什麼是多重身份驗證(MFA)?

您很可能每天都會遇到MFA(多因素身份驗證),但您並不了解它,因為它已經無縫地融入我們的日常生活中。這個概念肯定有一個奇特的名字,但實際上,它只是一種獲取個人數據的方法。隨著網絡安全問題的日益嚴重,這種身份驗證方法成為保護個人信息的一種更可靠的方法,不僅針對個人用戶,也針對企業和公司。在這篇博文中,我們將討論MFA是什麼以及它為什麼重要。

什麼是多重身份驗證?

如上所述,您可能每天都會遇到MFA,但您從未想過它。關鍵是該系統需要至少在兩個步驟中確認用戶的身份才能獲得他們想要訪問的信息。每個步驟都需要一個證據(或因子)來確認身份。任何有關此類身份驗證的百科全書文章都會告訴您MFA有三個主要因素。但是,正如您將在下面看到的,可能還有其他幾個。但讓我們一步一步地介紹這一點。

因此,MFA系統所需的三個主要認證因素是知識,擁有內在。我們在這裡再次使用一些高級詞彙,但是當你將這些因素分解成平凡的東西時,這很簡單。讓我們學習知識:它清楚地指用戶知道的東西,對吧?也許多因素身份驗證最常見的方面是密碼,這是每個用戶都應該記住的東西。

另一個因素: 佔有。佔有指的是一個人擁有的東西。所以你有一個身體認證因素。也許最簡單的例子是常規密鑰。鑰匙是與一個特定鎖相匹配的實體財產,並且通過該鑰匙,您可以證明您有權打開鎖。同樣,還有其他認證因素使用相同的原則。例如,存在可以是硬件和軟件令牌的安全令牌。

多因素認證的第三個共同組成部分是推論。簡單地說,它就是你的東西,它直接與你聯繫在一起。所以它可能是生物識別數據,如指紋,面部或語音。您可能需要執行視網膜掃描來訪問某些內容,但即使它聽起來太高科技,您可能每天都會在解鎖手機或筆記本電腦時這樣做。如今大多數移動設備都帶有指紋掃描儀,它們提供自己的多因素身份驗證類型,包括密碼(知識)和指紋(推理)。

除了這些共同因素外,還可能還有其他一些因素。 根據SearchSecurity的MFA帖子 ,此身份驗證系統中還有位置和時間因素。例如,只要您嘗試從其他國家/地區登錄帳戶,就必須收到自動發送的電子郵件。這就是系統檢查它是否真的如此,特別是如果您在主設置中設置了位置。更不用說跟踪用戶的位置非常容易了,因為他們中的大多數都保持手機開啟GPS。因此,仔細檢查登錄位置非常簡單。此外,當我們想要防止金融欺詐時,時間因素可能非常重要. 例如,如果世界另一端的某個人想要用您的信用卡數據清空您的帳戶,他們想要訪問的系統可以立即註意到有些奇怪的東西。比如說,同一個用戶不能在美國使用同一張卡,然後在15分鐘內就可以在中國使用。

為什麼採用多重身份驗證很重要?

如上所述,全球對網絡安全的關注只會上升。數據竊取很普遍,而且大部分都是通過洩密的身份驗證進行的。另一方面,MFA使整個過程更安全。當然,您可能已經閱讀了許多非常熱衷於強調強密碼和密碼加密的文章,但這可能不足以保護數據,這對個人用戶和企業都至關重要。

傳統的ID和密碼認證系統的主要問題是信息必須存儲在數據庫中。無論是否加密,最重要的是可以闖入該數據庫並竊取信息。如今CPU速度特別高,並且有大量工具可以幫助破解密碼,這些都是特別相關的。通過蠻力,我們的意思是工具計算所有可能的密碼組合,直到它到達正確的密碼組合。據SearchSecurity稱,其中一些工具每秒可以破解高達500,000,000個密碼。因此,任何數據庫被破解只是時間問題。因此,需要一種不僅僅依賴於數據庫的認證系統。使用它可以增強整體數據安全性。

多重身份驗證的另一個重要原因是合規性。 根據Mark Dacanay的說法 ,在管理個人身份信息時,組織需要遵守許多規則。使用此類敏感數據的公司需要確保數據得到正確保護,並且不會破壞其數據庫。如果公司應用多因素身份驗證,則更容易滿足合規性要求。換句話說,選擇這種身份驗證方法是邁向更強安全性的一步。個人用戶還可以確定,如果他們的數據由使用MFA的公司管理,他們的個人身份信息就可以安全地掌握。

最後,多因素身份驗證使登錄過程更簡單。它可能聽起來不像起初,請記住它需要多個因素才能到達數據,但如果其中一個因素自動進行身份驗證,則會簡化登錄過程。例如,您可以使用銀行應用程序,在這些應用程序中,他們擁有對用戶進行身份驗證的其他移動身份驗證應用程序,並且他們不再需要攜帶代碼卡或類似的東西。

因此,總而言之,MFA的觀點是分層防守。由於訪問敏感信息所需的許多因素,破壞身份驗證變得困難。從技術上講,這應該使整個身份驗證失敗:如果一個因素受到損害,其他因素應該仍然存在,因此犯罪分子不應該闖入數據庫。這就是計算機安全專家強烈建議在需要保護敏感數據的任何地方應用此系統的原因。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 6是什麼?

What Is Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)?

It is very likely that you encounter MFA (multi-factor authentication) every single day, but you are not aware of it because it has molded seamlessly into our daily lives. The concept sure does have a fancy name, but in reality, it is just a method to get to your personal data. With cybersecurity concerns growing, this method of authentication comes forth as one of the more reliable ways to protect personal information not only for individual users but for businesses and corporations as well. In this blog post, we will discuss what MFA is and why it is important.

What is Multi-Factor Authentication?

As mentioned, you probably encounter MFA every day, but you never think about it. The point is that this system requires confirming the user’s identity in at least two steps before they can reach the information they want to access. Each step requires a piece of evidence (or factor) to confirm the identity. Any encyclopedia article on this type of authentication will tell you that MFA has three main factors. However, as you will see below, there might also be several others. But let’s cover this step by step.

So the three main authentication factors required by the MFA system are knowledge, possession, and inherence. We’re using some high vocabulary here again, but it is quite simple when you break down these factors into something mundane. Let’s take knowledge: it clearly refers to something that a user knows, right? Perhaps the most common aspect of multi-factor authentication is a password, and that is something that every user is expected to memorize.

Another factor: possession. Possession refers to something one has. So you have a factor of authentication that is physical. Perhaps the simplest example would be a regular key. A key is a physical possession that matches one particular lock, and with that key, you can prove that you have the right to open the lock. Likewise, there are other authentication factors that utilize the same principle. For instance, there are security tokens that can be both hardware and software tokens.

The third common constituent of the multi-factor authentication is inference. To put it simply, it is something that you are, and it is directly associated with you. So it could be biometric data like a fingerprint, face or voice. You might need to perform a retina scan to access something, but even though it might sound too high-tech, you are probably doing that every single day when you unlock your phone or your laptop. Most of the mobile devices these days come with fingerprint scanners that offer their own type of multi-factor authentication with the password (knowledge) and the fingerprint (inference).

Aside from these common factors, there might also be a few others. According to a post on MFA at SearchSecurity, there are also location and time factors in this authentication system. For example, you must have received an automated email whenever you’ve tried to log into your account from a different country. This is how the system checks if it’s really you, especially if you have the location set in your main settings. Not to mention that it is really easy to track the location of a user because most of them keep their phones with the GPS turned on. So it is rather simple to double-check the login location. Also, the time factor can be very important when we want to prevent financial frauds. For instance, if someone on the other side of the world wants to empty your account with your credit card data, the system they want to access can notice at once that there is something odd. Say, the same user cannot use the same card in the United States and then in China in just 15 minutes.

Why is it important to employ Multi-Factor Authentication?

As mentioned, the global concern for cybersecurity is only rising. Data theft is prevalent, and most of it occurs through compromised authentication. MFA, on the other hand, makes the entire process safer. Of course, you have probably read a lot of articles that are very keen on emphasizing strong passwords and password encryption, but that may not be enough to protect the data, and this is critically important for both individual users and businesses.

The main problem with the traditional ID and password authentication system is that the information has to be stored in a database. Whether it is encrypted or not, the bottom line is that it is possible to break into that database and steal the information. It is especially relevant these days when the CPU speeds are extra high, and there are tons of tools that can help crack passwords just by brute force. By brute force, we mean that a tool calculates all the password combinations possible until it gets to the correct one. According to SearchSecurity, some of those tools crack up to 500,000,000 passwords per second. So it is only a matter of time before any database gets cracked. Hence, there is a necessity for a type of authentication system that does not rely solely on a database. Using it would strengthen the overall data security.

Another reason Multi-Factor Authentication is important is compliance. According to Mark Dacanay, there are many rules that organizations need to comply with when it comes to managing personally identifiable information. The companies that work with such sensitive data need to ensure that the data is protected properly and their databases cannot be breached. If companies apply multi-factor authentication, it becomes easier to meet the compliance requirements. In other words, choosing this method of authentication is a step towards stronger security. And individual users can also be sure that if their data is managed by a company that employs MFA, their personally identifiable information is in safe hands.

Finally, multi-factor authentication makes the login process simpler. It might not sound like that at first, keeping in mind that it requires multiple factors to reach the data, but if one of the factors gets authenticated automatically, the sign in process is simplified. You can take banking apps, for example, where they have additional mobile authentication apps that authenticate the user, and they no longer need to carry a code card or something like that.

So, to sum up, the point of MFA is a layered defense. With many factors necessary to access sensitive information, compromising the authentication becomes difficult. Technically, this should make the entire authentication fail-proof: If one factor is compromised, the others should still stand, and hence the criminals should not be able to break into a database. That is why computer security experts strongly recommend applying this system anywhere where it is necessary to protect sensitive data.

By Foley
July 19, 2018
July 19, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 9 ?