随着隐私和安全问题的不断出现,冠状病毒使Zoom越来越受欢迎

Zoom Security Privacy Issues

视频会议应用程序Zoom的开发人员无法休息,这不足为奇。由于COVID-19大流行,数以百万计的工人被困在家中,人们需要找到组织在线会议和远程协调工作的方法,而Zoom似乎是解决这一问题的理想工具。还可以使用其他解决方案,例如Microsoft的Teams,但它们似乎并不能像Zoom那样满足企业的需求,并且有关错误和停机的报告并不能真正解决问题。话虽如此,Zoom有其自身的问题,而且它们的数量似乎正在增加。

当人们梳理其数据共享机制并发现大量用户信息被发送到Facebook时,该平台首次遭到批评。后来,正当世界上一些超级大国的领导人开始使用该服务来管理其国家时,据透露,Zoom使用“端到端加密”一词误导了人们。不太理想的默认设置还产生了一种称为“ zoombombing”的过程,在此过程中,巨魔无需输入密码即可加入并中断其他人的会议。 Zoom的开发人员拼命设法保持现状,但是随着越来越多的问题出现,这变得越来越困难。

有关Zoom桌面客户端的更多安全问题

3月下旬,一名安全研究人员通过Twitter句柄@ _g0dmode与世界其他地方分享了攻击者在理论上如何能够窃取Zoom用户的Windows登录凭据的消息, 从而掀起了一阵风暴。问题在于Zoom会将URL和UNC文件路径都转换为可单击的链接。如此一来,用户将单击恶意的UNC链接而无需考虑太多,并且会无意间指示其Windows计算机通过服务器消息块(SMB)协议连接到远程服务器。这样做,操作系统将发送Windows用户名和密码的哈希版本,这对于现代硬件来说是微不足道的。

屏幕截图和视频证明了从理论上讲可以进行攻击,但是许多研究人员认为这不是真正的威胁。首先,大多数企业VPN(目前有很多远程工作者正在使用)和许多ISP都不允许Windows计算机通过古老的SMB协议进行通信这一事实可能会阻止这种攻击。一些专家还认为,这种特殊攻击利用Windows而非Zoom本身。

尽管如此,谷歌的塔维斯·奥曼迪(Tavis Ormandy) 提出了另一种情况,即混淆的UNC链接可能会悄悄地执行恶意文件。这次,没有人怀疑该错误的严重性,并且Zoom的开发人员做出了反应。他们决定从现在开始,在线会议应用程序将不会将URL和UNC文件路径转换为可单击的链接,这可能是正确的选择。不幸的是,尽管Zoom能够解决某些问题,但其他问题仍然不受其控制。

安全专家注意到新注册的与Zoom有关的域激增

网络罪犯知道其潜在受害者感兴趣的内容。他们积极监视搜索趋势,并尝试充分利用当前的热门关键字。鉴于此,英国领先的注册服务商之一阻止了大约600个冠状病毒主题域名的注册,这并不令人感到意外。我们也看到Zoom会议平台出现了类似的趋势,这也不足为奇。

Check Point的研究人员最近表示 ,在2020年第一季度,他们目睹了不少于1,700个新域名的注册,其中包含“ zoom”一词。其中25%是在三月的最后一周创建的。

显然,并非所有人都是恶意的。根据Check Point的调查,到目前为止,只有4%的服务器显示出“可疑特征”,而且必须说,某些域可能与视频会议平台无关。尽管如此,研究人员说,除了大量域名注册外,他们还看到了一些以在线会议服务命名的恶意文件,因此,对Zoom用户的攻击肯定会受到打击。如果您是潜在目标之一,则应格外小心。

April 8, 2020

发表评论

The Coronavirus Makes Zoom More and More Popular as Privacy and Security Problems Continue to Emerge

Zoom Security Privacy Issues

The developers of video conferencing application Zoom can't catch a break, and this is hardly surprising. With millions of workers stuck at home because of the COVID-19 pandemic, people need to find ways of organizing online meetings and coordinating work remotely, and Zoom seems to be the perfect tool for that. Other solutions like Microsoft's Teams are available, but they don't seem to fit businesses' needs as well as Zoom does, and reports of bugs and downtime are not really helping their cause. That being said, Zoom has its own problems, and their number appears to be increasing.

The platform was first criticized when people combed through its data-sharing mechanisms and discovered that quite a lot of user information was sent to Facebook. Later, just as the leaders of some of the world's superpowers were starting to use the service to govern their countries, it was revealed that Zoom had misled people with the use of the term "end-to-end encryption." A less-than-perfect default setup also gave birth to something called "zoombombing," during which trolls would join and disrupt other people's meetings without the need to enter a password. Zoom's developers are desperately trying to stay on top of the situation, but as more and more problems emerge, this is becoming increasingly difficult.

More security problems surrounding Zoom's desktop clients

In late-March, a security researcher going by the Twitter handle @_g0dmode kicked up a bit of a storm when he shared with the rest of the world how an attacker could theoretically steal a Zoom user's Windows login credentials. The problem lay with the fact that Zoom would convert both URLs and UNC file paths into clickable links. As a result, a user would click on a malicious UNC link without thinking too much about it and would inadvertently instruct his Windows machine to connect to a remote server via the Server Message Block (SMB) protocol. In doing so, the operating system would send the Windows username and a hashed version of the password that is trivial to crack with modern hardware.

Screenshots and videos proved that the attack is theoretically possible, but many researchers argued that it's not a real threat. For one, such an attack could be hampered by the fact that most corporate VPNs (which quite a few remote workers use at the moment) and many ISPs wouldn't allow Windows machines to communicate through the ancient SMB protocol. Some of the experts also reckon that this particular attack exploits Windows rather than Zoom itself.

Nevertheless, Google's Tavis Ormandy presented another scenario in which an obfuscated UNC link might silently execute a malicious file. This time, nobody doubted the seriousness of the bug, and Zoom's developers reacted. They decided that from now on, the online meetings app won't convert URLs and UNC file paths into clickable links, which is probably the right call. Unfortunately, while Zoom is able to solve some of the issues, others remain outside its control.

Security experts notice a surge in newly-registered Zoom-related domains

Cybercriminals know what their potential victims are interested in. They actively monitor the search trends and try to make the most of the current hot keywords. In light of this, it shouldn't really be a surprise that one of the UK's leading registrars blocked the registration of around 600 coronavirus-themed domain names. It also shouldn't be a surprise that we're seeing a similar trend with the Zoom meeting platform.

Researchers from Check Point recently said that during the first quarter of 2020, they've witnessed the registration of no fewer than 1,700 new domains with the word "zoom" in them. 25% of them were created during the last week of March.

Obviously, not all of them are malicious. Only 4% of them have shown "suspicious characteristics" so far according to Check Point, and it must be said that some of the domains probably have nothing to do with the video conferencing platform. Nevertheless, the researchers said that in addition to the influx of domain registrations, they've also seen a few malicious files named after the online conference service, so attacks on Zoom users are definitely on the cards. If you're one of the potential targets, you should be extra careful.

April 8, 2020

One Comment

  • tecnicogeek:

    Y para cerrar el dato sobre zoom. Una empresa china que cotizaba en la bolsa con el símbolo 'ZOOM', la cual los inversores la estaban confundiendo con la empresa de Zoom Video Communications que cotiza bajo el símbolo de ZM. Afortunadamente por el momento la SEC ha suspendido a la empresa china por la confusión de los inversores y porque no comunica ningún dato desde el 2015.

Leave a Reply