您的个人数据是在黑暗网络上出售的6.2亿个账户中的一部分吗?

620 Million Records For Sale On The Dark Web

如果您想从16个不同的网站上窃取超过6.17亿个账户记录,您需要什么?我们有一个令人惊讶的具体答案。您需要一个互联网连接,价值约16,000美元的比特币,以及硬盘上43GB的免费存储空间。

这些数据在Dream Market上出售 - 一个黑暗的网络市场,任何拥有Tor浏览器的人都可以访问。在线IT杂志The Register是第一个报道细节的人。

提供什么?

再一次,答案非常具体。这是一个总结:

  • 从名为Dubsmash的视频消息应用程序中窃取了1.61亿条记录。记录包括用户名,电子邮件地址,用户ID,用户的居住国家和SHA256哈希密码。
  • 500px (一个在线摄影社区)窃取的记录不到1500万。受损数据包括用户名,电子邮件地址,名字和姓氏,出生日期,哈希盐以及使用MD5,SHA512或bcrypt进行过哈希处理的密码。
  • 来自另一个摄影师在线平台EyeEm的记录略多于2230万。大多数记录包含电子邮件地址和SHA1哈希密码。
  • 从健康和健身应用8fit中提取的记录不到2020万条。数据包括IP,名称,电子邮件地址,Facebook身份验证令牌以及来自连接的Facebook帐户的信息,个人用户的居住国家以及bcrypt-hashed密码。
  • 有1600万条记录属于Fotolog ,另一个是摄影师的社交网络。转储包含名称,安全问题和答案,电子邮件地址,SHA256哈希密码和其他配置文件信息。
  • 超过2500万条记录从Animoto手中被盗, Animoto是一个创建视频的平台。记录包括名字和姓氏,电子邮件地址,居住国家,出生日期,哈希盐和SHA256哈希密码。
  • 来自在线家谱平台MyHeritage的有超过9200万条记录被盗。数据包括创建受感染帐户的日期,电子邮件地址,SHA1哈希密码和哈希盐。
  • 来自Under Armour拥有的健身应用程序MyFitnessPal盗取了超过1.51亿条记录。每条记录包含一个IP地址,一个用户ID,一个用户名,一个电子邮件地址,一个为整个表修复的salt,以及一个SHA1哈希密码。
  • 从艺术收藏家的在线中心Artsy窃取了100万条记录。记录包括名称,电子邮件和IP地址,位置以及带盐的SHA512哈希密码。
  • 来自Armor Games的 1100万条记录被盗,这是一个基于浏览器的游戏网站。数据包括用户名,电子邮件地址,出生日期,SHA1哈希密码和盐,以及其他配置文件详细信息。
  • 来自Bookmate的电子订阅服务的800万条记录。大多数记录包含各种配置文件详细信息,用户名,电子邮件地址和带盐的SHA512哈希密码。
  • 来自约会网站CoffeeMeetsBagel的不到620万条记录。大多数记录包含姓名,电子邮件地址,注册日期,SHA256哈希密码和其他帐户详细信息。
  • DataCamp窃取的70万条记录,这是一个在线教育平台,供想要学习数据科学和编程的人们使用. 被盗数据包括电子邮件地址,bcrypt-hashed密码和其他个人资料详细信息。
  • 来自HauteLook的 2800万条记录被盗 ,这是一家销售服装和珠宝的电子商务企业。记录包含名称,电子邮件地址和bcrypt-hashed密码。
  • ShareThis中提取的4100万条记录,这是一个浏览器和博客平台的小部件,可以更轻松地共享内容。数据包含姓名,用户名,电子邮件地址,出生日期和其他个人资料信息以及DES哈希密码。
  • Whitepages (在线电话和地址目录)窃取的记录不到1800万条。数据包括使用SHA1或bcrypt进行哈希处理的名字和姓氏,电子邮件地址和密码。

大多数数据库显然是在2018年获得的,它们可以单独购买,价格从不到50美元到2000美元不等。卖家说有人已经购买了Dubsmash数据。

没有人知道大多数违规行为

我们过去谈到一些黑客攻击事件多年来一直未被发现,上面描述的数据宝库证明了这一点。在所有遭到破坏的供应商中,只有MyFitnessPalMyHeritage和Animoto去年披露了泄露的数据。其余的要么不知道这些事件,要么故意将它们包裹起来。

现在,这一切都曝光了。在The Register的报告于周一发布后不久,500px开始重置用户的密码,从那时起, EyeEmDataCamp也开始通知受影响的帐户所有者。当The Register联系时,一些供应商表示他们需要更多时间进行调查才能发布公告。

凭证填充者的梦想

希望所有受影响的各方能够尽早做他们需要做的事情,因为任何人都不会怀疑数据是否有效并可以使用。用户名和密码非常适合凭证填充攻击,部分原因在于它们有很多,部分原因是它们相对较新。 泄密收藏品最近引起了不少关注,因为它们所包含的数据量非常庞大而引起了很多关注。但是,由于这些数据转储中的用户名和密码在几年前被盗,因此其中许多都是无用的。由于这些最近的违规行为,提取有效凭据的可能性要大得多。

这部分是由于供应商的密码存储习惯。正如您所看到的,它们都没有以明文形式存储密码. 然而,许多人使用弱哈希算法,但这并不是很好。

MD5和SHA1可以相对容易地破解,甚至更复杂的算法如SHA256也可能被证明是易受攻击的,特别是如果实现不完美或密码不足。理论上,密码用bcrypt进行哈希处理的人应该是安全的,但即使是选择正确算法的供应商也会敦促用户更改密码。

在黑暗网络上销售的个人数据的价格

有时,可以通过Google访问的公共互联网论坛上找到大量的个人信息。如您所见,在其他情况下,数据在黑暗网络上出售。

但这并不是很贵。这些数据库中的一些记录包含大量个人信息,但单个记录的平均价格为0.00002美元。在您下次注册新服务时考虑这一点。

February 19, 2019

发表评论

Is Your Personal Data Among the 620 Million Accounts That Have Been Placed for Sale on the Dark Web?

620 Million Records For Sale On The Dark Web

What do you need if you want to get your hands on just over 617 million account records stolen from 16 different websites? We have a surprisingly specific answer. You need an internet connection, about $16 thousand worth of bitcoin, and just under 43GB of free storage space on your hard drive.

The data is for sale on Dream Market – a dark web marketplace that is accessible to anyone with a Tor browser. Online IT magazine The Register was the first to report on the details.

What's on offer?

Once again, the answer is pretty specific. Here's a summary:

  • 161 million records stolen from a video messaging application called Dubsmash. The records include usernames, email addresses, user IDs, the users' countries of residence, and SHA256-hashed passwords.
  • Just under 15 million records stolen from 500px, an online photography community. Compromised data includes, among other things, usernames, email addresses, first and last names, dates of birth, hash salts, and passwords that have been hashed with either MD5, SHA512, or bcrypt.
  • A little over 22.3 million records taken from EyeEm, another online platform for photographers. Most of the records consist of an email address and a SHA1-hashed password.
  • Just under 20.2 million records extracted from 8fit, a health and fitness app. The data consists of IPs, names, email addresses, Facebook authentication tokens and information from connected Facebook accounts, the country of residence of individual users, and bcrypt-hashed passwords.
  • 16 million records that belong to Fotolog, another social network for photographers. The dump contains names, security questions and answers, email addresses, SHA256-hashed passwords, and other profile information.
  • More than 25 million records stolen from Animoto, a platform for creating videos. The records include first and last names, email addresses, countries of residence, dates of birth, hash salts, and SHA256-hashed passwords.
  • A little over 92 million records stolen from MyHeritage, an online genealogy platform. The data includes the dates on which the compromised accounts were created, email addresses, SHA1-hashed passwords, and hash salts.
  • A little over 151 million records stolen from MyFitnessPal, a fitness app owned by Under Armour. Each record consists of an IP address, a user ID, a username, an email address, a salt that's fixed for the whole table, and a SHA1-hashed password.
  • 1 million records stolen from Artsy, an online hub for art collectors. The records include names, email and IP addresses, locations, and SHA512-hashed passwords with salts.
  • 11 million records stolen from Armor Games, a website for browser-based games. The data consists of usernames, email addresses, dates of birth, SHA1-hashed passwords and salts, as well as other profile details.
  • 8 million records taken from Bookmate, an eBook subscription service. Most of the records consist of various profile details, usernames, email addresses, and SHA512-hashed passwords with salts.
  • Just under 6.2 million records from CoffeeMeetsBagel, a dating website. Most of the records contain names, email addresses, dates of registration, SHA256-hashed passwords, and other account details.
  • 700 thousand records stolen from DataCamp, an online education platform for people who want to learn about data science and programming. The stolen data consists of email addresses, bcrypt-hashed passwords, and other profile details.
  • 28 million records pilfered from HauteLook, an e-commerce business selling clothes and jewelry. The records contain names, email addresses, and bcrypt-hashed passwords.
  • 41 million records extracted from ShareThis, a widget for browsers and blogging platforms that makes sharing content easier. The data contains names, usernames, email addresses, dates of birth and other profile information as well as DES-hashed passwords.
  • Just under 18 million records stolen from Whitepages, an online telephone and address directory. The data consists of first and last names, email addresses, and passwords that have been hashed with either SHA1 or bcrypt.

Most of the databases were apparently obtained in 2018, and they can be bought individually at prices ranging from just under $50 to around $2,000. The seller said that someone has already purchased the Dubsmash data.

Nobody knew about most of the breaches

We've talked in the past about how some hacking incidents remain undiscovered for years on end, and the treasure trove of data described above proves the point rather well. Of all the vendors that were breached, only MyFitnessPal, MyHeritage, and Animoto disclosed the leaked data last year. The rest either didn't know about the incidents or were deliberately keeping them under wraps.

Now, it's all coming to light. Shortly after The Register's report went out on Monday, 500px started resetting users' passwords, and since then, EyeEm and DataCamp have also begun notifying the affected account owners. When contacted by The Register, some of the vendors said that they need more time to investigate before they can make a public announcement.

A credential stuffer's dream

Hopefully, all affected parties will do what they need to do sooner rather than later because there's little doubt in anyone's mind that the data is valid and can be used. The usernames and passwords are perfect for credential stuffing attacks partly because there's so many of them, and partly because they're relatively new. The Leaked Collections that recently made quite a few headlines attracted a lot of attention because of the sheer volume of data that they contained. Because the usernames and passwords in those data dumps were stolen years ago, however, many of them are useless. With these more recent breaches, the chances of extracting valid credentials are much more significant.

This is in part due to the vendors' password storage habits. As you can see, none of them stored passwords in plaintext which is good. Many used weak hashing algorithms, however, which is not so good.

MD5 and SHA1 can be cracked with relative ease, and even more complex algorithms like SHA256 can prove to be vulnerable, especially if the implementation is not perfect or if the password is weak. In theory, people whose passwords were hashed with bcrypt should be safe, but even the vendors that chose the right algorithm are urging users to change their passwords.

The price of personal data sold on the dark web

Sometimes, vast quantities of personal information can be found on a public internet forum that can be reached via Google. As you can see, in other cases, the data is sold on the dark web.

It's not exactly expensive, though. Some of the records in these databases contain quite a lot of personal information, and yet, the average price of a single record is $0.00002. Think about this the next time you're signing up for a new service.

February 13, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 9 ?