什麽是劫持以及如何保護您的密碼?

Formjacking Attacks

新聞中最常提到的兩類網絡攻擊是什麼?第一個可能已經超出你想法的是勒索軟件,這並不奇怪。除了這是一種常見的攻擊之外,在支付贖金之前將無辜用戶的文件扣為人質的概念吸引了主流商店試圖銷售新聞。 Cryptojacking也可能在您的列表中。幾年前的加密貨幣熱潮給密碼劫持帶來了巨大的推動,媒體仍然試圖讓人們提醒。

然而,有一種威脅沒有得到像cryptojacking或勒索軟件那麼多的關注,這是不幸的,因為用戶肯定應該知道它。它被稱為劫持,雖然這可能是你第一次聽說它,但你應該記住,它與任何其他形式的網絡犯罪一樣危險。

什麼是劫掠?

formjacking ”一詞是“ 在線形式 ”和“ 劫持 ”的集合體 。通常,它針對電子商務網站上的結賬頁面,人們輸入他們的信用卡詳細信息或其他財務信息,但攻擊也可用於竊取登錄表單上的用戶名和密碼。其主要優點之一是難以檢測。普通用戶無法知道他們的財務或登錄數據是否落入網絡犯罪分子的手中,並且無意中促成攻擊的網站所有者通常也不會更明智。

在大多數情況下,黑客利用漏洞或使用網站管理員竊取的憑據,以便在目標在線表單上註入惡意代碼。該代碼會刪除個人數據,登錄憑據和信用卡信息,並將其被盜的所有內容髮送到受攻擊者控制的服務器。但是,與此同時,它確保頁面按預期工作,並且任何登錄嘗試和付款都順利完成。這樣,用戶和網站管理員都不太可能懷疑任何事情。

劫掠常見嗎?

它比你想像的更常見。來自F5實驗室的研究人員最近收集了大量數據洩露報告並對其進行了檢查,以試圖識別和了解有關網絡犯罪世界最新趨勢的更多信息。 事實證明 ,他們分析的70%以上的基於網絡的攻擊是在劫持的幫助下進行的。

研究人員共調查了80次劫持攻擊事件,他們發現在他們身上受到攻擊的卡片的數量不到140萬。這些數字表明,我們正在談論真正的威脅,它會造成真正的傷害並影響到很多人。

為什麼網絡犯罪分子喜歡劫持?

如您所見,它是竊取敏感數據的有效方式。不需要花費大量的時間和精力來完成它,正如F5實驗室的專家在他們的報告中所解釋的那樣,越來越分散的網絡使得攻擊者的工作變得更加容易。

過去,網站或Web應用程序曾經是一個託管在單個服務器上的單一事物,由一個開發團隊創建和維護。這已不再是這種情況。大多數現代網站使用多種技術解決方案,這些解決方案由許多不同的提供商維護,並且遍布全球。一方面,這增加了攻擊面. 另一方面,它讓黑客有機會用一塊石頭擊中許多鳥類。

騙子可以針對提供此類服務的公司,而不是黑客攻擊各個網站的登錄表單或付款頁面。這樣,單個成功的攻擊可能會影響數百個網站,並可能影響數百萬用戶。

如何打擊劫持?

黑客們喜歡形成劫持的另一個好處 - 你可以做的事情並不多。正如我們已經提到的,對於大多數用戶來說,這種類型的攻擊是完全不可見的,並且由於各種不同的原因,網站運營商和第三方服務提供商有時不能或不願意採取必要的預防措施以確保攻擊者可以不要篡改他們的代碼。

希望供應商很快在這方面取得一些實際進展。在此之前,您需要密切關注您的在線和銀行帳戶,並在發現可疑情況時迅速採取行動。為您正在使用的所有網站創建強大,唯一的密碼 ,並儘可能使用多重身份驗證 。這很可能足以保護您免受劫持攻擊。

August 16, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 2是什麼?

What Is Formjacking and How to Protect Your Passwords Against It?

Formjacking Attacks

Which are the two types of cyberattacks that are most frequently mentioned in the news? The first one that has probably crossed your mind is ransomware, and this is hardly surprising. Quite apart from the fact that it's a common attack, the concept of holding innocent users' files hostage until a ransom is paid is appealing to mainstream outlets trying to sell news. Cryptojacking is also likely on your list. The cryptocurrency craze from a couple of years ago gave cryptojacking a massive boost, and the media is still trying to give people a heads-up.

There is one threat that doesn't receive nearly as much attention as cryptojacking or ransomware, however, which is unfortunate since users should definitely know about it. It's called formjacking, and although this may be the first time you've heard of it, you should bear in mind that it's just as dangerous as any other form of cybercrime.

What is formjacking?

The term "formjacking" is a portmanteau of "online form" and "hijacking". Usually, it's aimed at checkout pages on e-commerce websites where people enter their credit card details or other financial information, but the attack can also be used for stealing usernames and passwords on login forms. One of its main advantages is that it's difficult to detect. Regular users have no way of knowing that their financial or login data is going into the hands of cybercriminals, and the owner of the website that inadvertently facilitates the attack often remains none the wiser as well.

In most cases, hackers exploit a vulnerability or use stolen credentials from a website administrator in order to inject malicious code on the targeted online form. The code scrapes personal data, login credentials, and credit card information and sends everything it's stolen to a server controlled by the attackers. At the same time, however, it ensures that the page works as intended and any login attempts and payments go through without a hitch. This way, both the users and the website administrator are less likely to suspect anything.

Is formjacking common?

It's more common than you might think. Researchers from F5 Labs recently took a large set of data breach reports and examined them in an attempt to identify and learn more about the newest trends in the cybercrime world. It turned out that more than 70% of the web-based attacks they analyzed were carried out with the help of formjacking.

The researchers investigated a total of 80 formjacking attacks, and they figured out that the number of compromised cards during them sits at a hair under 1.4 million. These figures go to show that we're talking about a real threat that does real damage and affects quite a lot of people.

Why do cybercriminals love formjacking?

As you can see, it is an efficient way of stealing sensitive data. Not a whole lot of time and effort is required to pull it off, and as F5 Labs' experts explained in their report, the increasingly de-centralized web makes the attackers' job even easier.

In the past, a website or a web application used to be a single thing hosted on a single server and created and maintained by a single team of developers. This is no longer the case. Most modern websites use multiple technological solutions that are maintained by many different providers and are hosted all around the world. On the one hand, this increases the attack surface. On the other, it gives hackers the chance to hit many birds with a single stone.

Instead of hacking the login forms or payment pages of individual websites, the crooks can target the companies that provide this type of service. That way, a single successful attack can affect hundreds of websites and, potentially, millions of users.

How to fight formjacking?

There is one more advantage to formjacking that hackers love – there's not much you can do about it. As we mentioned already, for most users, this type of attack is completely invisible, and for a variety of different reasons, website operators and third-party service providers are sometimes unable or unwilling to take the necessary precautions in order to ensure that attackers can't tamper with their code.

Hopefully, vendors will soon make some real progress in that aspect. Until then, you need to keep a close eye on your online and bank accounts and act quickly if you spot something suspicious. Create strong, unique passwords for all the websites you're using and use multi-factor authentication wherever possible. This could very well be enough to protect you from a formjacking attack.

August 16, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 9 ?