分析師在Google Play商店中查找傳播惡意軟件的另一個惡意應用程序

你從哪裡獲得你的應用程序?理想情況下,您可以從信譽良好的來源(例如Google Play商店)獲取這些內容。不幸的是,這個在線應用程序市場的名稱在頭條新聞中繼續閃現,因為基本上每個月都會在其上發現新的惡意和不需要的應用程序。事實上,據報導,谷歌在2017年刪除了超過70萬個應用程序 ,比去年增加了70%。這些令人震驚的數字。當然,並非所有應用程序都同樣惡意。他們中的一些人可能記錄相對微不足道的個人信息(這仍然是侵入性的),但有些應用程序可以丟棄惡意軟件,收聽電話,劫持設備,竊取密碼,以及做各種其他不良事情。無論您擁有10個還是100個Google Play應用,都可能面臨風險。

在本報告中,我們專注於名為Flappy Birr Dog的惡意應用程序,但我們還提供了有關如何在Google Play上發現惡意應用程序的提示。如果您有興趣,請繼續閱讀。

什麼是Flappy Birr Dog和MobSTSPY?

如果想到的第一件事就是Flappy Bird--一款著名的遊戲,在其高峰期,下載了5000萬次 ,每天產生的收入為50,000美元 - 你根本就沒錯。 Flappy Birr Dog的創建旨在吸引那些可能已經熟悉Flappy Bird的用戶。

此應用程序是為分發MobSTSPY惡意軟件而創建的眾多應用程序之一。相信應用程序是在沒有惡意代碼的情況下上傳到平台上的,因為Google Play應用程序已經過徹底審核,必須通過某些安全標準。下載這些應用程序100,000次的用戶,很可能也是免費下載的惡意軟件。不幸的是,在某些時候,為了分發MobSTSPY而注入了惡意代碼。除了Flappy Birr Dog之外,FlashLight,HZPermis Pro Arabe,Win7imulator和Win7Launcher是用於分發此惡意軟件的其他Google Play應用程序。

根據惡意軟件分析師和趨勢科技的說法,MobSTSPY設置為發現手機用戶的位置,閱讀短信,記錄通話,甚至記錄剪貼板項目。所有信息都以靜默方式發送到遠程C&C服務器。基本上,此惡意軟件充當間諜軟件。分析師還發現,威脅可能會執行網絡釣魚攻擊以收集憑據。例如,它可以顯示偽造的Facebook或Google登錄屏幕以記錄用戶名和密碼。在分析時,間諜軟件主要在印度傳播,但它也影響了總共196個國家的俄羅斯,巴基斯坦和孟加拉國的用戶。

不幸的是,分發MobSTSPY的Google Play應用可能會讓毫無戒心的用戶面臨嚴重的風險。他們的虛擬身份可能被盜,個人信息可能洩露給第三方,第三方可能包括詐騙者,不可靠的廣告商和惡意軟件分銷商。雖然上面提到的惡意應用程序 - 包括Flappy Birr Dog--已經被刪除,但是不可能說新的Google Play應用程序是否會被上傳以傳播相同的間諜軟件。

這不是第一次或最後一次發現惡意Google Play應用

經常發現新的可疑,可疑,不受歡迎或惡意的Google Play應用. 最近,據ZDNet報導,Google Play上的85個廣告軟件應用程序安裝量超過900萬次。一個名為Easy Universal TV Remote的特定應用程序單獨下載了500萬次。據報導,截至去年年底,有22個帶有惡意後門的谷歌播放應用下載量超過200萬次。未經用戶許可,這些應用會自動點擊惡意廣告。唯一的好消息是它們也被從商店中移除。

11月,該平台刪除了另外13個 Google Play應用,因為它們本可以用於下載惡意軟件。據記載,這些應用程序可以下載560,000次。在2018年3月,Google發現了7個能夠通過廣告鏈接顯示廣告和通知的應用,刪除了類似數量的惡意應用。雖然看起來好像這些類型的應用程序比其他任何東西都更煩人,但廣告可以將您引導到惡意軟件網站,並且它們可用於向您展示網絡釣魚通知。最終,谷歌不會隨機刪除應用程序。如果它們被刪除,這意味著它們不符合安全標準,這是一個大問題。

如何在Google Play上發現惡意應用

了解如何在Google Play上發現惡意應用至關重要,因為這是您首先避免惡意Google Play應用的最佳機會。即使您使用防病毒軟件來保護您的設備 - 您絕對應該這樣做 - 它也可能無法保護您免受那些在安裝時沒有註入惡意代碼的應用程序的侵害。正如我們已經討論過的,這些代碼可以在以後注入,以繞過安全控件和防病毒軟件。

如果您想在Google Play上發現惡意應用,則需要查看以下內容:

  • 評測
  • 評級
  • 說明
  • 作者
  • 權限
  • 更新

即使一個應用程序有5/5的評級,評論大多是積極的,你需要謹慎,因為這些東西可以偽造,這也不是那麼難。最重要的是,您應該使用應用程序和作者的名稱並進行一些研究。如果您找不到任何有罪的數據,您可能會認為所選擇的Google Play應用程序是無害的,但請記住,根本找不到任何信息也不是一個好兆頭。

請密切關注您授予您安裝的Google Play應用的權限。例如,如果照片編輯應用程序想要訪問您的電話,聯繫人,地理位置以及與照片編輯服務無關的其他數據,則需要擔心。最後,安裝值得信賴的安全軟件以保護您的設備並確保您將來不會被欺騙安裝惡意應用程序也很重要。. 此外,請記住,雖然Google Play商店不斷被發現代表惡意應用,惡意軟件和間諜軟件,但它仍然是Android應用最有信譽的來源。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 10是什麼?

Analysts Find Another Malicious App on Google Play Store That Spreads Malware

Where do you get your apps from? Ideally, you get them from a reputable source, such as the Google Play Store. Unfortunately, the name of this online app market continues to flash in the headlines as new malicious and unwanted apps are being discovered on it basically every month. In fact, it was reported that Google removed over 700,000 apps in 2017, which was a 70% increase compared to the previous year. These are shocking numbers. Of course, not all apps are equally as malicious. Some of them may record relatively insignificant amounts of personal information (which is still intrusive), but there are apps that can drop malware, listen in on phone calls, hijack the device, steal passwords, and do all kinds of other undesirable things. Whether you own 10 or 100 Google Play apps, you could be at risk.

In this report, we focus on a malicious app called Flappy Birr Dog, but we also provide tips on how to spot malicious apps on Google Play in general. If you are interested, please continue reading.

What is Flappy Birr Dog and MobSTSPY?

If the first thing that comes to mind is Flappy Bird – a famous game that, at its peak, was downloaded 50 million times and generated a daily revenue of $50,000 – you are not wrong at all. Flappy Birr Dog was created with an intention of attracting users who may have been familiar with Flappy Bird already.

This application was one of the many that were created to distribute MobSTSPY malware. It is believed that the apps were uploaded onto the platform without a malicious code because Google Play apps are thoroughly reviewed and have to pass certain security standards. The users who downloaded these apps 100,000 times, most likely, downloaded them malware-free also. Unfortunately, at some point, malicious code was injected for the purpose of distributing MobSTSPY. Besides Flappy Birr Dog, FlashLight, HZPermis Pro Arabe, Win7imulator, and Win7Launcher were the other Google Play apps that were used for the distribution of this malware.

According to malware analysts and Trend Micro, MobSTSPY is set up to discover the phone user's location, read SMS messages, log calls, and even record clipboard items. All information is sent to a remote C&C server silently. Basically, this malware acts as spyware. The analysts also discovered that the threat could perform phishing attacks to gather credentials. For example, it can display bogus Facebook or Google login screens to log usernames and passwords. At the time of analysis, the spyware was mainly spread in India, but it also affected users in Russia, Pakistan, and Bangladesh among 196 countries in total.

Unfortunately, Google Play apps distributing MobSTSPY might have put unsuspecting users at serious risks. Their virtual identities could have been stolen, and personal information could have been leaked to third parties, who might include scammers, unreliable advertisers, and malware distributors. Although the malicious apps mentioned above – including Flappy Birr Dog – have been removed already, it is impossible to say if new Google Play apps will not be uploaded to spread the same spyware.

This isn't the first or the last time malicious Google Play apps are discovered

New suspicious, questionable, unwanted, or malicious Google Play apps are discovered frequently. Most recently, it was reported by ZDNet that 85 adware apps on Google Play were installed over 9 million times. One specific app, called Easy Universal TV Remote, was downloaded 5 million times alone. At the end of last year, 22 Google Play apps with a malicious backdoor were, reportedly, downloaded over 2 million times. These apps were automatically clicking on malicious ads without the user's permission. The only good news is that they were removed from the store as well.

In November, another 13 Google Play apps were deleted from the platform because they could have been used to download malware. It was recorded that these apps could have been downloaded 560,000 times. A similar amount of malicious apps were deleted in March of 2018 when Google discovered 7 apps capable of displaying ads and notifications with ad links. Although it might seem as if these kinds of apps are more annoying than anything else, ads can route you to malware websites, and they can be used to expose you to phishing notifications. Ultimately, Google is not removing apps randomly. If they are removed, that means that they are not meeting the security standards, and that is a big deal.

How to spot malicious apps on Google Play

It is crucial that you learn how to spot malicious apps on Google Play because that is your best chance of avoiding malicious Google Play apps in the first place. Even if you use antivirus software to protect your device – which you absolutely should do – it might not protect you against apps that, for example, do not have malicious code injected upon installation. As we discussed already, such code can be injected later on to bypass security controls and antivirus software.

These are the things you need to look at if you want to spot malicious apps on Google Play:

  • Reviews
  • Ratings
  • Descriptions
  • Author
  • Permissions
  • Updates

Even if an app has a 5/5 rating, and the reviews are mostly positive, you need to be cautious because these things can be forged, and that is not that hard to do as well. It is most important that you take the name of the app and the author and do a little bit of research. If you cannot find any incriminating data, you might think that the chosen Google Play app is harmless, but keep in mind that finding no information at all is not a good sign either.

Pay close attention to the permissions you are granting the Google Play apps you install. For example, if a photo editing app wants to access your phone calls, contacts, geographical location, and other data that is unrelated to photo-editing services, you need to be worried. Finally, it is also important that you install trustworthy security software to protect your device and ensure that you cannot be tricked into installing malicious apps in the future. Also, keep in mind that while Google Play Store is continuously being found to represent malicious apps, malware, and spyware, it is still the most reputable source for Android apps.

January 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 4 ?