密碼存儲在雲端時的安全性如何?

Cloud Security Cyclonis Password Manager

我們設計了Cyclonis Password Manager,允許用戶將數據存儲在Internet上並從多個設備訪問。這是否意味著您更容易被盜帳戶?不,它沒有。

我們知道您需要在所有計算機上使用您的數據,並且您可以這樣做的唯一方法是通過Internet同步數據。但是,我們不會讓你這樣做,除非我們確定已經採取了保護它所需的所有預防措施。以下是有問題的預防措施。

AES-256加密

應該清楚的是,我們不應該以明文形式留下您的密碼。 沒人應該這樣做 。同時,您需要能夠使用您的數據,這意味著我們必須實施一個解決方案,讓您在提供主密碼後查看信息。換句話說,我們必須使用加密。

我們選擇AES-256作為加密數據的算法,主要原因如下:

  • 它很強大 。高級加密標準(或AES)成立於2001年,因其作為NSA用於保護最高機密信息的第一個可公開訪問的密碼而聞名。
  • 這很快 。 AES-256中的256表示加密密鑰的長度(256位)。這種特殊的長度在安全性和速度之間達到了完美的平衡。您可以嘗試使用更長的密鑰加密信息,但這需要太多時間和計算機資源。同時,使用256位密鑰,加密仍然足夠強大。

設備端加密

顯然,當數據被盜時,加密數據毫無意義。 Cyclonis密碼管理器會將您的登錄憑據和其他信息加密,同時它仍在您的設備上。沒有一點數據會使您的計算機以簡單的形式出現。

HTTPS連接

Cyclonis Password Manager所做的所有傳入和傳出連接都是通過HTTPS協議完成的。 HTTPS是HTTP協議的一個分支,它在將信息從您的計算機傳輸到遠程服務器時對其進行加密。它確保數據不會以任何方式被截獲或篡改。

值得信賴的雲存儲提供商

您可能在雲存儲提供商處擁有一個帳戶。這樣做是因為它的服務為您提供了在所有設備上使用文件的便捷方式。您可以信賴他們的家庭照片,重要文件以及您所參與的項目。現在,您可以使用加密保管庫信任它們。

您的保管庫的存儲將由您選擇的提供商處理。您可以從以下列表中選擇一個:

  • Dropbox的
  • Google雲端硬盤
  • Apple iCloud
  • Microsoft OneDrive

我們做出了有意識的決定,讓用戶決定在哪裡存儲您的保險庫,原因很簡單。首先,它為您提供更多控制。例如,如果您更喜歡Apple的iCloud到Microsoft的OneDrive,您可以選擇。如果您將來改變主意,您可以輕鬆地將您的保險庫轉移到其他提供商之一. 此外,這些公司中的每一家都有數百萬的客戶和太字節數據以保護數TB的數據。他們採取了許多措施來確保他們的安全性盡可能好。

雙因素身份驗證

正如我們已經提到的,Cyclonis Password Manager會對您的保險庫進行加密,除非您輸入主密碼,否則它不會對其進行解密。在不太可能有人訪問您的主密碼的情況下,我們已經建立了一個額外的機制來確保您的數據仍然存在。默認情況下啟用,我們的雙因素身份驗證系統不允許您(或任何其他人)從未經授權的設備訪問您的用戶名和密碼,而無需其他驗證碼。一旦從新計算機檢測到登錄嘗試,此代碼將通過電子郵件發送到與您的Cyclonis Password Manager帳戶關聯的地址。

結論

我們知道很多人不願意將敏感數據存儲在雲中。他們中的一些人不明白,如果有正確的機制,他們就沒有什麼可擔心的,並且希望通過前幾段,我們已經設法讓他們深入了解這些機制是如何運作的。如果您仍然認為雲存儲選項不適合您,您可以隨時選擇將Cyclonis Password Manager保管庫存儲在本地硬盤上。這是你的選擇。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 8是什麼?

How Secure Is Your Password When It’s Stored in the Cloud?

Cloud Security Cyclonis Password Manager

We designed Cyclonis Password Manager to allow users to store their data on the Internet and access it from multiple devices. Does this mean that you'll be more vulnerable to having your accounts stolen? No, it doesn't.

We understand that you need your data on all your computers, and the only way you can do that is to have it synchronized over the Internet. We wouldn't let you do it, however, unless we're sure that all the precautions necessary to protect it have been taken. Here are the precautions in question.

AES-256 encryption

It should be clear that we shouldn't leave your passwords hanging around in plain text. Nobody should do that. At the same time, you need to be able to use your data, which means that we had to implement a solution that lets you view the information once you provide your master password. In other words, we had to use encryption.

We picked AES-256 as the algorithm for encrypting your data for a couple of main reasons:

  • It's strong. Established in 2001, the Advanced Encryption Standard (or AES) has become famous for being the first publicly accessible cipher used for protecting Top Secret information by the NSA.
  • It's quick. The 256 in AES-256 denotes the length of the encryption key (256 bits). This particular length strikes the perfect balance between security and speed. You could try encrypting information with an even longer key, but that would require too much time and computer resources. At the same time, with a 256-bit key, the encryption is still strong enough.

Device-side encryption

Obviously, there's no point encrypting the data when it's already been stolen. Cyclonis Password Manager scrambles your login credentials and the rest of the information while it's still on your device. Not a single bit of data leaves your computer in plain form.

HTTPS connection

All the incoming and outgoing connections Cyclonis Password Manager makes are done through the HTTPS protocol. HTTPS is a branch of the HTTP protocol which encrypts the information while it's been transferred from your computer to the remote server. It ensures that the data can't be intercepted or tampered with in any way.

Trusted cloud storage providers

You probably have an account at a cloud storage provider. You do because its services give you a convenient way of having your files on all your devices. You trust them with your family photos, your important documents, and the projects you've worked on. Now, you can trust them with your encrypted vault.

The storage of your vault will be handled by the provider of your choice. You can pick one from the following list:

  • Dropbox
  • Google Drive
  • Apple iCloud
  • Microsoft OneDrive

We made the conscious decision to let you, the user, decide where you want to store your vault for a few simple reasons. First of all, it gives you more control. If, for example, you prefer Apple's iCloud to Microsoft's OneDrive, you have the choice. And if you have a change of heart in the future, you can easily transfer your vault to one of the other providers. Furthermore, every single one of these companies has millions of customers and terabytes upon terabytes of data to protect. They've taken numerous steps to ensure that their security is as good as it can be.

Two-factor authentication

As we mentioned already, Cyclonis Password Manager encrypts your vault, and it won't decrypt it unless you enter your master password. In the unlikely scenario of someone having access to your master password, we've put an additional mechanism in place to ensure that your data remains in your possession. Enabled by default, our Two-Factor Authentication system won't let you (or anyone else) access your usernames and passwords from an unauthorized device without an additional verification code. This code is emailed to the address associated with your Cyclonis Password Manager account as soon as a login attempt is detected from a new computer.

Conclusion

We understand that a lot of people don't feel comfortable storing their sensitive data in the cloud. Some of them don't understand that with the right mechanisms in place, they have nothing to worry about, and hopefully, with the previous few paragraphs, we've managed to give them an insight into how these mechanisms work. If you still think that the cloud storage option is not for you, you can always choose to have your Cyclonis Password Manager vault stored on your local hard drive. The choice is yours.

April 24, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 9 ?