How to Delete or Deactivate Your Old Twitter Account
Have you had enough of all the banter, arguments, and pointless flaming on Twitter? I know I did after a while. If you're like me you want to take a break from all the trolls, SJWs, incels and every other buzzword being thrown around the place. Fortunately, deactivating or deleting your Twitter account is very simple and straightforward.
Keep in mind that you cannot immediately delete your profile. First, you will have to do the following steps to deactivate your account, after that it will be queued for deletion.
Note: you cannot deactivate your account from the mobile app. You must use the actual website to deactivate and delete your account. After that Twitter will keep your data for 1 month giving you time to log in and reactivate your account if you change your mind about deleting your account.
Even if you permanently delete your account Twitter might still keep some of your data. Some of your tweets can still show up on search engines like Google or Yahoo.
How to deactivate my Twitter account.
With all that out of the way here's how to permanently deactivate and permanently delete your Twitter account:
- Go to Twitter and sign into your profile as usual.
- Select your avatar icon in the upper right-hand side of the screen and click "Settings and privacy" from the drop-down menu that will appear.
- Scroll down the menu all the way to the bottom of the page and select "Deactivate Account." After this, you will have to go through one more page, with info about how deactivation works.
- Then hit the "Deactivate" button once you've been informed what deactivation means exactly.
- You will be prompted to enter your account password to authenticate your identity. Do it.
After that step, you're just 30 days away from your account being permanently deleted.
During the time when your account is deactivated your username will be unavailable for new accounts but your old tweets and some of your info will still be accessible. If you only wish to change your username there are easier ways to go about it than deleting your whole account. Twitter has mechanisms in place for changing user handles.