HTTP和HTTPS有什么区别?您需要知道的在线保持安全的事情

HTTPS vs HTTP

当Mozilla Firefox用户试图将某些文本输入到在线表单中时,他们可能偶然发现了一些案例,他们看到一个框说:“ 连接不安全。在此处输入的登录信息可能会受到影响。 '当Google Chrome用户访问这些网站时,他们会在地址栏中看到“ 不安全 ”消息。这一切都是关于什么的?

你们中间更敏感的人可能知道某些网址以“ http:// ”开头,而其他网址则以“ https:// ”开头。您可能还注意到,当网站在HTTPS下加载时,您会在网站地址旁边看到绿色的挂锁符号。这个绿色挂锁非常重要,我们现在解释原因。

什么是HTTP?

HTTP代表超文本传输协议,没有它,你就不会读这个。 HTTP有助于在您的计算机和托管您正在访问的网站的服务器之间传输文本,图像和其他媒体。没有这个协议浏览互联网将是一个非常不同的体验。

当Tim Berners-Lee在1989年创建HTTP时,互联网并不是无处不在。很少有人能够访问它,而在线先驱者也不明白为什么有人想要窃取在计算机之间传输的信息。你可能知道的事情从那时起已经发生了很大的变化。

HTTPS及其重要性

随着互联网的发展,越来越多的坏人开始对随处可见的不断增加的信息感兴趣,并且所谓的中间人(MITM)攻击诞生了。顾名思义,在MITM攻击期间,一个人将自己插入用户的计算机和网站的服务器之间,并嗅探流动的数据。这样,骗子可以窃取密码并篡改用户发送和接收的内容。

很快就会发现,通过互联网发送敏感信息的方法应该改变,这就是HTTPS或HTTP Secure诞生的方式。 HTTPS是HTTP的扩展,而不是不同的协议。它有几个主要目的:

  • 加密您的数据。加密是HTTPS的核心。它最初依赖于安全套接字层(SSL)加密协议,但后来转而使用SSL更安全的后继产品 - 传输层安全性(TLS)。以下是它如何以简单的方式工作。一旦建立HTTPS连接,您的浏览器和托管该网站的服务器首先执行所谓的“握手”,在此期间,使用非对称密码,它们安全地交换会话特定的数据和将用于加密信息的加密密钥。从那时起,除了您和服务器之外,发送到您的计算机和从您的计算机发送的每一点数据都是不可读的。因此,虽然黑客理论上可以拦截您的在线银行登录凭据,但他们不知道您的用户名和密码看起来像。同样,他们将无法捕获和修改银行发送给您的PC的任何数据。
  • 向您保证您在正确的位置。 HTTPS的目的不仅仅是将您的数据变成一个难以理解的乱七八糟的字符。要在HTTPS连接下为您的网站提供服务,您需要拥有SSL证书(即使前一段时间SSL被丢弃,名称仍然存在)。这些证书由所谓的证书颁发机构(或CA)颁发,其理念是它们只提供给合法网站。一些已建立的在线门户网站如PayPal已经用于扩展验证(EV)证书,该证书将显示网站所有者的名称. 虽然安全专家认为它们没有带来额外的价值,但在颁发EV证书之前,CA会采取额外措施来确保认证实体是值得信赖的。常规和EV证书的想法是让用户知道他们正在访问的网站不是恶意的。

当你在网上冲浪时,你想确保你总是在正确的网站上,在这个时代, 它并不像看起来那么容易 。有这么多爱管闲事的黑客潜伏在各个角落,你也要确信你发送的数据对于恶意的人来说是不可见的。理论上,HTTPS回答了这两个问题。实际上,我们仍需要保持警惕。

HTTPS采用及其附带的问题

多年来,安全专家一直敦促网站运营商切换到HTTPS,但他们的电话被置若罔闻,原因很简单 - 金钱。 SSL证书相当昂贵,大多数是由电子商务网站购买的。两年前,当一个名为Let's Encrypt的新证书颁发机构出现时,事情发生了变化。与其他CA不同,Let's Encrypt免费提供SSL证书,并且该过程也是完全自动化的,这意味着采用HTTPS只需几分钟而且恰好是0美元。

问题在于,通过安全连接为网站提供服务现在对于合法的在线业务和犯罪分子来说都更加简单。因此,专家们已经看到越来越多的带有SSL证书的网络钓鱼页面。这意味着绿色挂锁不再被视为可靠,安全的网页的可靠指标。尽管如此,HTTPS网站数量增加的事实是一件好事。更好的是,它可能会继续增加。

通过不安全连接提供的网站的搜索引擎优化表现据说较低,很快,谷歌浏览器会将所有HTTP网站标记为“不安全”,而不仅仅是那些有登录表单的网站。换句话说,HTTPS正在成为常态,而不是例外。如果我们想要一个更安全的万维网,这是非常重要的一步。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 4是什么?

What's the Difference Between HTTP and HTTPS? Things You Need to Know to Stay Secure Online

HTTPS vs HTTP

Mozilla Firefox users might have stumbled upon cases when they try to enter some text into an online form and they see a box saying: 'The connection is not secure. Logins entered here could be compromised.' When Google Chrome users go to these websites, they see a 'Not secure' message in the address bar. What's all this about?

The more observant among you probably know that some URLs start with "http://" and others with "https://". You might have also noticed that when the site is loading under HTTPS, you see a green padlock symbol next to the address of the website. This green padlock is really important, and we'll now explain why.

What is HTTP?

HTTP stands for Hypertext Transfer Protocol, and without it, you wouldn't be reading this. HTTP facilitates the transfer of text, images and other media between your computer and the server hosting the website you're visiting. Browsing the internet without this protocol would be a very different experience.

When Tim Berners-Lee created HTTP in 1989, the Internet wasn't exactly ubiquitous. Few people had access to it, and the online pioneers didn't see why anyone would want to steal information that was traveling between computers. Things, as you probably know, have changed quite a bit since then.

HTTPS and its importance

As the internet grew, more and more bad people started taking an interest in the ever-increasing amount of information that was flying around, and the so-called Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attack was born. As the name suggests, during a MITM attack, a person inserts themselves between the user's computer and the website's server and sniffs through the flowing data. That way, the crook can steal passwords and tamper with what the user sends and receives.

It soon became apparent that the approach towards sending sensitive information over the Internet should change, and that's how HTTPS, or HTTP Secure, was born. HTTPS is an extension of HTTP rather than a different protocol. It serves a couple of main purposes:

  • Encrypting your data.Encryption is at the heart of HTTPS. It initially relied on the Secure Socket Layer (SSL) cryptographic protocol, but it later switched to SSL's more secure successor, Transport Layer Security (TLS). Here's how it works in simple terms.As soon as you establish an HTTPS connection, your browser and the server hosting the website first perform the so-called "handshake" during which, using an asymmetric cipher, they securely exchange session-specific data and the cryptographic key that will be used for the encryption of the information. From then on, every bit of data that is sent to and from your computer is unreadable to anyone but you and the server.As a result, while a hacker could theoretically intercept your online banking login credentials, they'll have no idea what your username and passwords look like. Similarly, they won't be able to capture and modify any data that the bank is sending to your PC.
  • Assuring you that you are at the right place.The purpose of HTTPS isn't just to turn your data into an unreadable mess of characters. To serve your website under an HTTPS connection, you need to have an SSL certificate (even though SSL was ditched a while ago, the name has stuck). These certificates are issued by the so-called Certificate Authorities (or CAs), and the idea is that they're only given to legitimate websites. Some established online portals like PayPal have gone for Extended Validation (EV) certificates which will display the name of the website owner. Although security experts reckon that they bring no extra value, before issuing an EV certificate, CAs take additional steps to ensure that the certified entity is trustworthy.The idea of regular and EV certificates is to let the user know that the website they're visiting is not malicious.

When you're surfing the net, you want to be sure that you're always at the right website, which, in this day and age, isn't as easy as it may appear. With so many nosy hackers lurking around every corner, you also want to be confident that the data you send is not visible to ill-intentioned people. In theory, HTTPS answers both questions. In reality, we still need to be vigilant.

HTTPS adoption and the problems that come with it

For years, security experts were urging website operators to switch over to HTTPS, but their calls were falling on deaf ears, and the reason was simple – money. SSL certificates were rather expensive and were mostly bought by e-commerce websites. Things changed two and a bit years ago when a new Certificate Authority called Let's Encrypt emerged. Unlike the rest of the CAs, Let's Encrypt offers SSL certificates for free, and the process is also completely automated which means that adopting HTTPS takes just a few minutes and exactly $0.

The problem with this is, serving websites over a secure connection is now simpler for both legitimate online businesses, and criminals. As a result, experts have been seeing more and more phishing pages with SSL certificates. And this means that the green padlock can no longer be considered a reliable indicator of a trustworthy, secure web page. Nevertheless, the fact that the number of HTTPS websites has increased is a good thing. Better still, it'll probably continue to increase.

The SEO performance of websites served over an insecure connection is said to be lower, and soon, Google Chrome will label all HTTP websites as "Not secure", not just the ones that have a login form on them. In other words, HTTPS is becoming the norm, not the exception. If we want a safer World Wide Web, this is a very important step.

June 29, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?