黑客通過黑客安全攝像頭驚訝和間諜一名男子

這已經是一個老消息 - 沒有設備可以免受網絡攻擊,無論是智能手機,個人電腦(PC),安全攝像頭,還是互聯網連接的IoT( 物聯網 )設備。安全專家比以往任何時候都更加大聲地談論這些設備存在的漏洞以及網絡犯罪分子可以利用這些漏洞的方式。不幸的是,用戶仍然沒有意識到危險的程度,直到有一天他們發現他們已成為經驗豐富的黑客攻擊他們的複雜網絡攻擊的受害者。根據IT安全公司Shevirah Inc.的創始人Georgia Weidman的說法,成千上萬的消費者不僅沒有意識到他們的設備存在的漏洞,而且他們也缺乏保證設備安全的理論和實踐知識。

一般來說,我們購買的互聯網設備似乎很酷,可以讓我們的生活更輕鬆,但我們仍然傾向於忽視保持我們的隱私和在線安全的重要性。普通用戶不是安全專家,但他們仍然可以通過採取簡單的安全措施來保護其密碼,從而提高安全性。請記住,當您開始在家中使用新的連接互聯網的設備時,您可能會將黑客帶到您的家中。

您無法再在家中感到安全:黑客通過安全攝像頭監視用戶

你怎麼會覺得你的安全攝像頭被黑客入侵,而黑客正在暗中監視你?在孩子睡覺或改變時看著你的孩子?監控你做的每一個動作?這可能是非常不愉快的。我們還會用一個詞來形容這種情況 - 令人毛骨悚然。毫無疑問,無論用戶身在何處,無論他們做什麼,都會感到安全。他們可能會認為這只是我們在這裡談論的一個假想的網絡攻擊,但它不是那樣的。 來自亞利桑那州鳳凰城的房地產經紀人Andy Gregg最近發現自己身處其生命中最不愉快的境地之一。當他在家裡聽到奇怪的聲音時,他正在他的後院。進入他腦海的第一個想法是有人闖入了房子;然而,幾分鐘之後,他搜查了房子,聲音來自安裝在前窗的Nest IQ安全攝像頭。幸運的是,那個男人是一個“白帽子”黑客,因為他向Gregg介紹了自己。黑客警告該男子他的私人信息已被洩露。

“白帽子”黑客告訴格雷格,他無法通過相機或男人的確切位置看到任何圖像,但如果他想這樣就不難發現。此外,黑客還敘述了Gregg在多個網站上使用的一些密碼。幸運的是,這只是警告Gregg採取安全措施以加強他的隱私。黑客說他沒有惡意,並且他只是為了告訴Gregg他已經檢測到的安全漏洞而訪問了攝像頭。網絡犯罪分子還告訴其他黑客也可以濫用易受攻擊的相機。因此,Gregg立即拔掉了他的安全攝像頭並更改了所有密碼以加強其虛擬安全性。

黑客安全攝像頭 - 這些日子常見的問題

格雷格的情況只是許多其他人的一個例子。這絕不是黑客第一次通過安全攝像頭監視用戶。它也不是第一個被黑客入侵的Nest安全攝像頭. 來自紐約的一個家庭說, 今年早些時候有人用他們的相機與他們5歲的兒子建立了聯繫 。此外,研究人員Jason Doyle發現,黑客可以使用固件版本5.2.1秘密禁用Nest客戶的攝像頭 。毫無疑問,設備製造商在很大程度上對用戶的安全負責;但是,如果您自己不採取任何安全措施,您可能會在不久的將來遇到黑客安全攝像頭或其他與互聯網連接的設備問題。

我該怎麼做才能防止針對我的設備的網絡攻擊

購買新設備(尤其是連接到Internet的設備)後,您應該做的第一件事就是更改它附帶的默認登錄名和密碼組合。密碼就像是解鎖門的鑰匙,所以它必須足夠安全以保護您免受危險。應該強調的是,您在家中使用的每個設備都必須具有不同的密碼,即您不能重複使用它們,以便在網絡犯罪分子設法獲取一個設備密碼的情況下不會被黑客攻擊。其次,雖然大多數設備默認設置為下載並安裝所有可用更新,但您仍應仔細檢查您購買的設備是否真的如此。換句話說,您必須啟用自動更新。最後但並非最不重要的是,在您開始使用新設備之前,您應該首先閱讀其文檔(使用條款和隱私政策),以便您更了解其行為以及它將如何處理您的私人信息。

您在新設備上設置的密碼,比如安全攝像頭,必須足夠強大以防止網絡攻擊。這似乎是一個不言自明的提示,但許多用戶仍然不明白密碼是使他們遠離隱私相關問題的主要因素,例如,被黑客入侵的安全攝像頭。安全專家建議僅使用複雜密碼保護設備。 Password1qwerty絕對不是他們想到的。首先,安全密碼足夠長。它總共不能少於8個字符,但當然,字符數增加會使它更加安全。此外,它必須包括大寫和小寫字母,符號和特殊字符(如果可能)。最後但並非最不重要的是,它不應該有任何可以被網絡罪犯輕易破譯的詞典單詞。

額外提示 :您是否很難想出一個安全的密碼?將此任務委託給可靠的密碼管理器,如Cyclonis Password Manager 。安裝後,您可以訪問其密碼生成器以自動生成複雜的密碼。該工具還會為您記住它,甚至可以在保存的網站上以登錄形式輸入。最好的部分是你可以免費使用它的所有功能!

沒有設備是完全安全的。黑客通過安全攝像頭監視用戶不再是一件令人意外的事情,但是我們家裡有很多其他互聯網連接的設備,他們可能成功地破解並隨後使用。涉及智能設備的網絡攻擊不太可能很快被遺忘. 智能家庭的數量預計到2021年將達到7300萬 ,因此我們必須在此之前提出有效的安全措施。雖然這主要是安全專家的工作,但普通用戶也必須自己遵循最佳安全實踐,從使用安全密碼開始。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 5是什麼?

Hackers Surprise and Spy on a Man via Hacked Security Camera

It is already old news – no device is immune to cyberattacks, be it a smartphone, a personal computer (PC), a security camera, or an Internet-connected IoT (Internet of Things) device. Security specialists talk more loudly than ever about the vulnerabilities such devices have and the ways cybercriminals can exploit them. Unfortunately, users still fail to realize the extent of the danger until they find out one day that they have fallen victim to a sophisticated cyberattack targeted at them by experienced hackers. According to Georgia Weidman, a founder of the IT security company Shevirah Inc., thousands of consumers are not only simply unaware of the vulnerabilities their devices have, but they also lack theoretical and practical knowledge to keep their devices safe.

Generally speaking, we buy Internet-connected devices that seem to be cool and can make our lives easier, but we still tend to ignore the importance of keeping our privacy and online security intact. Ordinary users are no security experts, but they can still improve their security by taking simple security measures like securing their passwords. Remember, you potentially bring a hacker to your home the moment you start using a new Internet-connected device at home.

You can no longer feel safe at home: hackers spy on users via security cameras

How would you feel knowing that your security camera was hacked and hackers were spying on you? Watching your children while they were sleeping or changing? Monitoring every move you make? It would probably be extremely unpleasant. We would also describe the situation with one word – creepy. No doubt there are users who feel safe wherever they go or whatever they do. They would probably think that this is only a hypothetical cyberattack we are talking about here, but it is not like that. Andy Gregg, a real-estate agent from Phoenix, Arizona, has recently found himself in one of the most unpleasant situations in his life. He was in his backyard when he heard something strange inside his house. The first thought that came into his mind was that somebody had broken into the house; however, it turned out a few minutes later after he searched the house that the voice was coming from a Nest IQ security camera mounted in his front window. Luckily, that man was a “white hat” hacker, as he introduced himself to Gregg. The hacker warned the man that his private information had been compromised.

The “white hat” hacker told Gregg that he could not see any images through the camera or the man's exact location, but that this would not be hard to find out if he wanted to. Also, the hacker recited some of Gregg's passwords used on multiple websites. Fortunately, this was just a warning for Gregg to take security measures in order to strengthen his privacy. The hacker said he had no malicious intentions, and he accessed the camera just to inform Gregg about security vulnerabilities he had detected. The cybercriminal also told that other hackers can misuse the vulnerable camera too. As a consequence, Gregg unplugged his security camera immediately and changed all his passwords to strengthen its virtual security.

A hacked security camera – a common problem these days

Gregg's situation is only one example of many others. It is definitely not the first time when hackers spy on users via security cameras. It is not the first Nest security camera hacked too. A family from New York said that someone used their camera to establish communication with their 5-year-old son earlier this year as well. Additionally, a researcher Jason Doyle discovered that hackers can secretly disable Nest customers' cameras with the firmware version 5.2.1. No doubt device manufacturers are responsible for users' safety to a great extent; however, if you do not take any security measures yourself, you might experience a hacked security camera or another Internet-connected device problem in the near future.

What can I do to prevent cyberattacks targeted at my devices

The first thing you should do after you purchase a new device, especially an Internet-connected one, is to change the default login and password combination it comes with. Passwords are like keys that unlock doors, so it must be secure enough to protect you from danger. It should be emphasized that each device you have at home must have a different password, i.e. you cannot reuse them so that they would not all get hacked in case cyber criminals manage to obtain one device's password. Second, while the majority of devices are set to download and install all available updates by default, you should still double-check whether it is really the case with the device you have bought. In other words, you must enable automatic updates. Last but not least, before you start using a new device, you should always read its documentation (Terms of Use and Privacy Policy) first so that you would know more about its behavior and how it is going to treat your private information.

A password you set on your new device, let's say a security camera, must be strong enough to prevent cyberattacks. It might seem to be a self-evident tip, but many users still do not understand that a password is a major thing that keeps them away from privacy-related problems, e.g., a hacked security camera. Security specialists recommend securing devices with complex passwords only. Password1 or qwerty is definitely not what they have in mind. A secure password is, first of all, long enough. It cannot be shorter than 8 characters in total, but, of course, going up in characters would make it even more secure. Also, it must include both upper-case and lower-case letters, symbols, and special characters (if possible). Last but not least, it should not have any dictionary words that could be easily deciphered by cyber criminals.

Bonus Tip: do you struggle to come up with a secure password? Entrust this task to a reliable password manager like Cyclonis Password Manager. Once you install it, you could access its Password Generator to generate a complex password automatically. The tool will also remember it for you and even enter it in a login form on a saved website. The best part is that you could use all its features for FREE!

No device is completely secure. It is no longer a surprise that hackers spy on users via security cameras, but there are many other Internet-connected devices we have at home they might hack successfully and then make use of. It is not very likely that cyberattacks that involve smart devices would be forgotten soon. The number of smart homes is expected to hit 73 million by 2021, so we must come up with effective security measures till then. While this is mainly a security specialists' job, ordinary users must follow best security practices themselves too, starting from using secure passwords.

December 20, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 9 ?