5個安全提示,可幫助您保護IoT設備

流行的東西都有陰暗面。最終增長的任何事物都必鬚麵對許多威脅,以試圖降低或利用它。物聯網似乎正在成為網絡世界中的下一個最好的事物,並且通常會打開一整套的物聯網漏洞。

在此條目中,我們希望引起您對由於IoT設備而可能遇到的問題的注意。我們將為您簡要概述物聯網面臨的威脅,然後我們將通過一些技巧來幫助您保護設備免受惡意利用。

什麼是物聯網?

從技術上講,物聯網是一組連接到Internet的設備。雖然我們大多數人通常在連接互聯網時會想到計算機和手機,但事實是,如今,您幾乎可以將任何東西插入網絡世界。它可以是您的監控攝像機,加熱器,手錶或冰箱。

實際上,我們實際上在這裡詳細介紹了物聯網主題,因此,如果您想了解更多信息,請不要猶豫,查看我們以前的博客文章。關鍵是,如果IoT設備連接到Internet,則意味著它具有IP地址,並且其存在已映射。它在網絡世界中留下了痕跡。任何留下痕蹟的東西都可以使用。連接到Internet的任何東西都可以使用和濫用。因此,我們必須意識到物聯網漏洞,以保護我們的物聯網設備,我們的網絡和我們的個人數據。

物聯網的安全困境

由於物聯網的規模越來越大,因此自然而然地,針對物聯網設備的網絡攻擊也在增加。根據卡巴斯基的報告 ,2019年上半年對智能物聯網設備的攻擊超過1億次。與2018年上半年報告的數量相比,攻擊實例增長了近9倍。攻擊的興起似乎與IoT網絡的增長成正比,因為預計到2021年 IoT市場將翻一番

您可能想知道,為什麼會有人想要入侵您的智能冰箱?或利用路由器有什麼用?在大多數情況下,黑客可以利用物聯網漏洞創建強大的殭屍網絡。這些殭屍網絡可以在以後通過分佈式拒絕服務(DDoS)攻擊獲利,或用作各種其他惡意行為的代理。這裡最重要的是,受害者通常不知道其物聯網設備已遭到破壞的事實。

這是否意味著攻擊非常複雜?並不是的。攻擊是非常基本的,但是所有事情都發生在用戶的背後,因此該設備可能會在一段時間內被破壞,然後再對其進行任何處理。

有三種主要的惡意軟件家族負責這些攻擊:Mirai,Nyadrop和Gafgyt。 Mirai和Nyadrop是最大的感染組。 Mirai使用IoT設備中的舊漏洞來對其進行黑客攻擊,而Nyadrop和Gafgyt使用密碼暴力破解來破解該設備。儘管有多種方法可以幫助您保護IoT設備,但是最常見的感染媒介從我們可以開始的地方為我們提供了一個好主意。

如何保護物聯網設備

1.定期更新設備

諸如Mirai之類的惡意軟件家族利用了舊軟件版本中存在的漏洞。如果您尚未在IoT設備上啟用自動更新功能,則應立即執行此操作。更新隨附最新的安全功能和漏洞修補程序,可幫助您避免潛在的黑客嘗試。

2.使用強密碼

如前所述,密碼暴力破解是入侵物聯網設備的一種常用方法。但是,強大而獨特的密碼使實現此目標變得更加困難。如果您認為不能創建強密碼並定期更改密碼,則應使用Cyclonis Password Manager 。這個免費的工具可以為您生成和存儲密碼,因此您無需記住任何內容。而且您的物聯網設備將受到保護,免受惡意攻擊。

3.注意公共Wi-Fi網絡

在考慮可穿戴式物聯網設備時,我們必須記住,它們經常必須連接到Wi-Fi網絡以存儲您的個人數據。不用說,並非所有公共Wi-Fi網絡都足夠安全進行私人數據傳輸。因此,如果您知道自己將處於共享網絡中,那麼最好將可穿戴設備留在家中。您不希望您的數據被惡意的第三方入侵,而該第三方可能正在“監聽”該網絡!

4.雲存儲風險

雲存儲技術可能是目前最好的技術之一,它也是抵禦勒索軟件感染威脅的良方。但是,您應該認真考慮您是否真的要將每個IoT設備連接到雲。我們必須記住,我們需要在設備和雲服務之間建立連接以訪問您的數據,因此,如果您的設備遭到破壞,則保存在雲中的數據也可能會變得可訪問。在選擇要連接到雲的設備時,權衡所有利弊。

5.關閉UPnP

UPnP代表通用即插即用。它是一組網絡協議,它允許連接到同一網絡的多個設備識別並相互連接。當您需要在設備之間建立連接時,此功能很好,但是如果該功能不是自動的,則更好。問題在於,打開UPnP後,任何物聯網設備都可能容易受到外部訪問。我們絕對希望避免這種情況。

總而言之,如果您仔細查看所有IoT設備功能,您肯定會發現可以採取哪些措施來提高整體IoT安全級別。如果您不知所措,請不要忘記可以隨時諮詢專業人士。

December 6, 2019

發表評論

5 Security Tips That Will Help You Protect Your IoT Devices

There’s a dark side to anything popular. Anything that grows eventually has to face a number of threats trying to bring it down or exploit it. It seems that the Internet of Things is becoming the next best thing in the cyber world, and that, as a rule, opens an entire can of Internet of Things vulnerabilities.

In this entry, we would like to draw your attention to the problems you might experience due to your IoT device. We will give you a short overview of the threats that Internet of Things faces, and then we will go through several tips that will help you protect your devices from malicious exploitation.

What is Internet of Things?

Technically, Internet of Things is a group of devices that are connected to the Internet. While most of us usually think of computers and mobile phones when it comes to the Internet connection, the truth is that these days you can plug almost anything into the cyber world. It can be your surveillance camera, your heater, your watch, or your refrigerator.

We actually covered the topic of the Internet of Things in greater detail here, so if you want to find out more, don’t hesitate to check out our previous blog post. The point is that, if an IoT device is connected to the Internet, it means it has an IP address, and its presence is mapped. It leaves a trace in the cyber world. Anything that leaves a trace can be used. Anything that is connected to the Internet can be used AND misused, too. Therefore, we have to be aware of the Internet of things vulnerabilities to protect our IoT devices, our networks, and our personal data.

The security woes of Internet of things

Since the network of Internet of things is getting bigger, it is only natural that the number of cyber attacks against IoT devices is growing, too. According to the Kaspersky reports, the first half of 2019 saw more than 100 million attacks against smart IoT devices. Compared to the number reported for the first half of 2018, the attack instances rose almost nine times. It seems that the rise of attacks is proportionate to the growth of the IoT network, as the IoT markets are expected to double by 2021.

You probably wonder, why would anyone want to hack your smart fridge? Or what’s the use of exploiting your router? For the most part, hackers can exploit Internet of things vulnerabilities to create powerful botnets. These botnets can be later on monetized for Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks or used as proxies for a variety of other malicious actions. The most important thing here is that victims often are not aware of the fact that their IoT device has been compromised.

Does that mean that the attacks are highly sophisticated? Not really. The attacks are quite basic, but everything happens behind the user’s back, so the device can remain compromised for a while before anything is done about it.

There are three main malware families that are responsible for these attacks: Mirai, Nyadrop, and Gafgyt. Mirai and Nyadrop are the biggest groups of infections. Mirai uses old vulnerabilities in IoT devices to hack them, while Nyadrop and Gafgyt employ password brute-forcing to crack the device. Although there are multiple ways to help you protect your IoT devices, the most common infection vectors give us a good idea from where we can start.

How to protect IoT devices

1. Update your device regularly

Malware families like Mirai exploit vulnerabilities that are present in the old software versions. If you haven’t enabled automatic update feature on your IoT device, you should do it right now. Updates come with the latest security features and vulnerability patches that will help you avoid potential hacking attempts.

2. Use strong passwords

As mentioned, password brute-forcing is a common way to hack into the Internet of Things devices. However, strong and unique passwords make it harder to achieve that. If you don’t think you can create a strong password and change it regularly, you should employ Cyclonis Password Manager. This free tool can generate and store passwords for you, so you won’t have to memorize anything. And your IoT device will be protected from malicious attacks.

3. Be careful of public Wi-Fi networks

When we think about wearable IoT devices, we have to remember that they often have to connect to Wi-Fi networks to store your personal data. Needless to say, not all public Wi-Fi networks are safe enough for private data transfers. So, if you know that you will be in a place with a shared network, maybe it’s for the best to leave your wearable device at home. You don’t want your data hacked by a malevolent third-party that might be “listening” in on that network!

4. Cloud storage risk

Cloud storage technology is probably one of the best things out there, and it is also a good remedy against the threat of a ransomware infection. However, you should seriously consider whether you really want to connect EVERY SINGLE IoT device to a cloud. We have to remember that we need a connection between a device and the cloud service to access your data, so if your device gets compromised, the data that you keep on the cloud might become accessible, too. Weigh all pros and cons, when you choose the devices you want to connect to your cloud.

5. Turn off UPnP

UPnP stands for Universal Plug and Play. It’s a set of networking protocols that allows several devices connected to the same network recognize and connect to each other. This feature is good when you need that connection between your devices, but it would be better if the feature weren’t automatic. The problem is that with the UPnP turned on, any IoT device could be vulnerable to outside access. And we definitely want to avoid that.

All in all, if you go through all the IoT device features carefully, you will definitely see what you can do to improve the overall IoT security level. Don’t forget that you can always consult a professional if you feel at a loss.

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply