从Facebook的用户隐私失误中获得计算机用户的最佳选择

facebook privacy issues

我们打赌你每天都在使用Facebook,或者至少听过你周围的人谈论它,因为这个社交网络服务仍然是所有可用社交网站中最受欢迎的。 Facebook在2018年第一季度拥有21.9亿月活跃用户(一点都不差,嗯?),这个数字正在稳步增长。许多人不再想象他们在Facebook上没有社交互动的生活,但有些用户不知道的是,尽管不断更新,Facebook仍然存在一些关于用户数据隐私的问题。

很难忘记最近与英国剑桥分析公司有关的用户隐私丑闻,该丑闻分析了一个人的行为信息如何影响他/她未来的决定。你没听说过吗?这是一个快速摘要。在2018年3月底,很明显超过8700万Facebook用户的隐私可能受到侵犯。一切都始于2012年,当时剑桥大学的研究员Aleksandr Kogan通过名为“这就是你的数字生活”的应用程序设法获取用户的个人信息。它要求用户回答大量个人问题,这些问题属于“性格测试”的一部分。由于Facebook的用户数据隐私政策在2012年更加宽松,不仅那些参加测验的用户受到了影响。他们的朋友的个人信息也未经他们的许可而被拍摄,导致数百万受影响的Facebook用户。

Facebook已采取必要措施保护用户隐私,并防止将来发生类似的用户数据隐私侵权案件。已经做了什么?首先,一种称为合作伙伴类别的定向广告形式已被禁用。其次,第三方应用程序的开发人员将收到有关用户的较少信息。他们只能访问用户的姓名,个人资料照片以及用于登录服务的电子邮件地址。只有Facebook可以授予访问更多信息的权限,例如用户的帖子。

另一个好处是,如果用户三个月没有使用它,应用程序将无法再访问帐户的数据。第三,Facebook承诺停止从Android设备收集信息(通话记录和短信数据)。最后但并非最不重要的是,已经开发出了可以更容易保护用户隐私的新工具。例如,新的“访问您的信息”部分将帮助用户更轻松,更快速地访问和删除帖子,评论,反应和许多其他私人信息。 Facebook创始人马克·扎克伯格承认,该公司过去在处理私人用户数据方面犯了错误,但他表示,他清楚地了解用户数据隐私的重要性,因此承诺“做更多”以确保其最大程度的保护。只有时间会证明它是否属实。

尽管Facebook承诺立即采取行动保护用户隐私,但普通Facebook用户可以采取一些措施来加强用户隐私保护。它们似乎显而易见,但最近的Facebook隐私失误清楚地表明用户仍然不太了解用户隐私保护。

  • 小心各种测验和第三方应用程序

您安装的不值得信任的应用程序可能会用于收集您的个人信息,从而在长期内导致与隐私相关的问题。乍一看,他们可能看起来像一个有吸引力的时间杀手,但相反,他们可能只是为了从Facebook个人资料收集信息,因为Facebook-Cambridge Analytica丑闻已经清楚地显示. 幸运的是,只需几个简单的步骤就可以删除未知/可疑的应用程序。

如何查看和删除Facebook应用程序?

  1. 登录 Facebook

  1. 点击 箭头指向倒在页面右上部分。
  2. 单击设置

  1. 单击应用和网站

  1. 您可以使用搜索框访问“ 有效” ,“已过期 ”和“已删除”应用,或搜索 特定应用

  1. 选择要删除的应用程序 ,然后单击“ 删除”
  2. 确认再次单击删除 删除
  • 禁用Facebook应用平台

如果您没有时间监控Facebook应用程序以确保用户隐私的安全,您可以完全禁用Facebook应用程序平台。平台关闭后,您无法再使用Facebook集成第三方服务. 这听起来不是很有趣,但我们在这里看到的只有好处 - 你会隐藏大量私人信息。

如何关闭与应用/网站的集成?

  1. 登录后单击 箭头按钮。
  2. 选择设置

  1. 单击左侧 菜单中的“ 应用程序和网站 ”。

  1. 访问应用程序,网站和游戏
  2. 单击编辑

  1. 单击“关闭”

  • 查看您的隐私设置

用户只需点击几下按钮即可控制谁自己查看帖子,电话号码和朋友列表。此外,他们还可以查看标记的帖子,更改他们分享的帖子的受众群体,以及更多信息,请点击“设置”面板。最好在可能的情况下将数据的可访问性从Public更改为Only me ,以避免与用户数据隐私相关的问题。

如何更改隐私设置?

  1. 点击朝下在页面右上角您登录到Facebook上后箭头
  2. 从菜单中选择“设置”

  1. 单击隐私

  • 打开其他安全设置

如您所知,第三方可以使用不值得信任的应用访问私人信息。或者,它可以直接从帐户中窃取,因此您应采取一定的安全措施,以防止黑客访问您的Facebook帐户。毫无疑问,强密码是安全开始的地方,因此设置由字母,数字和符号组合组成的安全密码应该是您的首要任务。专家说,它也不能短于14个字符. 可以使用Cyclonis Password Manager的密码生成器生成此类密码。如果您也使用此工具,则每次登录Facebook时都不再需要输入密码。

仅凭强密码无法确保私人信息的100%保护,因此您也应该访问安全和登录面板并设置Facebook以在检测到来自新设备或浏览器的登录时向您发送警报。此外,启用所谓的双因素身份验证将是明智之举。执行此操作后,您必须输入登录Facebook时发送到手机的代码. 虽然强密码是一个安全层,但您将收到的唯一代码是第二个。

如何设置更安全的Facebook密码?

  1. 登录到 Facebook和点击朝下在右上角箭头
  2. 选择设置

  1. 单击安全性和登录

  1. 在“ 更改密码”旁边, 单击编辑”按钮。

  1. 输入 当前 密码新密码 ,然后单击“ 保存更改”

如何启用双因素身份验证?

  1. 登录 Facebook
  2. 访问安全和登录设置单击 箭头右上角 ,单击设置 ,然后转到 安全和登录 )。

  1. 向下滚动使用双因素身份验证
  2. 单击编辑

  1. 单击“开始”

  1. 选择 身份验证方法 ,即. 你想如何接收代码。
  2. 单击下一步

  1. 输入您收到的6位数代码 ,然后单击“ 下一步”
  2. 完成后单击“ 完成”

  • 查看好友列表

毫无疑问,不安全的Facebook应用程序可能会对违反用户隐私负责,但它们并不是唯一可能导致您出现问题的应用程序。你自己的朋友也可能给你带来麻烦。无论您的隐私设置有多严格,您的朋友可能仍会分享您的帖子和照片,从而让第三方可以访问它们,因此您应该仔细检查您的好友列表并删除您不了解的内容。

额外提示 :如果您定期清除网络浏览器cookie,您将向Facebook发送更少的自己数据。

如果你不打算停止使用Facebook,至少不要让你的私人信息疯狂。通过简单地调整您的隐私设置,删除可疑朋友,设置更强的密码和双因素身份验证,您可以使Facebook成为更安全的地方,从而保护您的用户隐私。

April 30, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 3是什么?

Top Takeaways for Computer Users From Facebook's User Privacy Blunders

facebook privacy issues

We bet you use Facebook every day or at least have heard people around you talking about it because this social networking service remains the most popular of all available social networking websites. Facebook had 2.19 billion monthly active users (not bad at all, huh?) in the first quarter of 2018, and this number is steadily growing. Many people no longer imagine their lives without social interactions on Facebook, but what some users do not know is that Facebook still has some problems regarding user data privacy despite constant updates.

It is hard to forget the recent user privacy scandal linked to the British company Cambridge Analytica that analyzes how information about a person's behavior can influence his/her future decisions. Haven't you heard of it? Here is a quick summary. It became clear at the end of March 2018 that more than 87 million Facebook users' privacy could have been violated. Everything started in 2012 when a researcher at Cambridge University, Aleksandr Kogan, managed to gain access to users' personal information via the application called "This Is Your Digital Life". It asked users to answer a ton of personal questions that were a part of a "personality test." Since Facebook's user data privacy policy was much looser back in 2012, not only those users who took a quiz were affected. Personal information from their friends was taken too without their permission, resulting in millions of affected Facebook users.

Facebook has already taken necessary steps to protect user privacy and prevent similar cases of user data privacy violation in the future. What has already been done? First, a form of targeted advertising called Partner Categories has been disabled. Second, developers of third-party apps will receive less information about users. They could only access a user's name, profile photo, and an email address used to sign in to a service. Only Facebook could give permission to access more information, for instance, users' posts.

Another great thing is that an app could no longer access account's data if a user has not used it for three months. Third, Facebook has promised to stop collecting information (call records and SMS data) from Android devices. Last but not least, new tools that should make it easier to protect user privacy have been developed. For example, a new section "Access Your Information" will help users access and delete posts, comments, reactions and many other private details easier and quicker. Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook, admits that the company made mistakes in handling private user data in the past, but he said he clearly understands the importance of user data privacy and thus promises "to do even more" to ensure its maximum protection. Only time will tell if it is true.

Even though Facebook has promised to take immediate action to protect user privacy, there are a few things any ordinary Facebook user can do to tighten user privacy protection. They might seem obvious, but recent Facebook privacy blunders have clearly shown that users still do not know much about the user privacy protection.

  • Be careful with various quizzes and third-party apps

Untrustworthy apps you install might be used to gather personal information from you and thus cause you privacy-related problems in the long run. At first sight, they might look as attractive time-killers, but, instead, they might be designed to collect information from Facebook profiles only, as the Facebook-Cambridge Analytica scandal has clearly shown. Luckily, unknown/suspicious apps can be removed with a few simple steps.

How do I review and remove Facebook apps?

  1. Log into Facebook.

  1. Click the arrow pointing down in the upper-right part of the page.
  2. Click Settings.

  1. Click Apps and Websites.

  1. You can access Active, Expired, and Removed apps or search for specific apps using the search box.

  1. Select the app you want to remove, and then click Remove.
  2. Confirm the removal by clicking Remove again.
  • Disable the Facebook apps platform

If you do not have time for monitoring Facebook apps in order to ensure the safety of user privacy, you can disable the Facebook app platform completely. Once the platform is turned off, you could no longer use the Facebook integration on third-party services. This does not sound like fun, but we see only benefits here – you will hide a great amount of private information from prying eyes.

How do I turn off the integration with apps/websites?

  1. Click the arrow button after logging in.
  2. Select Settings.

  1. Click Apps and Websites in the menu on the left.

  1. Access Apps, Websites and Games.
  2. Click Edit.

  1. Click Turn off.

  • Review your privacy settings

Users can control who see their posts, their phone numbers, and their friends' lists themselves with a few clicks of a button. Also, they are allowed to review posts they are tagged in, change the audience of posts they share with, and much more right from the Settings panel. It would be best to change the accessibility of data from Public to Only me where possible to avoid problems related to user data privacy.

How do I change my Privacy settings?

  1. Click the arrow facing down in the upper-right corner of the page after you log into Facebook.
  2. Select Settings from the menu.

  1. Click Privacy.

  • Turn on additional security settings

Private information can be accessed by third parties using untrustworthy apps, as you already know. Alternatively, it can be stolen from the account directly, so you should take certain security measures to prevent hackers from gaining access to your Facebook account. Without a doubt, a strong password is where the safety begins, so setting a secure password consisting of a mix of letters, numbers, and symbols should be your priority. Specialists say that it cannot be shorter than 14 characters either. Such a password can be generated using a Password Generator of Cyclonis Password Manager. You will no longer need to type your password each time you log into Facebook if you use this tool too.

The strong password alone cannot ensure the 100% protection of the private information, so you should access the Security and Login panel too and set Facebook to send you alerts when a login from a new device or a browser is detected. Additionally, it would be smart to enable the so-called two-factor authentication. Once you do this, you will have to enter a code sent to your phone when logging into Facebook. While the strong password is one security layer, the unique code you will receive is the second one.

How do I set a more secure Facebook password?

  1. Log into Facebook and click the arrow facing down in the top-right corner.
  2. Select Settings.

  1. Click Security and Login.

  1. Next to Change Password, click the Edit button.

  1. Enter your current and a new password and then click Save Changes.

How do I enable two-factor authentication?

  1. Log into Facebook.
  2. Access Security and Login Settings (click the arrow in the upper-right corner, click Settings, and then go to Security and Login).

  1. Scroll down to Use two-factor authentication.
  2. Click Edit.

  1. Click Get Started.

  1. Select the authentication method, i.e. how you want to receive a code.
  2. Click Next.

  1. Enter the 6-digit code you have received and click Next.
  2. Click Finish when you are done.

  • Check your Friends List

Unsecure Facebook apps can, undoubtedly, be responsible for the violation of user privacy, but they are not the only ones that can cause you problems. Your own friends might bring you trouble too. No matter how strict your privacy settings are, your friends might still share your posts and photos and thus give third parties access to them, so you should inspect your Friends List carefully and remove those you know nothing about.

Bonus Tip: You will send less data about yourself to Facebook if you clear your web browser cookies periodically.

If you are not going to stop using Facebook, at least do not let your private information run wild. By simply adjusting your privacy settings, removing suspicious friends, and settings a stronger password plus two-factor authentication, you can make Facebook a safer place for yourself and thus protect your user privacy.

August 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 4 ?