您應該在Microsoft Office 365上啟用還是禁用“密碼同步”?

如果您正在經營一家公司,那麼當您聽到“密碼”這個詞時,您可能會感到頭疼。這很難保留個人密碼,因此處理多個公司密碼是一項巨大的挑戰。為了使事情變得更容易,公司依靠Microsoft Office 365等雲服務來管理他們的電子郵件帳戶。

但是,這些服務不是防故障的。我們想提請您注意美國國土安全部網絡安全和基礎設施安全局(CISA)發布的安全分析報告 。我們將介紹報告中指出的所有漏洞,然後重點關注Office 365密碼同步問題。

Microsoft Office 365安全挑戰

將電子郵件服務遷移到雲在組織中變得越來越普遍。如果他們擁有獨立且稱職的IT部門,他們可能會單獨遷移服務,或者他們可能會聘請第三方公司幫助他們這樣做。 CISA在其報告中指出,在轉換到雲服務時存在一定的安全風險,組織及其第三方合作夥伴一定應該了解它們。大多數風險在於雲服務配置漏洞,包括密碼設置。

多因素身份驗證

我們之前多次談到多因素身份驗證 ,儘管我們可能更關注個人數據安全方面。但是,多因素身份驗證對於組織來說也是非常重要的,這不足為奇。實際上,人們普遍認為多因素身份驗證是完全擺脫密碼的第一步,Microsoft Office 365強烈鼓勵它。

但是,Microsoft Office 365和Azure Active Directory(Azure AD)的安全問題是默認情況下不啟用管理員帳戶的多重身份驗證。 Azure AD在Office 365環境中具有全局管理員,這些帳戶用於配置其租戶並遷移用戶。換句話說,全球管理員擁有很多權利。如果默認情況下未啟用多重身份驗證,則攻擊這些帳戶也會自動對常規用戶造成損害。

郵箱審核

根據組織遷移到Office 365雲服務的時間,默認情況下可能啟用或禁用郵箱審核。默認情況下啟用審核的設置是在2019年1月在Office 365中引入的。如果在此之前創建了Office 365環境,則管理員必須手動啟用郵箱審核。 CISA建議保持啟用審核日誌,因為系統會記錄郵箱所有者,管理員和系統內其他用戶執行的所有操作。

舊的遺留協議

較舊的郵件客戶端使用許多不支持現代身份驗證方法的協議。這些協議包括Internet郵件訪問協議(IMAP),郵局協議(POP3)和簡單郵件傳輸協議(SMTP)。通常,這些協議被禁用,但如果組織需要較舊的電子郵件客戶端,則協議仍然有效. 因此,對於此類客戶端,密碼仍然是主要的身份驗證方法,這會降低帳戶安全級別。

通過保留仍需要傳統協議的用戶列表,可以降低此風險。 CISA還建議使用Azure AD條件訪問策略來監視和限制使用傳統協議身份驗證方法的用戶數量。此外,由於此類用戶的密碼是主要的身份驗證方法,因此他們應考慮使用密碼管理器工具來提高其密碼安全性。

Office 365密碼同步

Office 365密碼同步問題與Azure AD身份密切相關。可以預先創建Azure AD標識,也可以“內部部署”。當本地環境通過Azure AD Connect與Azure AD集成時,可以將預先創建的AD標識與內部部署AD標識進行匹配。如果身份匹配,則內部部署身份將成為權威身份。這是自動啟用的密碼同步可能會變得麻煩的地方。想像一下內部部署身份遭到破壞:一旦Office 365密碼同步,黑客就會自動進入雲環境。

應該注意的是,在2018年10月,Microsoft顯示了匹配某些帳戶的功能。此外,CISA表示,如果在組織遷移用戶之前仔細規劃和配置Azure AD Office 365密碼同步,則可以降低風險。因此,在最終將電子郵件服務遷移到雲之前,公司及其IT部門(或其第三方合作夥伴)應該明確地研究這個潛在的安全問題。

根據您的首選項,您可以選擇啟用或禁用Office 365密碼同步。下面,您將找到這兩個操作的指南。請注意,由於在某些情況下Microsoft會自動啟用密碼同步,因此我們的密碼同步指南將包含AdSelfService Plus管理工具,該工具是之前提到的可用於管理Microsoft Office 365帳戶的第三方程序之一。

啟用Office 365密碼同步

  1. 登錄AdSelfService Plus管理員帳戶。
  2. 打開配置並轉到自助服務
  3. 選擇密碼同步器
  4. 單擊Office 365 / Azure鏈接。
  5. 在配置頁面上選擇Password Synchronizer模塊。
  6. 鍵入Office 365 / Azure帳戶的域名
  7. 輸入Office 365 / Azure帳戶的用戶名密碼
  8. 輸入配置說明
  9. 選擇自助服務策略 ,然後單擊“ 保存”

禁用Office 365密碼同步

  1. 啟動Azure AD Connect ,然後單擊“ 配置”
  2. 選擇“ 自定義同步選項”
  3. 轉到可選功能
  4. 清除密碼同步複選框。
  5. 保存更改。

最重要的是,組織安全級別很大程度上依賴於共同努力. 可能存在與Microsoft Office 365相關的某些安全風險以及將您的電子郵件服務遷移到雲,但這些風險可以通過立即和全面的操作來處理。

最終,您可以決定是否同步Office 365密碼。但是,強烈建議您在進行徹底的安全性分析後做出此類決定。如果您認為在分析此類功能時您的IT部門可能缺少重要方面,您也可以諮詢獨立專家。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 9是什麼?

Should You Enable or Disable 'Password Sync' on Microsoft Office 365?

If you are running a business, you probably get a headache the moment you hear the word “password.” It’s hard to keep with personal passwords, so dealing with multiple corporate passwords is a big challenge. To make matters easier, companies rely on such cloud services as Microsoft Office 365 to manage their email accounts.

However, these services are not fail-proof. We would like to draw your attention to the security analysis report released by the US Department of Homeland Security’s Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA). We will go through all the vulnerabilities pointed out in the report, and then focus on the Office 365 password sync issue.

Microsoft Office 365 Security Challenges

Migrating email services to cloud is becoming increasingly common among organizations. They might migrate the service individually, if they have separate and competent IT departments, or they might employ third-party companies to help them do that. The CISA pointed out in their report that there are certain security risks involved when it comes to transitioning to cloud services, and organizations along with their third-party partners should definitely be aware of them. Most of the risks lie in the cloud service configuration vulnerabilities, including the password settings.

Multi-factor authentication

We talked about multi-factor authentication many times before, although perhaps we were more focused on the aspect of individual data security. However, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that multi-factor authentication is extremely important for organizations as well. In fact, it is a common understanding that multi-factor authentication is the first step towards getting rid of passwords altogether, and Microsoft Office 365 strongly encourages it.

However, the security issue with Microsoft Office 365 and Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) is that multi-factor authentication for administrator accounts is not enabled by default. Azure AD has Global Administrators in the Office 365 environment, and these accounts are there to configure their tenant and migrate the users. In other words, Global Administrators have a lot of rights. If multi-factor authentication is not enabled by default, attacking these accounts could automatically cause damage to regular users as well.

Mailbox auditing

Depending on when your organization migrated to the Office 365 cloud service, the mailbox auditing might be enabled or disabled by default. The settings that enable auditing by default were introduced in Office 365 in January 2019. If your Office 365 environment was created before that, your administrator has to enable mailbox auditing manually. CISA suggests keeping the auditing log enabled because then all actions performed by mailbox owners, administrators, and other users within the system are recorded.

Old legacy protocols

Older mail clients use a number of protocols that do not support modern authentication methods. Those protocols include Internet Message Access Protocol (IMAP), Post Office Protocol (POP3), and Simple Mail Transport Protocol (SMTP). Normally, these protocols are disabled, but if an organization needs older email clients, the protocols remain functional. As a result, for such clients, the password remains the primary authentication method, which lowers the level of account security.

It is possible to mitigate this risk by keeping a list of users who still require legacy protocols. CISA also suggests employing Azure AD Conditional Access policies to monitor and restrict the number of users who employ legacy protocol authentication methods. Also, since passwords for such users are the main method of authentication, they should consider employing password manager tools to improve their password safety.

Office 365 Password Sync

The Office 365 Password Sync issue is closely related to the Azure AD identities. Azure AD identities can be created beforehand or “on-premises.” When on-premises environments are integrated with Azure AD via Azure AD Connect, it is possible to match an AD identity created beforehand with on-premises AD identity. If the identities are matched, the on-premises identity becomes the authoritative identity. This is where the automatically enabled password sync might become troublesome. Imagine the on-premises identity getting compromised: The hacker would automatically move into the cloud environment once the Office 365 password is synced.

It should be noted that in October 2018, Microsoft displayed the capability to match certain accounts. Also, CISA says that if the Azure AD Office 365 password sync is carefully planned and configured before organizations migrate users, the risk can be mitigated. Therefore, companies and their IT departments (or their third-party partners) should definitely look into this potential security issue before ultimately migrating their email services to cloud.

Depending on your preferences, you can choose to either enable or disable the Office 365 password sync. Below, you will find the guidelines for both actions. Take note that, since password sync is automatically enabled by Microsoft in certain cases, our password sync guidelines will include AdSelfService Plus management tool, which is one of the previously mentioned third-party programs that can be used to manage Microsoft Office 365 accounts.

Enable Office 365 Password Sync

  1. Login to the AdSelfService Plus administrator account.
  2. Open Configuration and go to Self-Service.
  3. Select Password Synchronizer.
  4. Click the Office 365/Azure link.
  5. Select the Password Synchronizer module on the configuration page.
  6. Type in the domain name for your Office 365/Azure account.
  7. Enter the username and password for your Office 365/Azure account.
  8. Type in a configuration description.
  9. Choose the Self-Service Policies and click Save.

Disable Office 365 Password Sync

  1. Launch Azure AD Connect and click Configure.
  2. Choose Customize synchronization options.
  3. Go to the Optional features.
  4. Clear the Password synchronization check box.
  5. Save changes.

The bottom line is that the level of your organization’s security heavily relies on mutual efforts. There might be certain security risks associated with Microsoft Office 365 and migrating your email services to the cloud, but those risks can be taken care of through immediate and comprehensive action.

Ultimately, it is up to you to take such decisions as syncing your Office 365 password or not. However, it is strongly recommended that you arrive to such decisions after thorough security analysis. If you feel that your IT department might be missing important aspects when analyzing such features, you can also refer to an independent expert.

June 6, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 2 ?