WhatsApp間諜軟件更新:它現在可以從Facebook,微軟,亞馬遜,谷歌和蘋果竊取您的數據

我們的移動電話和計算機存儲了大量的個人信息和敏感信息,現在網絡犯罪分子對竊取此類數據非常感興趣並不是秘密。因此,保護數據免受間諜軟件和其他旨在記錄信息的惡意軟件的需求正在增加。不久前,網絡安全專家了解到所謂的WhatsApp間諜軟件 ,這是一種旨在從WhatsApp用戶那裡獲取私人數據的威脅。不幸的是,最新的研究證實該應用程序得到了升級,現在可以允許惡意軟件記錄來自微軟Facebook亞馬遜谷歌蘋果賬戶的數據。在這篇博文中,我們討論了WhatsApp間諜軟件以及用戶應該如何保護數據免受間諜軟件攻擊。

什麼是WhatsApp間諜軟件?

眾所周知,這種間諜軟件是由以色列網絡監控公司NSO集團創建的 。該組織開發並向政府和執法機構銷售間諜軟件。您可能想知道為什麼這樣的公司會突然開始與黑客合作。一些網絡犯罪分子更有可能設法獲得NSO集團創建的間諜軟件並將其變成WhatsApp間諜軟件。

WhatsApp間諜軟件所基於的間諜軟件稱為Pegasus。據悉,該工具可以從iPhone和Android手機中提取所有數據。例如,它可以記錄目標受害者的短信,電子郵件,聯繫人,瀏覽器歷史記錄和其他敏感信息。該應用程序甚至可能允許攻擊者訪問受感染設備的攝像頭和麥克風,這可以幫助黑客獲取更多私人信息。

可怕的事實是,不知道有多少用戶可能受到WhatsApp間諜軟件的影響,因為到目前為止只有一個已知案例。

WhatsApp間諜軟件如何進入系統?

惡意軟件通過利用WhatsApp中發現的特定漏洞進入。顯然,黑客唯一要做的就是發出WhatsApp語音電話。無論受害者是否應答呼叫都沒關係,因為一旦呼叫成立,威脅就會陷入其中。換句話說,惡意應用程序不會試圖欺騙用戶做某事來感染系統。更糟糕的是,WhatsApp間諜軟件可以刪除通話記錄,以便受害者不會發現它。

以下WhatsApp版本存在可能允許間諜軟件進入的漏洞: v2.19.134之前的WhatsApp for Android,v2.19.44之前的 WhatsApp Business for Android,v2.19.51 之前的 WhatsApp for iOS,v2之前的WhatsApp Business for iOS .19.51v2.18.348之前的WhatsApp for Windows Phone ,以及v2.18.15之前的 WhatsApp for Tizen 。所有這些版本都收到了一個更新,消除了間諜軟件利用的弱點。當然,如果你還沒有更新你的WhatsApp,你應該立即這樣做。

WhatsApp間諜軟件如何從其他帳戶中竊取個人數據?

WhatsApp間諜軟件背後的黑客似乎沒有休息,而消息傳遞應用程序的開發人員正在忙於修補其漏洞,因為網絡犯罪分子似乎升級了間諜軟件. 據信,新的WhatsApp間諜軟件版本可能不僅可以竊取受感染移動電話的用戶信息,還可以竊取受害者帳戶(如Apple,Microsoft,Facebook,Amazon和Google)的用戶信息。

據說升級可以記錄甚至在手機上沒有同步的信息,例如位置歷史記錄或存檔消息。可悲的事實是,網絡安全專家無法解釋惡意軟件如何能夠實現這一點,但他們確實有一個理論。一些研究人員認為,間諜軟件可能能夠克隆Google Drive或Facebook Messenger等服務的身份驗證密鑰,這可能允許完美地模仿目標手機並訪問他們所連接的帳戶。

如何保護數據免受間諜軟件的侵害?

為了保護您的數據免受WhatsApp間諜軟件的侵害,您應該做的第一件事就是更新應用程序。正如我們之前所說,由於已經修補過的特定漏洞,惡意軟件能夠進入,因此只要您擁有最新的WhatsApp版本,您的手機就可以安全地抵禦第一種間諜軟件。

但是,請記住,有許多其他間諜軟件應用程序,並且每天都在創建更多的間諜軟件應用程序。這意味著,如果您想保護您的設備免受所有間諜軟件的侵害,您將不得不採取更多預防措施。由於利用漏洞是間諜軟件以及其他惡意軟件獲取系統訪問權限的方法之一,因此我們強烈建議您將手機或計算機上安裝的所有工具保持最新。過時的軟件也會使您的密碼面臨風險,如果您想了解具體方法,請查看此博客文章

接下來,建議遠離不可靠的網站,因為與其上可用的資料交互或啟動通過它們下載的文件可能導致安裝間諜軟件。此外,您永遠不應打開垃圾郵件收到的附件或鏈接或來自未知發件人的電子郵件。發送網絡釣魚電子郵件是一種流行的方式,不僅可以分發間諜軟件,還可以分發勒索軟件,特洛伊木馬和其他威脅。因此,如果您希望避免此類惡意軟件,您應該學習如何發現和避免網絡釣魚詐騙

最後,我們建議使用可以警告您惡意應用程序並確保您的隱私安全的安全工具。一些反惡意軟件工具可以提供反間諜軟件功能,通過掃描所有傳入數據和阻止惡意內容來防止實時攻擊。

總而言之,即使看起來值得信賴的應用程序似乎也存在缺陷,因此您應該始終關注網絡安全新聞。如果您做出快速反應,您可能會在設備成為網絡犯罪分子的目標之前及時採取必要的安全預防措施。目前尚不清楚WhatsApp新的間諜軟件版本何時出現以及如何保護我們的設備,但希望網絡安全專家能夠盡快為我們提供解決方案。與此同時,如果您希望了解有關此類惡意軟件的更多信息以及如何保護數據免受間諜軟件的侵害,您可以繼續閱讀此處

August 21, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 5是什麼?

WhatsApp Spyware Update: It Can Now Steal Your Data from Facebook, Microsoft, Amazon, Google, and Apple

Our mobile phones and computers store lots of personal and sensitive information, and it is not a secret that nowadays cybercriminals are incredibly interested in stealing such data. Thus, the need to secure data against spyware and other malware designed to record information is increasing. Not so long ago, cybersecurity experts learned about the so-called WhatsApp spyware, a threat that was designed to obtain private data from WhatsApp users. Unfortunately, the latest research confirmed that the application got an upgrade that could now allow the malware to record data from Microsoft, Facebook, Amazon, Google, and Apple accounts too. In this blog post, we discuss WhatsApp spyware and what a user ought to do to secure data against spyware.

What is WhatsApp spyware?

It is known that this spyware was created by the Israeli cyber surveillance company known as NSO group. The organization develops and sells spyware to governments and law enforcement institutions. You may wonder why such a company would start cooperating with hackers all of a sudden. It is more likely that some cybercriminals managed to obtain the NSO group’s created spyware and turned it into WhatsApp spyware.

The spyware on which WhatsApp spyware has been based on is called Pegasus. It is reported that the tool can extract all data from iPhone and Android mobile phones. For example, it could record targeted victims’ text messages, emails, contacts, browser history, and other sensitive information. The application might even allow an attacker to access the infected device's camera and microphone, which can help hackers obtain even more private information.

The scary fact is that it is unknown how many users might have been affected by WhatsApp spyware as there is only one known case so far.

How does WhatsApp spyware enter a system?

The malware gets in by exploiting a particular vulnerability that was discovered in WhatsApp. Apparently, the only thing the hackers have to do is place a WhatsApp voice call. It does not matter if a victim answers the call or not, as once the call is made the threat settles in. In other words, the malicious application does not try to trick users into doing something to infect a system. What’s even worse is that WhatsApp spyware can delete the log of the call so that a victim would not find out about it.

The following WhatsApp versions have the vulnerability that might allow the spyware to enter: WhatsApp for Android prior to v2.19.134, WhatsApp Business for Android prior to v2.19.44, WhatsApp for iOS prior to v2.19.51, WhatsApp Business for iOS prior to v2.19.51, WhatsApp for Windows Phone prior to v2.18.348, and WhatsApp for Tizen prior to v2.18.15. All of these versions received an update that eliminates the weakness that the spyware exploits to get in. Naturally, if you have not updated your WhatsApp yet, you should do so immediately.

How can WhatsApp spyware steal personal data from other accounts?

It looks like hackers behind the WhatsApp spyware did not rest while the messaging application’s developers were busy with patching its vulnerability since it seems like the cybercriminals upgraded the spyware. It is believed that the new WhatsApp spyware version might be able to steal user information not only from an infected mobile phone, but also from a victim’s accounts, such as Apple, Microsoft, Facebook, Amazon, and Google.

It is said that the upgrade might make it possible to record information that is not even synced on the phone, such as location history or archived messages. The sad truth is that cybersecurity specialists cannot explain yet how the malware might be able to achieve this, but they do have a theory. Some researchers believe that the spyware might be able to clone authentication keys of services like Google Drive or Facebook Messenger, which may allow imitating targeted mobile phones perfectly and accessing accounts they are connected to.

How to secure data against spyware?

The first thing you ought to do to secure your data against WhatsApp spyware is to update the application. As we said earlier, the malware was able to get in because of a particular vulnerability that has been already patched, so as long as you have the latest WhatsApp version, your phone should be safe against the first variant of spyware.

However, keep it in mind that there are lots of other spyware applications, and that more of them are being created every day. Meaning, if you want to protect your device from all spyware, you will have to take more precautions. Since exploiting vulnerabilities is one of the ways for spyware as well as other malware to gain access to systems, we highly recommend keeping all tools you might have installed on your phone or computer up to date. Outdated software can also put your passwords at risk, and if you want to know how, you should have a look at this blog post.

Next, it is advisable to stay away from unreliable websites as interacting with material available on them or launching files downloaded through them could result in installing spyware. Also, you should never open attachments or links received with Spam emails or emails from unknown senders. Sending phishing emails is a popular way to distribute not only spyware, but also ransomware, Trojans, and other threats. Thus, if you wish to avoid such malware, you should learn how to spot and avoid phishing scams.

Lastly, we recommend using security tools that could warn you about malicious applications and keep your privacy safe. Some antimalware tools can offer anti-spyware features that can protect from real-time attacks by scanning all incoming data and blocking malicious content.

To conclude, even applications that seem to be trustworthy can appear to have weaknesses, so you should always follow cybersecurity news. If you react quickly, you might be able to take necessary safety precautions in time before your device gets targeted by cybercriminals. It is yet unknown when the new WhatsApp spyware version might show up and how to protect our devices from it, but, hopefully, cybersecurity experts will be able to offer us a solution soon enough. In the meantime, if you wish to know more about such malware and how to secure data against spyware, you could continue reading here.

August 22, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 8 ?