如何保護您的Nest相機和其他智能家居設備

Nest Labs是一家美國各種智能家居設備製造商,最近不得不鼓勵他們的客戶保護他們的帳戶,因為網絡犯罪分子可以訪問其中的一小部分。一些陌生人可以在家中看到你或通過你的Nest相機與你和你的家人說話的想法無疑是可怕的。不幸的是,相當多的家庭已經報告過遇到這種不愉快的情況。根據谷歌在2014年收購Nest Labs的消息,黑客成功是因為受害者使用的是受密密碼 。在文章中,我們不僅會更詳細地討論此類事件,還會討論您可以和應該採取哪些措施來保護您的Nest相機和其他智能家居設備,以確保您的隱私。

黑客是如何使用Nest相機攻擊其擁有者的呢?

大多數Nest相機允許通過互聯網站在攝像機前的任何人通過集成揚聲器進行通話。因此,剩下要做的就是訪問用戶的Nest帳戶。在其中一起事件中,網絡犯罪分子使用相機的揚聲器製作假的緊急廣播警報,聲稱朝鮮正在美國發射洲際彈道導彈。聲音告訴這位女士和她8歲的兒子盡快撤離。當然,他們兩人最初都感到害怕,但在檢查了多個新聞頻道之後,這位女士意識到出了什麼問題,並稱之為911,然後是Nest Labs。

另一起事件嚇壞了一個有四個月大的家庭,因為襲擊事件背後的黑客威脅要綁架這名嬰兒。起初,父母認為有人在他們孩子的房間,因為他們聽到有人在那裡說話。他們衝到他們寶寶的房間,卻找不到任何人。突然,母親記起了她讀到的有關Wi-Fi相機黑客攻擊的故事,並意識到發生了什麼。一旦他們關閉了他們的Wi-Fi,聲音就消失了。有更多關於黑客通過集成揚聲器恐嚇家庭相機所有者或其子女的類似報導,因此這類事件並不是什麼新鮮事。然而,他們不斷發生的事實表明,大多數人都沒有意識到他們的智能家居設備無法受到保護的威脅. 事實是,其中許多可以用來監視用戶,竊取他的敏感信息,執行所謂的DDos攻擊等等。

網絡犯罪分子如何獲得Nest相機的訪問權限

大多數受害者責怪製造商黑客使用Nest相機進行攻擊的事件,但事實是,如果用戶只使用強密碼或雙因素身份驗證 ,用戶可能會阻止他們。正如我們前面提到的,黑客能夠使用Nest攝像頭的唯一原因是他們的所有者在創建Nest帳戶時設置了受損密碼。妥協的密碼意味著在受害者註冊的任何網站上可能發生的某些數據洩露事件中洩漏了密碼。換句話說,受害者正在重複使用違反的密碼。

你怎麼做才能提高Nest相機的安全性?

重要的是要意識到數據洩露每天都在發生,重用密碼是不安全的。這意味著,當您設置新帳戶時,您應該考慮以前從未使用過的唯一密碼。特別是,如果個人資料可以讓網絡犯罪分子訪問您的其他帳戶,敏感信息,或獲得監視您的能力。因此,保護Nest相機應該做的第一件事就是用一個獨特而強大的組合來替換它的密碼。

用戶經常會重複使用密碼,或者因為害怕忘記它們而想出弱組合。但是,忘記密碼應該是您最不關心的問題,尤其是當有軟件可以為您記住密碼時。我們所說的是專用密碼管理器,可以安全地將您的密碼存儲在加密的保險庫中。我們提供了一個名為Cyclonis Password Manager的密碼管理器 。它是免費使用的,並提供各種有用的功能,如密碼生成器,自動登錄,私人筆記,雙因素身份驗證等。有了它的幫助,您可以為Nest相機帳戶設置一個強大的隨機密碼 ,這是無法猜測的。

接下來,Nest實驗室專家強烈建議您通過啟用雙因素身份驗證為所有Nest帳戶添加額外的安全層。即使他們知道密碼,這也會阻止網絡犯罪分子控制你的Nest攝像頭. 如您所見,雙因素身份驗證需要的不僅僅是密碼才能登錄。

如何為Nest智能家居設備設置雙因素身份驗證?

這個過程並不像您想像的那麼困難,如果您完成下面提供的步驟,您應該可以使用雙因素身份驗證保護您的Nest帳戶,沒有任何問題。

  1. 首先,您需要通過公司的網站而不是移動應用程序連接到您的Nest帳戶
  2. 然後點擊屏幕右上角的個人資料圖標
  3. 選擇設置並導航到帳戶安全性
  4. 尋找一個撥動開關旁邊的兩步驟驗證並滑動到打開此功能
  5. 插入要從Nest接收驗證碼的電話號碼
  6. 系統將註銷所有Nest設備
  7. 使用您的密碼和您將收到的驗證碼再次登錄

像Nest相機這樣的智能家居設備可以幫助我們確保安全,但是隨著所有其他設備連接到互聯網,它們可能容易受到各種網絡攻擊。雖然製造商必須認真對待安全問題,但同樣重要的是要做到這一點。因此,如果您擁有Nest攝像頭或任何其他智能家居設備,我們建議您確保未使用違規密碼,默認密碼或弱密碼。如果您想了解有關如何保護智能家居設備的更多信息,我們建議您繼續閱讀此處

March 6, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 10是什麼?

How to Secure Your Nest Cameras and Other Smart Home Devices

Nest Labs, an American manufacturer of various smart home devices, recently had to encourage their customers to secure their accounts, as cybercriminals gained access to quite a few of them. The thought that some stranger could watch you in your home or speak to you and your family through your Nest camera is no doubt terrifying. Unfortunately, quite a lot of families have already reported experiencing this unpleasant situation. According to Google that acquired Nest Labs back in 2014, the hackers were successful because the victims were using compromised passwords. Further in the article, we not only discuss such incidents in more detail but also talk about what you can and should do to protect your Nest camera and other smart home devices to ensure your privacy.

How did hackers use Nest camera to attack its owners?

Most of Nest cameras allow talking through integrated speakers to anyone standing in front of the camera over the Internet. Thus, all that is left to do is to gain access to the user's Nest account. During one of the incidents, cybercriminals used the camera's speakers to make a fake emergency broadcast alert claiming North Korea was launching intercontinental ballistic missiles at the United States. The voice told the woman and her 8-year-old son to evacuate as quickly as possible. Naturally, both of them were terrified at first, but after checking multiple news channels, the woman realized something was wrong and called 911 and then Nest Labs.

Another incident scared a family with a 4-month-old as the hacker behind the attack threatened to kidnap the baby. At first, the parents assumed somebody was in their child's room, as they heard someone speaking in there. They rushed to their baby's room, but could not find anyone. Suddenly, the mother remembered a story she read about Wi-Fi camera hacking and realized what was happening. Once they turned off their Wi-Fi, the voice was gone. There were more similar reports about hackers terrorizing home camera owners or their children via integrated speakers, so this type of incident is nothing new. Yet the fact they keep occurring reveals most people are unaware of the threat behind leaving their smart home devices unprotected. The truth is, many of them can be used to spy on the user, steal his sensitive information, perform so-called DDos attacks, and so on.

How cybercriminals gained access to Nest cameras

Most victims blame the manufacturer for the incidents during which hackers used Nest camera to attack, but the truth is, the users could have prevented them if only they used a strong password or Two-Factor authentication. As we mentioned earlier, the only reason the hackers were able to use Nest cameras is that their owners set up compromised passwords when creating their Nest accounts. Compromised passwords mean the passcodes were leaked during some data breach that could have occurred on any website the victim was registered. In other words, the victims were reusing breached passwords.

What can you do to improve your Nest camera's security?

What is important to realize is that data breaches occur every day and it is not safe to reuse passcodes. Meaning, when you set up a new account, you should think of a unique password that you have never used before. Especially, if the profile can let cybercriminals access your other accounts, sensitive information, or gain the ability to spy on you. Thus, the first thing you should do to secure your Nest camera is to replace its password with a unique and strong combination.

Users often reuse passwords or come up with weak combinations out of fear of forgetting them. However, forgetting a password should be your least concern, especially when there is software that can remember it for you. What we are talking about are dedicated password managers that can safely store your passwords in an encrypted vault. We offer trying out our password manager called Cyclonis Password Manager. It is free to use and it an offer various useful features, such as a Password Generator, Automatic Login, Private Notes, Two-Factor Authentication, and so on. With its help you can set up a strong random password for your Nest camera account that would be impossible to guess.

Next, Nest labs specialists highly recommend adding an extra security layer to all Nest accounts by enabling Two-Factor authentication. This would stop the cybercriminals from taking over the control of your Nest camera even if they knew the password. As you see, Two-Factor authentication requires more than just a password to log in.

How to set up Two-Factor authentication for Nest smart home devices?

The process is not as difficult as you may have imagined it, and if you complete the steps available below, you should be able to secure your Nest account with Two-Factor authentication with no trouble.

  1. First, you need to connect to your Nest account through the company's website and not the mobile application.
  2. Then click on your profile icon located on the screen's top-right corner.
  3. Select Settings and navigate to Account Security.
  4. Look for a toggle switch next to 2-step verification and slide it to turn the feature On.
  5. Insert a phone number to which you want to receive verification codes from Nest.
  6. The system will sign out all of your Nest devices.
  7. Log in again with your password and the verification code you will receive.

Smart home devices like Nest cameras are created to help us ensure our safety, but as all other devices connected to the Internet, they can be vulnerable to various cyber attacks. While it is essential that the manufacturer takes security matters seriously, it is as vital you do the same. Therefore, if you own a Nest camera or any other smart home device, we urge you to make sure you are not using breached, default, or weak passwords. If you want to know more about how to secure your smart home devices, we recommend continuing reading here.

March 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 7 ?