Meet Smominru, a Dangerous Malware That Could Try to Steal Your Credentials

您可以说Smominru蠕虫不是那里最广为人知的网络威胁。实际上,它确实引起了一些关注,主要是来自网络安全专家,但是总的来说,它没有像Trickbot这样频繁地在新闻中被提及。尽管如此,在过去的三年中,它一直困扰着全球的Windows用户,最近,Guardicore的研究人员决定仔细研究一下它的发展情况。他们的发现相当令人惊讶。

专家们设法访问了该恶意软件的核心Command&Control(C&C)服务器之一并读取了日志。他们发现,仅在8月份,Smominru就感染了多达90,000台Windows设备。每天平均有4700台计算机和服务器。

像大多数此类威胁一样,Smominru也不针对特定的用户或组织。该蠕虫感染了计算机,这些计算机属于在各个不同领域工作的各种公司。中国,台湾,俄罗斯,巴西和美国在8月记录了最多的受害者,Guardicore说,受感染的设备大多数是小型服务器。

总而言之,尽管Smominru可能不是最知名的恶意软件家族,但它似乎比一些知名竞争对手更活跃,并且显然可以影响到大量用户。怎么样了

简单的技术和古老的漏洞是Smominru成功的根源

Smominru有两种感染新主机和在网络中横向移动的方式。它要么强行使用RDP和Telnet等Windows服务,要么使用称为EternalBlue的东西。

蛮力攻击可以说是黑客库中最简单的工具。不幸的是,由于人们倾向于使用相同的弱密码,因此它通常也是最有效的密码之一。在Smominru的情况下,一些配置错误会有所帮助。

RDP和Telnet是旧的网络协议,具有更现代,更可靠的替代方案。如今,并没有多少人使用它们,尽管如此,仍有相当多的系统管理员让它们运行。将其与保护它们的弱密码(或默认密码)结合使用,您将看到Smominru这样的威胁如何轻松地在网络中传播。

相同的疏忽是Smominru第二个感染媒介:EternalBlue的核心。 EternalBlue是据称由NSA开发的一种利用程序,它利用了特定的Windows漏洞。它于2017年4月泄露,而且功能如此强大,以至于Microsoft放弃了它的工作,并发布了已达到其支持终止的系统的补丁程序. 尽管如此,在同年的5月和6月,EternalBlue被用于过去十年中两次最严重的网络攻击-WannaCry和NotPetya勒索软件爆发。

您可能认为用户,尤其是负责公司服务器的用户,现在应该已经对其系统进行了修补,但可悲的是,情况并非如此。

实际上,八月份的Smominru感染的所有计算机中有85%在Windows 7或Windows Server 2008 R2上运行,这表明人们仍在使用过时的软件。而且,即使对于这些较旧的版本也有可用的补丁程序,用户只是不想应用它们。 Guardicore报告说,Smominru在最初被发现和删除的机器上记录了25%的再次感染率。

总而言之,Smominru感染新主机的速度令人印象深刻,这不仅取决于其操作员的技能和成熟程度。用户和系统管理员都表明,这更多地与不遵循最基本的网络安全良好做法有关。

Smominru支持加密挖矿和凭证盗窃

一旦Smominru在新计算机上找到了自己,它将首先着手在具有管理权限的系统上创建新用户。有了这个,蠕虫就可以在所有受感染的主机上执行全部操作。

Guardicore的专家指出,他们观察到的样本似乎对竞争对手的产品特别有敌意。成功感染后不久,Smominru会终止进程,删除文件和计划的任务,并还原与其他恶意软件系列相关的注册表更改。然后,它阻止了某些网络端口,以降低其他攻击者破坏同一主机的机会。

显然,Smominru运营商不想共享赃物,当您看到所说的赃物是什么时,您几乎不会感到惊讶。一年多以来,Smominru帮派一直在使用受感染主机的硬件资源来挖掘名为Monero的流行加密货币,但是根据Guardicore的报告,有效负载现在包括名为Mimikatz的渗透测试工具,可以窃取用户名,密码和其他个人信息。确实,当他们在查看Smominru的C&C中的日志时,研究人员注意到相当多的窃取登录凭据。

谈到C&C,专家们还指出,Smominru的运营商已经建立了相当认真的后端基础架构。至少设置了20个C&C服务器,其唯一目的是控制蠕虫。他们中的大多数都位于美国,但在马来西亚和保加利亚也有一些地方,这意味着要降低整个行动的难度将非常大。

这意味着用户和系统管理员可能应该再看看他们的网络配置和更新策略,并查看他们的系统是否容易受到Smominru攻击。

October 9, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 10是什么?

Meet Smominru, a Dangerous Malware That Could Try to Steal Your Credentials

You could say that the Smominru worm isn't the most widely known cyber threat out there. It has indeed attracted some attention, mostly from cybersecurity experts, but overall, it hasn't been mentioned in the news as frequently as Trickbot, for example. Nevertheless, for the last three years, it's been tormenting Windows users across the globe, and recently, researchers from Guardicore decided to take a closer look and see how it's getting on. Their findings were rather surprising.

The experts managed to access one of the malware's core Command & Control (C&C) servers and read the logs. They found out that during the month of August alone, Smominru managed to infect a whopping 90,000 Windows devices. That's an average of 4,700 computers and servers per day.

Like most threats of this type, Smominru isn't targeting particular users or organizations. The worm has infected machines that belong to all sorts of companies working in a variety of different sectors. China, Taiwan, Russia, Brazil, and the US recorded the most victims in August, and Guardicore said that the majority of infected devices were small servers.

All in all, while it might not be the most recognizable malware family, Smominru seems to be quite a lot more active than some of its better-known competitors, and it's clearly managing to affect a large number of users. How is it doing that?

Simple techniques and old exploits are at the root of Smominru's success

Smominru has two ways of infecting new hosts and moving laterally around the network. It either brute-forces its way in using Windows services like RDP and Telnet, or it uses something known as EternalBlue.

The brute-force attack is arguably the simplest tool in the hackers' arsenal. Unfortunately, because people tend to use the same weak passwords, it's often one of the most effective ones as well. In Smominru's case, a few configuration mistakes help out.

RDP and Telnet are old networking protocols that have more modern, reliable alternatives. Not a whole lot of people use them nowadays, yet despite this, quite a few system administrators leave them running. Couple this with the weak (or default) passwords that protect them, and you'll see how threats like Smominru can move around the network with ease.

The same negligence is at the heart of Smominru's second infection vector: EternalBlue. EternalBlue is an exploit allegedly developed by the NSA, which takes advantage of a specific Windows vulnerability. It was leaked in April 2017, and it was so powerful, that Microsoft went out of its way and released patches for systems that had reached their end-of-support. Despite this, in May and June of the same year, EternalBlue was used in two of the most severe cyberattacks of the last decade – the WannaCry and NotPetya ransomware outbreaks.

You'd think that users, and especially those in charge of company servers, would have patched their systems by now, but sadly, this is not the case.

In fact, 85% of all machines Smominru infected during the August campaign run on either Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2, which goes to show that people are still using wildly outdated software. And although there are patches available even for these ancient versions, users just don't want to apply them. Guardicore reported that Smominru recorded a 25% re-infection rate on machines where it was initially discovered and removed.

All in all, the impressive speed with which Smominru infects new hosts is not down to its operators' skills and sophistication. It has more to do with the reluctance to follow the most basic cybersecurity good practices, as demonstrated by users and system administrators alike.

Smominru enables crypto mining and credential theft

Once Smominru finds itself on a new machine, it first sets about creating a new user on the system with administrative rights. With this, the worm has the carte blanche to do pretty much whatever it wants on the infected host.

Guardicore's experts noted that the samples they observed seemed to be especially hostile towards competitors' products. Shortly after a successful infection, Smominru kills processes, deletes files and scheduled tasks, and reverts registry changes associated with other malware families. It then blocks some networking ports to lower the chances of other attackers compromising the same host.

Clearly, the Smominru operators don't want to share the loot, and when you see what the said loot is, you'll be hardly surprised. For more than a year now, the Smominru gang have been using infected hosts' hardware resources to mine a popular cryptocurrency by the name of Monero, but according to Guardicore's report, the payloads now include a penetration testing tool called Mimikatz which can steal usernames, passwords, and other personal information. Indeed, while they were looking at the logs in Smominru's C&C, the researchers noticed quite a few stolen login credentials.

Speaking of the C&C, the experts also pointed out that Smominru's operators have built a rather serious backend infrastructure. There are at least 20 C&C servers set up with the sole goal of controlling the worm. Most of them are located in the US, but there are also some in places like Malaysia and Bulgaria, which means that bringing the whole operation down will be extremely hard.

And this means that users and system administrators should probably have another look at their network configuration and their update policy and see if their systems are vulnerable to a Smominru attack.

October 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 8 ?