自动网络钓鱼攻击的工具出现了什么意味着什么?

automated phishing attacks

网络钓鱼一直被认为是最简单的网络犯罪类型之一。近年来,网络钓鱼工具包和模板已经使欺骗受害者的任务变得更容易放弃他们的用户名和密码。尽管如此,所述工具包从未真正实现过即插即用。到现在为止,似乎。

随着人们对在线威胁变得更加警惕,诈骗者也必须在他们的创作中投入更多精力。使用传统的网络钓鱼工具包,在部署页面之前,网络钓鱼者必须进行大量配置。伪造的登录页面需要比以往更有说服力,并且需要受到SSL证书的保护。更重要的是,诈骗者需要确保在正确记录之前检查被盗凭证,如果他们真的想要成功,他们应该找到一种打败双因素身份验证(2FA)的方法。由于在年初发布的新工具,许多这些家务活都可以消除。

认识Modinalka,最终的网络钓鱼工具

Modlishka是Mantis的波兰语单词(或者至少是它的英语发音)。它也是渗透测试员PiotrDuszyński开发的新型网络钓鱼工具的名称。

使用Modlishka,启动网络钓鱼活动可以像设置域和运行一些命令一样简单。本质上,该工具充当反向代理,位于用户和他们认为正在访问的网站之间。网络钓鱼者不需要创建或设置任何虚假页面,因为Modlishka基本上向受害者提供原始登录表单。使用正确的凭据,用户可以像往常一样登录并继续他们的业务。然而,他们并不知道,所有流量都通过Modlishka,这意味着用户名,密码和其他细节会立即暴露出来。

即使2FA也不匹配Modlishka

双因素身份验证是传统网络钓鱼的大敌。 我们相信 ,它的目的是确保骗子不会仅使用您的登录凭据侵入您的帐户。在大多数情况下,它的工作做得很好,但如果涉及Modlishka,它的大多数传统形式都是无用的。再次,这是因为受害者通过反向代理发送2FA代码,并且网络钓鱼者实时获取它们。

无论代码是通过短信发送还是由应用生成,都可能被盗。不受Modlishka影响的唯一2FA形式是U2F

你怎么能避免成为Modlishka的受害者?

像Modlishka一样聪明,如果你足够小心,它就无法欺骗你。为了工作,它需要托管在域上,并且该域永远不会与合法网站的域相同。因此,就像常规网络钓鱼一样,避免Modlishka取决于您的勤奋。请务必仔细检查浏览器地址栏中的网址,避免点击您不确定的链接. 这里的关键不在于骗局,因为如果你这样做,就没有什么可以告诉你骗子窃取了你的登录数据。

出版Modlishka是一个有争议的举动

作为一名渗透测试员,PiotrDuszyński的工作是确保组织和用户对网络攻击更具弹性。他的大多数工作都围绕着模拟,而他创造这个工具的事实并不令人惊讶。然而,他让每个人都可以访问的事实有点令人费解。

Modlishka可以从GitHub下载,如果您不知道如何使用它,Duszyński已经通过易于遵循的说明进行了装饰。现在,即使是最不称职的脚本小子(对于那些没有技巧和想要在互联网上打破东西的想要的网络犯罪分子的行话术语)也可以采用一种非常强大的网络钓鱼工具并用它来造成相当大的破坏。为什么Duszyński将Modlishka公之于众?

告诉ZDNet ,如果没有一个工作工具,每个人都可以自己测试,这个概念将被视为理论,而Modlishka则提高了对基于代码的2FA系统不安全性的认识。我们会让你自己决定这是否是一个足够好的理由。

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 6是什么?

What Does it Mean that Tools for Automated Phishing Attacks Have Emerged

automated phishing attacks

Phishing has always been considered one of the simplest types of cybercrime. In recent years, phishing toolkits and templates have made the task of tricking victims into giving away their usernames and passwords even easier. Nevertheless, the said toolkits have never really been plug-and-play. Until now, it seems.

As people become more wary of online threats, scammers must also put more effort into their creations. With a traditional phishing kit, a phisher would have to do quite a lot of configuration before the page is deployed. The fake login pages need to be more convincing than ever, and they need to be protected by an SSL certificate. What's more, scammers need to ensure that the stolen credentials are checked before being properly logged, and if they really want to be successful, they should find a way of beating two-factor authentication (2FA). Thanks to a new tool that was published at the beginning of the year, many of these chores can be eliminated.

Meet Modlishka, the ultimate phishing tool

Modlishka is the Polish word (or at least its English pronunciation) for Mantis. It's also the name of a new phishing tool developed by penetration tester Piotr Duszyński.

With Modlishka, launching a phishing campaign can be as simple as setting up a domain and running a few commands. Essentially, the tool acts as a reverse proxy that sits between the user and the website they think they are accessing. The phisher doesn't need to create or set up any fake pages because Modlishka essentially presents the victim with the original login form. Using the right credentials, users log in and continue about their business as they normally would. Unbeknownst to them, however, all the traffic passes through Modlishka, meaning that usernames, passwords, and other details are immediately exposed.

Even 2FA is no match for Modlishka

Two-factor authentication is the archenemy of traditional phishing. Its purpose, as we're sure you know, is to ensure that crooks can't break into your account using just your login credentials. For the most part, it does its job well, but if Modlishka is involved, most of its traditional forms are as good as useless. Once again, this is because the victim sends the 2FA codes through the reverse proxy, and phishers get them in real-time.

Regardless of whether the codes are sent via SMS or generated by an app, they can be stolen. The only form of 2FA that isn't affected by Modlishka is U2F.

How can you avoid falling victim to Modlishka?

As clever as Modlishka is, it can't fool you if you are careful enough. In order to work, it needs to be hosted on a domain, and this domain will never be identical to the domain of the legitimate website. So, just like regular phishing, avoiding Modlishka is dependent on your diligence. Always double check the URL in the address bar of your browser and avoid clicking links you're not sure about. The key here is not falling for the scam in the first place because if you do, there will be nothing to tell you that crooks are stealing your login data.

Publishing Modlishka was a controversial move

As a penetration tester, Piotr Duszyński's job is to ensure that organizations and users are more resilient to cyberattacks. Most of his work revolves around simulations, and the fact that he created the tool is not surprising at all. The fact that he made it accessible to everyone, however, is a bit puzzling.

Modlishka can be downloaded from GitHub, and just in case you don't know how to use it, Duszyński has garnished it with easy-to-follow instructions. Right now, even the most incompetent script kiddie (a jargon term for wannabe cybercriminals that have little skills and a big desire to break things on the internet) can take what is a very powerful phishing tool and use it to wreak considerable havoc. Why did Duszyński make Modlishka public?

He told ZDNet that without a working tool that everyone can test for themselves, the concept would have been treated as theoretical, and that with Modlishka he's raising awareness around the insecurity of code-based 2FA systems. We'll let you decide for yourselves whether this is a good enough reason.

By Duran
January 9, 2019
January 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 2 ?