工作场所的网络安全培训:询问员工的7个问题

不论大小,世界各地的组织都经常成为黑客的攻击目标,这些黑客经常追捧金钱或有价值的信息。因此,成为网络攻击受害者的后果可能是危险的。您可能知道,网络罪犯可以借助恶意应用程序或利用软件漏洞来破坏系统。但是,我们很多人都忘记了,黑客也可以通过欺骗工作场所中未受过教育的成员而进入。因此,专家强烈建议对员工进行网络安全教育,以防止网络攻击,从而保护公司的声誉并避免损失。当然,在开始培训课程之前,必须了解如何教育员工以及如何确保他们学习,这一点至关重要。要了解更多信息,我们邀请您阅读我们的完整博客文章。

根据FireEye.com编写的报告,大约51%的组织不认为自己准备好进行网络攻击。但是,参加该研究的组织中有76%计划在2020年增加其网络安全预算,这听起来确实很有希望。毫无疑问,应使用此类资金的领域之一是网络安全培训,因为有报告显示90%的网络攻击是由于人为错误而发生的。对于计划培训员工的公司,我们建议您阅读以下问答,以帮助进行富有成效的培训。

1.您了解网络安全培训的重要性吗?

如果您没有动力去学习某些东西,这并不容易。员工可能不愿意学习网络安全的原因之一是因为他们可能不了解为什么有必要。因此,至关重要的是要谈论在网络安全培训中获得的知识如何对公司有所帮助,以及例如,如果工人意外泄漏了敏感信息或启动了恶意软件,将会发生什么。我们认为,解释为什么对他们而言至关重要的是,他们必须具备预防网络攻击的技能,这可以增加他们的动力,并使他们更容易吸收在网络安全培训期间提供的信息。

2.您了解网络安全培训期间正在讨论的内容吗?

即使一个人很热情,如果他不知道训练中使用的特定术语或表达方式,他也会很快失去学习的动力。毫无疑问,负责网络安全培训的专家可能会使用各种术语,例如RDP (远程桌面协议)连接, DDoS (分布式拒绝服务)攻击或勒索软件 。并非每个人都可能知道这样的表达,这可能会使他们感到愚蠢,并因此失去兴趣。因此,我们认为在每次网络安全培训课程之前定义新术语至关重要。

3.仅提供信息就足够了吗?

网络安全专家建议教员工类似如何识别各种类型的网络钓鱼攻击 ,如何保持他们可以访问的帐户的安全,如何保护公司或其客户的敏感信息或如何安全地浏览Internet之类的知识。但是,我们建议您不仅要解释这些内容,还要进行演示。这样做可以教会员工将他们学到的知识付诸实践。例如,专门针对鱼叉式钓鱼的第一次培训课程可能仅是理论上的,但是在下一个课程中,公司可以组织实践练习来巩固先前获得的有关上述攻击的知识。

4.您在训练中使用所学的内容吗?

即使工人接受了网络安全培训,他们的习惯也可能不会改变。除了对员工进行网络安全教育之外,组织还应明确表示他们希望其员工使用在培训中获得的知识。例如,如果主题是强密码的重要性,则可以要求员工更改工作登录凭据,直到下一次培训课程为止。当然,如果帐户太多,很难考虑和记住大量唯一的登录凭据,那么专用的密码管理器可以提供解决方案。另外,这样的工具可以提高公司密码的强度,并确保其安全性。

5.您知道如何举报网络安全威胁吗?

员工必须知道如果他们收到网络钓鱼电子邮件或发现任何可能使您公司的网络安全受到威胁的其他信息,应该通知谁。如果您的组织处于黑客的监视之下,他们可能会尝试多种方法,并且可能很长一段时间都不会放弃。因此,最好是您的员工立即通知您的网络安全专家,以便他们可以加强组织的安全性,向工作场所的其他成员介绍这种情况并培训他们在需要时应采取的措施。

6.我们应该多久组织一次网络安全培训?

实际上,您应该对员工进行网络安全培训,因为网络威胁和安全建议一直在变化。意思是,每两年甚至一年一次的培训课程不足以确保您的工人了解最新的威胁和安全预防措施。

7.在两次网络安全培训课程之间是否需要咨询?

员工可能需要一些时间来获取网络安全培训课程中介绍的信息。一旦这样做,他们可能会对在活动中学到的东西有疑问。此外,他们在尝试将新知识应用到实践中时可能需要帮助。找一个可以马上解决问题的人,而不是等待新的培训课程,可能会帮助您的员工更好地学习并实施更改,从而可以更快地保护公司免受网络威胁。

总体而言,对员工进行网络安全教育至关重要,但并非易事。在开始培训之前,最好与员工交谈以了解可以激发他们学习动力的因素以及最有效的方法。我们希望我们提出的问题和答案将有助于公司组织富有成效的培训课程。如果您对网络安全培训有任何疑问或有关如何使此类活动更有效的技巧,我们建议您在本博文末尾发表评论。

February 20, 2020

发表评论

Cybersecurity Training in a Workplace: 7 Questions to Ask Your Employees

Big or small, organizations around the world are being targeted by hackers who are often after money or valuable information. Thus, the consequences of falling victim to cyber attacks can be hazardous. You may know that cybercriminals can breach systems with the help of malicious applications or by exploiting software vulnerabilities. However, many of us forget that hackers can also get in by tricking uneducated members of the workplace. Therefore, specialists highly recommend educating employees on cybersecurity to prevent cyber attacks and, as a result, protect a company’s reputation and avoid losses. Of course, before starting training sessions, it is essential to know how to educate employees and how to ensure that they learn. To learn more, we invite you to read our full blog post.

According to the report prepared by FireEye.com, about 51 percent of organizations do not think that they are ready for cyber attacks. Nonetheless, 76 percent of organizations that participated in the study plan to increase their cybersecurity budget in 2020, which does sound promising. No doubt, one of the areas where such funds should be used is cybersecurity training, as reports suggest that 90 percent of cyber attacks occur due to human error. For companies who plan on educating their employees, we recommend reviewing the following questions and answers that will help conduct productive training sessions.

1. Do you understand the importance of cybersecurity training?

It is not easy to learn something when you do not feel motivated to do so. One of the reasons why employees might not feel motivated to learn about cybersecurity is because they may not understand why it is necessary. Therefore, it is vital to talk about how the knowledge gained during cybersecurity training can help the company and what could happen if, for example, a worker accidentally leaked sensitive information or launched malware. We believe that explaining why it is essential for them to gain skills to prevent cyber attacks can increase their motivation and make it easier for them to take in the information presented during cybersecurity training.

2. Do you understand what is being discussed during cybersecurity training?

Even if a person is enthusiastic, he can quickly lose his motivation to learn if he does not know the specific terms or expressions used in training. No doubt, experts responsible for cybersecurity training might use various terms, such as RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) connections, DDoS (Distributed Denial-of-service) attacks, or ransomware. Not everyone might know such expressions, which might make them feel silly and, as a result, lose their interest. Consequently, we believe that it is essential to define new terms before each cybersecurity training session.

3. Is simply presenting information enough?

Cybersecurity experts recommend teaching employees things like how to recognize various types of phishing attacks, how to keep the accounts that they have access to safe, how to protect the company’s or its clients' sensitive information, or how to surf the Internet safely. However, we recommend not only explaining these things but also demonstrating them. Doing so can teach employees to put their learned knowledge into practice. For example, the first training session dedicated to spear-phishing could be in theory only, but, in the next one, the company could organize practical exercises to consolidate previously gained knowledge about the mentioned attacks.

4. Do you use what you learn during training?

Even if workers receive cybersecurity training, their habits might still not change. Besides educating employees on cybersecurity, organizations should also make it clear that they want their workers to use the knowledge gained during training. For instance, if the topic was the importance of strong passwords, employees could be asked to change their work login credentials until the next training session. Of course, if there are too many accounts and it would be too difficult to think and memorize tons of unique login credentials, a dedicated password manager could offer a solution. Plus, such a tool could increase the strength of the company's passwords as well as keep them safe.

5. Do you know how to report cybersecurity threats?

Employees must know who they should inform if they receive a phishing email or notice anything else that could put your company’s cybersecurity at risk. If your organization is under the hackers’ radar, they might try multiple things, and they might not give up for a long time. Thus, it is best if your employees inform your cybersecurity specialists right away so they could tighten the organization’s security, tell other members of the workplace about the situation and train them what to do if it is needed.

6. How often should we organize cybersecurity training?

In truth, you should educate your employees on cybersecurity as often as possible because cyber threats and security recommendations change all the time. Meaning, having a training session every couple of years or even once a year is not enough to ensure that your workers are aware of the latest threats and safety precautions.

7. Do you need consulting in between cybersecurity training sessions?

It might take some time for employees to take in the information presented during cybersecurity training sessions. Once they do, they might have questions about what they learned during activities. Also, they could need help while trying to apply the new knowledge in practice. Having someone who they could go to with their questions right away instead of waiting for the new training session might help your workers learn better and implement changes that could help protect the company from cyber threats faster.

Overall, educating employees on cybersecurity is vital, but not an easy task. Before starting training, it is best to talk with employees to get an understanding of what could motivate them to learn and what methods would work the best. We hope that our presented questions and answers will help companies to organize productive training sessions. If you have any questions about cybersecurity training or tips on how to make such activities more effective, we encourage you to leave a comment at the end of this blog post.

February 20, 2020

Leave a Reply