以下是被盜電話號碼如何導致空銀行賬戶

移動電話不僅僅是與某人聯繫的小工具。我們使用這些設備在線購物,在社交媒體平台上分享我們的時刻,檢查我們的銀行賬戶餘額,玩手機遊戲,在度假或未知區域導航,驗證登錄程序等等。可以說我們的所有生命都在我們的手機中,這就是為什麼確保它們安全至關重要的原因。看起來永遠不會讓您的設備看不見,只使用安全的互聯網連接,並且安裝安全工具來保護它不足以保證手機的安全性以及通過它可以訪問的所有內容。顯然,有一個叫做電話移植的騙局,黑客通過將其轉移到新的SIM卡來竊取你的電話號碼。如果您還沒有聽說過手機移植或希望了解更多信息,我們邀請您閱讀本博文的其餘部分。

什麼是手機移植?

電話移植是一個騙局,在此期間網絡犯罪分子劫持受害者的電話號碼。是的,你讀得對,黑客不再需要訪問你的手機或竊取它。將您的電話號碼轉移到新的SIM卡就足夠了。因此,攻擊者不一定必須來自同一城市或地區。

由於此類詐騙涉及將電話號碼轉移到新的SIM卡上,因此它們也稱為SIM卡交換 。通常,嘗試此類攻擊的網絡犯罪分子會收集有關目標受害者的信息,並與選定的電話公司聯繫。他們可能聲稱他們需要將電話號碼轉移到新的SIM卡中,因為手機已被盜或出於其他一些令人信服的原因。當然,主要的電話公司都知道這些騙局,並培訓他們的員工識別手機移植詐騙,所以當沒有人知道電話移植時,這並不容易。但是,有許多電話公司在收到將電話號碼轉移到新卡上的請求時可能不會像其他公司那樣小心。

當然,僅僅知道電話號碼才能成功進行電話移植可能還不夠。移動公司可能會要求提供個人數據,如賬單地址,生日,社會安全號碼等。儘管如此,您應該知道,就像受害者的電話號碼一樣,這些信息有時可以在黑暗的網絡上找到。敏感信息在黑暗網絡上的結果有很多種。有些用戶在與不可靠的彈出窗口交互,填寫虛假調查或參與假彩票和贈品時可能會意外放棄。

此外,我們不要忘記每天在數據洩露期間洩露大量私人和敏感信息。根據BreachLevelIndex.com每秒約有71條記錄丟失或被盜。因此,在請求將電話號碼轉移到另一個SIM卡時獲得可能被詢問的敏感信息並不困難。因此,停止手機移植並不容易。

如果黑客控制您的電話號碼,會發生什麼?

毫無疑問,黑客竊取電話號碼以獲取受害者的帳戶. 我們中的許多人現在使用雙因素身份驗證來保護我們的社交媒體平台,電子郵件帳戶等。出於方便,許多用戶選擇接收驗證碼到他們的電子郵件帳戶或移動電話。因此,您可以想像控制某人電話號碼的價值。它可能使網絡犯罪分子能夠訪問各種用戶的帳戶,包括他的銀行帳戶。毋庸置疑,在這種情況下,黑客可能會清空您的銀行賬戶並引發其他麻煩。訪問受害者的電子郵件地址也可能為網絡犯罪分子提供各種機會,因為許多用戶將其他帳戶與其電子郵件地址聯繫起來。因此,黑客竊取電話號碼的想法應該嚇到我們所有人。

如何保護自己免受電話移植?

似乎沒有什麼可以保護自己免受電話移植,但實際上,你可以做一些事情。一些電話公司允許其客戶採用各種安全預防措施。例如,用戶可以設置在有人試圖進行任何更改時要求的密碼,例如將他的電話號碼轉移到新的SIM卡。如果您之前不了解此類安全措施,我們強烈建議您與您的電話公司聯繫並詢問相關信息。

我們建議的另一件事是在發布您的電話號碼或其他敏感信息時要小心,例如您的電子郵件地址。您應該始終只在必要時提供您的數據。更不用說,確保您提供的詳細信息不會落入壞人之手至關重要。此外,避免與不可靠的彈出窗口,來自未知發件人的電子郵件進行交互是明智的,這些電子郵件可能會要求加載可疑鏈接,填寫某些表單等。

最後,請記住,如果詐騙者需要他們尚未提供的某些信息,他們可以打電話給您並假裝為您的電話公司工作。這種行為應立即引起懷疑,因為有信譽的公司不會要求消費者詢問他們的敏感信息或私人信息。

如果您認為自己成為電話移植的受害者該怎麼辦?

研究人員表示,您遇到手機移植的第一個跡像是服務丟失。如果突然發生並且沒有解釋原因,請立即通知您的電話公司和您的銀行。此外,監控可以使用您的電話號碼訪問的帳戶是明智之舉。如果您仍然可以控制它們,則應立即更改被盜電話號碼。接下來,必須向聯邦通信委員會或機構提出投訴。

總而言之,手機移植不是一個新的騙局,但由於網絡犯罪分子仍在使用它,我們認為不要忘記它是至關重要的。更好的是採取一切必要的預防措施,以確保您不會成為電話移植的受害者。此外,如果黑客竊取您的電話號碼以便您可以快速做出反應並將損害降至最低,那麼記住我們之前提到的如何做的提示也不會有什麼壞處。

August 21, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 4是什麼?

Here's How a Stolen Phone Number Can Lead to an Empty Bank Account

Mobile phones are much more than gadgets to contact someone. We use these devices to shop online, to share our moments on social media platforms, to check our banking account’s balance, to play mobile games, navigate while on vacation or in an unknown area, verify login procedures, and so on. One could say that all our lives are in our mobile phones, which is why it is vital to make sure they are secured. It looks like never letting your device out of sight, using only safe Internet connections, and installing security tools to protect it is not enough to guarantee the safety of your phone and all that can be accessed through it. Apparently, there is a scam called phone porting, during which hackers steal your phone number by transferring it to a new SIM card. If you have not heard about phone porting yet or wish to learn more about it, we invite you to read the rest of this blog post.

What is phone porting?

Phone porting is a scam during which cybercriminals hijack their victims’ phone numbers. Yes, you read it right, hackers no longer need to gain access to your mobile phone or steal it. It is enough to transfer your phone number into a new SIM card. Thus, attackers do not necessarily have to be from the same city or area.

Since such scams involve transferring a phone number onto a new SIM card, they are also called SIM card swapping. Usually, cybercriminals who attempt such attacks gather information about targeted victims and contact chosen phone companies. They may claim that they need a phone number to be transferred into a new SIM card because the phone has been stolen or for some other convincing reason. Naturally, major phone companies know about such scams and train their employees to recognize phone porting scams, so it is not that easy as it used to be when no one yet knew about phone porting. However, there are lots of phone companies that may not be as careful as others when they get requests to transfer a phone number onto a new card.

Of course, it might not be enough to know a phone number alone to succeed in phone porting. Mobile companies may ask for personal data like billing address, birthdate, Social Security number, and so on. Nonetheless, you should know that just like victims’ phone numbers such information can sometimes be found on the dark web. There are a lot of ways how sensitive information can end up on the dark web. Some users may accidentally give it away while interacting with unreliable pop-ups, filling fake surveys, or participating in fake lotteries and giveaways.

Also, let us not forget that lots of private and sensitive information is leaked during data breaches every day. According to BreachLevelIndex.com, approximately 71 records are being lost or stolen every second. Therefore, it is not that difficult to gain sensitive information that could be asked when requesting to transfer a telephone number to another SIM card. Consequently, it is not that easy to stop phone porting.

What may happen if hackers take control of your phone number?

There is no doubt that hackers steal phone numbers to gain access to victims’ accounts. Many of us now use Two-Factor authentication to protect our social media platforms, email accounts, etc. Out of convenience, lots of users choose to receive verification codes either to their email accounts or mobile phones. Thus, you can imagine how valuable it could be to control someone’s telephone number. It might enable cybercriminals to access various user’s accounts, including his banking account. Needless to say, in such a case, hackers may empty your bank account and cause other troubles. Access to a victim’s email address could also provide cybercriminals with various opportunities as many users tie other accounts to their email address. Consequently, the thought of hackers stealing phone numbers should scare all of us.

How to protect yourself from phone porting?

It might seem like there is nothing to be done to protect oneself from phone porting, but, in reality, there are some things you can do. Some phone companies allow their customers to employ various safety precautions. For example, a user could set a password that would be requested in case someone tried to make any changes, such as transfer his phone number to a new SIM card. If you did not know about such safety measures before, we highly recommend contacting your phone company and asking about it.

Another thing we advise doing is being careful when giving out your telephone number or other sensitive information, such as your email address. You should always provide your data only if you have to. Not to mention, it is crucial to make sure that the details you provide will not fall into the wrong hands. Also, it would be smart to avoid interacting with unreliable pop-ups, emails from unknown senders that may ask to load suspicious links, fill some forms, etc.

Lastly, keep in mind that scammers could call you and pretend to work for your phone company if they need some information they do not have yet. Such behavior should raise suspicion right away as reputable companies do not call consumers to ask for their sensitive or private information.

What to do if you think you became a victim of phone porting?

Researchers say that the first sign that you are experiencing phone porting is loss of service. If it happens suddenly and there is no explanation for why it happened, you should notify your phone company and your bank right away. Also, it would be smart to monitor your accounts that could be accessed with your phone number. If you still have control over them, you should change the stolen telephone number at once. Next, it is essential to file a complaint with the Federal Communications Commission or institutions alike.

All in all, phone porting is not a new scam, but since cybercriminals still use it, we believe it is crucial to not forget about it. What would be even better is to take all necessary precautions to ensure you will not become a victim of phone porting. Also, it would not hurt to memorize the tips we mentioned earlier for what to do if hackers steal your phone number so that you could react quickly and minimize the damage.

August 21, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 2 ?