息。

IRS如何与纳税人沟通?

如果您从本报告中只有一件事,那就让IRS不通过电子邮件短信社交媒体联系纳税人。这是一件非常重要的事情要记住。如果您通过某个社交媒体平台收到可疑的电子邮件,短信或消息,则不应引起任何注意。如果您收到的消息让您担心,请直接联系IRS。您可以在此处了解您的联系方式。如果您回复伪造的美国国税局诈骗信息,您可能会遭受一些真正的后果。例如,您的虚拟身份可能会暴露,攻击者可以使用他们管理的信息来冒充您。如果你认为这不是什么大问题,你需要再考虑一下。

根据美国国税局的数据,与上一年相比,2018年与该机构相关的网络钓鱼诈骗案数增加了60% ,而这些国税局的诈骗案主要是为了窃取退税和收集私人数据。报告了2,000起独特的美国国税局骗局事件,虽然这看起来似乎不多,但很难说有多少针对性的纳税人面临诈骗但没有报道任何事情。

这是钓鱼邮件的样子

如您所知,美国国税局不会通过电子邮件与您联系,这意味着应该忽略据称由IRS发送的所有邮件。建议您在不考虑这些消息的情况下删除这些消息。不幸的是,他们可以使用看起来像IRS重要通知IRS纳税人通知的主题行,并且可以欺骗经验不足的用户。根据美国国税局的说法,在大多数情况下,这些骗局电子邮件告知收件人,如果他们不希望扣回退税,他们必须付款。当然,消息取决于发件人,他们可以使用各种伪造的信息和策略来欺骗人. 如果你想逃避IRS诈骗,这些是你需要警惕的事情。

  • 美国国税局不发送电子邮件。
  • 不应打开通过虚假电子邮件发送的链接和文件附件,因为它们可以帮助执行恶意软件,或者他们可以路由到IRS诈骗网站。
  • 骗局电子邮件中的语言可以是专业的也可以是非专业的,这就是为什么你不应该认为这个消息是合法的只是因为它的外观/听起来像是这样。
  • 电子邮件地址看起来合法(类似于irstaxpayersupport@gmail.com ),但这并不表示它是合法的。

既然您知道钓鱼邮件是什么样的,如果您在收件箱中找到了它,您应该立即将其转发到phishing@irs.gov 。这将有助于IRS阻止阴谋家攻击他人!

IRS诈骗并不是您需要考虑的唯一威胁

Schemers正在寻找他们能找到的任何安全后门。例如,他们可以尝试访问您的IRS帐户。请注意,您只能通过irs.gov页面登录您的帐户。阴影网站可以创建虚假网站来欺骗您并让您披露登录信息和其他私人信息。为帐户设置强密码也很重要。如果你不知道什么是强密码,并且你不确定你能记住一个(注意你的所有密码都应该是随机的,长的,包含符号,数字和字母),你可以使用一个工具会为你做这一切。

你还必须记住,可能存在许多不同形式的IRS骗局。您可能已经知道, 虚假的在线表格和赠品通常用于收集信息。此信息可能会导致您的全名,出生日期,家庭住址和电话号码。使用这些数据,计划者可能会尝试进行虚假调用。 美国国税局电话诈骗非常普遍,计划者可以使用它们来指导您进行虚假页面,不必要的付款以及泄漏额外的私人信息!

考虑恶意软件也很重要。键盘记录器是一种可以记录鼠标点击或屏幕点击的恶意软件,以及在您不知情的情况下记录信息的键击。因此,例如,如果您使用您的IRS帐户以数字方式提交退税,您可以输入您的密码,银行信息,全名和各种其他私人信息。如果键盘记录器处于活动状态,则可以记录所有这些数据并用于窃取您的虚拟身份。这就是反恶意软件软件必须始终处于活动状态的原因,无论您使用何种设备。

总而言之......您知道钓鱼邮件是什么样的,并且您知道IRS诈骗存在。虽然它们可能令人生畏,但不需要恐慌,因为保护自己免受阴影的影响并不是那么难。所有你需要的是谨慎,如果你愿意,可以使用一些工具。

March 6, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 9是什么?

IRS Provides Users with Tips to Avoid Scams

There is an infinite flood of scams, and schemers have made sure that they come in all shapes and sizes, which makes it much harder to unveil them. While we all should know by now that a pop-up on a strange website warning about alleged threats is completely bogus, more and more attackers are now choosing to think outside the box. Unfortunately, scams have become quite intricate and elaborate, and less experienced users – the ones who had not dealt with scams in the past – could be pushed around.

We are now in the tax season, and IRS (Internal Revenue Service) is warning us once again that we need to be careful about IRS scams. Whether you want to learn what a phishing email looks like, or you want to be able to identify IRS scams, we are sure that you will find useful information in this report.

How does IRS communicate with taxpayers?

If there's only one thing you take from this report, let it be that IRS does NOT contact taxpayers via email, text messages, or social media. This is a very important thing to remember. If you ever receive a suspicious email, text, or message via one of your social media platforms, you should not pay any attention. If the message you receive makes you worry, contact the IRS directly. You can learn about your contact options here. If you respond to bogus IRS scam messages, you could suffer some real consequences. For example, your virtual identity could be exposed, and attackers could use the information they manage to collect to impersonate you. If you think that is not a big deal, you need to think again.

According to the IRS, there were 60% more phishing scams linked to the agency in 2018 compared to the previous year, and these IRS scams were mostly set up to steal tax refunds and collect private data. 2,000 unique IRS scam incidents were reported, and although that might not seem like a lot, it is hard to say how many targeted taxpayers faced scams but did not report anything.

Here's what a phishing email looks like

As you now know, the IRS will not contact you via email, and that means that all messages allegedly sent by the IRS should be ignored. It is recommended that you remove these messages without even thinking about it. Unfortunately, they can use subject lines that look something like IRS Important Notice or IRS Taxpayer Notice, and less experienced users could be tricked. According to IRS, in most cases, these scam emails inform the recipient that they must pay if they do not want their tax refund seized. Of course, the message depends on the sender, and they could use all kinds of bogus information and tactics to fool people. These are the things you need to be vigilant about if you want to evade IRS scams.

  • IRS does NOT send emails.
  • The links and file attachments sent via bogus emails should NOT be opened because they could help with the execution of malware or they could route to IRS scam websites.
  • The language in scam emails can be both professional and non-professional, which is why you should not assume that the message is legitimate just because it looks/sounds like it is.
  • The email address can look legitimate (something like irstaxpayersupport@gmail.com), but that is not an indication that it is legitimate.

Now that you know what a phishing email looks like, if you find one in your inbox, you should forward it to phishing@irs.gov immediately. This will help IRS stop schemers from attacking others!

IRS scams is not the only threat you need to think about

Schemers are looking for any and every security backdoor they can find. For example, they could try to gain access to your IRS account. Keep in mind that you should only log into your account via the irs.gov page. Fake websites could be created by schemers to fool you and make you disclose login and other private information. It is also important that you set a strong password for your account. If you do not know what constitutes a strong password, and you are not sure you can remember one (note that ALL of your passwords should be pretty random, long, and contain symbols, numbers, and letters), you can use a tool that will do it all for you.

You also must remember that there could be many different forms of the IRS scam. As you might know already, fake online forms and giveaways are often used to gather information. This information could lead to the exposure of your full name, date of birth, home address, and telephone number. Using this data, schemers could try to make bogus calls. IRS phone scams are quite prevalent, and schemers could use them to direct you to bogus pages, unnecessary payments, and leaks of additional private information!

It is also important to think about malware. A keylogger is one kind of malware that can record mouse-clicks or screen-taps, as well as key-strokes to record information without your knowledge at all. So, for example, if you use your IRS account to submit tax refunds digitally, you could be entering your password, banking information, full name, and all kinds of other private information. If a keylogger is active, all of this data could be recorded and used to steal your virtual identity. This is why anti-malware software must be active at all times, regardless of what kind of device you use.

In conclusion… You know what a phishing email looks like, and you know that IRS scams exist. Although they can be intimidating, there is no need for panic because protecting yourself against schemers is not that hard. All you need is caution and, if you are up for it, the help of a few tools.

March 5, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 6 ?