什麼是Google身份驗證器以及它如何保護您的帳戶?

Google Authenticator

我們一次又一次地討論了使用強大,獨特的密碼保護您的帳戶的重要性。如今,網絡犯罪分子可以訪問可以進行數百萬次猜測的自動化工具,如果您的密碼不是隨機且足夠長,他們將能夠在幾秒鐘內侵入您的帳戶。不幸的是,有時候擁有強密碼是不夠的。

問題在於,在某些情況下,黑客不需要猜測密碼。有時,他們可以從沒有正確保護的數據庫中竊取它,或者他們可以將它從你的網絡中刪除。幸運的是,我們有一個系統可以為您提供另一層保護,以防出現類似情況。它被稱為雙因素身份驗證 (通常縮寫為2FA)。

雙因素身份驗證如何工作?

雙因素身份驗證的想法是,用戶名和密碼的組合不足以讓您(或攻擊者)訪問您的帳戶。在大多數情況下,系統需要額外的代碼,尤其是當登錄嘗試來自無法識別的設備時。不過,這不僅僅是您記憶的代碼。如果它存儲在某個地方,無論是在你的大腦中還是在數據庫中,它都會受到蠻力和網絡釣魚攻擊的影響 ,而這會破壞它的目的。 2FA過程中使用的代碼是臨時的,可以在有限的時間內使用。

臨時2FA代碼的交付機制

當2FA的概念在2000年初進入網絡世界時,它最初僅由金融機構使用,它依賴於帶有LED顯示屏的硬件設備,為用戶提供臨時代碼。雖然它們至今仍存在,但硬件令牌仍未被廣泛採用,您可能會看到原因。首先,這是你需要攜帶的另外一件事,小心不要丟失,這本身就有點令人討厭。雖然有一些標準化,但一開始,每個機構都支持自己的設備,這意味著早期採用者有很多代幣可以放置他們的鑰匙鏈。

幸運的是,幾年後,智能手機流行起來,供應商很快找到了將它們集成到2FA系統中的方法。 Google Authenticator等應用程序出現了顯著改善用戶體驗的應用程序。

Google身份驗證器如何運作?

主要優勢是Google身份驗證器駐留在您的手機上,您始終可以將手機放在手上或附近。適用於Android和iOS,可以在幾分鐘內下載和安裝該應用程序,一旦設置,它就不需要Internet連接即可運行。第二個優點是Google努力使開發人員能夠輕鬆地將Authenticator應用程序實施到他們的系統中,這意味著越來越多的服務正在採用它。最後但絕對不是最不重要的,它也很容易設置為2FA令牌。

毋庸置疑,這些步驟因服務而異,但可以說這個過程相對簡單。在大多數情況下,在啟用雙因素身份驗證後,該服務會詢問您是否希望通過短信,電子郵件或是否要使用Google身份驗證器生成臨時代碼來接收臨時代碼。當您選擇Google身份驗證器選項時,您可能需要掃描二維碼,應用程序將生成其第一個代碼以確保一切正常. 確認代碼後,Google身份驗證器已配置完畢並準備就緒。

當您需要使用該應用程序時,只需打開它,您就可以看到與您連接的所有服務的2FA代碼。這些代碼每30秒更改一次,並且有一個指示器告訴您當前的代碼何時到期。

你應該使用谷歌身份驗證器嗎?

總之,是的。您應該使用任何可用的雙因素身份驗證系統。 Google身份驗證器是其中一個選項,它可以說是最方便的選項。

不要誤以為這是絕對可靠的。安全研究人員一直在尋找(並找到)打敗雙因素身份驗證系統的方法。然而,事實是,它是我們目前最好的額外保護形式,讓它成為殘疾人是完全錯誤的。

May 23, 2019

What Is Google Authenticator and How Does It Work to Secure Your Accounts?

Google Authenticator

We've talked time and again about how important it is to secure your accounts with strong, unique passwords. Nowadays, cybercriminals have access to automated tools that can make millions of guesses, and if your password isn't random and long enough, they will be able to break into your account in a matter of seconds. Unfortunately, having strong passwords isn't enough sometimes.

The problem lies with the fact that in some cases, the hackers don't need to guess the password. Sometimes, they can just steal it from a database that hasn't been secured properly, or they can phish it out of you. Fortunately, we have a system that gives you another layer of protection in case something like this happens. It's called Two-Factor Authentication (often abbreviated as 2FA).

How does Two-Factor Authentication work?

The idea of Two-Factor Authentication is that the combination of a username and a password isn't sufficient to give you (or an attacker) access to your account. In most cases, the system requires an additional code, especially when the login attempt is coming from an unrecognized device. This isn't just a code that you memorize, though. If it's stored somewhere, be it in your brain or in a database, it would be susceptible to brute-force and phishing attacks, and that would defeat its purpose. The code used during the 2FA process is temporary and works for a limited period of time.

The delivery mechanisms for temporary 2FA codes

When the concept of 2FA made its way to the online world back in the early 2000's, it was initially employed by financial institutions only, and it relied on hardware devices with an LED display which gave users their temporary codes. Although they exist to this day, hardware tokens still aren't widely adopted, and you can probably see why. First of all, it's one more thing you need to carry around and be careful not to lose, which, in itself, is a bit of a nuisance. And while there has been some standardization, in the beginning, every single institution supported its own device which meant that early adopters had quite a few tokens to put on their keychains.

Fortunately, a few years later, smartphones caught on, and vendors quickly found a way of integrating them into their 2FA systems. Apps like Google Authenticator appeared which significantly improved the user experience.

How does Google Authenticator work?

The main advantage is that Google Authenticator resides on your phone, and you always have your phone on or near you. Available for Android and iOS, the app can be downloaded and installed in minutes, and once set up, it doesn't need an Internet connection to work. The second plus is that Google worked hard to make it easy for developers to implement the Authenticator app into their systems, which means that more and more services are adopting it. Last but definitely not least, it's also easy to set it up as a 2FA token.

Needless to say, the steps differ from service to service, but it's fair to say that the process is relatively simple. In most cases, after turning on Two-Factor Authentication, the service will ask you whether you'd like to receive your temporary code via text message, email, or whether you want to use Google Authenticator to generate it. When you choose the Google Authenticator option, you'll likely need to scan a QR code, and the app will generate its first code to ensure that everything's working. When the code is confirmed, Google Authenticator is configured and ready to go.

When you need to use the app, you just open it, and you see 2FA codes for all the services you've connected to it. These codes change every thirty seconds, and there's an indicator telling you when the current ones are about to expire.

Should you use Google Authenticator

In a word, yes. You should use any sort of Two-Factor Authentication system that's available to you. Google Authenticator is one of the options, and it's arguably the most convenient one.

Don't be fooled into thinking that it's infallible. Security researchers have been looking for (and finding) ways of defeating Two-Factor Authentication systems. The truth is, however, it's the best form of additional protection we have at the moment, and leaving it disabled is just plain wrong.

May 25, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 8 ?