耶魯大學畢業生了解他們的社會保障號碼已被洩露10年前

Yale Data Breach

如果發生物理盜竊,您很可能會注意到您的電視丟失了。然而,當談到萬維網時,情況會有所不同。我們過去曾談到數據洩露事件經常會在數月甚至數年內未被發現,不幸的是,耶魯大學最近提出了一個公告,證明了這一點。

數據洩露本身並不是非常不尋常。入侵者闖入大學的系統,並使用一個數據庫,其中包含姓名,社會安全號碼,以及大多數情況下,大約11.9萬校友,教職員工和工作人員的出生日期。耶魯大學表示,一些電子郵件地址也被竊取,並指出沒有任何財務信息受到損害。

該大學在對其中一台服務器進行安全審查時了解到該漏洞,但直到7月底才將通知發送給受影響的個人。現在,有一個特殊的頁面 ,受害者可以通過該頁面與耶魯大學的代表聯繫,他們將為大學支付的信用監控服務提供為期一年的訂閱。幾乎沒有什麼是不尋常的,直到你找到數據洩露發生的時間。

通知稱,肇事者在2008年4月至2009年1月期間訪問了受感染的數據庫。如果您還沒有查看日曆,那就是十年前。關於它如何發揮作用的詳細信息是不存在的,但很明顯,在過去十年中,大學的安全檢查沒有註意到出現問題,即使數據庫在2011年被清除,耶魯的IT團隊仍然沒有註意到這樣一個事實:以前訪問過它。

當數據洩露發生時,幾乎每個人心中的第一個問題是“誰做到了?”在正常情況下,歸因很困難。除非他們是完整的業餘愛好者,黑客才會知道他們可以做些什麼來掩蓋他們的踪跡。然而,當事件發生在十年前時,任何查明肇事者的希望都將失去。

該聲明確實表明沒有證據表明這些數據被濫用,但這些年來它一直存在的事實令人擔憂。此外,既然事件已經公開,壞人可能會決定濫用被盜信息的時間到了。毋庸置疑,受害者應該睜大眼睛,他們可能希望耶魯大學接受信用監測。對於我們其他人來說,這一事件可以提醒人們數據洩露的危險程度。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 5是什麼?

Yale Graduates Learn That Their Social Security Numbers Were Leaked 10 Years Ago

Yale Data Breach

In the event of physical theft, you will most likely notice that your TV is missing. When it comes to the World Wide Web, however, things are a bit different. We've talked in the past about how data breaches often go undetected for months or even years, and unfortunately, Yale University recently came up with an announcement that proves the point rather well.

The data breach itself isn't terribly unusual. The intruders broke into the university's systems and made off with a database that contained the names, social security numbers, and, in most cases, the dates of birth of around 119 thousand alumni, faculty members and staff. Yale University said that some email addresses were also stolen and pointed out that no financial information has been compromised.

The university learned of the breach in June during a security review of one of their servers, but it wasn't until the end of July when notifications were sent to the affected individuals. Right now, there's a special page through which victims can get in touch with Yale University representatives who will offer a one-year subscription to a credit monitoring service paid for by the university. Pretty much nothing is out of the ordinary, until, that is, you find out when the data breach occurred.

The notification says that the perpetrators gained access to the compromised database between April 2008 and January 2009. That, in case you haven't checked out the calendar, was ten years ago. Details on how it all played out are nonexistent, but it's clear that throughout the last decade, the university's security checks failed to notice that something was wrong, and even when the database was cleared in 2011, Yale's IT team remained oblivious to the fact that it had been accessed before.

When a data breach happens, the first question on nearly everyone's mind is "Who did it?" Under normal circumstances, attribution is difficult. Unless they're complete amateurs, the hackers will know what they can do to cover their tracks. When the incident happened ten years ago, however, any hope of pinpointing the perpetrator is lost.

The announcement does state that there's no evidence of the data being misused, but the mere fact that it's been floating around for all these years is concerning. Furthermore, now that the incident was made public, the bad guys might decide that the time to abuse the stolen information has come. Needless to say, the victims should keep their eyes peeled, and they might want to take Yale University on its credit monitoring offer. For the rest of us, the incident can serve as a reminder of just how dangerous data breaches could be.

August 6, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 6 ?