认识Monokle,一个能够窃取和更改密码的Android恶意软件系列

Monokle Android malware

特殊技术中心(STC)是一家总部位于俄罗斯圣彼得堡的软件开发公司,美国政府对此并不满意。 2016年,巴拉克•奥巴马(Barack Obama)对STC实施制裁,因为他的政府认为这是帮助俄罗斯政府干预美国2016年总统选举的三家公司之一。相信很多才华横溢,技术精湛的专家为STC工作,安全公司Lookout的研究人员似乎相信,同样的专家负责创建一个名为Monokle的以前未记录的Android恶意软件。

Monokle和STC连接

正如我们将在一分钟内发现的那样,Monokle是一款非常复杂且功能多样的移动监控软件,因为这些恶意应用程序通常由知道自己正在做什么的人开发,通常会将其归因于特定的黑客群体。几乎是不可能的。然而,Lookout的专家认为,有很多证据表明Monokle与STC有关。

根据Lookout的技术报告 ,STC的业务是开发一套针对Android设备的防御产品,据称这些产品专门出售给俄罗斯政府机构。该公司还有一个名为App Control的控制面板应用程序,通过该应用程序管理STC的其余服务。当Lookout的专家通过它时,他们看到App Control正试图弄清楚Monokle是否安装在设备上。

除此之外,STC最知名的产品之一是一款名为Defender的Android防病毒应用程序。在仔细研究了Monokle的命令和控制(C&C)基础设施后,Lookout的团队意识到其中一些与Defender使用的后端服务器重叠。最重要的是,STC的安全产品和Monokle之间也共享了证书。

如果Lookout的研究人员是对的,并且Monokle确实是由STC创建的,那么开发人员并没有花费太多精力来隐藏他们的痕迹,考虑到恶意软件的复杂程度,这很奇怪。

Monokle的多功能性是其定义特征

除其他外,Monokle可以记录击键,删除和下载文件,发送消息,泄露联系人,设备信息,电子邮件,登录数据,已安装应用程序列表以及呼叫和浏览历史记录。它还可以拍摄照片,视频和屏幕截图,如果它具有root访问权限,则可以执行命令。

所有这些都是此类恶意软件的标准配置。不过,Monokle确实还有其他一些技巧可以让它从人群中脱颖而出。它使用Android的辅助功能来捕获和泄露来自Microsoft Office和Google Docs文件以及Whatsapp,Viber,Snapchat等即时消息应用程序的信息。即使设备仍处于锁定状态,它也可以进行屏幕录制,这意味着它可以捕获用于解锁设备的密码,PIN码或模式。一旦它捕获了秘密,它就可以改变它并锁定人们的手机或平板电脑。

但是,最高级的功能可能是在受感染设备上安装可信证书. 多亏了它,可以对TLS流量进行中间人攻击。

总而言之,Monokle不是您想要在Android设备上拥有的东西。好消息是,大多数人不太可能遇到它。

Monokle针对特定目标

最早的Lookout样本可以追溯到2015年,但Monokle至今仍被用于攻击。与大多数Android恶意软件系列一样,主要感染媒介以第三方应用商店中分发的木马化应用程序的形式出现。他们中的大多数冒充真实的应用程序,有些甚至带有合法的功能,这可能使检测更加困难。

根据恶意应用程序的标题和图标,专家们得出结论,Monokle用于针对特定用户群的高度针对性攻击。其中一些申请显然是为了引起叙利亚Ahrar al-Sham激进组织相关人员的注意。其他人针对的是位于前苏联加盟共和国乌兹别克斯坦的用户,第三组针对位于东欧高加索地区的人。

如果Lookout的专家说的是真的,Monokle最有可能被俄罗斯政府机构用来试图监视特定的个人。如果某些特定列表中没有您的姓名,您可能不会受到Monokle的影响。显然,这并不意味着应该低估恶意软件。

August 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 9是什么?

Meet Monokle, an Android Malware Family Capable of Stealing and Changing Passwords

Monokle Android malware

Special Technology Center (STC) is a software development company based in Saint Petersburg, Russia, and the American Government hasn't been particularly happy with it. In 2016, Barack Obama imposed sanctions on STC because his administration believed that it was one of the three companies that helped the Russian government interfere with the USA's 2016 presidential elections. It is believed that quite a few talented, sophisticated experts work for STC, and researchers from security company Lookout seem convinced that the same experts are responsible for the creation of a previously undocumented strain of Android malware called Monokle.

Monokle and the STC connection

As we'll find out in a minute, Monokle is an extremely sophisticated and versatile piece of mobile surveillanceware, and because such malicious apps are usually developed by people who know what they're doing, often, attributing them to a specific group of hackers is next to impossible. Lookout's experts think, however, that there is plenty of evidence linking Monokle to STC.

According to Lookout's technical report, STC is in the business of developing, among other things, a suite of defensive products for Android devices which is allegedly sold exclusively to Russian government agencies. The company also has a control panel application called App Control through which the rest of STC's services are managed. When Lookout's experts poked through it, they saw that App Control is trying to figure out if Monokle is installed on the device.

In addition to this, one of STC's better-known products is an Android antivirus app called Defender. After closely examining Monokle's Command and Control (C&C) infrastructure, Lookout's team realized that some of it overlaps with the backend servers Defender uses. To top it all off, there were certificates that were also shared between STC's security products and Monokle.

If Lookout's researchers are right, and Monokle was indeed created by STC, the developers didn't put too much effort into concealing their traces, which is odd considering the level of sophistication the malware demonstrates.

Monokle's versatility is its defining characteristic

Monokle can, among other things, log keystrokes, delete and download files, send messages, exfiltrate contacts, device information, emails, login data, lists of installed apps, and call and browsing histories. It can also take photos, videos, and screenshots, and if it has root access, it can execute commands.

All this is pretty standard for this type of malware. Monokle does have a few other tricks up its sleeve that make it stand out from the crowd, though. It uses Android's accessibility services to capture and exfiltrate information from Microsoft Office and Google Docs files as well as instant messaging applications like Whatsapp, Viber, Snapchat, etc. It can make screen recordings even when the device is still locked, which means that it can capture the password, PIN code, or pattern used to unlock the device. Once it has captured the secret, it can change it and lock people out of their phones or tablets.

Perhaps the most advanced feature, however, is the ability to install trusted certificates on compromised devices. Thanks to it, a Man-in-The-Middle attack against TLS traffic is possible.

All in all, Monokle isn't something you want to have on your Android device. The good news is, most of you are unlikely to encounter it.

Monokle is aimed at specific targets

The earliest sample Lookout examined dates back to 2015, but Monokle is still being used in attacks to this day. As with most Android malware families, the primary infection vector comes in the form of trojanized apps distributed on third-party app stores. Most of them impersonate real applications, and some even come with legitimate functionality, which can make detection more difficult.

Based on the titles and the icons of the malicious apps, the experts concluded that Monokle is used in highly targeted attacks against specific sets of users. Some of the applications were clearly designed to catch the attention of people associated with the Ahrar al-Sham militant group in Syria. Others were aimed at users situated in the former Soviet republic of Uzbekistan, and a third group targeted people situated in the Caucasus region of Eastern Europe.

If what Lookout's experts say is true, Monokle is most likely used by Russian government agencies which are trying to spy on particular individuals. If your name is not present on some very specific lists, you probably won't be affected by Monokle. Obviously, this doesn't mean that the malware should be underestimated.

July 29, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 9 ?