2019年Wawa數據洩露的後果:數百萬人的私人數據在暗網上出售

Wawa Data Breach Private Data Sold

上週,來自威脅情報公司Gemini Advisory的研究人員注意到 ,在Joker's Stash(暗網最受歡迎的信用卡信息被盜市場之一)上有一個新報價。它是由網站的主持人發布的(暱稱是JokerStash,頗為難以想像),名為BIGBADABOOM-III。雙子座的研究人員決定仔細研究網絡罪犯必須提供的東西。

1月27日,JokerStash上傳了前四個數據庫。該廣告指出,整個館藏包含超過3000萬條記錄,但上週的批次僅包含10萬條記錄。研究人員在數據庫中發現了很多偽造的地理位置數據,但他們也看到了很多真實的信息,並且花了很長時間才意識到它們的來源。

網絡犯罪分子正試圖通過12月的Wawa數據洩露獲利

去年12月,便利店和加油站連鎖店Wawa宣布其付款系統已被銷售點(PoS)惡意軟件感染。發現於12月10日進行,並在48小時內將惡意軟件刪除。然而,進一步的調查顯示,最初的妥協發生在9個月前的3月4日。

當時,Wawa的首席執行官Chris Gheysens並不完全確定違規的範圍,但他確實指出,在最初的感染到4月22日之間,該惡意軟件設法破壞了Wawa的“大部分”支付系統。位置。顯然,此後攻擊的強度有所降低,但是數據洩露通知確實表明該惡意軟件在某些商店中一直處於活動狀態,直到12月12日被完全遏制為止。

該惡意軟件的確切名稱目前仍未知,但我們知道它的行為與其他所有此類威脅非常相似。一旦商店的支付系統被感染,該惡意軟件就會被設計為在PoS終端上刷卡時復制存儲在信用卡和借記卡磁條上的所有數據。該數據包括卡號,持卡人姓名和有效期。正如Chris Gheysens在通知中指出的那樣,PoS惡意軟件無法竊取PIN和CVV代碼。

如果JokerStash所說的是真的,對Wawa的攻擊將導致3000萬張卡的洩露,這意味著這是歷史上最大的此類違規事件之一。再加上雙子座所說的事實,美國發行的卡的中位數價格徘徊在每張17美元左右,而非美國唱片的零售價大約在210美元左右,您至少會看到黑客能賺多少錢,至少理論上。

從騙子的角度來看,整件事聽起來太好了,難以置信

雙子座的專家在報告中指出,JokerStash很高興知道我們的數據來自何處。顯然,市場管理員通常試圖通過提供在已公開的違規行為中被盜的信用卡來提高信譽。不過,對於那些銀行卡遭到洩露的人來說,這可能也是個好消息。

違規已經成為事實,這意味著人們更有可能已經採取了一些措施來保護自己。例如,當Wawa第一次談論此事件時,它為所涉及的每個人提供了為期一年的免費身份盜竊和信用監控服務,我們確信至少有一些受害者利用了這一點。加油站連鎖店還承諾與因違規而看到信用卡欺詐付款但沒有退款的人們一起工作。

換句話說,Wawa漏洞的受害者應該準備好面對風險,這意味著JokerStash試圖推動的數據轉儲並不像最初看起來那樣吸引人。

February 6, 2020

發表評論

The Consequences of the 2019 Wawa Data Breach: Private Data of Millions Is Sold on the Dark Web

Wawa Data Breach Private Data Sold

Last week, researchers from threat intelligence firm Gemini Advisory noticed that there was a new offer on Joker's Stash, one of the Dark Web's most popular marketplaces for stolen credit card details. It was posted by the site's moderator (going by the rather unimaginative nickname of JokerStash), and it was named BIGBADABOOM-III. Gemini's researchers decided to take a closer look at what the cybercriminals had to offer.

On January 27, JokerStash uploaded the first four databases. The ad states that the entire collection comprises of more than 30 million records, but the last week's batch holds just 100 thousand. The researchers found quite a lot of falsified geolocation data inside the databases, but they also saw plenty of real information, and it didn't take them long to realize where it had come from.

Cybercriminals are trying to monetize December's Wawa data breach

In December, convenience store and gas station chain Wawa announced that its payment system had been infected with Point-of-Sale (PoS) malware. The discovery was made on December 10, and within 48 hours, the malware was removed. Further investigation revealed, however, that the initial compromise happened nine months earlier, on March 4.

At the time, Chris Gheysens, Wawa's CEO, wasn't entirely sure what the scope of the breach was, but he did note that between the initial infection and April 22, the malware managed to compromise the payment systems at "most" of Wawa's locations. Apparently, the attack's intensity decreased after that, but the data breach notice did imply that the malware continued to be active at some stores until it was completely contained on December 12.

The exact name of the malware remains unknown for now, but we do know that it acted pretty much like every other threat of this type. Once a store's payment system is infected, the malware is designed to copy all the data that is stored on the magnetic stripes of credit and debit cards when they are swiped at PoS terminals. This data includes the card's number, the name of the cardholder, and the expiration date. As Chris Gheysens pointed out in the notice, PoS malware can't steal PIN and CVV codes.

If what JokerStash says is true, the attack on Wawa resulted in the compromise of 30 million cards, which would mean that this is one of history's biggest breaches of this kind. Couple that with the fact that according to Gemini, the median price of US-issued cards hovers around $17 a pop while non-US records retail for around $210, and you'll see just how much money the hackers stand to make, at least in theory.

From the crooks' perspective, the whole thing sounds too good to be true

Gemini's experts noted in their report that JokerStash is happy that we know where the data is coming from. Apparently, the marketplace's administrator often tries to boost their credibility by offering credit cards stolen during breaches that have already been made public. This could also be good news for those who got their banking cards compromised, though.

The fact that the breach has already made the news means that people are more likely to have already taken some steps to protect themselves. When Wawa talked about the incident for the first time, for example, it offered free identity theft and credit monitoring services for one year to everyone involved, and we're sure that at least some of the victims have taken advantage of this. The gas station chain also promised to work with people who have seen fraudulent payments on their credit cards because of the breach but have received no refunds.

In other words, victims of the Wawa breach should be better prepared to face the risks, and this means that the data dump JokerStash is trying to push isn't as appealing as it seems at first.

February 6, 2020

Leave a Reply